32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V15, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 06:22 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(catsyloo @ Apr 16 2012, 06:18 PM)
Sorry. Budget actually less than 1500. Not too much on gaming though.
These perhaps? Do take note that some does not come with Windows ya (FreeDOS)
14"
Asus A43Sd-VX216, B960 + Nvidia GT610M@RM1499[2.2kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 320GB(5400rpm)

Fujitsu LifeBook LH531, B950 + Nvidia G410M@RM1599, 2GB, 500GB, W7HB, colors: black/maroon/red

Lenovo G470, B960 + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, W7HP

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 07:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Alex2891 @ Apr 16 2012, 06:53 PM)
Thanks a lot!Will wait and ask again during that period of time.  biggrin.gif
I am curious wouldn't it be much more expensive since it's new? cry.gif
Newer models will keep on coming out anyway, by the time you buy, I'm sure it will be cheaper for the specs you will be getting that what you are getting now nod.gif
The powerful Nvidia GT640m is already available in the Acer V3- M3-581TG-52466G52, i5-2467M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2599, 6GB, 500GB

The price can go lower tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 08:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zorazudo @ Apr 16 2012, 07:58 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: <RM5500
3. Usage: MS Office, multitasking, gaming and etc.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any

Thinking of getting Alienware M14x, but are there better options?
The AW M14x is only good if you MUST get a 14" gaming notebook... otherwise, you'd be much better off with a more powerful 15.6" notebook (especially when you have such a nice budget) nod.gif
Can consider the latest MSI GT60~
15.6"
MSI GT60, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX670M (1.5GB) + (1920x1080;anti-glare)@RM5599[Dyaudio], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, gaming mouse & backpack, Free SteelSeries Siberia V2 headset; backlit keyboard
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 08:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zorazudo @ Apr 16 2012, 08:21 PM)
Just googled that. Not my type of laptop.  laugh.gif

What about other brands?
If you're not buying in a hurry, I'd suggest to wait for newer models with newer Nvidia Kepler GPUs...
If you can't wait, then these:
15.6"
Asus
G53Sx-IX199v [3D], i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX560M (2GB) + Bluray@RM4999, 640GB +640GB, backlit keyboard, 3D glasses, gaming backpack & mouse
Lamborgini VX7-S1124v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX560M(3GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM5999[3.82kg], backlit keyboard, 1.2TB HDD, Colors: Orange

MSI
GT683DX, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX570M(1.5GB) + (1920x1080, anti-glare)@RM5199[Dynaudio], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), gaming mouse & backpack, 2 years warranty

import Sager - Configure Sager units here: http://www.illegear.com/
NP8130, i5-2450M + Nvidia GTX560M + (1920x1080)@RM3959, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2450M - i7-2860QM]
NP8150, i7-2670QM + AMD HD6990M + (1920x1080)@RM5499, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-2630M - i7-2960XM]

17.3"

G74Sx-9118Sv [3D], i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX560M (3GB)+ BluRay + (1920x1080)@RM5999[4.28kg], 640GB + 640GB, backlit keyboard, 3D glasses, gaming backpack & mouse

MSI
GT780DX, i7-2670M + Nvidia GTX570M + (1920x1080, anti-glare)@RM5399[Dynaudio]; backlit keyboard [Steelseries], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), gaming mouse & backpack, 2 years warranty
GE70, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650M (2GB) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4599, 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, gaming mouse & backpack, free SteelSeries QCK Mass Mousepad

Toshiba
Qosmio X770-1004X, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX560M + (1920x1080 3D) + BluRay@RM5499, Nvidia 3D vision kit, 2x500GB (7200rpm), backlit keyboard, Steel Series Siberia V2 headset

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 08:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(giaogiao @ Apr 16 2012, 08:17 PM)
Looking laptop features below:

- 17 inches screen
- i7 new processor
- If can go for gaming, would be better.
- Avoiding brands like: Acer, Dell, Compaq
- Budget max rm4000.
Closest would be these two:
17.3"
HP Pavilion DV7-6c00TX, i7-2760QM + AMD HD7690M XT + (1920x1080 Anti-glare) + Bluray@RM4499[Beats], 8GB, 2TB(5400rpm)

Lenovo Ideapad G770, i5-2430M + AMD HD6650M + (1600x900)@RM2599[3.0kg]

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 08:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(giaogiao @ Apr 16 2012, 08:31 PM)
if strike off 17 inches screen,
want i7 laptop, gaming graphic card wants good one. budget around rm3500-4000?
Then this would be the best pick brows.gif
15.6"
Asus G53Sx-S1208v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX560M (2GB) + 1920x1080 (anti-glare)@RM3999, 500GB + 500GB, backlit keyboard, gaming backpack &mouse

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 09:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 16 2012, 08:52 PM)
Where is SAGERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR?

With 5k+, you can get an imba Sager liao!

NP5165, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT555M + (1920x1080)@RM3199, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2450M - i7-2860QM]
NP8130, i5-2450M + Nvidia GTX560M + (1920x1080)@RM3959, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2450M - i7-2860QM]
NP8150, i7-2670QM + AMD HD6990M + (1920x1080)@RM5499, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-2630M - i7-2960XM]

*Sager lover in hiding tongue.gif Can't wait for the new 11 from Sager. Maybe gonna buy it and thrash Mx11 in its face  laugh.gif *
Bro, I think you see wrong people liao laugh.gif
His budget RM4k max only (not the RM5.5k one) tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 09:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Apr 16 2012, 08:37 PM)
There are so much better laptops than Alienware out there. Plus, with their marketing, it only makes it overrated. smile.gif RM5500 you can get a good Asus laptop. IMO. smile.gif
It depends on what one compares imho... if you are comparing specifications, then Sager and mots other brands out there will definitely offer better choices...
But when it comes to bling bling and most importantly warranty support, AW units will shine nod.gif

Added on April 16, 2012, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 16 2012, 09:05 PM)
Ops, sorry.

On tablet, can't really see properly.

I know got 1 guy ask for 5,5k one, then this one kasi him  laugh.gif
Just curious bro, what tablet you using?
iPad 2? brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 16 2012, 09:06 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2012, 09:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 16 2012, 09:09 PM)
Asus Transformer Prime  laugh.gif

Very useful since I travel alot daily. Got a MiFi from Yes recently, so permanently got internet if I choose not to bring my laptop out  smile.gif

But normally, I carry both out just in case i did not manage to make it back to my accommodation at night, at least I'll have entertainment till 2morrow morning =,=
Nice pick there bro!!
I had one too, bought for parents thumbup.gif

Really not bad... the battery life is crazy laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 12:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(fallout @ Apr 16 2012, 11:27 PM)
Looking for laptop for my gf (& her mom) to be use for PPS & web surfing, maybe sometimes Photoshop. I have PC knowledge, so tech wise I'm still ok, just that I want to know more about the brand's build quality & warranty (good or not). I heard that Dell's laptop breaks a lot from lots of friends, so is it wise to no take any Dell's laptop?

1. Preferred Brand: No preference
2. Budget: Under RM2k
3. Usage: Watch movies, surf web, no gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" to 15"
14"
Relatively good speakers:
HP
Pavilion G4-2026/27tx, i3-2350M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 4GB, 640GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Pavilion G4-1347tx, i5-2450M + AMD HD7450M@RM1999, 4GB, 640GB(5400rpm), W7HB

Relatively good screen:
Toshiba Satellite L745-1137U, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1799, color: silver, 2nd & 3rd year local limited warranty
Toshiba Satellite L745-1204XB/XR/XW, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT525M@RM2099, color: brown/red/white, 2nd & 3rd year local limited warranty

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 12:14 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Runze @ Apr 16 2012, 11:44 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any brand except toshiba & acer
2. Budget: <RM3500
3. Usage: Photoshop, gaming (PES2012) and CAD
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 preferable 1080res?(within my budget?)
5. Date : may/june
There are no FullHD 14" notebooks at this time...
Since you're not buying in a hurry, do come back later- technology advances super fast laugh.gif
What's recommended now will probably no longer be available after a few months... sad.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 12:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Silverhorn @ Apr 16 2012, 11:58 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: around: <3.2k
3. Usage: Gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 inch will do.

The toshiba satelite p750 is it nice to be used for gaming purpose ?
For the moment, this laptop will give the best performance in terms of graphics (much better than those in the Satellite series):
14"
Asus N45SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2450M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2899[Bang & Olufsen], 750GB (7200rpm), Color: White

The speakers are said to be even better than the harman/kardon in the P745...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 11:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ahinigami @ Apr 17 2012, 10:59 AM)

My requirements:
1. Brand: Any brands, while I don't think this is brand specifics but I wanted a laptop that can withstand high temperature and long term usage.
2. Budget: 2-3k
3. Usage: Mostly DoTA 2 gaming + videos and occasionally some new high end games (Diablo 3), depends on my game budget but try to stick with free games. I won't be bringing this laptop outside as I can bring my old laptop or netbook out instead of this new laptop.
4. 14 inches will do as my budget is quite limited...

One of my friend offer me a used (3 months) Asus A43S for RM 2k, here is the specs:
i5 (I don't remember the clock speed)
Nvidia GT 610M 2GB Ram (610m or 620m, I don't remember)
8 GB DDR3 Ram

Do you guys think this is a nice offer for my requirements above?
Since you have a good budget, do consider this one instead, the GPU is much more powerful than the Nvidia GT610m/540m/AMD HD6730M:
14"
Asus N45SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2450M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2899[Bang & Olufsen], 750GB (7200rpm), Color: White

Actually with your budget you can also opt for these 15" gaming notebooks (with even better GPUs):
Acer
M3-581TG-52466G52, i5-2467M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2599, 6GB, 500GB
V3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB

HP
dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

Gaming relies more on the GPU rather than the CPU, so you'll want to avoid an i7 if possible because it generates a lot of heat and consumes alot of power as well

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 11:49 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ahinigami @ Apr 17 2012, 11:47 AM)
His laptop was only 3 months old, will get it to test for 1 week. Thanks anyway~
Will look into the Acer series, the price and specs looked quite good too but the shop arounds here don't have much Acer laptop... will go check it out in lowyat.
Btw, while I'm on it... Any of these laptop can withstand high temperature as my old Acer laptop CPU temperature can reach up to 6x-7x celsius when playing game in afternoon. Almost 3 years of constant heating, nowadays it will shut off by itself when overheated T_T... As long as I can play DoTA 2 without a hitch most laptop will do for me.
i7 processors can go up to 100C when gaming brows.gif
Dota2's requirements are not fixed yet right? Do correct me if I'm wrong hmm.gif
But it seems that Dota2 doesn't require a lot of GPU power to play, the GT635m in the Asus N45 would be more than enough
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 04:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cherylwong @ Apr 17 2012, 03:21 PM)
Hi Pros!
want to know why you guys keep recommended this model "Asus N55Sf-S1515v" since EOL-ed already.
I compare it with JayChou Edition, N45SL -VX021V, their spec are all equal, except the screen size.
GT 555 (N55) vs GT 635 (N45) (or older version graphics is better?), 7,200 rpm, audio oso same. the price also roughly similar, unless you guys meant N55SF is much cheaper la.
QUOTE(syabilng @ Apr 17 2012, 03:25 PM)
Maybe most of them don't like Jay Chou? Hahaha.
The Asus N55sf-S1515v comes with FullHD screen, that's a big plus over the N45Sl nod.gif
Summore some ppl may prefer larger sized laptops ~

Added on April 17, 2012, 4:03 pm
QUOTE(giaogiao @ Apr 17 2012, 03:38 PM)
Asus G53SX obsolete ady? since when? shocking.gif

Company IT related supplier says her suppliers told her that model obsolete ady wo. dafuq? sad.gif
Obsolete doesn't mean no more stock tongue.gif
Anyway, they're probably preparing for the upcoming G series

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 17 2012, 04:03 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 08:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(burnfish @ Apr 17 2012, 08:12 PM)
hi all, one question here... y majority of you are suggesting ASUS instead of others for the notebook which around RM2.5k~RM3k?
and there are limited information about "V3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB"
can some1 plz convince me this V3 is much better than the others in the same range?
i'm looking for a laptop that is:
1. Preferred Brand: as long as it is good quality and after sales service

2. Budget: around RM3k

3. Usage: design software, presentation through using this laptop(resolution and speaker must be excellent), nice design(similar as hp envy spectre) ease to carry, seldom gaming but always do photshop and watch movie

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 or 15.6inches
thx
Usually Asus and Acer are suggested because they are more or less the only ones offering better GPUs, especially attractive to those who game but are on a budget nod.gif

For your usage, there's no need for a very good GPU nod.gif So you should focus on, as you've said, speakers and screen instead.
Can consider these:
15.6"
Asus N55Sf-S1515v [black], i5-2450M + Nvidia GT555m (2GB) + 1920x1080@2899[Bang & Olufsen]; 750GB (7200rpm), USB3.0, Sonic Master subwoofer *EOL-ed *if still can find

Dell
XPS 15z, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT525M (1GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3599[2.51kg], backlit keyboard

HP
dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

MSI
GE620DX-675, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT635M + (1920x1080)@RM3599, 8GB, 750GB, 2 years warranty

Photoshop performance is affected more by RAM and CPU. For your budget, unfortunately you can't have the best of everything (apart from the MSI); where you need to either sacrifice CPU power/ screen resolution or speaker quality....

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 08:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(danielSinclair @ Apr 17 2012, 08:41 PM)
hi guys...

im looking for 2 laptops... no matter size, brand, weight, as long as powerful and long lasting, can use more than 5 years (like my old twinhead, still powerful even 5 years already tongue.gif )

1. Budget under RM2100
2. Budget under RM1600

can you please suggest...
thanks smile.gif
Your requirements are too general laugh.gif
I could just give you the entire pricelist and ask you to pick them out yourself haha tongue.gif
At least give the preferred laptop size? tongue.gif

As for whether its long lasting or not, it depends on a little bit of luck, and user care nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 09:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(burnfish @ Apr 17 2012, 09:06 PM)
thx for prompt reply,

regarding this MSI brand, is the customers feedback and after sales service are good? because i didn't hear and see this MSI's laptop before.

for ASUS, i dun like it's keyboard.
Dell, it's over my budget.
hp, i like it but will it be outdated? compare to acer v3 or m3?
MSI seemed pretty okay so far nod.gif
They even have two active representatives here in LYN nod.gif
The HP is considered outdated if you compare to the V3 with Ivy bridge laugh.gif But its still far from weak~

You might want to read some reviews on the V3 (assuming you're referring to the 15" variant) first, seems like the built quality is not that good, and it can get hot..
If you're not buying in a hurry, better wait for upcoming laptops- you'll have more options then~

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 09:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(2girls1peanut @ Apr 17 2012, 09:20 PM)
My requirements:
1. Brand: msi * asus * hp / ivy series smile.gif
2. Budget: 3.5k - 4.3k
3. Usage: after effects/ rendering/ gaming smile.gif
4. 14" / 15 "

if got better new ivy laptop is going to release soon, i can wait smile.gif recommend me.

thanks }smile.gif
Better wait for Ivy Bridge laptops to be officially launched before asking nod.gif
There are not much options now... and most are not in stock tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2012, 09:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 17 2012, 09:34 PM)
helping my friend
asus n55 or msi ge620dx ???
since their price is same (price from pc fair)
but dunno which 1 is better ><
Assuming you're considering in between these two:
Asus N55SF-SX331v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT555M + 1600x900 + Bluray@RM3599[Bang & Olufsen]; USB3.0, Sonic Master subwoofer, 2 years international warranty

MSI GE620DX-675, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT635M + (1920x1080)@RM3599, 8GB, 750GB, 2 years warranty

I'm not sure whether the SX331v really comes with 1600x900 (as stated in the brochure or not), you should check, if it comes with 1920x1080, then both laptops are equally good nod.gif
Otherwise, the MSI is better

32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:21 AM