Ivy Bridge Overclocking V1 | 3770K/3570K | Z77, Torture Your CPU, Post It Here!

shepard
post Apr 20 2012, 05:23 PM

We shall overcome
849 posts

Aside from the easily hot chip, the 3570k doesn't come with HT as well? even though we can only see the purpose of HT in 3dmark but it feels good to have it imo smile.gif.
shepard
post Apr 29 2012, 02:10 AM

We shall overcome
849 posts

anyone here can suggest whether it's a good move to upgrade from 2600k to 3770k? From the review in guru3d they mentioned something like not a significant upgrade and base on Kelvin's Vantage score, looks only a bit faster than my 4.8GHz 2600k score.

Kelvin, your cpu vantage score above is for the stock 3770k or OC'ed one? if OC'ed, is it 5.0GHz?
shepard
post Oct 24 2012, 11:33 PM

We shall overcome
849 posts

Just started mine with 4.6GHz, Vcore set to 1.33V in BIOS and cpu-z read ~1.312v. Just try 3dmark11 and 3dmark vantage cpu test ran several times and so far no problem.

Max temp on one of the core was 64degC...not sure whether its good or not as this is my 1st time with ivy bridge and didnt do any research on this new gen CPU yet.

any advise from sifus here are much appreciated..Thanks

This post has been edited by shepard: Oct 24 2012, 11:33 PM
shepard
post Oct 25 2012, 05:16 PM

We shall overcome
849 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Oct 24 2012, 11:42 PM)
Sounds normal for Ivy. It is born that hot.
Welcome to the IB OC club bro.
Glad that you come back to OCing again.  notworthy.gif
Thanks Owi, I cannot push my chip further since currently using arctic freezer 13 air cooling only..temp is very hot 90+degC after 10mins of prime95 so I stop it. I'm planning for budget WC like RASA EX... hopefully can push this chip to at least 4.8GHz stable using WC smile.gif.

btw, can I OC my RAM from 1866MHz 1.5v CL 9-10-9-27 to 2133MHz? What voltage do you think needed for this and can I overvolt it to let say 1.65v at 2133MHz? Soory I'm newbie and needs to learn a lot from sifus here notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shepard: Oct 25 2012, 05:17 PM
shepard
post Oct 26 2012, 03:30 PM

We shall overcome
849 posts

Thanks Owi and Stasio, now my pc can boot up at 2133MHz 1.65v at 10-11-10-27 timings. Will need some time to test for stability rclxm9.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shepard: Oct 26 2012, 03:39 PM
shepard
post Nov 6 2012, 11:33 AM

We shall overcome
849 posts

Ok here's mine, feels good to join the club biggrin.gif

@Owi

Shepard | 3770k | 4600MHz | Asus P8Z77-V LK | Air
shepard
post Jul 5 2013, 06:56 PM

We shall overcome
849 posts

Hi OC sifus,

I just bought a new costa rica chip 3570k..dunno whether this is good but that's what I think so far. this chip so far stable at:
4.5GHz @ 1.165v
4.6GHz @ 1.225v

and now I'm running at 4.8GHz and still testing. Vcore at 1.335v set in BIOS so far no stability issue(super pi/crysis 3/3dmark11) but later tonight will run LinX and P95.
any 3570k owner care to share their OC and vcore please? sorry I'm not going to read previous pages cause its too much 100++ pages sweat.gif.

anyhow this 3570k is definitely better than my previous 3770k which needs ~ 1.41v at 4.8GHz. here's a screenshot after finishing Super Pi check:

update: 5.0GHz for this cpu needs 1.45v to be able to bootup to windows..gonna try crysis3 later see if it can hold up or not, wongtheboy proc is even better than this but nonetheless this 3570k is still better than prev 3770k in terms of oc smile.gif

This post has been edited by shepard: Jul 10 2013, 11:11 AM
shepard
post Jan 10 2014, 04:55 PM

We shall overcome
849 posts

QUOTE(ijatneda @ Jan 10 2014, 10:18 AM)
Late in the game,but managed to OC mine 3507k to 4.5GHz @ 1.255v.
Max temp is 90 using IBT,later will upload the print screen.
One question,if I select the XMP profile,why my proc doesn't drop the multiplier to lowest when it idle?or is it i manually enter the voltage that is why the ratio is not drop during idle  hmm.gif . All setting intel speed step,c3,c6 are enable.
hmm.gif, I only need 1.245v for 4.6GHz stable 24/7. please try it first bro, 4.5GHz the proc only requires about 1.195-1.2v Vcore iirc so 1.255 to me is very high. regarding your multiplier, check your windows power setting..make sure it is set to "Balanced" or "Power Saver". try that first..

0.0449sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:52 AM