37 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

So you wanna speak Japanese ?, Strictly No English (Instruction Page 1)

evilhomura89
post May 1 2006, 12:19 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Apr 30 2006, 10:37 PM)
to learn Japanese well, you must think in Japanese, young padawan...

Hiragana & Katakana is the easy part. When I started learning, it took me about 2 weeks to get to about 80-90% proficient in that with the help of flash cards. It's the kanji that is the killer, but you don't have to worry too much about that until you study for JLPT lvl 2.
I think I'm able to manage the kanji well as I'm chinese educated. And there are plenty of kanji that has almost the same pronouciation as the chinese character.

I think I remember the wordings on Takumi Fujiwara's(藤原拓海)AE86.

藤原とうふ店(自家用)

How do I read this - 自家用??
ji ka xxx?

This post has been edited by evilhomura89: May 1 2006, 12:20 PM
oe_kintaro
post May 1 2006, 04:21 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ May 1 2006, 12:19 PM)
I think I'm able to manage the kanji well as I'm chinese educated. And there are plenty of kanji that has almost the same pronouciation as the chinese character.

I think I remember the wordings on Takumi Fujiwara's(藤原拓海)AE86.

藤原とうふ店(自家用)

How do I read this - 自家用??
ji ka xxx?
自家用=jikayou
I suppose being chinese-educated does confer one an edge in the learning process, but if you fail to take advantage of it, no point also-lah. Most of my batch which took Japanese with me are still struggling in the lower levels (after more than 5 years).

Kanji mastery is not that big a hurdle for them as it was (and still is) for me, but they fussed too much over how to translate english/chinese sentences into Japanese, or construct a grammatically correct Japanese sentence and neglected the listening and speaking parts.

IOW they phailed to use the language (i.e. learn to live/think in the language). Text books are not enough. Watching more anime and Jdorama (without subs), and actually trying to talk/think in that language is the way to go. brows.gif

That is why, to start you on your way, I recommend that you memorize your kanas ASAP and burn any textbooks that use romaji... whistling.gif
evilhomura89
post May 3 2006, 07:43 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ May 1 2006, 04:21 PM)
自家用=jikayou
I suppose being chinese-educated does confer one an edge in the learning process, but if you fail to take advantage of it, no point also-lah. Most of my batch which took Japanese with me are still struggling in the lower levels (after more than 5 years).

Kanji mastery is not that big a hurdle for them as it was (and still is) for me, but they fussed too much over how to translate english/chinese sentences into Japanese, or construct a grammatically correct Japanese sentence and neglected the listening and speaking parts.

IOW they phailed to use the language (i.e. learn to live/think in the language). Text books are not enough. Watching more anime and Jdorama (without subs), and actually trying to talk/think in that language is the way to go.  brows.gif

That is why, to start you on your way, I recommend that you memorize your kanas ASAP and burn any textbooks that use romaji... whistling.gif
Thx for yr advice.
boringpig
post May 3 2006, 09:33 PM

1,344 posts

わたしのおばさんのヨガクラスににほんじんがいます。
でも、わたしのおばさんはにほんごがぜんぜんありません。
[eng] no idea how to continue already.. anyway, like to talk to her but then scare she dun even understand my japanese.. haha laugh.gif [/eng]
evilhomura89
post May 5 2006, 11:49 PM

5,886 posts

Can anyone provide me with guideline in this thread - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...view=getnewpost ?

Thx.
angelfish84
post May 7 2006, 10:59 PM

191 posts

minna genki.

atashi angelfish desu.
dozo yoroshiku ne~!! laugh.gif

boringpig
post May 8 2006, 12:17 AM

1,344 posts

このテレ-ト*はしずかですね... さいきんある
みんなどこへいきました?

* spelt in katakana = thread tongue.gif

This post has been edited by boringpig: May 8 2006, 12:28 AM
LanEVOchris
post May 9 2006, 05:04 PM

861 posts

sumimasen, atashiwa yoh-kun desu
atashiwa honto hoshii sekkusu desu.
chitsu kirei sekkusu ichiban!!

Try translating this

This post has been edited by LanEVOchris: May 9 2006, 05:04 PM
jayhan
post May 9 2006, 06:24 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ May 8 2006, 12:17 AM)
このテレ-ト*はしずかですね... さいきんある
みんなどこへいきました?

* spelt in katakana = thread tongue.gif
君は 寂しい? [eng]as in ur sig[/eng]

みんなは ここ に いる だよね

blink.gif
Alone
post May 9 2006, 10:50 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ May 9 2006, 05:04 PM)

Try translating this
urusei.. omae wa uzai~

This post has been edited by Alone: May 9 2006, 10:50 PM
boringpig
post May 10 2006, 01:37 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(jayhan @ May 9 2006, 06:24 PM)
君は 寂しい? [eng]as in ur sig[/eng]

みんなは ここ に いる だよね

blink.gif
そう。。
みんなさん、おかえり! laugh.gif

「英語」
lol.. perhaps.. the thread has been quiet down for some times.. no one to talk to.. haha laugh.gif
「/英語」

This post has been edited by boringpig: May 10 2006, 01:37 AM
jayhan
post May 13 2006, 12:22 AM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

Try translating this
hentai!! ecchi!! yurusei!
N0eL
post Jun 5 2006, 03:01 AM

1,479 posts

そうか、セックスはsexです。
このあいだがわからない。 わるいひとですね。

みんあ、げんきだ? あしたはにほんごのしけんがある。がんばります。

This post has been edited by N0eL: Jun 5 2006, 03:02 AM
timjim
post Jun 10 2006, 07:37 PM

183 posts

gomenasai, ima shiken ga arimasu kara, izogashii ne.

Minna san, genki desu ka?
streamline
post Jun 14 2006, 04:29 AM

424 posts

NOel, tim > がんばってね。皆さんはいつもげんきだよ。。。と思う。。:P

あの。。このテレートすこし。。しんだ。。へへへ。。。。
あぁ。。もうねむいんだ。皆さん、いっしょにねませんか。(lol)..

Try translating this
The translation for LanEVOchris : OMG! loL..

NOel, tim > good luck, all the best!. i think people always fine.

erm...this thread kinda dead.

This post has been edited by streamline: Jun 14 2006, 04:31 AM
Alone
post Jun 14 2006, 11:24 AM

434 posts

mou nani mo hanashinain da~
timjim
post Jun 14 2006, 12:09 PM

183 posts

arigatoo ne. "luck" ga hoshi desu!

(eng) let's make this thread alive again! Haha (/eng)
dopodplaya
post Jul 2 2006, 02:13 PM

2,280 posts

kanji wo kakimasu ga dekireba ii ne? demo ore no Linux ga nihongo no IME ga arimasen. dareka, kono koto ga tasukete ne.
Alone
post Jul 2 2006, 10:27 PM

434 posts

linux? linux wa saite da... are wa kirain da... hontou ni mendokusei, windows no COMMAND wa muzukashii dewa nai~

kono THREAD wa shinda to omoimasu

This post has been edited by Alone: Jul 2 2006, 10:29 PM
TSSeeD
post Jul 18 2006, 04:38 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

[eng]How to say im living with my friend now at abc[/eng]
watashi wa to tomodachi san wa ishio .... err ... doh.gif

37 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled