♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V4♠ ♠ ♠, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé

V12Kompressor
post Apr 17 2012, 11:48 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

My humble review, part 1

On the road review will come out this Friday. I've booked for an hour test drive with my SA. tongue.gif
V12Kompressor
post Apr 17 2012, 11:53 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 17 2012, 11:51 PM)
one.... hour....? shocking.gif
ya. YOU JELLY?

last time I have 40 minutes with the Exora Bold too.

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Apr 17 2012, 11:54 PM
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 12:06 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(<Ultraman> @ Apr 18 2012, 12:00 AM)
seems more and more negative views coming up. better shift the price to RM50K for medium auto spec?
If one would expect it to be as fast as a Golf GTi, then it is not.

If one would expect it to be as premium as a BMW 528i, then it is not.

If one would expect it to be as smooth as a Toyota Camry 2.4G, then it is not.

If one would expect it to be safe as a Volvo S60, then it is not.

What you get after paying 73k, is just a car to get you from point A to point B, safe and sound thanks to those three letter acronym safety features, well protected from the harsh weather of malaysia thanks to the powderful airconditioning and plenty of space for you to store up durians when the durian fever hits the town. Oh, you can even carry 5 humans (including you) or one human and dozens of dead bodies too.

Walk in to the showroom with huge expectation and be prepared to be let down. Simple as that.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 12:12 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(<Ultraman> @ Apr 18 2012, 12:09 AM)
If just need a car from point A to point B, I think better buy Persona. Bang for buck.
Why Persona? Viva 660BX would do.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 12:15 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 18 2012, 12:13 AM)
but no ESP, no 4 airbag, no 5 star EuroNCAP/Australian NCAP, no nice interior, no huge space especially the rear, no hugeass boot and no turbo.
I'll add in the everlasting term in the motoring world;

GOODING FUEL COMSUMPTIONNNNN
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 12:21 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 18 2012, 12:18 AM)
can opt for the 59k manual version or 62k cvt then. still got ABS, EBD and 2 airbags and 5 star euroncap laugh.gif
then people will say its slow....

main tai chi here and there.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 02:59 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Apr 18 2012, 12:30 AM)
so what do you think? does it worth paying 73K for it?
havent really driven it on the road. Driving it round a few blocks cant conclude everything. Gotta wait this Thurday I bawak jalan jalan ke city and highway.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 03:15 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(ssaturn @ Apr 18 2012, 02:59 AM)
Exterior Design:
For my personal point of it, it just like you seeing a girl looks so beautiful from the back but when you look at the front you shocking.gif Fuuu llaaaa Mak... Ugly. I can say the front design is a little copy from VW Golf, with a KIA Forte butt Curve with some nice LED design just like what Savvy did. Conclusion Nice butt, ugly face.. Honestly I feel the New Myvi design win it all.

point taken, different people, different taste and different way of interpreting it.

The most disappointed thing I encounter, the design is way back like 10 years ago, they should just launch this car at the GEN 2 era.. sure it beat lots of people expectation. I feel even Myvi Interior Speedometer much much more better than this I so call upgraded version of Proton Saga Speedometer with (digital info).

Even I find Myvi speedometer is nicer than the meter in a BMW. I think BMW should learn from the Japanese too to make proper meters.

The car is spaces, can fit lots of junk inside.

rest of the thing... "Standard Plastic", not meant for comfort use, but just useable. Once broken, you just have to replace them, don't ever thing their plastic can last more than 2,3 years.

Hello, common sense please. Once broken of course need to replace. Unless you cheapskate use UHU glue to rebond it back.

Can borrow me your crystal ball?

Why Proton still go for center console doh.gif come on la, can't they just learn from Korean this time? Korean learning from Jap, and why not we learn from Korean? Look at Hyundai Elentra 2012, you will know what I talking about..

center console?

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Apr 18 2012, 03:15 AM
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 10:59 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 18 2012, 10:55 AM)
in cvt, what kristof said is known as creep function. Where clutch pressure is maintain  to initiate forward movement when brake pedal is release. There also crawler function n pull-away(set off), slow sat mode when full throttle application to name a few. Some functions are to assist n for safety reasons.
seriously, i hate the hill hold function. doh.gif
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 11:04 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(ssaturn @ Apr 18 2012, 03:40 AM)
I agree on VW and it simplicity, VW switch button design really giving me a shock  brows.gif You can push it, twist it, pull it and pull it again for multi function purpose smile.gif
Funny. When VW makes simple interior, praise like no tomorrow.

When Proton makes simple interior, say this and that, compare with this and that.

V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 11:17 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Apr 18 2012, 11:13 AM)
er....nope, cvt wont roll back.

i hit a car on a slope, when my car is full of ppl.

engaged in D, did not pay attention, so i din press the brake hard enough.

slowly kissed the car in front.....and pay a small fee.
thats on your inspirararara?

The clutch based one will roll back. So everytime in shopping malls when I stop in the middle of the ramp, after release brakes have to press throttle hard as if I'm driving a manual. lol Sometimes when the ramp is too steep, I have to use my left leg to hold the brakes and then release it when I press the throttle simultaneously or else its gonna roll down like a snowball.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 11:25 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Apr 18 2012, 11:23 AM)
ya....on second day of driving T.T.

eventually the car is powerful enough to overcome everything to hit the car in front . so, handbrake is a must now.

clutch based sounds better, hhmmm. and also can free gear before reaching traffic light?  drool.gif
free gear before reaching traffic light?

u mean push to N when approaching red light/stationary traffic?
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 11:34 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(jeffreyong1969 @ Apr 18 2012, 11:31 AM)
Hi! everybody! the proton Preve OutLook not so bad! rite? But can i ask everybody! when i read the SPECS for the Proton Preve 1.6 CVT EXECUTIVE (Maximum output (kW / rpm) - 80 / 5750 / Maximum torque (Nm / rpm) - 150 / 4000 VS Proton Persona Maximum Power (kW/rpm) - 82 / 6500 82 / 6500 / Max Torque (Nm/rpm) - 148 / 4000 148 / 4000.
I hear some people say Proton Persona MAKAN FUEL. Mean Proton Preve 1.6 CVT EXECUTIVE  also same MAKAN FUEL? anybody can answer me? coz i plan to buy this Proton Preve 1.6 CVT EXECUTIVE ! Thanks
both engine is the same, but the 1.6 in the Preve is slightly revised to accomodate the CVT. So in the end it comes down to the efficientcy of the CVT itself. The 1.6 Campro IAFM+ + CVT is more efficient when compared to the IAFM + 4 speed auto in the Persona, but you also got tof actor in the weight of the car. And not to mention, FC is all on how you press the throttle. Drive like uncle then you can get good FC. By driving like uncle, I didn't mean drive 30-40kmh. I mean going constantly 80-90kmh when given the chance and the road condition permits.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 11:38 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Hidan @ Apr 18 2012, 11:36 AM)
Whoever came up with the idea of these 'touch screens cum touch buttons' should really get a warning letter. The top two are touch button while the third is a button.

My God, why on earth do that?
nope, the top two is only indicator and only the bottom one is a button. The button to switch off the passenger airbag is in the glovebox.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 12:13 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Apr 18 2012, 12:10 PM)
there's a significant difference in design between Apple iPhone and China iPhone. (just for comparison sake, hope you get my drift).
There's a significant difference in price between Apple iPhone and China iPhone too.

BTW, i am not ifag here but I thought iphone is made in china? unsure.gif
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 12:21 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

suddenly all turning "stars" conscious now.

Funny part is they never bothered with one when viewing/buying japanese or Korean marques.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 18 2012, 01:42 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Apr 18 2012, 01:29 PM)
Just dropped by Proton COE at Shah Alam, and spotted a lot of Preve lining up and ready for delivery.

I didn't manage to test drive one. In term of built quality, it has improved a lot compared to other Proton models. 1 thing I found which is better than my current Civic2.0 is the solidness of shutting down the car boot. But, Preve does not have any button to open car boot except via remote controller or from the car.
yeah. that whould be a good selling point too if the rear boot can be opened from the outside without using they key.
V12Kompressor
post Apr 19 2012, 01:42 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Apr 19 2012, 12:43 AM)
Not the CAR laaaa, the DOOR.
biasalah, over reacting over small matter. -.-
V12Kompressor
post Apr 19 2012, 02:58 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 19 2012, 02:41 PM)
click their name > click ignore user > click ok > you will see the f***er name in the "Add new users to your list" > click the button at bottom there "Update ignored users"

once the name is in the list.. the user post will be blocked out...
ok. block you. XD

---
Today test drive the preve, and i will just cut the chase and straight to the point.

- initial acceleration from standstill is a b!tch. During traffic jam it will be pain in the arse coz one need constant throttle input in order for the car to creep to the front.
- powderful brake. Very powerful, and dusty too. The test drive car i driven has clocked around 80km and I can see the front wheels is slightly brownish now.
- door locks are speed operated. There's even a chime to "irritate" the driver to tell the front passenger to buckle up when speed is above 30kmh.
- paddle shifter is more for fun. "Gearchanges" are "rubbery" and has a noticable delay everytime the peddle is pulled. BTW, the paddle shifters works when the lever is slotted in D, S and also the middle of the +- section. When using the peddle shifter, in D, the shifting is more "relaxed", in S the shifting has a bit of jerkyness due to the shorter drive ratio.
- The gear indicator is a bit small, and not to mention situated at the bottom right of the Multi Info Display. Steering wheel is adequately weighted and gives much required feedback.

V12Kompressor
post Apr 19 2012, 03:06 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(valence @ Apr 19 2012, 02:59 PM)
Got a technical question need answer...
The s mode is not same with previous car which using 4at of d1 d2 right?
D1 d2 is the transmission shift down to let car more speed, but s mode in cvt? How to shift when cvt is gear less?
D mode = normal driving condition

S mode = short ratio mode, meaning it will concentrate in acceleration only and top speed is sacrificed.

When want to overtake especially on trunk roads, you can straight pull the lever down to S and the car will just lurch to the front, proving all the acceleration you need. Finish overtaking then you can push back the lever to D.

the ratios in the CVT is software operated and those peddle shifter is merely a hardware to control the software. Much like a mouse to control the cursor in your laptop/PC.

0.0475sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:33 AM