Supplementation discussion and review thread V2, Give your opinion!

SUSDJJD
post Jun 8 2012, 12:28 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(XlimShady @ Jun 6 2012, 10:37 PM)
That is bad..... i gained 4kg from 1 bag of Serious mass. 55kg - 59, almost 60kg. that was my first bag.

I suggest you continue with your mass gainer ( that's what i did) but make sure you are eating real food also. A lot. As you get heavier you will have to eat more and more in order to keep growing.

When bulking sure to gain some fat, you can minimise that with cardio.
If I'm you, I'd stay FAR FAR FAR away from weight/mass gainer.

Its too expensive and not worth your time in KL. It is "cheaper" than whey but that's because 50% is sugar and dextrose - rubbish carbs to increase cals.

The only way it would be worth is if you have a super-fast metabolism or a pro-athlete training schedule and need huge amounts of calories.

Just buy whey and go eat nasi lemak special later - cheaper and whole food provide a better boost. Or alternatively go buy a huge bag of white sugar and mix few scoops with your whey shake - it comes out the same macro wise plus Govt subsidised your shake too. smile.gif
SUSDJJD
post Jun 10 2012, 12:00 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(XlimShady @ Jun 8 2012, 09:56 PM)
Personal preference I guess. It worked for me and my brother. I know there's a lot of carbs in mass gainers but 50% sugar is a little exaggerated? Sometimes it helps as an instant meal if you really don't have to time to eat / cook to meet the your daily calorie requirement.

Of course we're not talking about taking a mass gainer for long term. Only for bulking and gaining size. After that definitely have to switch to real food. I've personally stopped for about 5 months now. Trying Mucle Juice after this for my next bulk. 

I do know people who die die won't take mass gainer and I respect your opinion.
Ok its true that not ALL mass gainers are 50% sugars. Guilty as charged. tongue.gif

But the ones most common that people use (ie Serious Mass, Super mass gainer from Dymatize, etc) have at least 50% sugar/dextrose.

Take Serious Mass for example. Out of serving size of 330+g, 250g is carbs. Ok, not all of it is sugar, but still - That's a lot of sugar!!
SUSDJJD
post Jun 16 2012, 04:06 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ Jun 16 2012, 02:17 PM)
going to get a tub of dymatize/on whey. dymatize's taste ain't really good right? according to the reviews here.
Dymatize is excellent.

Buy the elite whey not the ordinary one.

Or buy the ordinary one, vanilla flavor, toss in a few tbsp of milk powder + 1 scoop milo and mix. Works for me...........
SUSDJJD
post Jun 16 2012, 04:12 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ Jun 16 2012, 04:09 PM)
yeah, have decided to get dymatize elite whey protein.
what flavor did you try out? normally where you get your stocks from?
Chocolate peanut butter. Yumm yummm and vanilla.

But have since switched to Myo cos I love their CnC as well as Bannana perfection.

Usually, I buy from Eji but since his stock disappearance act I have been buying from MuscleMania Club but only on COD basis.

I did some pre-order from EJI (a big amount, more than RM500) and havent received stock yet so fingers xed he will deliver.
SUSDJJD
post Jun 16 2012, 04:17 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ Jun 16 2012, 04:15 PM)
i see, gonna try it!
oh man, that is bad service. i've already searched through and eji has really bad reputation now compared to last time.
Nah I'm not upset with EJI - at least not yet........
He's promised delivery by June 20th-23rd and I can wait a little cos I still have some Myo left. If he comes thru, kinda worth it for those prices.
SUSDJJD
post Jun 17 2012, 05:11 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 17 2012, 03:55 PM)
Today i just bought ON 100% wheat. The sales girl told me its good for gaining weight. what do u all think?
If you bought from GNC I think u just got suckered. tongue.gif
SUSDJJD
post Jun 17 2012, 08:48 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Jun 17 2012, 08:17 PM)
You can drop the glutamine to save some monies.
Leucine is the important supplement. Probably better than creatine IMO.

All I know is, Animal Nitro was more effective for me personally than creatine.
SUSDJJD
post Jun 18 2012, 12:10 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Jun 17 2012, 09:07 PM)
Don't they work differently?
They do work differently.

But with a lot of bb supps you need to cut through the hype. For me personally, I saw little difference with creatine but leucine really gave me a huge boost in recovery and post workout appetite.

Added on June 18, 2012, 12:13 am
QUOTE(DT1 @ Jun 17 2012, 10:05 PM)
I usually workout in the morning, but I consume a 700 kcal breakfast about 1.5 hours before.
The protein sources during breakfast are 1 cup of milk, 3 eggs, and 14g of protein blend.

Right before the workout, I take half a serving of another 14g protein blend mixed with 1 cup of milk.
The other half is slowly consumed during the workout itself.

(Followed by a solid meal one hour later)

Not sure if the entire combo is enough to stop catabolism.
Should be enough.

Fears of catabolism are overblown. IMHO.

I trained for 3 years first thing in the am. With a breakfast of a PB sandwich and a pwo protein shake + carbs fuelling me until early lunch at 11 and never had issues with catabolism.

This post has been edited by DJJD: Jun 18 2012, 12:13 AM
SUSDJJD
post Jun 18 2012, 09:18 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Jun 18 2012, 02:15 AM)
With creatine I suppose you mean you found little difference in size and strength/intensity?

The effect with leucine in terms of recovery I would understand as it's an amino acid.
Yeah.

With creatine:
Little change in terms of growth rate (eating more or less the same pre/post creatine).
No change in terms of strength (gains still slowed as expected since was nearing a "peak" over the 6-mth period I was taking creatine).

Maybe a little change in recovery? But definitely too little to be directly quantifiable to the creatine. So its hard to say.

Disclaimer: I try to eat plenty of red meat though - Pork (Cheap and good)/ Beef / Lamb whenever avail. so maybe that attributes to the lack of effect on me.

For our muslim forumers, creatine may be more useful especially if surviving on diet of chicken+fish since beef costs a lot. I couldn't say personally.

Also, I took egonutritions creatine - the cheapest brand. Maybe the import brands would be better due to being purer/other ingredients added? Can't say.

As always - with supplements its kind of a mix of arts and science.
SUSDJJD
post Jun 18 2012, 01:23 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Jun 18 2012, 10:47 AM)
Maybe try a different type of creatine?
Like Controlled Labs Green Magnitude, or the new MuscleTech Creacore.
But of course, it's more pricey $$.
I'd have to say I am little sceptical of it working for me after trying so far.

Of course I can afford Green Mag (and yes I've heard good reviews) but I think I don't really need it so far till the gains slow down.

My money better spent on the Animal Line - I like Animal Nitro, Flex and thinking to try UN EAA Nitro as well. smile.gif
SUSDJJD
post Jun 18 2012, 01:42 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 18 2012, 01:28 PM)
What's the different between Animal Nitro and UN EAA? Both of them are Essential Amino Acids right? If you do like Animal products, why don't you tried Animal Creatine? And btw, where do you get your stock?
Same but different. Sceptic in me thinks is part of a marketing ploy to sell one higher end "premium" product and another lower end. Hehe. tongue.gif

Anyways, if you believe the marketing:

Animal Nitro: Crafted pack containing not just EAA but also various other vitamins and minerals (kinda true though) in a perfect ratio to help the body grow. In pill form and no fuss cos you just take 1 packet per day.
UN EAA Stack: Just contains EAA (main ingredient of Nitro) but in budget form for lower cost to put into your shake.

Stock: Ordered 2 tubes of Nitro from EJI last time (give or take RM150 a tube at the time) to last me ard 6-9 mths.

EAA Stack: So far I've seen only sold by EGO but relatively reasonable just around RM110++ a pack.

You seem relatively new though, so I would not advise wasting too much on supplements. Best advice given to me on a workout forum (US-based) when I just started working out is train supp free except whey (and maybe creatine).

Then you would not attribute so much growth to supp and can actually track if you add a supplement (lets say Nitro) in and see if it works for you. If you take Nitro when you just start working out you will see gains that you may wrongly attribute to the supp, thus concluding that you will always need it forever and spend a ton of $$$ unnecessarily.
SUSDJJD
post Jun 19 2012, 11:50 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(mazer6446 @ Jun 19 2012, 11:44 AM)
can u guys suggest me the best whey out there in the market?
i haveused nitro-tech,dymative,scivation, syhta-6 and newest one, myofusion prebiotic...
i have problem with myofusion, my stomach full of gases, fart a lot! daymmm!
Taste wise (my personal pref):

Myo Banana Perfection
Myo Cookies n Creme
Nitro-Core24 (by ON) Vanilla
Dymatize Elite Choc Peanut Butter
Myo Choc Mint
Dymatize Vanilla
Dymatize Elite Strawberry
ON Choc (yuck)
Scivation Choc (Tastes artificial a little bit but for the price, I ain't complainin!)

Btw, Scivation may be cheap but it works. I've gone through at least 30lbs of Scivation haha. smile.gif
SUSDJJD
post Jun 20 2012, 10:58 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jun 20 2012, 08:08 AM)
where is myo milk choc??  laugh.gif
I'm using Myo Milk Choc now.

Taste is meh........OK la. I still prefer my beloved Banana Perfection and Cookies n Creme but better than Mint Choc which for me is not my fave.

2 scoop Myo + 1 scoop full cream/low fat milk powder = amazing. smile.gif

Added on June 20, 2012, 11:00 am
QUOTE(mazer6446 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:57 AM)

Anybody have tried joe weider supplement?? how was the results?
Oh f***, forgot about this.

Pls don't ever buy Weider tongue.gif

My first ever whey supp. RM130 for 2lbs. Yeah I got conned big time.

Taste wise SUCKS. Worse than ON, worse than Scivation.

This post has been edited by DJJD: Jun 20 2012, 11:00 AM
SUSDJJD
post Jun 25 2012, 01:30 PM

302 posts

Ok, been trying out the Dymatize Elite Vanilla and seems the taste been "downgraded" now. LOL.

All I can say is good taste whey aint cheap, and cheap whey aint good tasting. tongue.gif

Ah well, at least I can console myself that I save RM60 if replacing with Myo.
SUSDJJD
post Jul 2 2012, 12:29 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 2 2012, 12:20 AM)
Any seller recommendations?
EJI.
Musclemaniaclub.
Both are reasonable.

Whey taste is quite subjective. I personally prefer Myo above Syntha-6 and havent tried Combat powder (the name sounds damn cheesy tho). ON Nitrocore24 is awesome too.
SUSDJJD
post Jul 4 2012, 12:48 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 3 2012, 09:06 PM)
Had my first Myofusion Probiotic Series
I have no idea why did i choose Cookies & Cream. Lol.
Compared to ON 100% Gold Standard ( two scoops ) Myofusion is pretty thick. Cookies and Cream, bad taste but bearable. Too sweet.
You must not like sweet stuff.

Myo is absolutely amazing for me, and I love banana and cnc! biggrin.gif

Can't get enough of the stuff.

Try adding more water if you find it too sweet.

And why cardio after lifting? If you wanna burn fat, fasted cardio is king! smile.gif
SUSDJJD
post Jul 5 2012, 01:17 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jul 5 2012, 02:58 AM)
1. That's probably the only real issue, unwanted weight gain from excess calories. But then again, everthing else you eat can also cause this, not only protein.

For 20g of excess protein, the weight gain will most likely be very minimal.

In fact, looking at calories is very deceptive. The process for storing 1 cal of protein, fat or carbs as excess body fat are all different, with carbs being the easiest and fat being the hardest (in a very simplified manner).

So long as one does not heavily overeat carbs or go overboard (like >>1000 cals surplus) body composition should not be heavily affected even if you eat slightly more or less.
SUSDJJD
post Jul 13 2012, 12:12 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(lifebites @ Jul 12 2012, 10:37 PM)
i always thought that post workout supp are better than whey. heh. no ?  doh.gif
A lot of it is slick marketing and meaningless.

Think of many of the BBing advertisements and blurbs on the canisters as Apple ads.

They hold just about as much truth. brows.gif

ETA: Let's face it, using BSN True Mass will not make you Ronnie Coleman no matter how many kgs you ingest a day. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by DJJD: Jul 13 2012, 12:14 AM
SUSDJJD
post Jul 16 2012, 12:06 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 15 2012, 09:01 PM)
two scoops after workout smile.gif
one scoop before bed but not all the time. I dont take shake before bed on leg days  icon_idea.gif
Hmmmm leg days of all the days is when I need the extra calories most.

Climbing the stairs in my office the next day feels like climbing Mount Everest. cry.gif

0.0523sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:13 AM