The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 11:49 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

I'm currently trying to lose weight from 68kg back to 65/60kg and trying to build muscle and tighten my slight loose skin during the period of time

Never try any protein supplement before, bought a 1.8kg MuscleTech® Nitro-Tech® Performance Series with 30g Protein.

My question, is it sufficient or too much to take once in the morning (1 scoop), 1 scoop each before and after work out during evening time?
Work out consist of 20-25 mins sprint on treadmills, chest pump, abs, side waist, shoulder, bicep/tricep and tight on daily basis.

My main concern is to burn fat and maintain/tone my muscle and not planning on building massive muscle over the period of time, just moderate toning will do.

Any advice from the pro?

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Mar 4 2014, 11:58 AM
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 02:01 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 01:57 PM)
Define building massive muscle over time. If only things were so easy, everyone would be looking good.

Anyway, one scoop before and after workout is fine.

In the future, save your cash for something else.
i mean i'm not planning to train bulk muscles, just moderate toning, taking supplement because i notice a significant drop in my lean muscle during diet, and things is certainly easy if discipline are been followed from time to time.
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 02:21 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(Arrio @ Mar 4 2014, 02:04 PM)
It seems you know your stuff already
nope, that is why i'm asking here smile.gif
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 02:24 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 02:07 PM)
If lean muscle mass dropping, probably means too large a calorie deficit, not enough protein, and lack of resistance training. Fix your diet first before looking to supplements.
any suggestion for the food choice and training?
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 02:39 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 02:32 PM)
Some time tested rule of thumb:

Eat about 15% less than your daily tdee.
1g of protein per lbs of body weight
The rest come from quality, nutritionally dense carbs and fats.
Ensure lots of vegetables and mixed variety of food to get a good nutritional balance
Go into the gym 3 times a week to do squats, chest press, overhead press, calf raises, pull downs - takes you an hour or less each session.

That's all. That simple. Losing fats ain't rocket science.
errr actually i post this in both section, the weight loss and body bulding section cos i dunno where should i ask abt this
I already slim down significantly, what i wanting to achieve at the moment is to tone and also burn some fat (i assume toning and muscle building is 2 different thing, sry if i'm wrong)
My daily diet is base on dailt dietary intake, consist of fresh fruit and vege (mostly brocolli, apples, and other varieties), eggs, fish and milk, but i pretty sure eggs, fish and milk alone aren't providing the essential protein, hence the reason why i trying protein supplement)
As i stated, i hit the gym 6 days a week, doing around 45-1hr sessions.

TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 02:47 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 02:45 PM)
So what's your question?
I'm currently trying to lose weight from 68kg back to 65/60kg and trying to build muscle and tighten my slight loose skin during the period of time

Never try any protein supplement before, bought a 1.8kg MuscleTech® Nitro-Tech® Performance Series with 30g Protein.

My question, is it sufficient or too much to take once in the morning (1 scoop), 1 scoop each before and after work out during evening time?
Work out consist of 20-25 mins sprint on treadmills, chest pump, abs, side waist, shoulder, bicep/tricep and tight on daily basis.

My main concern is to burn fat and maintain/tone my muscle and not planning on building massive muscle over the period of time, just moderate toning will do.

Any advice from the pro?

sry should had bold it cos it's a bit TL:DR maybe? nod.gif
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 02:52 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 02:49 PM)
Haven't I answered?
but u suggesting saving the money for something else so i wonder what's the alternative since u didn't state any
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 03:01 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 02:57 PM)
Did you ask?

Anyway money channeled should always be into quality food first.

Commonly used time tested supplements include fish oil, and whey protein. The ones sold by forumer 4Rings should be good enough.

Another one would be creatine but since you mentioned optimizing muscle gains is not your priority then don't need to spend on it.
Got it, would like to try other supplement after i finish up the current one and compare, thanks for the tips
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 03:22 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 03:10 PM)
If you have the extra cash, buy these instead of some funny supplements.

Organic, grass fed-chicken.

Organic, pasture-fed eggs.

Organic, button mushrooms.

These are better than most fad supplements.

If you'd like to go down the route of supplements, a time tested one is:

Fish oil, (good brands are Innovix, Nordic Naturals, and Nature Made)
noted, will look into them, i myself actually dislike chemical supplement as we will never know what we been fed in those,
probably will switch to natural resources again after taking supplement for a couple of months
if those that u suggest are good alternative i would rather go for them, thanks

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Mar 4 2014, 03:23 PM
TheEvilMan
post Mar 4 2014, 03:45 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Mar 4 2014, 03:28 PM)
Note that I have edited the brand recommendations for fish oil.
many thanks for all the recommendation
i never tried any of those supplement, usually just common drug like multi-vit and omega-3 oil
will look into those notworthy.gif
TheEvilMan
post Apr 1 2014, 11:42 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(beblink @ Mar 31 2014, 07:58 PM)
Am a female and planning to lose some weight.
Totally new to working out and I have some questions in my mind

1. Usually how long do I have to wait after my meal to start workout?
3. I have a treadmill at home that have calories counter feature. Approximately how much calories that I should lose a day in order to lose weight by running?
3. Had anyone tried the no carb diet? Any feedbacks?
Will answer ur question based on my experience.
1. I usually eat about an hr before work out, however my reason is not to have a bloated stomach which hinder my work out as it make me feel uneasy.
2. Running 30-45mins with roughly 8-10mph should be pretty ideal for losing weight, that if ur diet is properly planned.
3. U may go for low carb, but no carb sound a bit extreme, try to choose ur choice of carb, for examples Yam, Sweet Potatoes is essential carb food for loosing weight, perhaps u may cut down ur rice intake and replace them with 1-2pcs of yam/sweet potatoes? Try reduce sugar and fat intake, only source them from available food resource (from fish/meat/nuts). One of my food take during diet, I eat eggs for breakfast, 2 sushi roll (like those that sold in Q-Sushi) for lunch which i think it come with rice, meat and vege which is pretty balanced, night time i only eat light salad, nuts and fruits.
TheEvilMan
post Apr 1 2014, 01:16 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(RDS88 @ Apr 1 2014, 12:06 PM)
Anyone? am also waiting for d answer.  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif

especially for no.1 and no.2.

For no.2 , I dont target the calories indicated. I do treadmill & bicycle ( @ gym) for 60-75 minutes total. Usually 15 minutes for treadmill and 60 minutes for bicycle (30 minutes fatburn mode + 30 minutes cardio mode) before do weightlifting.
Pls advise.
I recently change to lifting 1st then cardio, i find it more effective as i have all the strength reserve for lifting and i able to focus on core training better, previously the cardio taken my stamina and i dun feel as intense doing weight afterward. Cardio is mainly for burning calories so i think it should provide the same result after weight lifting.
TheEvilMan
post Apr 1 2014, 10:06 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(beblink @ Apr 1 2014, 09:59 PM)
1. Have you tried working out after lunch or dinner? Would it make us even more hungry after that?
3. i dont eat yam nor sweet potatoes. Bread would be okay?
i dont do weightlifting though lol.
Just want to mantain a fit shape as I had been gaining weight from holiday  sweat.gif
I tried running for 30 minutes and that is tiring enough for a newbie like me @@
Any suggestions for people who are new to work out? Like maybe less extreme?
1. How long did you work out for your first few times? Also an hour or two?
1. Have you tried working out after major meals like lunch or dinner?
3. my friend tried no carb and she scay the effect was visible and quick
I usually dun eat heavy before or after work.out, I only eat food to recover my protein n energy. as for bread, I dun really recommend it since it's just starch, sugar n butter, not much nutrition can be found inside, if u wanna bread, go for those homemade multi grain with nuts and dry fruit inside
TheEvilMan
post Apr 2 2014, 10:38 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 2 2014, 10:25 AM)
Answer 1: The heaviest I had consumed was.... roti john or 5 scoops of rice with vege and eggs. lol. I was too hungry back then. But I eat slowly and make sure I chew my food properly (like 30 times). And my workout would be 30 minutes. I think I would puke if I push myself hard after having such food.  sweat.gif  Try to feel your body, sometime you feel like eating more, so you scoop more food on your plate -- when you actually need a cup of yogurt to satisfy yourself.
Answer 3: Yes, it has quick effect. Within one week, you'll be satisfied that your stomach flatten.  laugh.gif But, you can't kick out your fat that fast. It would be the best if you exercise + diet = eradicate your fat. It is ok to consume carb. And please, don't starve yourself. Just treat yourself with healthy food + proper amount.

Other experience: I have a friend that practice liquid diet, which means, he only drink, blend vege/fruit, eat porridge etc, within 3 months he did it. He didn't take any solid food like chicken, fish, or mee. Yes, he is that determined. He chose this way because he didn't want to workout, he has no time for it. So, when he lost weight, it looks like he's been sick.  ohmy.gif
I use to do like 2 meal with only blended vege+fruit juice and 1 solid meal, it does help to reduce weight but not healthy to ur cologne, they still need something to function properly i guess.
TheEvilMan
post Apr 2 2014, 10:45 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 2 2014, 10:44 AM)
I vote for solid, yummy, amazing food.  drool.gif
sweet potato!
My 5th weeks of sweet potatoes cry.gif

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Apr 2 2014, 10:45 AM
TheEvilMan
post Apr 2 2014, 11:41 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 2 2014, 10:46 AM)
rojak!  icon_idea.gif
fruit rojak with no sweet black soy + prawn sauce maybe yes sad.gif
TheEvilMan
post Apr 10 2014, 01:24 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(rickeeshaw @ Apr 10 2014, 12:47 PM)
Starting my diet today... current weight is 103kg and my height is 167cm...havent calculate my BMI yet but im sure its way past the obesity mark...

Going for about 1200kcal/day diet...im a single man living in a rented apartment..my daily meal currently are all takeouts which is so hard as healthy takeout meals are so hard to find..im currently living in a rural  area so my only choice is to cook healthy as no subway or other healthy restaurant is available in my area....

Dont know where to start to be honest...im not keen on joining a gym as im on a tight budget..planning to jog or hiking in the nearby park for maybe 1 hour session for 3 times a week...any suggestion guys...happy to get in shape again after almost 10 years of unhealthy binge eating
If u find it difficult to get food while u're at work etc
try this
morning: drink a glass of milk or fresh blended vege juice(try beldn with an apple if u can't stand the vege smell) and 2 soft boil eggs
lunch: prep the food the day before or morning, as simple as steamed chicken/fish/beed, brocolli, sweet potatoes/potatoes, long beans which can last for hrs after u cook them. If u have a microwave at work, use it to reheat, other wise it's still nice to eat them cold. Try season them with spices instead of using sauce or mayonaise
dinner: try to eat just enough, eat salad or fruit if possible, with some nuts

Running 3-4 times a week in 1 hr should be sufficient if u r having a calories deficit diet.
It might not work for u but it work for me (was weight 100kgs now 68, around ur height)

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Apr 10 2014, 01:28 PM
TheEvilMan
post Apr 11 2014, 06:16 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Apr 11 2014, 01:29 AM)
eh u can do it le, as long as you stay motivated and know that it's much more of a marathon than a sprint when it comes to losing wight and be in shape.
eye on the prize buddy! take photos every week, or month if u see the changes u'll be surprised at how hard it can push you.
Put up a huge Jackman poster (gay mode on) laugh.gif
TheEvilMan
post Apr 13 2014, 11:01 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

I wish i can work out at morning but have to go work early
TheEvilMan
post Apr 14 2014, 10:11 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Apr 14 2014, 09:34 AM)
I wake up at 5am everyday and by the gym door before 6 everyday