6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

gannicholas
post Jun 18 2012, 12:48 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(kenneth1314 @ Jun 18 2012, 01:38 AM)
hi gannicholas ,your outcome is effective within 3 months! just a few questions below which i hope you can answer if you don't mind:
1) totally cut off of rice -> without rice,don't you feel no energy when running?i sometimes even take livita or redbull to burst energy before running
2)weight training for about 2-3 hours. wow tats tiring ><may i know your total spent of time in exercising per day is?
3) lets say I plan to have 1 hour of exercise everyday, can i purely just jog(or sprint)? cuz infront of my house there is a jog lane, quite convenient to do so. is it ok if i don do weight training? I prefer to look skinny rather than muscular because I have a quite wide bone structure =(
4) eat dinner before or after workout?

Thanks!
Hi kenneth smile.gif
1. Never take livita or redbull. Extremely high in sugar. I used to bring along a bottle of 100 plus when i workout, nowadays i stop due to the amount of sugar content in it. I get carbs from oats. I usually feel energized before i workout because i'll always take a 30 minutes short nap before i head to the gym. After my 10 minutes warmup on cardio, i'll do one set of pushup to pump in some blood into my head. I'll feel more energized.

2. Weight training 1-2 hours, sorry. Hmm. i'll usually workout 27 out of 31 days. Let's just say i workout everyday in a random week. I'll spend at least 3 hours in the gym, 3 times per week. The rest 2 hours. Remember, it doesnt matter how long you spend time in the gym. It all matters on how much effort you put on working out.

3. If you prefer to look skinny than muscular, why not? smile.gif Swimming helps too in case if you're bored of jogging.

4. That i dont know, i have not done any research on that. I usually eat after workout cause i cant go to the gym that late at night sweat.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 18 2012, 10:37 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 18 2012, 12:59 PM)
1. Yes, all exercise train your intended body part but I've read somewhere in bodybuilding.com section about this thing. Tried to search it, maybe I'll post it here if I found it. But the thing is, have you seen a long distance runner? How is their physique? And compared to sprinters, they have good muscular physique because they incorporate weight training into their routine.
2. If you lose fat, you must alter your BMR as fat also contribute to BMR value although not as much as muscle. But then, since you are not doing any specific exercise that increase your muscle mass, you might lose your muscle thus lowering down your BMR value. Even when people who in cutting phase continue with their weight training. Why? It is because to minimize he amount of muscle loss during cutting process.
3. Disregard my advice about GI but you still need to consume carbs before doing exercises. Most people who opted for weight training consume carbs meal 1 hour prior to exercise. I don't because I train fasted.
3 hours per session in the gym or total of 3 hours?
total of 3 hours icon_idea.gif

Added on June 18, 2012, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(kenneth1314 @ Jun 18 2012, 01:11 PM)
sounds confusing. lets summarize out a general way for overweight people like me.
1) no extra sugar, no can drinks, no junk food
2) exercise daily(sprinting or jogging) after work for about 30 mins to 1 hour,another 1 hour of workout in muscle pumping. then only dinner.
3) dinner eat plain oat, lunch normal with less rice and lots of vege, breakfast eat plain breads(4pcs) or 1 egg & 2 plain breads
4) no supper after 8pm.

Is that ok? icon_idea.gif anything i miss out?if not i will start from tomorrow onwards icon_rolleyes.gif
Nooo, dont take plain bread at all. Unhealthy carbs. Try your best to reduce on carbs, really. Worst come to worst wholemeal bread, at least it has grains

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jun 18 2012, 10:38 PM
gannicholas
post Jun 19 2012, 02:48 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 19 2012, 12:18 PM)
When u see result coming out, it will surely motivate you. Hehe
U can plan your diet not to be that bland and boring. Work out Mon - Fri for at least an hour a day.
Start with cardio cause it's the most easiest and cheapest. Break loose on Sat and Sun. Eat you favourite meal.
That is what i always do. Lose weights on weekdays, gain weight on weekends rclxm9.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 19 2012, 09:22 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jun 19 2012, 04:56 PM)
How do you guys measure your calorie intake? And knowing how much to take?
This question i wanted to ask. Any specific calculation guys? Prob something to do with heigh x 100 divided by weight bla bla bla hmm.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 20 2012, 11:17 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(kenneth1314 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:55 PM)
anyone knows why salt is not advisable to be taken that much when in diet?
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Why_is_salt_bad_for_you
And a from what i've heard, i;m not really sure whether its true or not, the more salt u consume, the harder for you to sweat.

Added on June 20, 2012, 11:19 pmI have a feeling that there's something wrong with my diet. I kinda feel tired before i go to the gym eversince i reduce on my calorie intake. My eyes gets tired and stuff, etc etc. Is there anything wrong somewhere? :/

Breakfast :- either 2 eggs & milk or Oats N' Milk
Lunch :- Oven baked chicken leg, vegetables
Dinner :- Catered food

Now i'm trying to consume 3 chicken fillets, oven baked before i work out to keep myself going

Added on June 20, 2012, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(yarusaru @ Jun 20 2012, 11:00 PM)
i had gained 15kilo! how is easiest way to burn all that ? sad.gif
Easiest way? Take fat burner pills. Which i would suggest not to. There isnt any short cut to lose weight flex.gif

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jun 20 2012, 11:20 PM
gannicholas
post Jun 21 2012, 08:25 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(futuredarthvader @ Jun 21 2012, 03:39 PM)
Thanks DT1 & kurtkob78, what protein supplements should I get? Brand? not sure in the long run is it healthy? i heard too much protein/calcium causes kidney stones etc.
That is why i only take one protein shake per day icon_question.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 21 2012, 10:41 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 21 2012, 10:31 PM)
Hurm, not sure if it is sarcastic or just plain dumb  hmm.gif
Nah man i'm not aiming to get huge smile.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 24 2012, 12:32 PM

655 posts

whistling.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 25 2012, 11:49 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(futuredarthvader @ Jun 25 2012, 08:38 AM)
first week of training - 850gm lost, mostly water haha. Did 10km set jogs on treadmill for 3 days, the rest are cardio and swimming.
10km? Wow! How long? I cant stand jogging for 10km! Max 4km, i get bored easilly
gannicholas
post Jun 25 2012, 12:21 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(futuredarthvader @ Jun 25 2012, 11:58 AM)
about 45 mins, abit slow me. HAHA unfit liao. I got a whole music playlist to keep me accompanied. Plus got girls to look at *ok im joking*  tongue.gif

Added on June 25, 2012, 11:58 am

about 45 mins, abit slow me. HAHA unfit liao. I got a whole music playlist to keep me accompanied. Plus got girls to look at *ok im joking*  tongue.gif
Ahaha ok what 45 minutes is not bad! What speed? Nowadays i start with incline 0, speed 12 for the first 2 mintues, then speed 14 for the next 2 minutes then speed 20 till failure. Girls looking, thats the best thing ever mann
gannicholas
post Jun 25 2012, 09:06 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(futuredarthvader @ Jun 25 2012, 01:21 PM)
My diet is quiet bad, as I have to entertain clients and attend two wedding dinners last week and this week. The horror, not the mention the temptations tongue.gif I'm cutting down on carbs this week and increase greenery intake. Tuna and wholemeal bread advisable?
oh gawd foods being served in wedding dinners. ENDLESS. HAHA

Added on June 25, 2012, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(TechnoG @ Jun 25 2012, 05:07 PM)
yay, I'm showing good progress. I just got on the scale, and I'm 82kg. I'm pretty sure it's not my body losing water cos I drank like 4 cups of water before getting on the scale. tongue.gif gonna shed like 4 more kgs before I start bulking up. Was 90kg 2 months ago btw. smile.gif

p/s: I would like to thank everyone here especially alien9 for the advice. Not doing anymore cardio, just weight training only.
WOW! Congratulations! I went from 88 to 76.4 in 3 months, now i'm currently stuck at 76.4 for two damn weeks already icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jun 25 2012, 09:07 PM
gannicholas
post Jun 26 2012, 03:23 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 26 2012, 02:23 PM)
It's hard to gain 15 kilo too, expect hard way to burn them off.
pay for what you did =)
wow... are you sure for that? 12km/h warm up?? our best runner in LYN runners also cannot warm up with that kind of speed. summore 20 km/h?? you can challenge those Kenya in local marathon events already..

That is like 3 min / km pace, you will finish your 10k race in 30 minutes,

plus your first 2 minute in 12 km/h, 2 minutes in 14 km/h, you total expected finishing time for 10k = 31:24

http://track.rtrt.me/?appid=4fd179f2546798...-10&l=FINISH-10

Fastest Malaysian 10k runner is only 35:24 for distance of 10.6km.
your expected finishing time = 33:12,

bravo a new malaysian running star is born!
Harharhar you are so funny icon_rolleyes.gif Misunderstanding i assume from you. Not constant la. first 2 minutes 12km/h, then 2nd - 4th minute 14km/h then 20km/h like what, 30-60 seconds? =____= Think i run for more than 30 minutes straight at that speed ah? Die la like that icon_question.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 26 2012, 01:30 PM)
Congrats bro. U can do it. I started with about your weight at 86kgs (once 89 b4). In 4 months time, I have lost a lot kgs. I am now 73kgs and looking forward to my idol weight at 68kgs. Let's do it together. I weight once every two week and so far the scale is moving slowly. About 1kg per two weeks.
thanks bro. I weigh every morning and night. Ahahahaha! Stuck at 76.4 for 2 weeks already, sadly cry.gif

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jun 26 2012, 03:25 PM
gannicholas
post Jun 26 2012, 04:42 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 26 2012, 03:48 PM)
5 minutes treadmill workput? haha tht's interesting.. usually i start from walking, 5 ~6k, then proceed on to 8~9, stay around 10, then final push around 12, before gradually slowing down back to cool down..
haha warmup bro. I'm reducing on cardio now, focusing on weight training shocking.gif I do cardio after weight training like.. 3 times per week only
gannicholas
post Jun 28 2012, 02:23 PM

655 posts

Prepared this for lunch icon_idea.gif
How's everyone doing?
gannicholas
post Jun 28 2012, 02:43 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 28 2012, 02:28 PM)
Aww man, that's gooding  drool.gif  Although you should post at the food post w/o, pre w/o thread. Haha
Ahaha hey my man. Just wanna get this topic updated. Ahahah! So quiet whistling.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 28 2012, 03:14 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jun 28 2012, 03:07 PM)
Hiya.

92kgs 165cm 35 years old. FAT. Borderline HBP sad.gif
was almost a 100kgs a a couple of months ago b4 i started dieting/exercising.

2 normal meals a day - breakfast (oats) and lunch (rice + veg + a bit of meat) and homemade celery + apple juice for dinner - acceptable or not?

My place has a fully equiped gym. No trainers though. Am currently doing 30 minutes of cardio workout on the threadmill every other day (a total distance of 2.5 - 3kms) plus some basic weight training (sigh, 12 x 2 rotations of bench pressing and 12 x 2 dumbell lifts, puny me can only do 10 pounds sigh x 100).

Am I on the right track or do i need to gym everyday? Am usually knackered after every session so am worried I will be overdoing it.

92kgs, 165cm, woah.

Based on your meals.. Well, based on my meal, i cut off carbs. Totally cut off carbs for 3 months, now i'm having carbs for breakfast only ( oats ) i totally cut off rice. If you really need to eat rice in your meal, make sure its brown rice. High in fibre. For bread, avoid white bread. Regarding on the apple juice, what kind of apple juice? Freshly blended or those sold in the supermarkets? Cause those sold in supermarkets are high in sugar, eventhough some stated "NO SUGAR ADDED" but there is still sugar. Always check the nutrition content before you buy a product. Cut off carbs, sugar, oil and salt and you'll do good for sure. Avoid junk food too. thumbup.gif

Trainers isnt necessary, dont worry. This guy, he told me that it doesnt matter if we're physically strong. All it matters is that we have to be mentally strong. A strong mentality is the main key that motivates ourselves to lose weight. Regarding on cardio, try and go for high intensity cardio. For example, run on tredmill for 30 seconds, rest 30 seconds and repeat or set the tredmill maximum incline and take a really slow jog. Resistance is the key, resistance is your friend.

3 months, i go to the gym at least 27 out of 31 days, i lost 12kgs in 3 months. Just avoid working on your same group muscles everyday. Have a 48 hours rest. Let's say you're doing biceps today, do triceps tomorrow and do legs the day after tomorrow.

All these are only based on my experience hmm.gif

Seniors, correct me if im wrong unsure.gif
gannicholas
post Jun 28 2012, 03:39 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jun 28 2012, 03:23 PM)
oic.

so i should cut down on carbs even more and hit the gym after work daily?

there's no danger in losing too much weight too soon right? I've lost close to 8 kilos in about 5 weeks.
Umm i would advice you to cut down on carbs and spend more time at the gym smile.gif

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jun 28 2012, 03:40 PM
gannicholas
post Jun 28 2012, 09:58 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jun 28 2012, 03:41 PM)
thanks! reading now.

Added on June 28, 2012, 4:34 pmSo it is gonna be:-
Weight training one day, interval training the next. rinse and repeat but leave 1 day as rest day.
Eat less rice, less bread more veg and meat.

Lose fat, gain muscles?
Cut off white rice and white bread if possible
gannicholas
post Jun 29 2012, 01:45 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Jun 29 2012, 12:37 AM)
totally cut rice for 2 week.

feel like in hell. but the best part :

manage to cut 1kg! yeah. Let get healthy friends!
Cutting rice plays an important role in losing weight for me man ahahahaah.

Added on June 29, 2012, 1:46 pm
QUOTE(futuredarthvader @ Jun 29 2012, 09:10 AM)
man..didnt hit the gym this week yet, feeling all so shitty. working late, due dates omg! target for this month failed kaw kaw
Hate it when my schedule is packed. I feel shitty if i skip gym twice in a row. Ahahah! So far never skipped twice in a row yet, hopefully i dont have to until i get those abs i always wanted flex.gif

This post has been edited by gannicholas: Jun 29 2012, 01:46 PM
gannicholas
post Jun 29 2012, 11:39 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 29 2012, 05:50 PM)
been nursing injuries at home for a week =(
leg itchy to run again.. but better know else it will add salt to wound..
dang, get well soon!

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0556sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:51 PM