Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V15, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

ego draconis
post Jun 8 2012, 11:40 PM

145 posts

can anybody help me choose....light gamer

toshiba-satellite L755 (i5-2450, geforce 525m, 3year warranty, rm2049)
dell 15R (i5-3210, ati 7670, 1year warranty, rm1999)

I know dell>toshiba slightly for these 2 models but vast difference on warranty... plus i would like to know both brand reputation for this price range model..thx
ego draconis
post Jun 8 2012, 11:58 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 8 2012, 11:44 PM)
Dell's performance is better, both CPU and GPU-wise.
Dell's warranty support is also better i.e. on-site repairs; provided you're covered, of course nod.gif
go for the 15R, and extend the warranty to 3 years, don't forget to bargain yo, you'll probably be able to get discounts of around RM100 if you're good  brows.gif
add 3years warranty need rm299 leh...i would like have budget around rm2000, or should i just take 1year warranty?
but then how to discount rm100 if purchase dell online?
is it a must to add for 3years warranty in ur opinion?(cuz extra rm299)

ego draconis
post Jun 10 2012, 02:40 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Jun 10 2012, 10:16 AM)
do you think this model still valid to be purchase?cuz it removed by dell?
ego draconis
post Jun 12 2012, 04:20 PM

145 posts

help me choose a best bang for buck laptop (for girl, will use autocad, google sketch up, no game)

dell 14R special edition i5-3210, 640M, 3 year warranty, RM2499
dell 15R i5-3210, 7670M, 3 year warranty, rm2299
toshiba L840 , i5-2450, 7670M, 3 year warranty, Rm 2199

is there a high reap difference for ivy bridge and sandy bridge i5? cuz the toshiba one got discount after ivy bridge come out.
ego draconis
post Jun 12 2012, 05:03 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Jun 12 2012, 04:24 PM)
Any computer shop? Digital Mall? Lowyat Plaza?

Or you can PM one of our LYN forummers hikari85 or devour. They are trustable sellers.

Added on June 12, 2012, 4:41 pm

It depends whether you want a 14" or 15". 14" for a little more portability and 15" for larger screen (easier to see?  hmm.gif )

The difference is not that much. Just improved graphics, faster, less power consumption, etc.
bro i dont care the screen size, just care about the bang for buck term,i wonder sandy bridge and ivy bridge i5 have big difference?
ego draconis
post Jun 12 2012, 06:26 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Jun 12 2012, 05:06 PM)
No these are the only new and powerful ones in the market.
But the time given should be enough to get the laptops.

Added on June 12, 2012, 5:14 pm
I've already mentioned on SB and IB i5. Of course having a newer technology (IB) will be better than the old (SB).

For me, I would choose the Dell Inspiron 14R SE.
but 14R SE will be more expensive Rm300, I know the GPU is much more powerful but this laptop for girl usage. So is it worthy to spend that rm300 for the upgraded Gpu for a non-gamer while the cpu difference is subtle?

Sorry for my much doubt. I'm just cant decide and hesitate so come here ask opinions.

Moreover, do you think a MUST 3 years extended warranty for Dell Inspiron series laptop? since there lot of hardware failure cases?
TQVM.
ego draconis
post Jun 12 2012, 07:04 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 12 2012, 06:57 PM)
You don't really need such high end laptops based on the stated usage of the girl hmm.gif
But based on all the 3 models you've mentioned, I'd pick the 14R even though its more expensive. The smaller size will be more convenient for girls to carry (in fact, most girls will already say that 14" is too big tongue.gif)... and not to mention the top notch Dell warranty would be very nice to have too~
Like what PhungTM has mentioned, try waiting if you can because the current laptops will eventually be switched to IB later on. I'm sure you don't wanna pay the same price for older specs right? laugh.gif
Sorry, Im forgot to mention all the 3 model mentioned is actually 14inch (the 15R got 14R with exactly same spec and same price)..so in this case, worth the Rm200-Rm300?

*My sister in hurry to purchase before 8/july, so you think the time is sufficient to let all current laptop become IB?
ego draconis
post Jun 12 2012, 07:11 PM

145 posts

I pick the 14R SE is because of the too worthy of the spec, but then after add on 3 year extended warranty, the price jack up..
And i realize I forgot the original criteria of purchasing laptop for a girl, she just need a decent laptop to run photoshop and autocad.
That why now i hesitate whether take the very worthy laptop but its too much for my sister requirement.
ego draconis
post Jun 13 2012, 01:57 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(antoniov @ Jun 13 2012, 01:48 AM)
Where do u get so many models?
14R SE is in hidden link, u can search thro this forum
14R in dell website, toshiba L840 at my nearby shop catalog

0.0428sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled