KEF Owners Thread v1.0, Share all about your KEF systems.

JSpec2
post Apr 21 2012, 11:05 AM

126 posts

Over..over!!!
KEF owner reporting in.

Q700

Q500

Q600c

This post has been edited by JSpec2: Apr 21 2012, 11:08 AM
JSpec2
post Apr 21 2012, 02:54 PM

126 posts

[quote=wongkmc,Apr 21 2012, 02:24 PM]100% correct!.. bi-amping better! I had mine Q700 bi-amp and Q600c biwire. My amp don't have Bi-Amp centre so !!

Added on April 21, 2012, 2:26 pm

look like mine  rclxms.gif walnut color,  how much u bought for Q700 and Q600c?

[/quote

How much u bought?
Btw,do u using Bi-wire?which brand of cable u using?

This post has been edited by JSpec2: Aug 6 2016, 07:21 PM
JSpec2
post Apr 21 2012, 03:21 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Apr 21 2012, 03:13 PM)
Mine Q700+Q600C = 6.8k, you got RM100 cheaper. It deliver to door.

I used Belden 1311A @ 12 Gauge, order from this forum as well. They said it is more pure copper and high quality. Is copper type so less brightness compare to silver with KEF speaker.

What amp you are using?
Agree wif u,pure copper cable is more on warmer side.
Im using Onkyo 609 wif Audioquest CV4 bi-wire.
JSpec2
post Apr 21 2012, 08:36 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Apr 21 2012, 04:40 PM)
At what position you use for your Q500?

I'm using Rythmik Subwoofer F15HP with 600 RMS, got it 5.3k.. very powerful and punching, it is seal sub so the bass was very tight and fast, really give big different in watching movies, real steel, Iron man2 etc.. wow drool.gif  very good in listen to music too... 

How you feel on Q700 bass? What HI-FI said is muddy? do you feel that, I didn't feel it...
Actually im upgraded to Q700 instead of my Q500.
According to "WHAT HIFI" stated dat Q700 muddy bass issue,for me is "ngam ngam hor"...haha

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Apr 21 2012, 05:53 PM)
Nice setup Bro JSpec2  smile.gif . How does the KEF + ONKYO sound ?
QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Apr 21 2012, 06:24 PM)
smile.gif The IQ series + Rythmik + REL  combination were excellent . I'm thinking to change my AVR  cause all my previous AVR were DENON . Feel a bit boring already . I want to try ONKYO.
Thx bro.
Onkyo = powerful amp
Kef = ez to drive even 8 ohms spkrs

Both can partnering very clear & wide sound,but need carefully for cable matching.
I audited few sets of cable b4 as below:
Wireworld Luna 5 Bi Wire,
Chord Silver Screen Bi Wire,
Audioquest CV4 Bi Wire,

Finally,i choose audioquest for more warmer sound.
No regret for these combo set. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
JSpec2
post Apr 21 2012, 11:16 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Apr 21 2012, 09:47 PM)
Thank for ur reply  smile.gif

Added on April 21, 2012, 9:51 pm
Sure u didn't feel it cause What HI-FI 'SUCK'  laugh.gif
Bro,which model of Denon AVR u using?
JSpec2
post Apr 24 2012, 04:24 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(tanyz @ Apr 24 2012, 03:49 PM)
cos i told them to install for a 7.1 system.. room size is 26ft X 16ft.. so the cable has to travel a fair bit i suppose?

Added on April 24, 2012, 3:53 pm
I only bought a pair?.. initially i thought of a 7.1 system.. but budget don't agree with me.. so stick with 5.1 but made sure the installer will pull the wiring ready for a 7.1 upgrade in the future

a simple editted floor plan from the designer..

yellow/green = Bar
Blue =  Sofa
black = screen (with Q600C and Q400b)
Gray = front (Q500) , mid room (Q300), Bar (Future Q300)
Bro,y don u go for Q700 sinced u bought a same signature spkrs?
JSpec2
post Apr 24 2012, 04:50 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(tanyz @ Apr 24 2012, 04:38 PM)
lol.. budget la boss.. me low budget so start with this..

Added on April 24, 2012, 4:39 pm
hmm.. good idea !!.. mayb when i wan to puchase i shud get the q700 or q900(if got budget).. then put the q500 as mid, and q300 as surround !!.. thanks..
Q500 place at rear wil b better than SL & SR.
I can offer u better deal if u looking for any other model KEF spkr or acc in future.
JSpec2
post May 29 2012, 12:02 PM

126 posts

Any1 audition KEF R Series b4?
JSpec2
post Jun 1 2012, 11:22 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(ewolfly @ Jun 1 2012, 07:55 PM)
hi all,im using Q300,Q600c,and 3005se .pair with pioneer lx55. Think want to update front to Q700,any suggestion? how much for Q700 now?
Where is ur location?
JSpec2
post Jun 3 2012, 12:46 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(ewolfly @ Jun 3 2012, 12:42 AM)
Muar, but i always go kl. thinking Q900, but my lx55 i think cannot handle it .
Ya...cuz Q-series is 8 ohms speakers.Need at least LX75 oni enuf to drive Q900.
JSpec2
post Jun 11 2012, 09:24 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(ravemaster @ Jun 11 2012, 02:52 PM)
may i know the best price deal for the Q600c? got a quote of rm2100. is the price reasonable? want to add a center to my current 2.1 system. thanks
ur current 2.1 system oso kef q-series??

JSpec2
post Jun 12 2012, 08:32 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(super911 @ Jun 12 2012, 08:17 PM)
5-7k, what can i possibly get?
Amp + Q700
or
Q700 + Q600c

Above items not included cable.
JSpec2
post Jun 13 2012, 11:01 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(super911 @ Jun 13 2012, 10:46 AM)
Q300 is a bookshelf speaker right? I prefer a floorstand speaker. I don't mind to upgrade my budget as long as it's value for money. What I mean is if I spend another 30% more but I can get 50% more quality, I am fine with that.

For the mean time, I will use the HT mainly for astro and some music. Can someone intro a Amp+Q series speakers+Amp for a start? Budget 8k.
For movie,u can go for Pioneer & Onkyo.
For music,juz go for Marantz & Denon.

Package within 8k as below,
Kef Q500 + Q200c + above entry lvl AVR. rclxms.gif
JSpec2
post Jun 13 2012, 11:13 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(super911 @ Jun 13 2012, 11:07 AM)
Where can I buy?
Whr ur location?
JSpec2
post Jun 25 2012, 08:10 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(super911 @ Jun 25 2012, 07:20 PM)
I bought the Kef Kube 2 after testing both. This is the first 'real' HT that I have bought. Before this, used the philips HTIB. Now enjoying the Adele rolling in the deep in youtube biggrin.gif
Yea...new KEF member added!!!
Cheer...
JSpec2
post Jun 26 2012, 10:59 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jun 26 2012, 10:41 AM)
errr...wanna ask you sifu...

is it okay to pair kef kht 1005.2 with marantz sr5005?
For music,marantz is perfect match.
But for movie,onkyo & pioneer is better.
JSpec2
post Jun 26 2012, 06:58 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(super911 @ Jun 26 2012, 06:03 PM)
Ya, very different. I audition the BD before in show room where those sales ppl like to use Adele to 'demo' biggrin.gif

By the way, I still haven't add my surround yet. Is Q100 enough to do the job? or need Q300?
Either get a pair of Q100 or Q800,it works very well wif ur Q500 & Q200c.
JSpec2
post Jun 26 2012, 11:02 PM

126 posts

[quote=Mikeyz,Jun 26 2012, 10:02 PM]
If have budget, i would say a Q800ds is the one, if on a tight budget get a Q300 and skip Q100 cause Q300 has bigger driver and better soundstage from my experience.

Bro,Q300 not really suit for him.
Bcuz Q500 & Q200c is 5" driver,better go for same size to pair with..

JSpec2
post Jul 26 2012, 09:05 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(hiphop @ Jul 26 2012, 07:25 AM)
my room just 11 x 9ft, its ok setup 2 pair Q300 and Q200c??
Im using Q700 + Q600 in my small 11 x 10ft HT room only.
JSpec2
post Jul 28 2012, 12:14 AM

126 posts

Yea,i wondering how much for LS50?

0.0347sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:01 PM