TSstimix
post Apr 27 2012, 03:07 PM, updated 7y ago

Dunno
3,542 posts

Continue from
V1: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/269099
V2: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1217166

1) Where & Partial Maps With hotels' Locations in Langkawi (Courtesy of www.malfreemaps.com ):

a) Main maps - All important jetty points & beaches

b) Kuah Town prominent hotels:

c) Pantai Cenang Hotels & underwater world:

d) Pantai Tengah (Very quiet beach thumbup.gif )

e) Langkasuka Beach, Pantai Kok & Burau Bay area
2) How to go

a) Via Flight from KLIA (MAS) or LCCT (Air Asia) - Refer to respective Airlines' websites

b) Drive up via North South Expressway & exit at Alor Setar toll. Thereafter to Kuala Kedah jetty. Park at numerous parking operated by locals & probably local residents house as well. Alternative you can drive up to Kuala Perlis which is not recommended because of extra mileage.

c) By Bus:

-To Kuala Kedah - So far no result on express buses to Kuala Kedah, but I have seen lotsa such buses. Do check Puduraya counters (Or any one wth info, do PM me (stimix) for update) Anyway the best so far (By Putraskline) is to Alor Star & thereafter a taxi or local bus from AS to KKedah http://journeymalaysia.com/ptaalorstar.htm

- To kuala Perlis - Transnational having xpress bus to Kuala Perlis at RM42.80/pax http://www.transnasional.com.my/destinatio...&cid=5&x=45&y=2 & also Plusliner (By putraskline): http://www.transnasional.com.my/destinatio...&cid=5&x=45&y=2

d) Ferry Schedule & fare: http://www.langkawi-ferry.com/schedule.html (Currently RM23/pax/1way)

3) Normal Car Rental Rate (Available both at Airport & ferry terminal. No need advance booking. Just goto the counters providing car rental services and during low season, those rental companies will be hawking around!):

a) Off season & non-public Holiday (Car/day)

- Kancil -RM40
- Wira - RM50
- Waja -RM60
- Nissan Sentra /Honda Civic -RM70
- Toyota Altis - RM80
- Van/SUV ~RM100-RM120

for those really kiasu and wanted to book via phone can try this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9552871 but from those posting, seems like walk-in rate is cheaper than pre-book. smile.gif

b) Public Holidays & School Holidays - Probably Doubled the above & depending on your bargaining power

c) Bringing your own car - Probably takes up to 2 days, about RM90/way

d) Motor bike renting:

4) Tourist Attractions:

a) Kuah Duty Free Shopping - Go for Cigarette, Liquor, Cooking utensils, Chocolates & perfumes. Forget about Electronics, computers, cameras & etc that are already comes with duty free status even in KL...Those items are more expensive than KL. Similarly the food pricing to is almost similar to KL except the beers in those hawker ctr..

b) Island Hopping - 4 locations (Pulau Payar/Dayang Bunting - Kuah Jetty), South western islands - Jetty near Awana resort; Magrove tour either at the road near Perdana Gallery or Tg Rhu Beach

More info on island hopping:
c) Mat Chincang Cable car & Oriental Village http://www.langkawi-info.com/attractions/cable-car.htm

d) More sight seeing (Some not really recommended: http://www.langkawi-info.com/attractions/sightseeing.htm

5) Accomodations - Refer to the pinned topic in the main Travel & Living Section
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/258550

http://cuti.com.my/hotel.htm?doit=showhote...Langkawi+Island

http://www.agoda.com/pages/agoda/default/D...archResult.aspx

Good independent review on hi-end hotels in langkawi: http://www.malaysiahotelreview.com/langkawi.shtml You can use this to check other than langkawi hotels too rclxms.gif

http://www.langkawi-resorts.com/ <<<Recommended by Chester. Pay 10% upfront and the rest pay at hotel upon arrival. Cheaper than cuti.com.my afaik but can compare before making any reservation

e) Apartment renting:
6) Other Websites Link:

http://www.mylangkawi.com/

http://www.langkawi-online.com/

http://www.langkawi-info.com/

http://wikitravel.org/en/Langkawi
7)Holiday suggestions - just a suggestion if you are wondering what to do in Langkawi rclxm9.gif

4 days 3 nights (credit to devils) Chester

3 days 2 nights (credit to Navilink) - Chester

8) More itineraries suggestions from forumers here:

Grengo: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27321867

Food suggestion (Also by grengo: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27354949

By siokjinlim: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27204555

9) Recommended Food & Shoppings by ex-Langkawian:
More list of famous restaurants reviewed & recoomended by ettige: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33466892

TSstimix
post May 16 2012, 12:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Pantai Cenang for sure. Sand white but water s0-so
TSstimix
post May 16 2012, 12:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just check those hotels location ~ pantai Cenang as per pg1 maps.. give you a good idea.. On hotels, well, It's been too long dy.. my last backpacker stye hotel was in Pantai Cenang dunno what name - so-so only ~ RM50 or RM60/nite way back ~ 20yrs + ago..Thereafter, I dun stayed in Pantai Cenang anymore haha
TSstimix
post May 16 2012, 02:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Another way is to check those online booking website or review website such as tripadvisor, agoda, asiarooms & more and check the review from past occupants. They for sure giving the fair view of the condition- Most of the time very accurate wan.. however those with high review for sure comes wth the price.
TSstimix
post Jun 19 2012, 09:00 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Jun 18 2012, 03:34 PM)
I'm going to Langkawi again but with an entirely different ... ideas...

When I went there (only once I've been to LGK) I rented a driver/tour guide. But now I want to drive in there.

Questions :
1) What does it mean takes up to 2 days if bring own car in? doh.gif that means if I go there 5 days 4 nights, I only get to use for 3 days, then when I go back, how ? LOL. No car to drive back to KL !

2) Assuming dun wanna bring car into Langkawi... I want to rent a car as good as what I wanted to bring in - Evo X, ada tak? cry.gif

3) Does drinking and driving still apply in Langkawi? laugh.gif just kidding.
1 -You think Langkawi is link to mainland like Penang kah? and got those car ferries like in Penang? So to bring in car to Langkawi, you need to go through those tranport agents that will arrange all necessary paper works & also port areangement for temporary exporting your car to Langkawi & from Langkawi back to Kuala Perlis or Kedah. So the process is not like Penang ferry. Last time I heard 2 days but I think there was one guy here successfully exported & imported to/bck his car there within 1 day. Bear in mind your car & yourselve will be on diff mode of tranport not like Penang.

2- You got money even porche also you can rent but not easy to find for sure.

3 - Drinking & smoking yes in Langkawi. Driving? you must be dreaming wth the limited dual carriageway there between Kuah town to Airport...no chance for you to enjoy. Might as well renting the cheapest car - kancil?

Added on June 19, 2012, 9:05 am
QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 18 2012, 11:50 PM)
are you serious? so who are all those people staying at the hotels/hostels? locals?
No joke, I got a surprise gift in Perth recently.. The receptionist of the hotel I stayed saw 3 of us coming in and asking us how on earth are we gonna sleep in one bed. In my mind, I was thinking..boy they gonna charge me xtra for additional bed like what I experienced in Jogja. However instead of that, she offered me 1 queen + 1 single bedroom without any xtra charge!! cool2.gif rclxms.gif

Dunno ever can happen in M'sia blush.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 19 2012, 02:31 PM
TSstimix
post Oct 27 2012, 07:27 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(wong6516 @ Oct 27 2012, 01:42 AM)
Guys,I planned to have a trip with my gf on this upcoming holiday around 11th nov till 16th nov.
Due to the laziness tongue.gif ,i would like to ops for a tour package which included:

Basically,

1.3D2N of a decent hotel
2.a car/vehicle
3.breakfast included

preferrable if included,

1.tour provided to certain attraction (ie:langkawi cabal car,pulau payar and etc)
2.dinner/lunch
3.return ticket for the ferry from kuala kedah
4.any other interesting activities (perhaps diving,jungle trekking ? )

Most importantly,all of them budget around RM 300-600 for 2 person.(cheaper is better) thumbup.gif
Any suggestion or idea would be helpful~ rclxms.gif
thx~
Coming to this forum, ppl normally no longer interested in tour package but DIY. and in Langkawi, it is so simple to DIT. Just rent a car and if you do not have any GPS, just use paper map.. so easy to navigate when not so complicated road system in Langkawi biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Dec 10 2012, 04:59 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Dec 10 2012, 04:55 PM)
Anyone know if there's any car rental in Kuala Perlis or Kuala Kedah? *im not going to langkawi, I'm heading out..

Thanks in advance

Urgent..!
Those pest will crowded at you near jetty area for sure.. no need to worry.. biggrin.gif Not only wth brochure of cars but resorts & hotels too..All depnd on how good you negotiate
TSstimix
post Dec 10 2012, 05:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(ray01 @ Dec 10 2012, 04:56 PM)
hi, Will be going to Langkawi next monday 16 Dec by air asia with family. Can anyone suggest the best place to park at Lcct for 4days and rate. Tq
Depending whether where you want to park..zone A in front of LCCT is expensive at Max RM40.50/day. Zone C between the airport & MAS kargo slightly cheaper at RM33.50

Further away, The Maybank area & beside Pos Malaysia road shoulders are the cheapest at RM16/day (Last year both are free!) or can park inside TUNE hotel at RM20/day

http://lcct.klia.com.my/index.php?option=c...w=article&id=30

Added on December 10, 2012, 5:07 pm
QUOTE(skon9 @ Dec 10 2012, 05:05 PM)
Erm, I mean car rental for mainland.. Not in langkawi, as I'm heading out from the island.. Is it possible for us to get it for mainland uses?
Try mudah. Anyway, those pest will surely ask you too.. so they probably having contact for those illegal operators in mainland side.. well not many ppl renting out from Langkawi.. so chances very slim

This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 10 2012, 05:09 PM
TSstimix
post Jan 12 2013, 05:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(rafaismycat @ Jan 12 2013, 11:51 AM)
I see.. The same goes to island hoping as well? Im gonna stay in kuah, do u think there is any operator for island hoping in Kuah as well coz seems like the jetty is at Awana Malai which quite far from
Kuah. Afraid i new to go to te awana malai jetty first from Kuah
Different jetties serving diff areas of island hoping. The main Kuah Jetty mostly to Pulau Dayang Bunting, eagle watch, Pulau Payar & more.

The one in Awana (Well not at the resort but before the resort- No proper jetty.. Just a small kampong Nelayan area) serving those to Pulau Bras Basar,Singa Besar & etc... So be sure which island you wanna go. smile.gif
TSstimix
post Jan 12 2013, 10:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(rafaismycat @ Jan 12 2013, 08:27 PM)
I see, i was afraid I newd to travel to the Awana jetty first before i can join the island hoping. Noted that n thanks so muchii!!!
You can check the 3rd map posted on 1st page on the location of the jetty & Awana resort. Diff place hor smile.gif ..And those islands like Singa Besar/Bras Basar islands having crstal clear water compare to those in kuah smile.gif
TSstimix
post Jul 9 2013, 09:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Jul 9 2013, 08:38 PM)
Wanna go to langkawi for a trip with my friends in the nearest time possible. Any nice affordable budget hotels n fastest way to get there. Not by flight I mean
Thread merged & do check 1st pg 1st
TSstimix
post Sep 3 2013, 12:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Sep 3 2013, 11:18 AM)
If I'm going to Langkawi on the 22nd of December till 25th of December. Is it still okay to just land there and find car rental? Will there be still any?
Most off ppl to Langkawi don't really pre-book. Just negotiate from the many car rentals counters there. I don't see any problem as there were 2 occasions I went to Langkawi during Major festive season- i.e Hari Raya smile.gif
TSstimix
post Sep 30 2013, 05:44 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Sixter @ Sep 30 2013, 04:06 PM)
For 11-13 october... couldn't find any hotel near the beach. Need recommendation? Pls help! notworthy.gif

We got 5 person

Budget RM100 - RM150 per night
Thread merged smile.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 13 2013, 06:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(syamsulizhan @ Oct 13 2013, 06:29 PM)
Hi, planning to go to Langkawi on this coming november. any recommended hotel? budget around rm300. prefer more quite place but also easy accessible to the attractions in langkawi. is the any malaysian rate hotel available?
Thread merged. Do check page 1 for hotels list. At RM300, you surely get better deal.. try agoda, booking.com & etc for better deal & discount.
TSstimix
post Jun 19 2017, 08:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For langkawi, no need prebook. Reach there, those car rental companies will look for u..more like pasar malam

0.0432sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:19 AM