The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

shadowz
post Feb 5 2013, 05:05 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(sick_baby @ Feb 5 2013, 05:00 PM)
Today I tried to drink a cup of black coffee (2tsp coffee powder) without sugar..
suddenly feel really energetic during workout..
dont know whether coincidence or the cafein give the kick...
thumbup.gif Caffeine for the win!!! NOTHING beats pure black coffee. I don't like the strong flavor but when I do have it, the kick is unbeatable nod.gif Too bad it stains teeth even worse than my beloved tea sweat.gif
shadowz
post Feb 5 2013, 10:31 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(nur nutra @ Feb 5 2013, 05:37 PM)
i cannot skip meal..huhu..how can i lose my weight
? You don't have to skip meals. Heck some people recommend eating 6-7 small meals a day. It comes down to calories in vs calories out.

Example:
A eats 2 sunny side up eggs along with a couple of pieces of beef bacon and a pan fried tomato for breakfast. between breakfast and lunch, A feels peckish and has a slice of bread spread with peanut butter. At lunch A enjoys a large 8 ounce piece of grilled salmon with a large side of raw vegetables (carrots, cucumbers, lettuce, etc). For a snack before dinner A has a couple of handfuls of nuts. Dinner consists of a baked quarter chicken and a good serving of peas. A sticks to drinking water, tea and coffee. Before bed 3-4 times a week A has a snack before bed like a couple of slices of cheese or some dark or sugar free chocolate or a fruit or two. 5 days a week A goes to the gym and exercises 45-60 minutes, a mix of cardio and weight training. For special occasions and outings a couple of times a month, A indulges in large meals, sweets and desserts which A loves.

B eats a Nasi Lemak for breakfast - extra sambal & tambah ayam goreng. Between lunch a dinner he snacks on a Snicker bar. At lunch he goes and has a mee goreng mamak, tambah ayam & teh tarik (two glasses because one is not enough). Between lunch and dinner, B feels hungry and has a glass of milo to tide B over until dinner. At dinner - B has a couple of indo mee packets with an egg on top as well as a cup of juice. B avoids snacking before bed to help maintain B's weight. B is sedentary most of the day with little bouts of walking to and from car.
=============================================
A consumes an average of 2000-2100 calories a day. Exercising boosts A's metabolism at least couple of hundred calories. Most healthy women with healthy metabolism and good muscle mass can maintain their weight at around 2000 calories. With the additional exercise, if A was overweight, A would likely lose some weight. If she is already a healthy weight, she will probably maintain her weight and not be affected by the occasional treats she enjoys. Not to mention, A's diet is made up of healthy foods and has a good balance of carbs, proteins and fats which means she doesn't suffer from hunger pangs and cravings.

B actually consumes an average of 3200-3300 calories a day. Roughly 500 calories comes from B's drinks (teh tarik, milo, juice). For most women, this amount of calories easily add to their weight. Not to mention, B's diet has a good amount of fried and processed foods and hardly any vegetables. B probably craves more food as B's body is trying to get nutrients it needs. Not to mention, the sedentary nature of B's lifestyle means B's metabolism is probably quite average. Healthwise, B could probably stand to clean up her/his eating habits abit to have a better well rounded intake of nutrients.

As you can see, A eats 3 meals and 2 or 3 snacks a day but A's calorie intake is more than 1000 calories less than B's - even though B only eats 3 meals a day and 1 snack. These are just examples to illustrate different diets. At the core of it, you want to keep track of calories, aim to meet macro nutrients, keep in mind micro nutrients (take a multivitamin to fill in the gaps), and for the sake of health - consider exercising at least 3 days a week.

calories in vs calories out. You cannot out train a crap diet. You just get crap results.

Choose what to put in your mouth with the knowledge that your body will reflect it in looks and health. Don't fall for hype or 'breakthrough' diets that restrict you from enjoying a particular food group.
shadowz
post Feb 6 2013, 09:29 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Feb 6 2013, 09:12 PM)
Carry a small pack of whitening mouthwash wherever you go  biggrin.gif

By the way I seem to have problems with straight black coffee.. Seems to cause mild-irritation for me in the bowels.

The approx 200mg caffeine content in my BCAA supp works just nice for me. Not quite sure what to do when it finishes as BB don't carry this stock anymore.  doh.gif
Ah I have heard some people find it is too strong 'straight'. It is a mild laxative and strong diuretic so maybe thats part of it.

Aww maybe some other online stores? Hope you find a replacement product!
shadowz
post Feb 7 2013, 11:52 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Zantetsuken90 @ Feb 7 2013, 09:04 AM)
Hii guys, is there a calorie calculator for malaysian food?
QUOTE(onthefly @ Feb 7 2013, 10:56 AM)
yeah. me is curious too
http://cekodok.com/

The closest you are going to get. I take it all with a grain of salt though as portion sizes differ from establishment from establishment, amount of oil used, ingredients, etc all affect calories in food. However, its a good guideline. Like any calorie database, it is not 100% complete but it is something lah.

Learn to estimate individual ingredients and get a rough idea yourself. It takes time to remember but after a few months, some things you wont have to look at a database anymore because you are familiar with it.
shadowz
post Feb 13 2013, 12:21 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(habibz84 @ Feb 13 2013, 08:24 AM)
seems like the stie already hacked by some paskitani  biggrin.gif
Wha? Really? o_o what happened to the dude who owns the site?

0.0548sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:39 PM