Ivy Bridge Overclocking V1 | 3770K/3570K | Z77, Torture Your CPU, Post It Here!

Dreamworks
post May 28 2012, 11:10 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Hi, does anyone here have experience OCing on Intel DZ77GA-70K? Might be getting a 3770K + mobo + SSD combo as replacement for my trusty Conroe system. I'm hoping it's at least good enough to get the proc up to a range of 4.4~4.6GHz biggrin.gif
Dreamworks
post May 29 2012, 09:42 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 29 2012, 01:43 PM)
To play safe, if you tend to overclock, grab an Asus Z77 instead.
Sad sad.gif I have to buy 3 items together as a package. Oh well, never mind I guess... Shall be the first here to OC with Intel mobo tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: May 29 2012, 09:42 PM
Dreamworks
post Aug 1 2012, 10:00 PM

2,141 posts

May I join? biggrin.gif Just finished setting up my Ivy system last night.

Adjusted the multiplier to x45, LLC to high, HT to off, everything else on stock. And I can bet I'm the only one here with an OCed i7 on Intel-branded mobo tongue.gif
i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz by pixeltailz, on Flickr

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 1 2012, 10:02 PM
Dreamworks
post Aug 1 2012, 10:45 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Aug 1 2012, 10:08 PM)
OK,but why not 4/8 cores (you should have GFlops ~100).
My 4/8 for 4.5GHz stable is also arround 1.225V.
You mean should turn on HT? Because I read from OC guide somewhere to turn off HT sweat.gif

Now 2 hours liao and still running strong, gonna try with 4/8 cores afterwards. Surprised that the temps are around 80, I'm just using Hyper 212 Evo and not some big hsf or wc...

Added on August 1, 2012, 11:07 pmWeird. I turned on HT but GFlops dropped to ~60 only rclxub.gif Must be something wrong somewhere, or is it due to my RAMs?

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 1 2012, 11:07 PM
Dreamworks
post Aug 1 2012, 11:54 PM

2,141 posts

IBT gave ~99GFlops but LinX only ~62GFlops. I thought they are essentially the same, but why 40GFlops gone with LinX doh.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 1 2012, 11:56 PM
Dreamworks
post Aug 2 2012, 07:12 AM

2,141 posts

Thanks for the tips and advices, now my LinX also can peak at ~100GFlops rclxms.gif Tried 4.6GHz just now, but BSOD after 30mins laugh.gif
Dreamworks
post Aug 2 2012, 10:18 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 2 2012, 10:00 AM)
Curious how did you get the >100GFlops?
Nothing magical I'm afraid tongue.gif ... Just downloaded the latest LinX version s provided by stasio laugh.gif

Added on August 2, 2012, 11:40 pmMy attempt for tonight:
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2459852
oc_47_1 by pixeltailz, on Flickr

4.738GHz with +60mV to Core Voltage... 4.6GHz needed +40mV to remain stable while 4.8GHz +100mV (but no go as temperatures reached TJ Max within minutes sweat.gif ). So this is obviously the sweet spot, still amazed at how well CM Hyper 212 EVO performs despite costing a reasonable RM107 flex.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 2 2012, 11:41 PM
Dreamworks
post Aug 3 2012, 12:16 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 2 2012, 11:42 PM)
ok. glad that you've found the culprit. Enjoy overclocking.  biggrin.gif

Golden 3770K batch 3218C017 arrived today. Will test out later.

Added on August 2, 2012, 11:51 pmNice chip you got there bro my 4.7GHz needs 1.312v to get stable.

That was on a broken Quad TEC...
Thanks biggrin.gif Mine is batch 3219B951, I guess chips around 32xx clocks quite well hmm.gif
Dreamworks
post Aug 4 2012, 12:50 PM

2,141 posts

Made a few tweaks to my 4.5GHz OC:
1) LLC dropped from High to Low (for lower VCORE under load as my board doesn't support under-volting doh.gif)
2) BCLK returned to stock (was causing random issues when waking up from S3/S4/S5 state)
3) RAM upped from 1600MHz to 1866MHz (Trying to learn about timings, but those sub-timings are driving me rclxub.gif )

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2461525
oc_45_2 by pixeltailz, on Flickr

QUOTE(lordc4an @ Aug 4 2012, 06:36 AM)
Morning sifus,
im newbie trying learn to oc..thanks to this thread i learn so much at first page  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
right now im running with stock cooler..easily reach tjmax..is it safe? coz my target is 4.5ghz
is it safe to push it more or need new cooler?

thanks you  notworthy.gif

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2461244

For 4.5GHz you're gonna need a new cooler... The stock HSF is simply too "thin" for the job tongue.gif But still, nice clocks for 1st attempt
Dreamworks
post Aug 5 2012, 12:32 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 5 2012, 08:43 AM)
If you run 3DMark or BF3 sure will get higher core temps than your current LinX + SP0.

Performance RAM when clocked faster will benefit in synthetic benchmarks, vid encoding via iGPU & some games such as Total War etc. it is fun to play with rather than playing with boring multiplier OC.
For RAM, is it better to go with high clocks or tight timings? And is 1.65v considered a safe (because my G.Skill default is 1.35v only sweat.gif )? Applied 1.5v for 1866MHz atm and can't seem go higher without extra juice...
Dreamworks
post Aug 5 2012, 02:49 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 5 2012, 02:15 PM)
Speed is generally more important than timings. But depends on IC and test, for instance PSC 2500 8-11-8 beats samsung 2666 9-12-12 in SPi benchmark. Dont worry about vdimm, lots of people whack their RAMs up to 1.92v on air without dying. Most performance RAMs out there are rated at 1.65v & can take more volts for OC. FYI Intel specs is roughly 1.5v only. But who cares about their limit when it comes to OC. biggrin.gif
Nice! Gonna try with 1.65v later, now downloading anime laugh.gif What about System Agent Voltage (VCCSA)? This one inside processor, worry a bit...

Added on August 5, 2012, 4:34 pmEDIT: 1.65v no luck, guess I'm stuck with this speed until I get new sticks tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 5 2012, 04:34 PM
Dreamworks
post Aug 5 2012, 11:50 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 5 2012, 06:37 PM)
VCCSA Voltage: Sets the voltage for the System Agent. Can be left on Auto for most overclocking.

Maximus V Forumla OC Guide
Thanks! Have been looking for a guide like this which teaches how to calculate/set appropriate values thumbup.gif
Dreamworks
post Aug 6 2012, 12:43 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 6 2012, 12:23 AM)
good job bro.. 2800 C11 possible on your IMC?
just whack it to hell with 1.85v, 1.25v, 1.25v vdimm, VCCSA, VCCIO  biggrin.gif

Added on August 6, 2012, 12:24 am
np... added this useful guide into the post #1
You guys dare set so high for VCCSA? In post #1 stated max is 0.971v nia sweat.gif But what I find weird is when using Intel's own OC Assidtant for RAM overclocking, the BIOS will auto increase VCCSA to 1.050v, don't Intel know their own spec hmm.gif
Dreamworks
post Aug 16 2012, 10:57 PM

2,141 posts

Today's attempt: 4.8GHz biggrin.gif

But temperature is close to kissing tjmax in an air-conditioned room sweat.gif
oc_48_1 by pixeltailz, on Flickr
Dreamworks
post Aug 17 2012, 07:37 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 16 2012, 11:12 PM)
Pretty sure it will hit TJmax if full RAM selected.  biggrin.gif
on the other hand I got something special to show you guys later...  brows.gif
Gonna try tonight... Full RAM selected takes a long time for 1 loop and I was already in "sleep" mode, lazy to wait tongue.gif

That CLU TIM (not interested in removing IHS sweat.gif ) seems quite interesting, price is not cheap though.
Dreamworks
post Aug 17 2012, 11:00 PM

2,141 posts

Re-stressed with more RAM used, seems stable and not much changes in temps.
CPU-Z: http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2479651
oc_48_2 by pixeltailz, on Flickr

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 17 2012, 08:32 AM)
the longer the loop, the more stressful & higher chance of detecting errors.
As for the TIM, initially I didn't really believe people kept saying that CLU shove off their core temps by 10C. I meant seriously that much??!! So I decided to grab it & test it out myself. It amazed me & it's worth the money.
You have TEC which moves heat away at an exceptional fast rate, so the improvements a good TIM like CLU can bring for you is definitely significant. Me... Air cooling with a lowly Hyper 212 EVO, maybe 5 degrees at most tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 17 2012, 11:03 PM
Dreamworks
post Aug 17 2012, 11:09 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 17 2012, 11:07 PM)
I'm not using TEC, it's been sent to manufacturer for upgrade. So those results were performed under normal custom wc kit powered by 2x 360 rads + 12x GT AP15 1850rpm.
Already quad-TEC still wanna upgrade summore, and fuh... 12x Typhoons sweat.gif
Dreamworks
post Aug 18 2012, 09:06 AM

2,141 posts

Hmm... I wonder if H100 will do for 5GHz. Customs are a little too costly for me (although I did consider them once before tongue.gif ), and H100 is way easier to install laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 18 2012, 09:07 AM
Dreamworks
post Aug 20 2012, 11:30 AM

2,141 posts

Seems like most air coolers perform more or less the same, apart from D14 laugh.gif But never really like big fat coolers, hard to swap RAMs (although I don't do that much tongue.gif )

Hmm... RS240, with compression fittings it'll come to roughly RM600.

Added on August 20, 2012, 11:37 am
QUOTE(lordc4an @ Aug 20 2012, 09:11 AM)
Just change the cooler bro..coz last time get 4.1ghz with stock cooler 7xc..kenot tahan i want more speed.. i change r new cooler Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme..4.4ghz max 97c..
next week r i try reapply the TP and repo the cooler..
if after TP and repo still same..i will stick 4.1ghz ..low vcore and good temp..sad r coz my mission to get 4.5ghz kenot accomplished  cry.gif
9x temps is only under serious stress testing with LinX/IBT right? I think it's quite alright for everyday use as my 4.8GHz (1.280v in BIOS, 1.336v in CPU-Z) only recorded max 8x degress while gaming or benching with 3DMark11/C4D nod.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 20 2012, 11:37 AM
Dreamworks
post Aug 20 2012, 10:09 PM

2,141 posts

Yo, anybody know where/who got sell Samsung Green DDR3 (30nm LP)? I found a few sellers on eBay, but shipping will take quite some time sweat.gif

Wanna try OCing RAM to at least 2133MHz but my G.Skills are kinda limited.

0.0571sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:16 PM