125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V22 - Live or Die

TSr3apers
post Apr 23 2012, 02:23 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 23 2012, 02:20 PM)
This is the 3rd round ady. Nothing muh on the 1st & 2nd experience bcoz car kosong. But this time with 3 fat arse averge 100kg weight each in the car. Up hill need to use 2nd gear 5krpm. Downhill oso need to brake very early as the std brake couldn't cope up. When reaching Gohthong Jaya ady can smell rubber burning, so we stop by 7-11 & found the brake is "smoking". After 1/2 TT, continue journey with no problem, but don't dare to tauke ady consider the extra load in the car & std brakepad. Overall std bosch brakepad is very acceptible & survived such torture.

A side note, got this advice from magician, so I practiced with caution. Do not leave your left foot on the clutch pedal after release. Many will leave their feet there conveniently for clutching. Magician said this type of hydraulic clutch can easily engaged without knowledge, with certain weight applied, clutch plate will grind the disc without driver's knowledge. Like Genting this type of tauke road, till u realize clutch worn out is too late ady. Your ride prolly jammed at 2/3 gear unable to clutch, or if u get lucky RPM go up, but u lose torque unable to climb hill anymore. To conclude, fast disengage clutch is actually 1 of many ways to prolong clutch life, & not leaving our feet on the clutch pedal to protect it from grinding the disc whilst driving. Hope this help.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

btw tauke = touge

Added on April 23, 2012, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(huzaifa136 @ Apr 23 2012, 02:05 PM)
so it might not be 'ceramic' as they call it
mentioned 'ceramic' NAO (non-asbestos organic)
probably NAO + ceramic like characteristic != real ceramic as performance car use..
i wonder the other ceramic from tyre shop is real ceramic or 'ceramic' NAO
hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by r3apers: Apr 23 2012, 02:25 PM
dares
post Apr 23 2012, 02:26 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(r3apers @ Apr 23 2012, 02:23 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

btw tauke = touge

I think he do that on purpose wan
Wuakaka
post Apr 23 2012, 02:28 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(r3apers @ Apr 23 2012, 02:01 PM)
u got try b4?
sorry,i dare not to use to protect my disc brake,my previous disc brake got chipped off due to the semi metallic pad....furthermore,there is some couple of cars having dust on their rims if u go thru the thread...but anyhow,rm 45 is cheap,even the so called oem pad selling in spare part shop is also rm 45,lols...hehe

Non-Asbestos Organic

Sometimes listed as organic or NAO, these types of brake pads are made from fibers such as glass, rubber, carbon and Kevlar. In addition, non-asbestos organic brake pads have filler materials and high-temperature resins. These pads are softer and quieter than other types of pads, but they wear faster and create more brake dust.

This post has been edited by Wuakaka: Apr 23 2012, 02:30 PM
TSr3apers
post Apr 23 2012, 02:40 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 23 2012, 02:26 PM)
I think he do that on purpose wan
yea..i know that..juz incase sum ppl hangover juz like me like last week... sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(Wuakaka @ Apr 23 2012, 02:28 PM)
sorry,i dare not to use to protect my disc brake,my previous disc brake got chipped off due to the semi metallic pad....furthermore,there is some couple of cars having dust on their rims if u go thru the thread...but anyhow,rm 45 is cheap,even the so called oem pad selling in spare part shop is also rm 45,lols...hehe

Non-Asbestos Organic

Sometimes listed as organic or NAO, these types of brake pads are made from fibers such as glass, rubber, carbon and Kevlar. In addition, non-asbestos organic brake pads have filler materials and high-temperature resins. These pads are softer and quieter than other types of pads, but they wear faster and create more brake dust.
Ohh...Thnks 4 De Info~!
ka_one2000
post Apr 23 2012, 02:42 PM

218 posts

at last..... changed to 15" rim with 195/50/15 cheap tyre......
dares
post Apr 23 2012, 02:44 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ka_one2000 @ Apr 23 2012, 02:42 PM)
at last..... changed to 15" rim with 195/50/15 cheap tyre......
What tires?
ka_one2000
post Apr 23 2012, 02:49 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 23 2012, 02:44 PM)
What tires?
Dunlop Formula D01...... cheap ass tyre... well budget is tight, what to do...
dares
post Apr 23 2012, 02:54 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ka_one2000 @ Apr 23 2012, 02:49 PM)
How much per pc?
+Newbie+
post Apr 23 2012, 02:58 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 23 2012, 12:29 PM)
What's wrong with those?  blink.gif

Added on April 23, 2012, 12:30 pm

Already changed CVT mounting, still there.

I'll update here la if the problem is solved. Dowanna speculate first  smile.gif
Well, for one, they're not easy to use. For another, they're not as solid as the ones installed onto the steering column.

Anyways, good luck with your buzzing problem. I hope it's just some coin box or loose items vibrating in the storage compartment under your steering. lol.

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 23 2012, 02:20 PM)
This is the 3rd round ady. Nothing muh on the 1st & 2nd experience bcoz car kosong. But this time with 3 fat arse averge 100kg weight each in the car. Up hill need to use 2nd gear 5krpm. Downhill oso need to brake very early as the std brake couldn't cope up. When reaching Gohthong Jaya ady can smell rubber burning, so we stop by 7-11 & found the brake is "smoking". After 1/2 TT, continue journey with no problem, but don't dare to tauke ady consider the extra load in the car & std brakepad. Overall std bosch brakepad is very acceptible & survived such torture.

A side note, got this advice from magician, so I practiced with caution. Do not leave your left foot on the clutch pedal after release. Many will leave their feet there conveniently for clutching. Magician said this type of hydraulic clutch can easily engaged without knowledge, with certain weight applied, clutch plate will grind the disc without driver's knowledge. Like Genting this type of tauke road, till u realize clutch worn out is too late ady. Your ride prolly jammed at 2/3 gear unable to clutch, or if u get lucky RPM go up, but u lose torque unable to climb hill anymore. To conclude, fast disengage clutch is actually 1 of many ways to prolong clutch life, & not leaving our feet on the clutch pedal to protect it from grinding the disc whilst driving. Hope this help.
icic, thanks for the info, bro. thumbup.gif
ka_one2000
post Apr 23 2012, 03:03 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 23 2012, 02:54 PM)
How much per pc?
RM 165.

All together with the rim RM 1500. dunno kena pancung or not... No scrapping even with full load (mine lowered with APM Sport Spring), tested with tyreshop tauke and his worker. rim off set is 42.
DaBestOne

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(ka_one2000 @ Apr 23 2012, 02:49 PM)
Dunlop is cheap tyre meh??
dares

834 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Apr 23 2012, 02:58 PM)
Well, for one, they're not easy to use. For another, they're not as solid as the ones installed onto the steering column.

Anyways, good luck with your buzzing problem. I hope it's just some coin box or loose items vibrating in the storage compartment under your steering. lol.
I wish. It's definitely something do with the area outside the cabin, probably the engine bay.
huzaifa136
post Apr 23 2012, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(Wuakaka @ Apr 23 2012, 02:28 PM)

Non-Asbestos Organic

but the ceramic NAO or 'ceramic based friction material' it's different based on my reading. developed by akebono, but i still can't justify the cheap price of it, above 100 should be ok for ceramic/ceramic NAO. i also don't dare testing it tongue.gif it should be a bit better than oem coz it comes as oem for some car brand. just need to choose a trustable brand.

i'm confused here, does we hv a true ceramic brake pad? can't find enough information on the net
ka_one2000
post Apr 23 2012, 03:05 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Apr 23 2012, 03:03 PM)
Dunlop is cheap tyre meh??
Well this model is the cheap range for dunlop....

This post has been edited by ka_one2000: Apr 23 2012, 03:07 PM
ApoKalypse
post Apr 23 2012, 03:06 PM

830 posts

GUYS, how much month or kilometer u wait untill u change the next engine oil? If go to proton, they will ask u to change every 3 month or 5000km...

my car not always gerak so the kilometer is low...very hard to get 5000km in 3 month,usually 6 month i change EO..is that ok?
+Newbie+
post Apr 23 2012, 03:08 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 23 2012, 03:03 PM)
I wish. It's definitely something do with the area outside the cabin, probably the engine bay.
icic, well happy hunting. Hopefully you'll find the problem and when that happens, please do share with us what went wrong. wink.gif
dares

834 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Apr 23 2012, 03:08 PM)
icic, well happy hunting. Hopefully you'll find the problem and when that happens, please do share with us what went wrong. wink.gif
For sure nod.gif

I'm not the one doing the hunting, Mr. Taj Mohamad at CoSE is laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Apr 23 2012, 03:09 PM
aidlover

1,002 posts

anyone rim change to yellowish color?
Wuakaka
post Apr 23 2012, 03:13 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(huzaifa136 @ Apr 23 2012, 03:05 PM)
but the ceramic NAO or 'ceramic based friction material' it's different based on my reading. developed by akebono, but i still can't justify the cheap price of it, above 100 should be ok for ceramic/ceramic NAO. i also don't dare testing it  tongue.gif it should be a bit better than oem coz it comes as oem for some car brand. just need to choose a trustable brand.

i'm confused here, does we hv a true ceramic brake pad? can't find enough information on the net
"Ceramic" is a marketing term used to describe "non-asbestos organic" (NAO) or organic pads, which contain small to moderate amounts of ceramic powders or fibers. NAO materials typically exhibit low friction, high wear rates at high temperatures, and increased compressibility/soft brake pedal under hot stopping conditions.

To counteract this behavior they sometimes contain many other raw materials (such as abrasives and metal sulfides) to maintain thermal stability. While some toxic materials have been effectively replaced, "ceramic" or NAO friction materials still often contain fibers with many similar properties as asbestos (potassium titanate, antimony,cadmium, etc.)

These "ceramic" brake pads are not to be confused with true ceramic composite brake components used on some high-end cars in limited quantities. Real ceramic composite components have a ceramic matrix, and usually contain reinforcing fibers or particles to improve toughness and reduce catastrophic cracking. NAO ("Ceramic") pads have an organic matrix.

so in the end still,good things never comes cheap,so i believe those well known manufacturers will still do rnr and insert some particles to improve braking where it will act like real ceramic pad........therefore i couldnt find any other brake pad with ceramic nao tag on it...=x
huzaifa136
post Apr 23 2012, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(Wuakaka @ Apr 23 2012, 03:13 PM)
"Ceramic" is a marketing term used to describe "non-asbestos organic" (NAO) or organic pads, which contain small to moderate amounts of ceramic powders or fibers. NAO materials typically exhibit low friction, high wear rates at high temperatures, and increased compressibility/soft brake pedal under hot stopping conditions.

To counteract this behavior they sometimes contain many other raw materials (such as abrasives and metal sulfides) to maintain thermal stability. While some toxic materials have been effectively replaced, "ceramic" or NAO friction materials still often contain fibers with many similar properties as asbestos (potassium titanate, antimony,cadmium, etc.)

These "ceramic" brake pads are not to be confused with true ceramic composite brake components used on some high-end cars in limited quantities. Real ceramic composite components have a ceramic matrix, and usually contain reinforcing fibers or particles to improve toughness and reduce catastrophic cracking. NAO ("Ceramic") pads have an organic matrix.

so in the end still,good things never comes cheap,so i believe those well known manufacturers will still do rnr and insert some particles to improve braking where it will act like real ceramic pad........therefore i couldnt find any other brake pad with ceramic nao tag on it...=x
i was fooled by the 'ceramic' marketing. thanks btw. it should be better than oem in terms of performance but it is definitely not 'ceramic'. any recommended brake pad for upgrade from oem based on your experience?

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:27 PM