Discussion LYN Football Jersey Talk, Read page 1 first for basic info/FAQ

TSschmeichel7
post Sep 7 2012, 09:17 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(fazly15vida @ Sep 5 2012, 09:58 AM)
Hi everyone!!!i recently bought united home kits season 1998/99-1999/2000, i would like to ask where can i buy Lextra Name & Numbering for that season, i try to search at wiggy sports but they don't sell it...
The authentic 1996-2007 EPL namesets are almost non existence anymore... they are rare and hard to find. You can find some repros around in ebay....

QUOTE(terencelee @ Sep 5 2012, 04:27 PM)
Hmmm I have a question.

Why is Man City's Player name on the jersey, not in a curve but straight, for this season?

Any particular reason ah..
It is simply the kitmen's preference at the club there.... no official rules from the EPL about this.

Speaking about kitmen, to those wanting to apply EPL namesets on Man United's current 2012-2013 jerseys, the letterings should be above the D shaped stitching on the back of the shirt, not below it (if you want to follow how the kitmen at United applies it)...

TSschmeichel7
post Sep 8 2012, 01:02 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(xacrifizer @ Sep 8 2012, 12:53 AM)
May i know what is Repro means?
reproduction
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 11 2012, 10:37 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(chaiyya345 @ Sep 11 2012, 08:37 AM)
in my opinion, for the fans...better patch the Names below the curve, its uneven if the we patch on the curve due to washing. unlike players, wear once for today's match & another new kit for the next & coming matches. however, should 1 wanna follow the exact player style, no harm  tongue.gif
The stitching is just merely due to an additional D shape material placed beneath the collars inside the jersey (where the sizing info is printed).

If we remove the D shaped stitching on the back of the shirt, the jersey will not have a D shape lubang, instead the addition D shaped material located inside the jersey will 'tanggal' and the back layer will still be solid..

Unless.. 2 separate materials that are stitched together and there is a gap. Example, stitching of the sleeves (between the sleeves and the body). That one, yes, if you remove the stitching, any printing will go off.

This technique of how the D stitching on the back is applied is applicable for man united's 2006-2007 home & away as well.

But as I said........... if you want your shirt to look as how the players wear it. It is up to you. For me, I don't apply namesets to my jersey yet.. I prefer to wear them blank. Tak menunjuk and more comfy to wear when I sit on the chair etc etc.. besides the colour bleed problem will most likely occur on the new 2012-2013 home jersey. So it's just a matter of preference only.
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 12 2012, 06:07 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(kuaLe_AGX @ Sep 12 2012, 08:37 AM)
very true. I remember back then when I bought my 1st ever juve shirt(lotto brand) back in 2001, the price is around rm60 something
QUOTE(johnny82 @ Sep 12 2012, 10:09 AM)
juve shirt only rm 60? shit.. now its like.. 240!!!! .. 10 years = x 4 inflation
I believe kuaLe_AGX bought it RM60 from F.O.S. right?

Last time, there were a lot of authentic old stock jerseys by umbro sold at F.O.S at damn cheap prices... I bought few.. rugi didn't buy a lot back then..
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 12 2012, 07:39 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Total sport ke.. foot action.. lupa dah hehe

TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:44 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Jerseyman's Review: 2012-2013 Manchester United Home & Away Jersey

2012-2013 Manchester United Home & Away Jersey

It's been a while since I did a jerseyman review.. To be exact, more than a year already since last review was on the 2011-2012 Man United Home kit which as a complete kit set of jersey + shorts + socks. Mostly due to the fact that I'm slowing down and am quite busy with work and life of being a father to a baby boy who was born in early June 2012....

This time, I'm doing it differently. Only jersey on this time (no shorts and socks.. I don't want to buy them yet.. later when they are super damn cheap during near end season hehe) and this time doing it one shot (both home and away).

Man.. I feel so rusty doing this.. but here we go..

I think to many jersey collectors and enthusiasts, we are not surprised to find out what the design of the new home kit would be.. no thanks to the internet and to a silly seller from Indonesia who leaked out the early photos. The away kit was still a mystery until early this year.. and some of us already knew the design already (you know who you are.. hehe)....

Nike claims that the home kit's design (and also the away kit's shorts) is based on something called 'gingham'... What the hell is Gingham? According to wikipedia, I quote.. "Gingham is made of carded or combed, medium or fine yarns, where the coloring is on the warp yarns and always along the grain (weft)". Whatever...

Some promo photos by Nike on the new jersey:

Again Nike claims the jersey will be using recycled plastic mineral bottles....

No wonder the Nike replica jerseys nowadays feels a bit plastic and stranger compared to the past kits where they were softer.... hmmm...

Anyway... let's do the review on both jerseys... let's start with the home jersey first.

2012-2013 Manchester United Home Jersey

When the new design came out last time... and I saw it for the first time, it reminded me of...

Hahaha..

Haih.... anyway, to be honest, when I first saw the jersey in real life and in action... it looks OK and not bad to me. OK, the design is based on the gingham story and it's relation to Manchester (industrial past).... but honestly speaking.. what made me impressed was.. for the first time, a Manchester United jersey made by Nike... has some watermark printings and patterns on it. OK lah..

But wait.. be careful with the 'gingham' designed watermark printings... because.......... it can cause colour bleeding.. especially when you do some printings on the jersey using lextra namesets or patches...

Yeay.. I'm happy to see some watermark patterns/design for the first time but booo... it causes colour bleeding

This problem is so common on red coloured jerseys when there is extra printing done.. unless the jersey is made out of plain red coloured thread such as Man United's 1998-2000 home jersey (the one with the zipped collars and is worn during that successful 1999-2000 "treble season"). If you notice, there is no colour bleeding problem unlike the 1994-1996, 1996-1998 and this 2012-2013 home jersey. Why is that?

Try to understand on how some jerseys are made.. they are either made out of a plain white material (stitched using white thread) and then printed with red colour for certain reasons such as red white stripes like Sunderland's home jersey or to have some watermark printings such as the 1994-1996 home jersey that has the Old Trafford watermark printing.. different toned red colours on a shirt requires the usage of different red colours, so you use a plain white material and then the machine does the printing... so originally the material is white colour and red is an different substance. This causes the red to later bleed out when you print namesets/patches on it.

But if the jersey is made using 100% red coloured threads.. you will not see this colour bleeding problem. Another example is the 1998-2001 Home UCL Jersey 1 star or 2 stars.. it has the starball watermark printing on the front of the jersey... but how was it made? The watermark pattern is made from heat press.. not colour printing.. and you will not have this colour bleeding problem.. So this is why colour bleeding was not an issue for most of the Nike made Man United home jerseys.. only for this season you have this problem.. because of how the jersey is made (no thanks to the gingham pattern).

So will I print my jersey with nameset/patches.. well.. maybe later.. after i've worn this jersey for some time.. wash iron wear, wash iron wear.. maybe end of season then put nameset.. see how it goes later, but I will be prepared for the watermark problem.. it might happen.

But one thing I really like about the home jersey.. is the V neck collar:

The V neck collar is spacious and comfortable to wear for a big guy with a big neck like me hahahaha...

For the first time, I am very comfortable of wearing it. I am a big guy with a big neck haha.. so the neck area is a concern for me. I don't like wearing the 1998-2001 Man United Home UCL jersey because of it's small collars... so for the first time.. this jersey provides me with a very comfy and spacious V neck collar. Also the material used to make the V neck is good and not too soft but still a bit stretchy..

Unlike the previous Man United V neck kits... Here are some example:

The 2000-2001 Man United Home Jersey's V neck was small.... it was good in sense that it has the black stiff rubbing around the V neck but it was not comfy to wear

The 2004-2006 Man United Home Jersey's V neck was.... small.. just look at Rooney's jersey worn during his debut match, enough said..

To be continued..
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:45 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Continued..

The 2006-2007 Man Untied Home Jersey's V neck was not too small (but still small to my liking) but the thing that pissed me off is the material.. very soggy
and soft, it folds up easily sometimes when you wear it.. very annoying and makes the V neck easily dirty when wearing (due to being folded)

So one thing I like about this jersey.. is the V neck

Another thing I like is the bigger club crest embroidered on the jersey.

For the second time, the jersey is embroidered with a bigger and bolder club crest.

When United released the 2000-2002 home jersey (the last umbro made jersey), they got stick and criticism from the fans because the club crest was smaller and it was even smaller than the vodafone logo. And it became even smaller or remained the same when nike took over the following season. Starting last season, United were using a different style of embroidered club crest... bigger and better.

The last time United's home jersey had a big club crest on the front was during the 1998-2000 home jersey, so it's interesting to compare both as you can see below:

Comparisons between the embroidered club crest on the 2012-2013 Home Jersey (left) and the 1998-2000 Home Jersey (right)

Anyway.. here are some close up photos of the jersey..

Embroidered Nike swoosh logo, club crest and PU printed AON sponsor...

"FORGED IN INDUSTRY, STRIVING FOR GLORY"

At the end of the jersey's sleeves, inside the sleeves there is a blank band stitched inside the sleeve. I wish the black band was stitched outside
instead of inside..

AUTHENTIC... Say no to fake jerseys..

Close up photo of the AON sponsor. I've already washed this jersey and iron pressed beneath the AON sponsors (iron the jersey while the jersey
is flipped inside out.. You can see the surface of the AON sponsors is almost the same as the jersey's surface.. this ensures the PU printed
AON sponsors is intact and hopefully doesn't peel off later during it's lifespan (a good practice that I always apply to my PU printed jerseys)

Another close up photo of the AON sponsor.

The material of the jersey feels a bit 'plastic' like last season's... but still not thick like the away jersey's material.. more on this later on during the
away jersey review..

To be continued..

TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:46 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Continued..

Washing tags inside the jersey.. yes, this is a washing tag for Asian Market

Small white tag beneath the washing tag

Another small white tag beneath the washing tag

Barcode sticker on the price tag of the home jersey

On the price tag, printed with it's Launch Date (June 2012)

Back view of the jersey

On the back of the jersey, near the collars, there is a D shaped stitching with the red devil logo printed inside it.

Regarding the D shaped stitching on the back of the jersey, I've seen the player's jersey during the game and I can see their names printed overlapping the D shaped stitching. Here's an example:

ROONEY nameset printing above or overlapped the D shaped stitching... on the player's jersey

So if you want to print any nameset on the back of your jersey, you don't have to do it beneath the D shaped stitching... And don't worry, the letters will not tear off or be broken due to the D shaped stitching because it is just merely a stitching on top of a solid material, not a stitching between two separate layers such as the jersey's sleeves and the jersey's body.

So next, let's move on to the 2012-2013 Away Jersey.....

2012-2013 Manchester United Away Jersey

The away jersey is also interesting as well.. The design is plain white with some red trims on the end of the sleeves and collars... speaking about collars, this is the first time the club has used this style of collars:

New button up collars...

To be continued..
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:47 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Continued..

So what is the collars style called? The collar style is known as "Henley Crew" style.. Many thanks to the Inside United magazine for this...

The collars on the new away jersey is known as "Henley Crew" style as explained by the September Issue of Inside United Magazine

When I see the collars, it reminds me of Newcastle United's 1995-1997 Home Jersey with it's famous grandad style button up collars... It also reminds me of my 'Teluk Belanga" style baju melayu that I have hehehe.... Anyway one thing that I notice is the button used by the collars... sadly, looks cheap:

The button on the collars.. looks simple, plain and.. cheap

Why not use a button that has a nike logo on it? Haih....

Another thing I noticed about the away jersey, is the material... It uses the similar material that is used for Nike Euro 2012 jerseys.. a different design (with a lot of circle patterns on the surface) and this is obviously clear if look closely at the jersey's material:

You can clearly see.. there is a pattern of circles surrounding the surface of the jersey's material. A new technique on constructing the jersey's material perhaps? Interestingly it feels more rigid and slightly thicker compared to the home jersey... Not sure if the home jersey uses a different material though.. but the away jersey's material is slightly thicker and heavier in my opinion..

But design wise.. it is simple... plain and white.. reminds me of the umbro emergency 1996-1997 white away kit. When you look at the jersey, you will also be reminded by the chef's uniform as well hehe.... ah well...

Anyway.. here are some close up photos of the jersey..

"FORGED IN INDUSTRY, STRIVING FOR GLORY"

Close up of the club crest.. Same sized as the embroidered home jersey's club crest, but this time it is monochrome.... nice idea

Close up photo of the AON sponsor. I've already washed this jersey and iron pressed beneath the AON sponsors (iron the jersey while the jersey
is flipped inside out.. You can see the surface of the AON sponsors is almost the same as the jersey's surface.. this ensures the PU printed
AON sponsors is intact and hopefully doesn't peel off later during it's lifespan (a good practice that I always apply to my PU printed jerseys)

Another close up photo of the AON sponsor.

AUTHENTIC. Say no to fake jerseys..

Washing tags inside the jersey.. yes, this is a washing tag for Asian Market

There is an extra button stitching between the washing tags.. In case you need to replace one...

To be continued..

TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:47 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Continued..

Small white tag beneath the washing tag

Another small white tag beneath the washing tag

Barcode sticker on the price tag of the away jersey

On the price tag, printed with it's Launch Date (July 2012)

Back view of the jersey

On the back of the jersey, near the collars, there is a D shaped stitching with the red devil logo printed inside it.

Finally.. how is the cutting of both jerseys like?

Comparisons between home and away jersey...

The home jersey looks to me to have a slightly smaller cutting on the sleeves compared to the away.... but not much difference anyway..

a. What Jerseyman Likes:
user posted image The gingham design on the home jersey.. yes I know some dislike it and is mocking it as a 'tablecloth'.. but for years I've waited for someone from Nike R&D to design a jersey that has some watermark patterns on it.. it's a good start anyway
user posted image The plain design on the white away jersey.. that is complimented by a new collar style known as "Henley Crew"
user posted image The V neck design on the home jersey.. very comfy to wear

To be continued..
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:48 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Continued..

b. What Jerseyman Dislikes:
user posted image The buttons on the "Henley Crew" style collars looks cheap
user posted image The black band at the end of the sleeves should be stitched at the outside of the sleeves, not inside.. makes the shirt look better in my opinion

Jerseyman Ratings (Out of user posted image)

1. The Home Jersey:
Design: user posted image (I know some might disagree.... but I like the Gingham Design to be honest)
Material: user posted image (Lighter compared to the away jersey)
Cutting: user posted image (Slightly smaller cutting compared to the away jersey)
Comfort: user posted image (Thanks to the V neck that is very comfy to wear... really love it.. can wear it daily due to it's comfort cutting and the V neck)
Overall: user posted image

To be continued..
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:48 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Continued..

1. The Away Jersey:
Design: user posted image (Plain and white.. simple)
Material: user posted image (Material is thicker and heavier compared to the home jersey)
Cutting: user posted image (Quite baggy)
Comfort: user posted image (Although the material is slightly heavier and thicker, it is still comfortable due to it's cutting)
Overall: user posted image
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 05:45 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(chaiyya345 @ Sep 26 2012, 04:11 PM)
JerseyMan, how i wish to see u do a review for PI/Authentic vs replica on the new ManUtd home & away kit smile.gif

btw, i still fail to get the PI/Authentic. unlike Arsenal & Barca.

when the "gingham" being introduced...i was telling to myself, "i will skip buying the home kit & getting the away instead" but everything change when i saw the real shirt & i must say this 1 if the best ManUtd home kit. As for the away, isn’t bad either.

Manchester United does not allow Nike to publicly sell the PI jersey unfortunately.... For the Authentic version, unfortunately I didn't buy it because of $$$.. if someone wants me to do a review, you can pass the jersey to me and I'll do an honest review. It doesn't have to be a United jersey, even Liverpool or Chelsea jersey can..
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 26 2012, 06:11 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Sep 26 2012, 05:55 PM)
There is so much fake PI going around, how do we really know that the PI is real or fake? some youtube PI jersey I am not even sure if they are real or fake.
Last year's home washing labels are printed. but the youtube PI for this year washing lable is normal like replicas... i would expect it to be printed but other areas looks really convincing...
Mind to share the link to the youtube PI for this year? The one that was leaked for the home and blue gk kit is not a PI but replica.. I've seen that video already.

TBH... to answer your question on how to relaly know is it real or fake......... I don't have the answer. People ask how I check.. I say, it's based on my experience and knowledge.. so if you need help, just pm me and I will always be glad to help. So far I've never let down everyone who has PM to me directly here to check on authenticity of a certain jersey....
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 27 2012, 10:09 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Haha.. Kevin got it from a good source and the source himself cannot get the stock easily (had to obtain it from the factory directly) because the club's policy of not allowing the PI kits to be sold to public easily. The PI kit is damn costly because of this. And from the same source, I cannot get the size that I want (at least XL). Plus with the price of that shirt... since I have other commitments (no longer a bachelor like Kevin haha) so I have to skip for this PI shirt. It is tempting but again... I have other priorities unfortunately.

PI shorts are made in Thailand.. I always wanted a PI shorts too.. it also has some similar features like the PI shirt such as heat bonded seams, thick PU stripe, printed washing tag etc etc.. But you can get a PI Arsenal shirt easily.... Luckily for Arsenal fans, they do not enforce this strict rule at Nike... TBH the quality and material is different.. but always remember that the PI kits are meant for players to wear, so in long term the shirt might not last longer.. Printed PU club crest means that it might crack or melt in the long run... heat bonded seams means that it might break (but I see Nike improved that by appling the thick PU stripe on it).. A replica shirt is made to last longer... the only issue would be the PU sponsors. Which is why I prefer to do a heatpress on the back of the sponsor using my iron so that the glue of the PU sponsors are intact and bond stronger.. until you can see the surface pattern of the shirt on the PU sponsor's surface..

QUOTE(keanzteoh @ Sep 26 2012, 08:41 PM)
After you flipped the shirt inside out, you can observe that the material of the inner is very soft and wool like material...
Haha.. you wanna know why the material is very soft and wool like material my friend?..

Read carefully the washing tag... BODY: 96% RECYCLED POLYESTER 4% COTTON

How about the replica version, is it 100% RECYCLED POLYESTER? Hehehe.. need to check later.. my jerseys are back at home.

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Sep 27 2012, 10:27 AM
TSschmeichel7
post Sep 28 2012, 01:17 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Just wanna ask.. anyone here bought from kitbag using express delivery (DHL) and later kena tax by customs?

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Sep 28 2012, 01:58 PM
TSschmeichel7
post Oct 5 2012, 11:16 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Just want to share with you guys my latest experience with Customs Duties via Kitbag since they no longer use UPS but now DHL..

In 2008, I was daring enough to buy some items from kitbag with total purchase of £78.75 (not inclusive shipping fee). Back then £1 was around +RM6. Then I kena tax by customs from KLIA and total damage for customs was RM212.60 (Duty Amount: RM187.60 + Handling Fee: RM25):

Now in 2012, Kitbag no longer uses UPS but DHL.. I bought few things from kitbag for £102.68 (yes I know.. sure kena tax one.. because above RM500)... I wanted to see how much they taxed me.. And today I kena tax by customs from Subang Airport (DHL's hub is at Subang Airport) and the total damage is just RM82.54 (Custom Duties: RM62.54 + Duty Handling Fee: RM20):

Damn you UPS. mad.gif

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Oct 5 2012, 11:24 PM
TSschmeichel7
post Oct 6 2012, 09:46 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(Its_quiet @ Oct 5 2012, 06:43 PM)
From afar I can tell already the jerseys are fake. Take one example, the man united home jersey.. just look at the poor DRI-FIT stitching.

Confirmed fake jerseys, stay away from them..

QUOTE(chaiyya345 @ Oct 6 2012, 05:16 AM)
becoz' UPS will pay upfront the customs, hence they will take some commission from the customers.
All couriers pay upfront the customs, even DHL. Customs will not allow couriers to take the items first and pay later.. haha.. The commisions are all from the 'handling' fee... even DHL's handling fee is RM5 cheaper now compared to 2008 (god knows how much UPS still charges their handling fee today)

What baffles me is how the customs at KLIA do the calculation compared to how the customs at Subang Airport do theirs. Maybe the ones to be blamed here are the customs but to be honest, I've not been happy with UPS in the past.

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Oct 6 2012, 09:47 AM
TSschmeichel7
post Oct 9 2012, 12:35 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Ok.. This is how the new Malaysia 2012-2014 Home Jersey will look like.. It uses the same design template as the FC Porto 2012-2013 Jersey (sadly... lazy Nike). The "Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku" logo will be printed beneath the collars. No FAM logo will be used but the national flag.. Malaysia will be using the gold colour AFF Suzuki Cup 2012 patches (sorry for my bad design skills):

TSschmeichel7
post Oct 9 2012, 01:52 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(zhuzull87 @ Oct 9 2012, 01:51 PM)
when it will be released??
Heard rumours to be on 1st Nov... maybe during this month or next month..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0467sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:34 PM