Recommendation for a gaming laptop
1. budget around 3K-ish
2. any brand but acer
3. any screen size (preferably FHD)
Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V15, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Jun 7 2012, 09:09 AM
1,095 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: Cyberjaya, Selangor |
Recommendation for a gaming laptop
1. budget around 3K-ish 2. any brand but acer 3. any screen size (preferably FHD) |
Jun 7 2012, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(PhungTM @ Jun 7 2012, 10:24 AM) Hmm this is another hard and subjective question but i scared that this model is not available in physical store... i nid it asaap bcoz i plan to send my acer laptop for warranty check up....thus i nid another laptop almost immediately...~.~Built quality and life span, both are pretty good. Both are made to withstand high graphics and gaming. For after sales service, I'm not too sure. Its a hit or miss. I personally have not tried MSI laptops before. Added on June 7, 2012, 10:29 am Gaming laptop? FHD? 15" it is. Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3399, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional You can chip in to get an international warranty, 3 years |
Jun 7 2012, 11:05 AM
Jun 7 2012, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(devour @ Jun 7 2012, 04:32 PM) for current market dell 15R SE model , its not equip with full hd display , thanks =) can u pm me the best price for dell inspiron 14R SE and also 15 SE ? even not FHD oso nvm... IF the price is nice i may get it very soon since my acer laptop is laready 2 n half years old n is currently under servicing...Added on June 7, 2012, 4:48 pm At the moment, the dell 14R SE with spec below i5-3210 4GB ram 500 gb hardisk Gt 630 - 1GB available in market ( in addition to DEll online )- the one with GT640 have not yet .. Added on June 7, 2012, 4:52 pm QUOTE(Uchiha_Itachi1991 @ Jun 7 2012, 04:51 PM) can u pm me the best price for dell inspiron 14R SE and also 15 SE ? even not FHD oso nvm... IF the price is nice i may get it very soon since my acer laptop is laready 2 n half years old n is currently under servicing... for i7 model 1...not i5... thxThis post has been edited by Uchiha_Itachi1991: Jun 7 2012, 04:52 PM |
Jun 7 2012, 10:13 PM
T.J...what do u think about this laptop if i can get it for rm3999? worth it? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2332057
Jun 7 2012, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 7 2012, 10:28 PM) They say that ajul sells refurbished units and you won't be able to claim warranty in Malaysia... I'm not very sure about this, so do be cautious before purchasing For me, I'd prefer the Asus G55vw (RM3999 variant), its newer, with an even better GPU, no 3D though |
Jun 8 2012, 08:54 AM
For those who wan to get dell inspiron 15R SE with FHD 1...now is the best time to get it...RM200 rebate + 7% DISCOUNT!! I configure mine to Dell Inspiron 15R SE + 3 years In home warranty + backlit keyboard + 1 Windows 7 DVD for RM3301....Btw...the student discount wont stack with the DELL EPP Program Special Discount voucher?
This post has been edited by Uchiha_Itachi1991: Jun 8 2012, 08:55 AM |
Jun 8 2012, 11:12 PM
TJ...what do u think about MSI GE 60 compared to Asus G55? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2361129
Jun 8 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 8 2012, 11:35 PM) Gaming performance-wise, the Asus is better but now so hard to find asus 1...all out of stock ...not sure whether Dell 15R SE's 7730 graphic card is gud enuf for gaming or not...is it true tat 640m is better than amd 7730?With the price of the MSI GE60, you can get a G55vw and still have money to upgrade the HDD to something better and faster This post has been edited by Uchiha_Itachi1991: Jun 8 2012, 11:38 PM |
Jun 9 2012, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(davidyeow94 @ Jun 9 2012, 12:37 AM) I'm a engineering student, I wanna to ask which devide is most suitable for me with lite gaming. i think it's fair to say ipad and notebook are quite different... Following is what I chosen: Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2199[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999[2.65kg], 6GB, 500GB(5400rpm) Inspiron 15R, i7-3612QM +AMD HD7670M@RM2599[2.65kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm) Or a iPad 3 32GB @RM1799 Of course cheaper is better This post has been edited by Uchiha_Itachi1991: Jun 9 2012, 01:06 AM |
Jun 9 2012, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(davidyeow94 @ Jun 9 2012, 03:45 PM) but u hav any desktop/ laptop? bcoz i think u nid at least 1 of those to do ur assingment for ur engineering subjects....ipad is sumwhere in between laptop and mobile phone... it's more for entertainment and some light workload (editing documents, reading lecture slides, surfing the internet, email , etc)... U will still nid a laptop/desktop for engineering...i usually use my ipad b4 i sleep, wake up and during lecture classes...so it really depends on what u hav n use... |
Jun 9 2012, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(davidyeow94 @ Jun 9 2012, 05:58 PM) Yea I got a slow processor desktop and my dad's "slow" laptop. I think I will buy a iPad and use the desktop for autocad. it's gud for editing but not really suitable for doing stuff from scratch imo...some things are done better on pc compare to tablet....i prefer to use my ipad for light editing and also a more on the go entertainment device...Imma save money and wait for Windows 8 with 3rd gen i7 laptop One last questin, is that iPad's iWork can works like microsoft office (word,excel,powerpoint)? Anyway thanks for ur advice =) |
Jun 10 2012, 01:19 AM
will i5 be sufficient for gaming? is an i7 processor going to make much difference in gaming?
Jun 11 2012, 12:33 AM
can any1 here tell me whether will there b much difference in terms of gaming when an i5(dual core) compared to a i7(quad core) processor? or is it based more on the gpu?
Jun 13 2012, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(gorson @ Jun 13 2012, 03:36 PM) Hey, I checked the Dell website and I can still find the 14R SE!!! Is it still available??? I think it's quite worth it considering u r getting a better graphic card (i dont think this is 640LE) and oso a 500gb 7200rpm hdd...it would b even better if u r willing throw in another rm42 for the backlit keyboard which imo is totally worth it and awesome...Btw, if it's avail, do u think it worth the price to choose GT640M over GT630M for RM200? I heard there is GT640M that is less powerful, is that true? |
Jun 17 2012, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(deadmeat2012 @ Jun 17 2012, 06:28 PM) 1. Preferred Brand : any (no acer) if u can then wait for y580....y580 is the only laptop for now that uses GTX 660M in ur price range... GTX 660M is excellent for a mid range gaming graphic card...i am using MSi GE60 with this graphic card and can run BF3 with max settings and 1080p... I can max all of the current game (COD, Sniper Elite, ME 3) available (havent tried max payne 3 yet)...2. Budget : RM 2500~3500 3. Usage : Mostly for watching movies and listen to songs, gaming(bf3) 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14"- 16" This post has been edited by Uchiha_Itachi1991: Jun 17 2012, 11:26 PM |
Jun 19 2012, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jun 19 2012, 04:45 AM) need advice from sifus.. i dont it is risky if u preorder from asus physical retail store...if wan it fast beter preorder...u nvr know how much stock asus hav...like the G55VM released quite some time d but till now stlll lack of stock...when do u guys think these new laptops (G55vw, N56vz, N56zm, Y580) will be available widely in msia? i want to buy, but don't want to take risk of pre-order or online order.. how about next month (13 Jul) pikom pcfair in klcc? these laptops will surely be available there right? |
Jun 30 2012, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(AloneJL @ Jun 30 2012, 08:00 PM) 1. Brand: ASUS go for this better....3rd gen cpu and kepler gpu...nice speakers2. Budget: RM 2500-3000 3. Usage: Gaming, Listening song, Movie-ing 4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15 inch onward p/s: N45SL Jay Chou Mystic Edition <---- tis brand good?? THankss for the reply... Asus N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack |
Jul 6 2012, 06:12 AM
QUOTE(eragon001 @ Jul 6 2012, 12:51 AM) Hope all sifu can help with this paranoid kid.... lol...looks like u left with very few option...lenovo y580 only hd screen...msi(ge n gt series) n sager too expensive...1.prefered brand : educate me (T_T) -acer sucks -asus s*** customer service -Dell expensive -hp overheat -Toshiba don't dare use -rest of the brand .... Dunno 2.budget : 4k or 3k below if possible as I wanna buy intuos m 3.usage : graphic design student + freelance designer + gamer 4.Prefered laptop screen size: any size as long as resolution is 1600x900 and above ..... I dun like 1366x768 Thank you all sifus (T+T) |
| Change to: | 0.0499sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:19 PM |