♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V4♠ ♠ ♠, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé

kenso77
post Apr 17 2012, 11:03 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Apr 17 2012, 10:57 PM)
Finally,i oledi test drive the preve at seremban 2..first impression for me is,why the response so sluggish when move from standstill?i tot is car havent warm up,but after warm up oso same..the sa oledi told me tis issue b4 i test drove it..the performance for me is so so onli,maybe i'm put too high expectation for tis global car..when use D mode,i always need press hard to push the car to accelerate faster.i oso test it,when i stop the car,then i press the pedal and the rpm rev up to 1.5k rpm,the car still din move sweat.gif need press hard abit then juz the power suddenly coming..personali i dun like tis feel..i oso got test 0-100,but at last onli manage record the video from 0-90,then got car in front oledi..after i watch bec my video,from 0-90 is around 10-11sec..i use the stopwatch to count few times oledi according the video tat i record..i'm use D drive to test it and aircond is on..car got 3 person total around 190kg..i'm wan use the way wat mat79 mentioned..but from standstill to 90kmh,how i press hard the rpm still around 3.5k rpm there..so tis is max torque for tis engine..according tis test,i oso found that the dashboard will vibrate every time when i press hard to pick up..test few times oso same..and the rear speaker board keep got rattling sound oso..and maybe the test drive car is lemon car,even the rear right hand side oso can hear the wind noise from the triangle mirror after 80kmh..my wife sat at rear and tis all rattling sound was told by her..i oso got sat at rear to hear,and i oso can hear it..when use the paddle shift to test,the power is feel more powerful..but the downside is it will auto upshift every 5400-5500rpm..when use S drive,it juz help u increase the rpm to make u feel the car more alive when accelerate..when use D drive,i full throttle it,the rpm onli go beyond 4k rpm..and the speed wat i hit is around 130kmh..then i slow down oledi..in term of handling and stability,since i din reali to push hard to test,wat i feel is the stability was almost same as my persona..the NVH is better than others proton car,but i still can hear the engine noise and cvt gearbox noise quiet loud after 4k rpm..its not silent as my wife swift..but the road noise and wind noise is quite hard to realize when i speed to 130kmh..

honestly,i'm serious buyer b4 i test drove tis car..after test drove it,i think i still need to hold my plan 1st(my wife oso told me hold 1st) and wait the review from others owner 1st..since i was found quite a lot of quality problem in tis car..since the test drive car oso got the wind noise from rear triangle mirror,rear speaker board got rattling sound..for the performance part,me n my wife maybe not familiar wit cvt,the pick up response quite sluggish,need to press hard a bit then the car juz will pick up..tis feeling make me n my wife not so prefer lo..
LOL ... Your findings is the same as mine. Swift vs Preve, I feel Swift's driving refinement is better. But Preve wins by cabin & boot space as well as safety features
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 09:11 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 18 2012, 08:47 AM)
gudmorning everyone. Did some questioning on sluggish things to my friends, so, technically, even me pening, but try to lay out as simple as i understand.

Whats so much diff in cfe exora n preve throttle response?
Exora bold throttle is sharpen a bit as to counter its weight. While preve being lighter, throttle in d mode is not as sharper as in exora.
This sluggish feeling associate with dbw n cvt clutch based. If torque converter based cvt, normal auto, its not that apparent, but still have lag.
From stagnant, in d mode, is like throttle input ratio changes from 50:50 to 70:30 before its start  to become better. It is due to emmision control n safety reason. Its like this. If throttle given out 100% input, its like driving manual car without dbw throttle, rev up to for example 2k rpm where the turbine already spin, lift of clucth, the car will instant lurk forward n n cause wheel spinning or a bit torque steer which is dangerous coz dbw if in full throttle, is very instance. N to control amount of harmful gas emit immediately, so that can reach euro step.

So, its even from stagnant rev up to 2k, turbo still not spooling yet cause throttle still not 100%, until start moving then gradually the throttle change to max ratio, turbine will spooling.

While in S mode, throttle being sharper about 20% from d mode n also rpm also raised 20% from normal d mode, so, u have better throttle response than d mode during stagnant.

Being tuned to be more linear, he used the word refine, the surge is not as strong as bold cfe, but its actually the same.

If used torque converter based, still has lag but then its better, but during moving, pwrloss is higher than clutch based. Same as dsg. Only from standstill to move only. It just a blink of a second. More common term is call throttle lag.

So, he advised, try to go for a second spin. If want to immitate a normal sedate citu driving, rev up a bit like 2k rpm, when the car is already on the move, then ease off a bit the throttle to avoid 2k rpm to have better fc relying on cvvt.

Even when want to take out for sprint, rev up, still feeling slow when start coz of the above mentioned but when it catch up speed, throttle in full,then its ok, when u rev example 3.5k rpm from stagnant, when moving then continue to pressing pedal to reach 4k rpm.

So, i dunno whether my layman explanation is understandable coz cant explain in tech things coz me oso pening :-).

But coz me so used to all prtns using dbw whether from prtn or renault previously, so, dont have any probs.

Maybe everyone shud take a second spin.
So in other words;-

1) Proton used a shortcut in complying with Euro 5 emission by programming a default ECO mode (read: drive-like-a-sissy mode) into the car's throttle response since highest emission is during initial pick-up
2) FC will suffer if the driver wishes to move faster when the traffic lights turn green
3) DSG has a split second lag in power delivery, that's true ..... but in the case of Preve's CVT, the lag is dependent on how soon you hit 2,000rpm which varies according to driver. DSG's lag on the other hand is consistent regardless of how much pressure is on the gas pedal

Gosh, this is all making the CFE sound like a gimmick ... the turbo is supposed to give the engine performance of a 2.0 but in all the 2.0s I've driven (Camry, Accord, Sonata, K5 just to name a few), the initial acceleration is never this bad
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 09:24 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Apr 18 2012, 09:17 AM)
Is there any mod can be done to improve the lag? And without voiding the warranty?
I think sprint booster will help since it dupes the DBW into thinking more power is required even with less pedal pressure
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 09:35 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:30 AM)
ha..ha...elantra using torque converter based auto, already mentioned is better, same as cvt torque converter based.

Is not burning fuel too much since rev up to 2k rpm since throttle input is not 100%.

When the tyres already rolls, its not a problem, is cfe gimmic or something, still give u the same as 2.0, just initial, doesnt means when on the move,its not slow.

Is it really the diff between 2.0 n 1.6 is based on 0-5kmh or 0-100kmh or 0-10 metres length is the measurement of engine? If yes, then, preve is bad then. No harm done.

Prevention for upshift n downshift, yes, depend on virtually gears, not the same for every gear.

I dunno, but feedback from journo, that is not a prob, the only thing they ask is about the surge when enter the tubo one is not as powerfull as in exora bold.

But then, everyone has their own perception n opinion, so, is not rite or wrong here coz no one wrong here.

Just try to help giving info, if u said bad, then bad. Its not wrong. As far as ive been informed, everything already taken into account on tuning.So, happy motoring :-)
You've said it right, bro. No one is right or wrong. We all have different expectations and different opinions. It is more important to respect each other's right to what they think thumbup.gif
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 09:54 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 18 2012, 09:39 AM)
Just like my polo vs my H.City 2009. At 1st, i felt so hard to drive the polo due to the TSI, i need to control the pedal very well. Not to exceed the rpm which kick in the boost, if not i will suffer lag while later in need of power/boost.

When faced this situation really not nice, coz u will felt u lost power for the moment, need wait for lag over, but u really need power at that time.

Conclusion this kind of technology is really not fun driving in traffic jam or fast/slow/fast traffics.
Usually, i find it very nice to drive around during nite time, when traffic is lesser.. i can keep boost then remain power till turbo lag over then boost again.
Is it THAT bad for the Polo? I enjoy driving the Polo more than the Golf since I feel it's much lighter and felt it's more nimble. Max torque for the Polo can be achieved at a low 1,550rpm .... how low does your RPM go during normal driving?? And even if you are out of the torque band, I don't think the engine needs to be hard revved to quickly enter the sweet zone.
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 10:10 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Apr 18 2012, 10:02 AM)
yes. reason? twice the price, twice the charger (twincharger).
Don't even need to go so far as to compare against the Golf .... I think even the 308THP can ta pao the Preve and it costs a lot less than the Golf
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 10:20 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Apr 18 2012, 10:09 AM)
And so much lighter. Have to admit that VW is more advanced in anyway. The only thing that can be compared is handling. Thx to lotus biggrin.gif  but that doesnt make VW is problem free. I believe their DSG quite troublesome?
Polo got a few cases where the mechatronic failed but this is mainly due to the supplier in South Africa where the car comes from. Passat, Golf, Cross Touran and other made in germany less issues
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 10:50 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 18 2012, 10:29 AM)
after reading a few pages...i noticed that
1) a lot of ppl are comparing the preve to exora ? why ? you shouldnt compare mpv and a c class segment .

2) also a lot of ppl comparing hot hatch (polo/golf/swift) to preve ? again, not same category in size, weight and performance

3) seems that a few QC issues on the 1st batch of preve ? will wait and see

4) was i a proton car owner b4 ? yes, drove a wira for a few years, crappy car and had problems with the power windows (yup, spent a bomb to replace two) and always had alignment issues. Switched to nissan sentra and never looked back.

5) i was considering a value for money c segment car to get me from a to b . will need to test drive to see if this can be the one or just stick to the cheaper myvi maybe....( or polo sedan launching soon!)

6) i would like to see people compare preve with
- civic
- elantra
- altis
- forte
obviously preve is the cheapest, but how about everything else?
1) Exora is the only other car model that uses the CFE engine. Natural to compare both.
2) I agree with you but people share their perspective from where they're coming from so if their current ride is a Polo/Golf/Swift, they have to see how the Preve stacks up against them
3) QC issue is a distorted fact if we're still looking at that ONE defect picture. Anyone else encounter a different picture of the same problem yet? The poor aesthetic spot welding (but NOT necessarily unsafe) of the door is a fact though
4) I have a 7 year old Iswara at home, bought 2nd hand last year. Works beautifully.
5) Viva can fulfill that function just as well, bro
6) Already did the comparison chart in my blog. Pls check signature below

Added on April 18, 2012, 10:52 am
QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 18 2012, 10:45 AM)
its nice to kacau your passenger.

The sudden pull of boost then de-celerate wait for lag, then boost again, the sudden pull again.

if u have elderly ppl + after a full meal = vomit in the car.

Not very pleasant journey hahahahaha
I get that with my Golf .... Don't like the driving feel but not my car so cannot complain

This post has been edited by kenso77: Apr 18 2012, 10:52 AM
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 11:05 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Apr 18 2012, 10:19 AM)
i wonder why this car creates so much confusion.

if ppl can keeps on looking at rev meter when driving, they should be a racer. i thought proton pluged in a turbo to make the car faster and easy to drive?

i must go get a test drive this weekend then.

oh, u're the kenso from AW biggrin.gif u traded 1.6thp for 1.4tsi right? biggrin.gif
Hi bro ... yes, the same kenso. I didn't exactly trade in my 1.6THP for the Golf .... at one point, both cars were home. I sold the 308 a few months later after getting the Golf.
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 02:20 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Junn @ Apr 18 2012, 02:15 PM)
Hmm, i struggle to understand this, what you trying to say is beside the boot can be open from the remote control and inside the car there is no other method?

What other method does other car can open the boot except from physical force?
Kindly enlighten me  notworthy.gif

Got cars can open boot through other method?
Maybe he talking about the new VW technology where you just wave your foot at the bottom of the bumper and the boot opens so long as the key is within range?
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 02:21 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:19 PM)
erm...how many speakers in the car....i didnt pay attention to the speaker location when i go "molest" the car two days ago...
anyway, planning this friday two hours break go test drive the car...but in penang got so many traffic light, think cant test top speed... but can test cornering though...hehehe...
Bro, if you can go to Glenmarie, I would advise you to go to the Ara Damansara branch.

1) Super long roads that sees little traffic
2) Bumpy roads that allows u to test suspension
3) Not as many people know about this place compared to Glenmarie which would probably be as crowded as a pasar malam

Oh, to answer you question, I saw 6 speakers.
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 02:26 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Apr 18 2012, 02:24 PM)
wheres the tweeters? i cant find it
On the dashboard. Pretty decent sound. Clarity is good
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 02:29 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:21 PM)
haha..didnt notice though..impressed by the solid thump it makes for a local car. in fact, it sounds better than my inspira. however, the seats are not as good as the inspira.

if the gloveboxes are improved, just nice. the steering looks better in person than in picture, i dont know why
Try thumping the roof ..... I was like WTF? Damn solid
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 02:32 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Junn @ Apr 18 2012, 02:30 PM)
hmm.gif  you test car by ketuk sini sana?  laugh.gif

No wonder the buttons jahanam  hmm.gif
Haha, actually it was by accident. My colleague was in the car and I wanted to get his attention from outside so I rapped the roof and was shocked by the sound. The only kind of ketuk I do is the doors
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 02:33 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:28 PM)
man, that's selangor and penang, even though my hometown is in selangor...hmm...maybe i will buy it at selangor, depend on SA's offer...now just collecting information on which SA in which branch gives the best offer...
Oops, didn't notice you mention Penang. Sorry, bro

Added on April 18, 2012, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:33 PM)
i don't see the tweeters on the dashboard worr hmm.gif

and if not mistaken, spec sheet wrote 4 speakers lol.
It's there, bro. I just went 4 2nd test drive biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kenso77: Apr 18 2012, 02:34 PM
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 03:09 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Apr 18 2012, 02:50 PM)
Woo..very sharp eye  smile.gif  I purposely looking for the tweeters also yesterday but failed to find it. Even the SA also cannot find it & agreed that the car got only 4 speakers & no tweeters. Will give a detail look again later on..hehe
Actually, I didn't see it. I heard a sharp sound coming from the dash and upon closer examination, found it. Look at the pic here:

http://paultan.org/2012/04/16/proton-preve...3k/dsc_0188b-2/

Tweeters are recessed in the vent above the aircon vent. You need to switch on the radio to tell it's there
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 03:20 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Apr 18 2012, 03:14 PM)
where is the tweeters?
tweeters?
Not found in the link pic, bro .... at the side of the dash where the side aircon vents
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 03:26 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(saiya @ Apr 18 2012, 03:21 PM)
how was the aircond during afternoon? fast cooling?
also viewing angle by side mirror and center mirror how is it?
any experience?
I tested at 1pm .... super hot time. Aircon is adequate. Tested the auto climate control and surprised to note it varies its fan blowing speed quite a bit.

Side mirrors are big .... no problems seeing side traffic

IMPORTANT: I feel the design of the auto unfolding of the mirrors to be a safety hazard. Although it looks cool when driving off, it's not very feasible. I noticed in most of those test drives today, the driver manually unfolds the mirror because regardless whether you're front parked or side parked, you still need your side mirrors to maneuver effectively. Makes more sense when unlocking, the sides to unfold instead of when moving off

Added on April 18, 2012, 3:27 pm
QUOTE(arthur88 @ Apr 18 2012, 03:22 PM)
Bro, refer to post #376 in the previous page. I placed the link there

This post has been edited by kenso77: Apr 18 2012, 03:27 PM
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 03:30 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(tkaira @ Apr 18 2012, 03:28 PM)
when i tested the car yesterday the SA showed me a button where u can unfold the mirrors.. so no need to drive up till 5kph lah  icon_rolleyes.gif
Correct ... like I said, you have to "manually" open the mirrors yourself. Wouldn't it be better if the mirrors just auto unfold when you unlock your car? Scared motor jam after every lock-unlock ar (hehehe, I remember this was one argument among early Peugeot 308 owners. Motor jam, how??)?
kenso77
post Apr 18 2012, 03:44 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(FenomX @ Apr 18 2012, 03:41 PM)
how lhahh, which showroom got lagoon blue? around subang or petaling jaya.
Subang Jaya SS14 next to Caltex has Blue in showroom
Ara Damansara has Blue in showroom
Glenmarie has White in showroom

This post has been edited by kenso77: Apr 18 2012, 03:44 PM

0.0476sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:36 AM