Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V15, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

arthur5011
post Apr 13 2012, 02:53 PM

294 posts

Hi all,
Need your recommendation
1. Preferred Brand : Dell, Asus, Toshiba
2. Budget : ~RM4000
3. Usage : Surfing, Photo Editing, Gaming (Diablo III, Dota, NFS and etc)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : not more than 14"

currently in my mind is Dell XPS14z & XPS13, but i think XPS13 is not suitable for gaming. as for XPS14z the battery is build in, will that be okay if i use it for long hour?

regards,
arthur
arthur5011
post Apr 13 2012, 04:08 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 13 2012, 03:46 PM)
M14X-43411G-W7P-CLR - with this spec  laugh.gif 

i5-2430M 2.4GHz (3.0GHz with Turbo Boost 3MB Cache)
4GB 1TB HDD
14"
Slot Load 8X DVD+/-RW Drive with DVD+R double layer write capability

1.5GB DDR3 NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 555M using NVIDIA Optimus™ technology (Stealth Black)
Alienware? hmm.. my CFO at home dun like that design.. hahaha. doh.gif

personally i dun really like that its heavy..
arthur5011
post Apr 14 2012, 09:51 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 13 2012, 06:30 PM)
The XPS14z is not exactly very suitable for gaming as well...
It all depends on your usage, if your photo editing is quite intense, then choosing a laptop with an i7 processor would be a better pick, i.e.
14"
Lenovo (not exactly your preferred brand but still can be considered)
Y470, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT550M (2GB)@RM2799[JBL], W7HP, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), Lenovo P350 headset OR 2 years warranty
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@2999[JBL] *upcoming

If gaming is your top priority, then the AW m14x is pretty much your only choice nod.gif
Actually gaming not my top priority. But I will use it for gaming, I really not a fan of alienware. In my mind is xps14z -i7, 8gb ram, 256ssd. But the gpu is NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 520M 1GB graphics. Is it enough for games like diablo3, Nfs and etc?
arthur5011
post Apr 14 2012, 10:25 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 14 2012, 10:04 AM)
Gt 520 is a pretty weak GPU bro.

Doubt it can handle d3 properly.

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html

Added on April 14, 2012, 10:05 am

If you can wait, please do smile.gif
Really weak it seems. It left me only AW. I like dell because of their after sale service. Let say I dun care the brand (but please exclude Acer/hp) any other model suit my requirement?
arthur5011
post Apr 14 2012, 10:52 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 14 2012, 10:37 AM)
Sager and MSI not bad, but as i said, depending on your needs smile.gif
Hmmmm.. Later go pc fair see see
arthur5011
post Apr 20 2012, 05:34 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(Alvint0722 @ Apr 20 2012, 05:05 PM)
1. No specific preferred brand
2. Budget below RM 3000
3. Usage is for college use, which mean assignment and document work and also light gaming, watching movie and a need do little design sometimes
4. Preferred screen size 13 and below and 1.5kg below,I need to bring it travel around, so I wishing it can be small and light
based on your requirement, there are few of them that you can consider.. maybe top up another 500 to get dell ultrabook. smile.gif

Acer [Ultrabook] Aspire S3, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000@RM2599[1.35kg], 320GB HDD

HP [Ultrabook] Pavilion dm3-1001TU (Folio 13), i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.49kg], W7HP

Lenovo [Ultrabook] U300e, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + (500GB HDD + 32GB SSD)@RM2899 *upcoming

Samsung [Ultrabook] 5 series 530U3B, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + (16GB SSD + 500GB [5400rpm])@RM2699[1.45kg], 4GB

0.0241sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:41 PM