♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V4♠ ♠ ♠, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé

mat79
post Apr 18 2012, 07:01 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(sct @ Apr 18 2012, 06:29 PM)
Afta is 0 - 5% import tax on afta cars.
Excise duty not specified, in fact not cover under afta.
excise duty as the country specified as the local ones. Singapore also in afta, but local taxes, wow,also in thailand, but lesser than ours. Thats why u dont get same prices even around asean countries. The thing u need to know that among asean countries, its fair n square. If local 10%, other also 10%. Tax barrier is not allow under afta.
In malaysia, 0% on import duty on asean cars or that under asean cept, not 0-5%.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 02:14 AM

1,011 posts

erm, if not mistaken, prtn already used one piece door stamping gen2, tailor welded blanks door saga,exora, and preve i think, door sash + doorpanel, using double spot, robotic plasma welding.

I thinkla :-), dengor2 khabar anginla, ingress corp supply the door to prtn preve. So, better ask them lah, ha...ha...

The door sash is made using roll forming method, only using this method, u can used advance high strength steel(ahss) aka ultra high tensile steel(uhss) as the material coz in cold forming method, its really hard to shape ahss to complex shape coz of its rigidity.

Then the door structure is normally used high strength steel low alloy(hsla), and the trapezoidal impact beam, unique to proton n lotus, start in satria neo n upward(not tabular impact beam as some others using) inside the door also ahss using roll forming.

So, combining the door sash n door panel is using robotic(not human, unless humanoid :-)) plasma welding, double spot, for strength n better corrosion resistant. Ops, forget to mentioned, all high strength steel using in car are galvanised steel(corrosion resistant coating steel). Plus, its now painted in white(thats why they called it body in white as the preve chasis during power of one event), then another layers of colors paint.

So, in other words, using this method, the door will enhance its strength by combining two type of steels(ahss for door sash n hsla for door structure), n door sash is stronger than before as in using tailor welded blanks. Coz previously, only being protected by ahss impact beam inside the door, but door sash still not as strong as ahss(trip or dp), but now, the whole door has the same strength. Yup, i think better they (prtn)conceal with rubber next time, so that people will not do their own professional analysis.

Malas betul nk taip panjang2 dlm hp, dont ask me again about this coz juz copy the word from some fella fren :-). Further info, maybe u can contact the above mentioned kot :-).

130kmh, pull to S mode, possible of course, the impossible for .....to catch u.

Cvt, ask kristof ler. Or maybe u just visit autoworld to understand better, wet clutch cvt. The suggestion method, to overcome throttle lag from dbw, put in s mode, to overcome torque retention by cvt,before century sprint, when u waiting at junction, dont used footbrake(meaning car already stop, but its normal u still pressing the brake especially at steep road), used handbrake instead, ur right foot already at the gas pedal,
when everything clear, then lift the handbrake and press the pedal :-).

Wah, mcm pemberita sukan plak. If want to know why this n there in wet clutch cvt, n how it is differ from torque converter or dry clutch cvt, then refer to kristof, he's the expert. Me just a layman explanation, already explain about clutch, many didnt understand, then refer to him, he can answer u, deeply.

Sorry fenomx, my children are sick, so, bz taking care of them after work.

Aahhh., children just sleeping. Me, already tired . Salam.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 02:53 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 19 2012, 02:41 AM)
Just in case there are any confusion why use the handbrake as opposed to the footbrake, as recommended by mat79, that is because the wet clutch opens (disengages the cvt from the engine) when...

1. The gear is in N or P
2. The brake pedal is pressed (my understanding is it will not be opened as wide as in condition 1, therefore still creating drag.)

So, from Kristof's explanation, my understanding is that, when you are pressing the brakes, and release it to press the gas pedal, the clutch needs time to close, hence the lag experienced. If you dont want to feel this throttle lag, you either...

1. Wait a moment before pressing the gas pedal, by when the clutch will be completely closed, or
2. use the handbrake to stop the car from moving, but keep you gear in D. This way the clutch never opens, and once you relase the handbrake the car is ready to go right away.

Mat79,pls correct me if I am mistaken.
yup, thumb up :-), only no 2 below, only use handbrake when car already stop(so no need to press the brake), dont stop the car using handbrake, nanti pusing2, bahaya ooo :-).
I know, typo. Just morning troll. Bubye, off now.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 02:54 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 19 2012, 02:41 AM)
Just in case there are any confusion why use the handbrake as opposed to the footbrake, as recommended by mat79, that is because the wet clutch opens (disengages the cvt from the engine) when...

1. The gear is in N or P
2. The brake pedal is pressed (my understanding is it will not be opened as wide as in condition 1, therefore still creating drag.)

So, from Kristof's explanation, my understanding is that, when you are pressing the brakes, and release it to press the gas pedal, the clutch needs time to close, hence the lag experienced. If you dont want to feel this throttle lag, you either...

1. Wait a moment before pressing the gas pedal, by when the clutch will be completely closed, or
2. use the handbrake to stop the car from moving, but keep you gear in D. This way the clutch never opens, and once you relase the handbrake the car is ready to go right away.

Mat79,pls correct me if I am mistaken.
yup, thumb up :-), only no 2 below, only use handbrake when car already stop(so no need to press the brake), dont stop the car using handbrake, nanti pusing2, bahaya ooo :-).
I know, typo. Just morning troll. Bubye, off now. Ops, tq fenomx.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 08:28 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Apr 19 2012, 06:28 AM)
Gosh...its people like you that our country is going no where.  The above is a comparison of malaysian cars and japanese car. The Jap can make a Camry and sell it at RM68k.  I am not talking about buying car in US.  I am talking about manufacturing a better car yet it cost less.

Added on April 19, 2012, 6:34 am

Its not about who is richer.  Its about making quality car at cheaper price.  Yes proton is subjected to tax, but if you look a the ticket price leaving out all the tax, the civic, altis, are all cheaper than the preve and I won't want to argue which is better.
oklah, lets take it a fair game. Take exora prices outside where everybody is equally. Why not u refer how much civic 1.8 price in thailand n singapore, n exora price in singapore and thailand. In thailand has exora hline(not bold cfe) n the price is around preve price in malaysia. In singapore, mline auto which around 70k in malaysia, n is also not much diff with preve cfe.

So, its now fair n square. Tax are according to thailand n singapore gov, dont say that thai gov n sing g favor@protect prtn which it will be stupid. Now compare lor whether civic 1.8, civic 2.0, altis 1.8, altis 2.0, vw polo,jetta, golf 1.4@1.6tsi,pug 308thp, kia forte 2.0. So which is cheaper? Is it all the above mentioned really cheaper than exora which price that will be around preve?
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 08:36 AM

1,011 posts

proton can sell around 47k(inclusive trader's profit) preve, but then, thats still exclusive the 85% tax.

So, u want to put hatred, do it to the right party.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 08:40 AM

1,011 posts

just a humble prtn cars :-).
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 08:49 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 19 2012, 08:43 AM)
Preve or something R3? tongue.gif
no lah, just a common prtn cars, not the latest member of course. Aiming the upcoming p6.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 08:53 AM

1,011 posts

i think is it anybody aware on vortex generator near the side mirrors, on the a pillar?
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 09:44 AM

1,011 posts

yup, exora r. Purpose of course. For disperse water from side mirror,reducing wind noise + helping aero a bit. Like gen2 mirror have shark fin in its for aero only.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 10:23 AM

1,011 posts

i try to make it simple, the diff between toyota n prtn. Whats the diff...toyota released vios trd, awesome bodykit, with grey metallic rear apron, front spitter n side skirting. Then, malaysian whoa, trd, nice bodykit. Really worth the penny.

When prtn released saga flx se, same kind of material on bodykit. Then malaysian, whoa also, cut cost rubbish, give bare bodykit without color. So stupid designer n prtn want to make more profit by giving unpainted bodykit. Well,its painted, metallic color.

Can u digest the anology :-).

Next time,maybe talk about crash test abit from info i get.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 11:12 AM

1,011 posts

about myvap, assessment is diff for the moment, but then when we have asean ncap, then, it will be standardized.

Euroncap, ancap n etc, normally, test on 40% off set 64kmh frontal, euroncap side impact 50kmh. N pole impact.

So, meaning, generally 3 tests only. Actually, they are many that car manufacuters doing the crash test that beyond euroncap test. Actually, if just focus on this 3 test only, so, easy for car manufacturers to abide. So, every region u want to sell ur car, they have diff test that u need to pass before it is saleable. Diff region@country, diff rules. For asean, for the moment, no, in the future,yes.

So, the main problem in crash test is how to reduce compatability problems example, small car vs big car@as u can watch in youtube, jazz vs accord, yaris vs camry. Both 5 star, but which one will prevail?

In order to reduce compatability probs n meeting variety of regulations according to diff countries n regions(only apply if u want to sale it to that particular country, if not, no need to do), so, designing the car(even the headlamp,remember padestrian test) n engineering become really hard task.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 11:18 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 19 2012, 10:49 AM)
Another thing we can talk about is the door lock mechanisim.. i memang pelik see the door lock mechanism. still couldn't understand it totally yet.

like on the day i test drive, i already start the car but my rear passenger all cant open the door. i press the unlock door button didnt work.. i had to manually open both door from inside instead...

then the SA giv some story about passenger need to get in before start car ...  shakehead.gif
try to check bcm module, whether the driver's only unlock when u push unlock button. But if want to unlock, press the unlock button twice.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 12:28 PM

1,011 posts

cont...to name a few that managed to gather

for frontal
1. Thatcham low speed-angle barrier 15kmh
2. ADR 69/80-40kmh
3. 30 degree oblique - 40kmh
4. 40% ODB(offset deformable barrier)-ece R94 56kmh
5. Full frontal - 20kmh
6. Front underride - 35kmh
7. Front pole - 32kmh
8. Euroncap front procedure- 40% ODB 64kmh

side impact
1. Euroncap side impact procedure - 50kmh
2. Euroncap side pole impact procedure - 29kmh

rear impact
1. Dynamic rear impact - gs 37/2005 50kmh

rollover
1. Dynamic rollover-fmvss 208 48kmh

padestrian
1. Padestrian-euroncap protocol, various speed include euroncap padestrian procedure 40kmh.

So, euroncap only test 3 test for occupants, 1 for padestrian, but is it justify mentioning prtn tin milo if already passing all the above test mentioned, n there are some more, forget already where did i put the info.

All being tested in idiada start from waja(diff disciplined coz during that time diff test, diff speed, n many regulation is still not in) untill preve.
Even some done internally before sending for validity in idiada, so,speedup development process. For preve, special ckit, not only idiada, also test using ancap facility for validity. But this is not for official ancap rating, just testing for crash homogolation n validity that ive been informed.

About the weld, my appology, it cant be polish or grind coz this is plasma welding by robot, not normal spot welding(rsw),it will deter its characterisctics n intergrity, its not about tidy or untidy, that is the mark left by it, done by robot. The only thing is to conceal it from the eyes by adding rubber or plastic case. Quality or not, its not the question coz that is the mark,for the time being, unless the new robot they used can be finetuning for better for production,hopefully.

I dunno can categorised as lousy robot or full passion n determined robot. Maybe lor, in malaysia, anything can happen. Maybe more consistence. Maybe all shud read on plasma welding.
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 12:57 PM

1,011 posts

i know that this is a common thing to other makers, depend on products, but it the 1st equip in prtn, do u noticed on active headrest(euroncap assessment on equipment, also include driver n passangger seat belt reminder, passenger airbag active or not indicator) is standard accross preve variants?
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 01:31 PM

1,011 posts

i think need to quote back what i said coz still many professional welders here, hu...hu...

erm, if not mistaken, prtn already used one piece door stamping gen2, tailor welded blanks door saga,exora, and preve i think, door sash + doorpanel, using double spot, robotic plasma welding, new n latest for prtn, better weight, better design for sash n better strength.

I thinkla :-), dengor2 khabar anginla, ingress corp supply the door to prtn preve. So, better ask them lah, ha...ha...

The door sash is made using roll forming method, only using this method, u can used advance high strength steel(ahss) aka ultra high tensile steel(uhss) as the material coz in cold forming method, its really hard to shape ahss to complex shape coz of its rigidity.

Then the door structure is normally used high strength steel low alloy(hsla), and the trapezoidal impact beam, unique to proton n lotus, start in satria neo n upward(not tabular impact beam as some others using) inside the door also ahss using roll forming.

So, combining the door sash n door panel is using robotic(not human, unless humanoid :-)) plasma welding, double spot, for strength n better corrosion resistant. Ops, forget to mentioned, all high strength steel using in car are galvanised steel(corrosion resistant coating steel), yup, the whole body n panel, deep into pool, electro charged, the pool is in tanjung malim, maybe u can visit for swimming n diving training :-). Plus, its painted in white(thats why they called it body in white as the preve chasis during power of one event), then another layers of colors paint.

So, in other words, using this method, the door will enhance its strength by combining two type of steels(ahss for door sash n hsla for door structure), n door sash is stronger than before as in using tailor welded blanks. Coz previously, only being protected by ahss impact beam inside the door, but door sash still not as strong as ahss(trip or dp), but now, the whole door has the same strength. Yup, i think better they (prtn)conceal with rubber or plastics next time, so that people will not do their own professional analysis coz they only familiar with house grill welding, not robotic plasma welding.

I think better those who curious just google for image using plasma welding, spot, how is it look like, the marks from plasma welding.

mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 02:05 PM

1,011 posts

and the mark@spot left by plasma welding is known as plasma spot braze. Maybe those who are professional welders here can google on that look at plasma spot braze picture n see how it looks like, then u knowlar.

Malas dh nk explain klu ada lg tanya. Nanti kena plak cite material used for the whole body, types of welding technique used as seam weld(u can see when u open the boot, on right n left side), laser weld(floorpan n etc), rsw, yadayada yadayada..bla..bla..bla..bla.. :-). Blum lg hpf, types of ahss(trip n dp)...and bla..bla..bla...

Lama2 nanti org malaysia pandai diy kete,xyah beli dah, ha...ha...

Yelor, making a car is easy as abc rite, thats why so many professional car developer specialist, engineers, technician, qc analyst, auto designers , etc...so many talented people in malaysia.

I think we can make a brand new car maker from malaysia by gathering all the professionals from here(no offence, just trolling), n can produce 40k cars 7 series beemer with all the taxes applied, not to mentioned develop award winning 0.6 L engine that can surpass v12 engine, n award winning gearbox that shift with ur instinct, n can tranformed according to drivers mood, need and want, the plush interior cover with cowhide, no plastic allowed. Ha...ha...
mat79
post Apr 19 2012, 02:53 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 19 2012, 02:04 PM)
yeah, tell that to diamond boy, buy in my opinion, i also a bit worried. looking at the so call welding, it is not so much on the welding, it is all about the finishing, if you can have lousy welding but great finishing, the product will look nice also, the eyes see everything,

i also agree this car, has much much more to improve, but within the proton range of products, it is the best so far.

still again, we not comparing this against inspira and persona, we are comparing Forte, dugong, siti and so on within that price range.

what i think most of us dont like is that, proton, in the last years were making half hearted cars. Mass market, no safety and crappy quality, and protected by Gomen, so many op not to get one and rather buy the rip off J's which we see on the road.

IF proton was making great cars with great quality, selling at about J and Siti price. i am very sure we or most of us will buy one and support the gomen or local car market.

like japanese, they rather buy a toyota, cause they are proud of their product. Why buy a german? when my local product is as good,

Here we are not the same, we all know, but IF proton, makes great quality car;s cars that dont break down easily, i am very sure we will all buy them, we will even buy them in other countries, because we know the quality.

Here, terbalik pulak, Malaysia model, no airbags, no this no that, cheaper plastic, useless performance. Oversea export, proton cars. Comes with airbags, come with auto sensor this and that. great quality plastics and so on.

So how? DSZ ? u wanna make malaysian proud and buy the Preve, improve the quality. if toyota and honda can do it, or even Naza can do it. Why not you? Because u got the most back up, make us all feel proud owning a proton. Not by bashing u useless.

u should know that most ppl buy a proton because they cannot afford other makes at the moment, But they swear that will never buy a proton once using a proton. That is why u got a lot of bashers.

IF you make a proton my first car, my next car also i want to buy a proton in a malaysian consumer ,mind, then i say u are the real Steve Jobs , the god of marketing in Malaysia.

2 to 3 cents only, my feeling towards the company. i love the preve, but i still doubt it, my heart still tell me, if i buy i may regret, so make me feel i wont regret.
how many times need to tell im not dsz :-). 2ndly, afaik dsz just enter prtn when 2006. So, many things need to be rectified n done.
3rdly, people always ill informed, that prtn just only 12 years developing car from scratch, 1st attempt is waja. From 1st attemp to preve, 12 years is consider young age as auto developer, but they done creditable job, progressively improve since 2006 to now.

If u count the years from 1985, they just assembler.

U r entitle to say what u want, its ok. Just giving u some scenario, if u can comprehend or not,its up to you.

Take hyundai for example. 1st inhouse develop car pony in 1975, now malaysian just wow by them when releasing new elantra md in 2012. It takes them 37 years to come with new elantra md, while preve just come over within 12 years.

Im not saying preve is on par with elantra md, but within 12 years versus 37 years of experience, i think its a good pace by prtn.

That still not considering hyundai is korean co(u know how big is korea compare to malaysia n how big is korean car market compare our own,they already gain economy of scales in their own market alone)owning one of biggest metal co, one biggest shipping co, etc etc, they are at advantage.

Now, taking thats all into account, dont u think prtn are at good pace or slow?

Added on April 19, 2012, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 19 2012, 02:04 PM)
yeah, tell that to diamond boy, buy in my opinion, i also a bit worried. looking at the so call welding, it is not so much on the welding, it is all about the finishing, if you can have lousy welding but great finishing, the product will look nice also, the eyes see everything,

i also agree this car, has much much more to improve, but within the proton range of products, it is the best so far.

still again, we not comparing this against inspira and persona, we are comparing Forte, dugong, siti and so on within that price range.

what i think most of us dont like is that, proton, in the last years were making half hearted cars. Mass market, no safety and crappy quality, and protected by Gomen, so many op not to get one and rather buy the rip off J's which we see on the road.

IF proton was making great cars with great quality, selling at about J and Siti price. i am very sure we or most of us will buy one and support the gomen or local car market.

like japanese, they rather buy a toyota, cause they are proud of their product. Why buy a german? when my local product is as good,

Here we are not the same, we all know, but IF proton, makes great quality car;s cars that dont break down easily, i am very sure we will all buy them, we will even buy them in other countries, because we know the quality.

Here, terbalik pulak, Malaysia model, no airbags, no this no that, cheaper plastic, useless performance. Oversea export, proton cars. Comes with airbags, come with auto sensor this and that. great quality plastics and so on.

So how? DSZ ? u wanna make malaysian proud and buy the Preve, improve the quality. if toyota and honda can do it, or even Naza can do it. Why not you? Because u got the most back up, make us all feel proud owning a proton. Not by bashing u useless.

u should know that most ppl buy a proton because they cannot afford other makes at the moment, But they swear that will never buy a proton once using a proton. That is why u got a lot of bashers.

IF you make a proton my first car, my next car also i want to buy a proton in a malaysian consumer ,mind, then i say u are the real Steve Jobs , the god of marketing in Malaysia.

2 to 3 cents only, my feeling towards the company. i love the preve, but i still doubt it, my heart still tell me, if i buy i may regret, so make me feel i wont regret.
how many times need to tell im not dsz :-). 2ndly, afaik dsz just enter prtn when 2006. So, many things need to be rectified n done.
3rdly, people always ill informed, that prtn just only 12 years developing car from scratch, 1st attempt is waja. From 1st attemp to preve, 12 years is consider young age as auto developer, but they done creditable job, progressively improve since 2006 to now.

If u count the years from 1985, they just assembler.

U r entitle to say what u want, its ok. Just giving u some scenario, if u can comprehend or not,its up to you.

Take hyundai for example. 1st inhouse develop car pony in 1975, now malaysian just wow by them when releasing new elantra md in 2012. It takes them 37 years to come with new elantra md, while preve just come over within 12 years.

Im not saying preve is on par with elantra md, but within 12 years versus 37 years of experience, i think its a good pace by prtn.

That still not considering hyundai is korean co(u know how big is korea compare to malaysia n how big is korean car market compare our own,they already gain economy of scales in their own market alone)owning one of biggest metal co, one biggest shipping co, etc etc, they are at advantage.

Now, taking thats all into account, dont u think prtn are at good pace or slow?

This post has been edited by mat79: Apr 19 2012, 02:54 PM
mat79
post Apr 20 2012, 08:25 AM

1,011 posts

for me, feedback, critics are good coz pointed out the cons which i think they will take note on that. Bash mindlessly is diff. If mentioned too plasticky, of course all cars used plastic, even the germans. Not comparing with the top mrques, just example, if u take a spin on vw golf, u will notice, the upper dash is soft, but bottom part still plastic. Even on door panel. But the refinement is more on german marques,

About gap, if the gap is consistent, meaning same size of gap, so, that is not means not good quality, the things not good is inconsistent gap, thats finish probs. If something too loose(meaning only on some, the other ok), then its fitting problems. Like the ac dials, they are design, diff from persona n gen2 dials, to make it smooth operator. For some, it feels loose, but it doesnt means its broken.

Yup, cant compare with german marques or even any conti. For japs n koreans, my opinions, maybe japs better, but only just tiny bit only, but on materials used, its better for the same price car coz material selections is really time consuming for them based on the benchmarks cars.

Thats my opinion only.
mat79
post Apr 20 2012, 08:29 AM

1,011 posts

for me, feedback, critics are good coz pointed out the cons which i think they will take note on that. Bash mindlessly is diff. If mentioned too plasticky, of course all cars used plastic, even the germans. Not comparing with the top mrques, just example, if u take a spin on vw golf, u will notice, the upper dash is soft, but bottom part still plastic. Even on door panel. But the refinement is more on german marques,

About gap, if the gap is consistent, meaning same size of gap, so, that is not means not good quality, the things not good is inconsistent gap, thats finish probs. If something too loose(meaning only on some, the other ok), then its fitting problems. Like the ac dials, they are design, diff from persona n gen2 dials, to make it smooth operator. For some, it feels loose, but it doesnt means its broken.

Yup, cant compare with german marques or even any conti. For japs n koreans, my opinions, maybe japs better, but only just tiny bit only, but on materials used, its better for the same price car coz material selections is really time consuming for them based on the benchmarks cars.

Thats my opinion only. And for the sus n braking, i think they are going to patent it.

Added on April 20, 2012, 8:30 amfor me, feedback, critics are good coz pointed out the cons which i think they will take note on that. Bash mindlessly is diff. If mentioned too plasticky, of course all cars used plastic, even the germans. Not comparing with the top mrques, just example, if u take a spin on vw golf, u will notice, the upper dash is soft, but bottom part still plastic. Even on door panel. But the refinement is more on german marques,

Thats my opinion only. And for the sus n braking, i think they are going to patent it.

Added on April 20, 2012, 8:31 am
QUOTE(lolo18 @ Apr 20 2012, 12:32 AM)
How long we need to service the preve? 5k or 10k?
I can't find the preve under ProCare Packages at proton website.
Same as exora bold cfe

This post has been edited by mat79: Apr 20 2012, 08:31 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0491sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:40 AM