Ivy Bridge Overclocking V1 | 3770K/3570K | Z77, Torture Your CPU, Post It Here!

hanny562
post May 22 2013, 10:47 PM

944 posts

Join intel family 2 days ago ( previously AMD owner)

This is my first attempt of overclock Intel CPU.

Proc : Intel Core i5-3570k @ 4.7Ghz
Vcore : 1.35v ( will try lower it and test again)
Motherboard : MSI z77 mpower
RAM : Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 2133 2x4GB
Cooler : Antec Kuhler H2O 920

Prime95 test with 128 min ttf and 90% Max RAM.

haven't delid yet...will try higher speed after buying Custom WC and delided.

This post has been edited by hanny562: May 22 2013, 11:04 PM
hanny562
post May 22 2013, 11:31 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ May 22 2013, 11:16 PM)
the max temps in your first attached image rather scary biggrin.gif
hahah yea almost 100 degree..im thinking might be my cooler not that good...changing to Custom WC soon...looking around for a value custom WC XD...or maybe this proc is still virgin( not delided) ><

hanny562
post May 22 2013, 11:42 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 22 2013, 11:36 PM)
Voting for delid!  thumbup.gif
As explained earlier,
Hey Kevin ^^

actually wanted to delid it before first install...but worry too much and not so confident to do that ..worried that will damage the proc >< but will do it soon after getting WC and CLU ~
hanny562
post Jun 1 2013, 02:39 AM

944 posts

Fianlly delid my Intel I5-3570k, there's few scratches on the PCB, the copper in the PCB even exposed abit..

but luckily my proc has strong life to survive after delid ><

Scared me when there's few deep scratches.

Before delid, Xigmatek TIM + Antec Kuhler H2O 920

After delid Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra + Antec Kuhler H2O 920
On-Die TIM : Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
IHS TIM : Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
hanny562
post Jun 1 2013, 01:24 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 1 2013, 07:17 AM)
Well done Han! Thumb up that you got balls to delid the IHS out of craps.

You are lucky to find the chip is still alive and kicking although the PCB copper is exposed. Most people killed it just like that.

Nice temperature improvement that is a huge drop right from 90C+ to 70C+ thanks to the Liquid Ultra and no more excessive gap between the IHS and die.
Thanks Kevin , yea need a very big balls to do it, and yes thank god it's alive, when first I scratched the PCB , I was like almost heart attack and can't wait to test it out and luckily it still kicking XD

I believe if used custom WC it can drop more XD but seems like need slightly more liquid ultra to full the gap between IHS and the DIE, or else if the layer too thin, the TIM can't reach the IHS =x

But Kelvin, will the scratch affect the performance on the processor?

QUOTE(raydenex @ Jun 1 2013, 08:24 AM)
eh where to buy Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra?
@raydenex can find Nicolasteoh ,

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1702139&hl=

QUOTE(raydenex @ Jun 1 2013, 08:25 AM)
respect! nice temps!
Thanks XD time to delid your biggrin.gif
QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Jun 1 2013, 08:49 AM)
You used razor blade is it to separate the IHS?
I used Pen Knife, but XL size pen knife seems too big to get into the GAP, that's why my PCB full of scratch >< recommend to use razer blade which is thinner or small pen knife ><

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Jun 1 2013, 09:39 AM)
Nice job still not dare to do it
hah can try to do it , just use thin knife + don't shake + make the straight in the gap then can already XD

This post has been edited by hanny562: Jun 1 2013, 01:25 PM
hanny562
post Jun 1 2013, 01:40 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Jun 1 2013, 01:30 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwv_EsY07Wg

See that one. Hardcore. Drop 25 degrees. =.=
this one seems fast and much safer than blade method but must have a vice ><

This post has been edited by hanny562: Jun 1 2013, 01:49 PM
hanny562
post Jun 1 2013, 01:53 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Jun 1 2013, 01:44 PM)
Lol. How much leh vice? Standard price?

XD i also not sure leh ~didnt get it before tongue.gif
hanny562
post Jun 1 2013, 02:02 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 1 2013, 01:58 PM)
I just use one drop of Liquid Pro and spread it to a thin layer with the provided cotton bud.
The scratches on the PCB will not affect anything, your chip will work just perfectly.
ic but I used 2 drop and used the brush provided in package =x first layer applied seems can't touched the IHD , don't know why ><

haha luckily , or else wallet gonna suffer again ><
hanny562
post Jun 9 2013, 01:09 AM

944 posts

New OC record of mine..4.9Ghz with 1.5v sweat.gif

trying 5.0Ghz soon..tried few times last time , logon successfully but BSOD after 5min Prim95

This post has been edited by hanny562: Jun 9 2013, 01:10 AM
hanny562
post Jul 5 2013, 04:45 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Jul 5 2013, 04:44 PM)
i just delid my i3570k and apply the noctua NT-H1.
it doesnt seem to any different in temp.
i was thinking is it my thermal paste aspired or the way i apply it wrong?

i also found out my thermal paste is too dry cause this thermal paste have been 2 year old since i have it.

anyone have any clues?
did you reapply the thermal paste inside? recommend to use higher end TIM.
hanny562
post Jul 5 2013, 05:56 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Jul 5 2013, 05:04 PM)
i cleaned up and replied it.
higher end TIM as ACRTIC MX-4 ?
any suggestion ?
if you can get Artic silver 5 then nicer tongue.gif

If your place has RadioShark store, can walk in to have a look, they got carry artic silver products..

0.0556sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:50 PM