QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 23 2012, 12:05 AM)
What girls? The Taiwanese?
Ya, dun remember where I saw that, but made a strong impression.Mechanical Keyboard Club V6, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts
May 23 2012, 02:27 PM
1,289 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 23 2012, 12:05 AM) What girls? The Taiwanese? Ya, dun remember where I saw that, but made a strong impression. |
May 25 2012, 12:53 PM
ZZZZZ my first attempt to dye the ABS Keycaps ended up epic failing. The dye-ing quest begin with the arrival of the Keycaps from Taobao, then I start looking for the dye and the thermal meter. after 2 days of searching for the dye, I found 1 old school package from Singapore, small matchbox size package, with different color, I don't feel confident of that, since the thing look so 1970s' ish, so I went looking for other packages... and found another one, but the package looks 1980s'ish..... so I gave up and decide to try them. for the thermal meter, I went to all the farmasies and kitchen ware shop in the mall and found none, and finally found one in a bakery supply shop, digital one. Welcome to Malacca, the place of formal glory date back to 1960s, and a lot of the old shop stock up old supplies. The 1980s' ish dye doesn't work at all, even I boil it and try to melt it, it doesn't melt at all, it still have pigment not melt sinking in the bottom of the glass pot I try to use, with the temperature drop to 60c, I soak them in the pot and soak for like an hour, it doesn't stick at all. So I decide to try the 1970s' dye, whit less hope, but to my surprise that the dye powder melt into the boiled water without a trace immediately after I pour them in! the color of the liquid look orange rather than yellow, waited the temperature to drop to 60c then I drop all the keycaps in, and with the thermal meter monitoring the temperature, i stir the keys in the pot non-stop, and soak it, when the temperature drop below 50, I will turn the stove on and heat it up to 60c again. After 10+ minutes later, when I pick one key up, and wash it with water, the color actually stick! but much too light, so I decide to add another pack of the powder into the liquid. but I only have one pack, so I decide to go get another few pack for thickening the liquid, so I head out with my bicycle, the shop are 5minute ride away. So when I come back with all 5packs last stock from the shop, I went to the pot again and found that I forgot to turn off the stove, it ain't boiling... but the it's smoking, the thermal meter wasn't in the pot, I knew this isn't good, my first impression is to pour cold water into the pot, but I decide not to, and wait it to cold down, and pick them up, there, I think 30% of the keys are warped. there goes my keycool ABS white blank key, but the color dye in nicely. Conclusion? Epic Fail! I think I will give PBT a try next, if I can get a set with laser carved key. Seniors here, Human10, Kai, Epiguru, mind provide me a link with that? |
May 25 2012, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ May 25 2012, 12:58 PM) White PBT itself is more rare and costly than the black counter-part. You might as well go buy the dyed(rainbow) one? I want a single color PBT with 104 keys that fit Leopold 500 series keyboard......preferable lasered, side carved or front carve. most of the ABS colored key are non-legended, and most of the PBT laser or carved are non full set. The rainbow PBT I already have, that fit on my SS7G. This post has been edited by kaysa: May 25 2012, 01:03 PM |
May 25 2012, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ May 25 2012, 01:10 PM) Try this? The thick PBT look great! but.... spacebar....http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=1072945..._3k2_1323131716 Here is the dyed monocolor PBT: http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=9893475220& BTW, I will suggest you get the mono-colored thick PBT keycaps by KBC(from IMSTO) instead, it may be not dyed but instead made of blue color PBT. http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=17218012075& For spacebar, there seems to be no direct solution to it now. You must either mod the stem for PBT spacebar or use ABS spacebar. Added on May 25, 2012, 1:16 pmBTW, COOL STORY!!!! DYE-SUB SPACEBAR!!!! BULK ANYONE? http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=17445320106& the dye sub spacebar really look cool too, but if it can't fit on Leopold, I have to pass it. or if anyone (like human10, or humanten?) can mod the stem for me @@? |
May 25 2012, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(joyformidable @ May 25 2012, 07:01 PM) that spacebar, does it mean the PBT caps can be used on the Leopold 500 series too???? |
May 26 2012, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ May 26 2012, 07:06 AM) Thanks for the info, i'm not aware of this Great! so this Leopold is manufacturing PBT keycaps? Is it possible to get a set for my FC500R? But those Parts are still not manufactured by Keycool, please do keep that in mind. They only manage to convince those manufacturer to supply to them.(if you're the manufacturer and got business, will you reject? Even now, the Blank Keycaps set that were sold by Keycool has the same packaging with the one that i'm giving out as a free bundle for user made purchase of the Leopold Keyboard, which were later confirmed by my source that Keycool has also gotten most of parts supplier contact information.) Leopold is currently taking this problems very seriously, They have planned to manufacture most part on their own to prevent Keycool from sabotaging their business.(you can see their keycaps now =D ) a white set with legend will be nice. I want to DYE them. And how about the prices for the Realforce you can get? 103, 104, 87, 86, different weight? different color? This post has been edited by kaysa: May 26 2012, 01:11 PM |
May 26 2012, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 26 2012, 01:55 PM) Ya, so waiting Cyclone to give a more competitive price. |
May 27 2012, 09:43 AM
May 27 2012, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(epiguru @ May 27 2012, 01:36 PM) I don't think there is an "EK edition" of Realforce keyboards - there is nothing special about the Realforce keyboards that are purchased from EK. The reason why Americans dub them "EK edition" is to distinguish them from the keyboards purchased from Asian sellers. But it especially mentioned that the LED are red instead of blue.and it also mentioned that is the EK version, and the other doesn't mention that. |
May 27 2012, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(epiguru @ May 27 2012, 02:04 PM) LOL, thanks for that info. I never realised the difference you pointed it out. Not sure if the difference in LED colour matters to most people... if I had to choose, my preference would be blue LED with white/gray or all white and red LED with black/gray. The all white with Blue LED multi weight is $10 less than the EK all 45g version, in EK.Now I m so itchy for that one.... or the silent white/gray one......... cyclone are so too busy to do this anymore I think. My friend's aunt are coming to Malaysia from US in a few months time, got to get my money ready for that! and a set of colored keycaps will suit nicely on the white board I think. |
May 27 2012, 03:35 PM
May 27 2012, 04:57 PM
May 27 2012, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(dragorc @ May 27 2012, 05:12 PM) Haha bro that i dun know yet juz still thinking on it...hmmm yah lite version is more cheaper but i dun tink i wud go for membrane....so where do u get ur hhkb pro2? amazon? A friend get it from Japan, 2nd hand one, so cheaper,but I get a set of keycaps from Taobao for RM300+ postage... the total price are close to the price of getting a new one @@ but now I have 2 set of keycaps for it. Its really a pleasure to type on it, even though I do not have many typing works, so I play typing game |
May 27 2012, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(daijoubu @ May 27 2012, 10:45 PM) Guys you know anywhere I can test out Brown or Blue switch keyboards? LoL let your GF try some realforce, then she will ask you to buy one for her.The gf tried my Poker red, and would want to get one too, but she'd like to try all the other keys before deciding. Preferably a tenkey or a full keyboard, rather than Kaiser's travelling numpad =D. Thanks! =D Added on May 27, 2012, 11:29 pm QUOTE(Human10 @ May 27 2012, 09:42 PM) HPE - a clone of Filco is out in market(China). thanks for the turorial for dye keycaps, but what is 匀色剂,速染剂,固色剂?http://www.waishehome.cn/thread-51613-1-1.html It now include quite lots of extra accessories after being compared with keycool by reviewers, LOL... Added on May 27, 2012, 9:55 pmKeycap dyeing tutorial: http://www.waishehome.cn/viewthread.php?ti...age=1#pid889402 I know all the meaning and can guess the usage of them all, but if I go hardware store to ask for these, they will have a blur blur face show me. This post has been edited by kaysa: May 27 2012, 11:29 PM |
May 28 2012, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ May 28 2012, 02:42 PM) @kaysa, if you're talking about EK edition, i don't think i'm able to get that mainly because they're specially for Elitekeyboards, unless you're talking about the normal version. no la, I m asking now what kind you can get and what price.I am actually interested in the 87 silent version, but what color not sure yet. and are you able to get those colored keycaps? |
May 29 2012, 04:26 PM
May 30 2012, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ May 29 2012, 08:58 PM) Thank you for the picture, but I think I din't see this one in Daiso in Melaka,how does the package look like? is it ment for keyboard armrest? or is it something else that you use it as armrest? BTW the Diablo sancturay keycaps have new changes zzz are they gonna delay it to 2013? This post has been edited by kaysa: May 30 2012, 01:09 AM |
May 31 2012, 10:46 AM
Epiguru:
This guy is selling some PBT White which can fit on to Leopold, http://geekhack.org/member.php?9194-feng can you please help me get one set? (I do not have paypal.) http://www.ebay.com/itm/KBC-White-Printed-...=item4d00cc3cf0 He promise $2 discount if get it from Geekhack. |
May 31 2012, 10:55 AM
sorry Epiguru, I found another seller in Taobao, I think will get it from taobao, its cheaper and I can find a proxy myself, need not to bother you.
Added on May 31, 2012, 10:58 am QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ May 31 2012, 10:53 AM) Check This Out!http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=1312984...&_u=vpi3ince4bc Not Blank Thou... This post has been edited by kaysa: May 31 2012, 11:00 AM |
May 31 2012, 03:21 PM
| Change to: | 0.0446sec