Life Sciences DENTISTRY in mahsa or segi?confusing..., nid help!!!

TShanyin925
post Apr 7 2012, 10:05 PM, updated 14y ago

24 posts

besides mahsa,segi and imu, any other private university in malaysia provide dentistry course?I want study at local....
If only mahsa and segi,which uni should i choose?
hope to get feedback about the lecturer quality,study environment,accomodation and others...
i hope any dentistry senior esp mahsa and segi can give me some opinion~thanks~ smile.gif

Zorz
post Apr 8 2012, 02:49 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(hanyin925 @ Apr 7 2012, 10:05 PM)
besides mahsa,segi and imu, any other private university in malaysia provide dentistry course?I want study at local....
hope to get feedback about the lecturer quality,study environment,accomodation and others...
i hope any dentistry senior esp mahsa and segi can give me some opinion~thanks~ smile.gif
You do know that there are going to be a lot of dentists coming out soon. at the moment the current govt service is barely accomodating the sudden influx of dental officers, with lots of compromise here and there.

if you must insist.
hope you realize there are so many other private unis that offer dentistry like

AIMST
PIDC
IMU
MMMC

and sudden out-of-the-blue universities like QIUP and UCSA have listed dentistry as a future offered course.

why choose only MAHSA or SEGi ? their charges are even higher than that of AIMST, PIDC, MMMC and no one has given any good feedback about MAHSA/SEGi in this forum or anywhere else.

Keep your options open. Unless you insist on staying within the Klang Valley area

chiahau
post Apr 8 2012, 08:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(hanyin925 @ Apr 7 2012, 10:05 PM)
Aimst would be, slightly better. Their dentistry faculty is good.

Mahsa, from my search in LYN and google, shows some not so positive response.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1076103/all
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1541278/all

Segi - I have no idea they were even offering Dentistry.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Apr 8 2012, 08:17 PM
Amir Palermo
post Apr 8 2012, 09:13 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 8 2012, 08:14 PM)

KACHING KACHING. PROFITTTTT.
Education is a business commodity I guess.

Lexx
post Apr 12 2012, 04:07 PM

63 posts

consider AIMST? i heard AIMST have the best facilities for dentistry course
AgnesLyc
post Apr 12 2012, 04:58 PM

44 posts

why dun choose IMU? IMU will be more professional then mahsa and segi. No offence for saying this
Nessa123
post Apr 13 2012, 02:47 PM

25 posts

But IMU you will get bombarded by the fees,right? No doubt in terms of its quality , IMU will definitely be the best~ at least in Msia. But how many of us who aspire to become a dentist can afford that? And I heard Aimst is not so so bad ....
KuzumiTaiga
post Apr 13 2012, 02:52 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

QUOTE(AgnesLyc @ Apr 12 2012, 04:58 PM)
why dun choose IMU? IMU will be more professional then mahsa and segi. No offence for saying this
RM 500k... the only university in Malaysia that has fees for dentistry higher than medicine. whistling.gif When I asked IMU, they said it's because their facilities are very advanced and you don't share equipment.. every student one dental chair laugh.gif
Zorz
post Apr 13 2012, 07:20 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Apr 13 2012, 02:52 PM)
RM 500k... the only university in Malaysia that has fees for dentistry higher than medicine. whistling.gif When I asked IMU, they said it's because their facilities are very advanced and you don't share equipment.. every student one dental chair   laugh.gif
advanced chairs still contain the very basic core function. students won't completely utilize whatever 'advanced' items their chairs can offer.

i believe that every student exclusively allocated an advanced chair is a non-issue here because they would still have set sessions by which they work on patients. it makes no difference if a few students are allocated a chair but having different time slots of usage.

This post has been edited by Zorz: Apr 13 2012, 07:21 PM
TShanyin925
post Apr 16 2012, 12:03 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Zorz @ Apr 8 2012, 02:49 PM)
You do know that there are going to be a lot of dentists coming out soon. at the moment the current govt service is barely accomodating the sudden influx of dental officers, with lots of compromise here and there.

if you must insist.
hope you realize there are so many other private unis that offer dentistry like

AIMST
PIDC
IMU
MMMC

and sudden out-of-the-blue universities like QIUP and UCSA have listed dentistry as a future offered course.

why choose only MAHSA or SEGi ? their charges are even higher than that of AIMST, PIDC, MMMC and no one has given any good feedback about MAHSA/SEGi in this forum or anywhere else.

Keep your options open. Unless you insist on staying within the Klang Valley area
are u dentistry student?
i choose this two college because i dun want study at india,i prefer study at local~
finally i choose mahsa for this sept intake...
who else going to mahsa dentistry this sept? smile.gif

Added on April 16, 2012, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 8 2012, 08:14 PM)
Aimst would be, slightly better. Their dentistry faculty is good.

Mahsa, from my search in LYN and google, shows some not so positive response.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1076103/all
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1541278/all

are u a dentistry student?

This post has been edited by hanyin925: Apr 16 2012, 12:05 PM
iceball
post Apr 30 2012, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(hanyin925 @ Apr 16 2012, 12:03 PM)
are u dentistry student?
i choose this two college because i dun want study at india,i prefer study at local~
finally i choose mahsa for this sept intake...
who else going to mahsa dentistry this sept? smile.gif

Added on April 16, 2012, 12:05 pm
are u a dentistry student?
i thought the seats for mahsa dentistry alr full?

This post has been edited by iceball: Apr 30 2012, 04:55 PM
TShanyin925
post Apr 30 2012, 09:27 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(iceball @ Apr 30 2012, 04:32 PM)
i thought the seats for mahsa dentistry alr full?
it's full ady now~u want study dentistry at mahsa?
iceball
post Apr 30 2012, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(hanyin925 @ Apr 30 2012, 09:27 PM)
it's full ady now~u want study dentistry at mahsa?
so did u apply?i didnt apply.

TShanyin925
post May 10 2012, 11:45 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(iceball @ Apr 30 2012, 10:56 PM)
so did u apply?i didnt apply.
i m going to study dentistry in mahsa for this sept intake~
u want study dentistry also?
michael9007
post Aug 16 2012, 10:48 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Lexx @ Apr 12 2012, 04:07 PM)
consider AIMST? i heard AIMST have the best facilities for dentistry course
Yea, i'm not an aimst dental student but no doubt..aimst has the best dental facilities among private universities...however, their management need to be improved as i heard a lot of scandals about their financial problems that voiced out by the PKR...however, for the quality of pharm n medicine i'm not too sure abt it...
alex890628
post Aug 28 2012, 08:12 PM

739 posts

if u really wanna get a QUALITY Dentistry and if u do have $$, go for IMU or MMMC. in my own opinion, these 2 are the best options.

Then, SeGI is NOT PREFERABLE.

This post has been edited by alex890628: Aug 28 2012, 08:55 PM
Zorz
post Aug 29 2012, 12:14 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Aug 28 2012, 08:12 PM)
if u really wanna get a QUALITY Dentistry and if u do have $$, go for IMU or MMMC. in my own opinion, these 2 are the best options.

please do elaborate on this quality you speak of ?
dentistry1
post Aug 29 2012, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Aug 28 2012, 08:12 PM)

OMG? WHY?
alex890628
post Aug 29 2012, 08:23 PM

739 posts

the professors or the doctors are much more professional and much more experience compare with SeGi. how long does this programme available in SeGi? SeGi cost RM 306k and in local, but MMMC offer students is 2 yrs local 3 yrs oversea (India).

U can compare urself.

Besides, everybody know about Segi passing rate is really really so low. "u can simply pass the subjects without any readings" (exaggerate / overstate way of talking).

This post has been edited by alex890628: Aug 29 2012, 08:27 PM
dentistry1
post Aug 29 2012, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Aug 29 2012, 08:23 PM)
the professors or the doctors are much more professional and much more experience compare with SeGi. how long does this programme available in SeGi? SeGi cost RM 306k and in local, but MMMC offer students is 2 yrs local 3 yrs oversea (India).

U can compare urself.

Besides, everybody know about Segi passing rate is really really so low. "u can simply pass the subjects without any readings" (exaggerate / overstate way of talking).
The passing mark in SEGi is very low?? U mean the dental subjects like the anatomy or the subjects from the other courses?
Zorz
post Aug 30 2012, 12:21 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Aug 29 2012, 08:23 PM)

do you know this for a fact because you study dentistry there?
voiturelumiere
post Sep 8 2012, 09:14 PM

Wowowo... Wait minute, ure saying segi's teacher are not professionals? If ure not a student in segi's dentistry faculty I suggest u come here to experience before u accuse Segi of being lousy. And there is no such thing as low passing rate in exam. We need to study like crazy to pass. Other than that, the lecturers here are helpful and not cocky.

As for the no posts from Segi students, it's because there is no time to search all these forum and comment bout how is the dental course offered, not because it's lousy.

If I would give advice on the first post, u can do research bout all the uni offering the course and I suggest u go to the place before signing up. And DO NOT REGISTER ANY COURSE OFFERED BY MEDIC-ED. They may say the teaching language is in English or the fees are cheap, but u will surely be disappointed by the quality of teaching. DO NOT GO TO COUNTRIES WHICH ARE NOT AS ADVANCE AS MALAYSIA!

I'm a student from Segi, and I would say the faculty of dentistry here is great. The facilities here are new because they just started the course. The lecturers here are helpful, they have an organized program layout for the 5 years of studies. Its located at a good environment with shops around (sunway giza) .And the lecturers are all professionals. MQA has also recognized the dental course in Segi.
Zorz
post Sep 11 2012, 07:30 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(voiturelumiere @ Sep 8 2012, 09:14 PM)
Wowowo... Wait minute, ure saying segi's teacher are not professionals? If ure not a student in segi's dentistry faculty I suggest u come here to experience before u accuse Segi of being lousy. And there is no such thing as low passing rate in exam. We need to study like crazy to pass. Other than that, the lecturers here are helpful and not cocky.

As for the no posts from Segi students, it's because there is no time to search all these forum and comment bout how is the dental course offered, not because it's lousy.

If I would give advice on the first post, u can do research bout all the uni offering the course and I suggest u go to the place before signing up. And DO NOT REGISTER ANY COURSE OFFERED BY MEDIC-ED. They may say the teaching language is in English or the fees are cheap, but u will surely be disappointed by the quality of teaching. DO NOT GO TO COUNTRIES WHICH ARE NOT AS ADVANCE AS MALAYSIA!

I'm a student from Segi, and I would say the faculty of dentistry here is great. The facilities here are new because they just started the course. The lecturers here are helpful, they have an organized program layout for the 5 years of studies. Its located at a good environment with shops around (sunway giza) .And the lecturers are all professionals. MQA has also recognized the dental course in Segi.
well since you are the first ever Segi dental student who has searched the forums to comment, i suggest you start by elaborating on
1) how your program is structured. What organized program layout of 5 years exactly is that.
2) fee$
3) what facilities offered and by what standards did you compare it to, since you mentioned in another post that it is better than other universities.
4) what exactly did you learn in first year dental

btw MQA recognizes everything, and MQA recognition is not a measure of whether that degree will allow you to practice dentistry in this country if you graduate.
bumblebee235
post Apr 18 2013, 07:59 AM

Anyone knoews which private dental schools that are good n recognized?
i'm interested in taking dentistry..
i only know Mahsa and imu..any other colleges?
Zorz
post Apr 19 2013, 12:02 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(bumblebee235 @ Apr 18 2013, 07:59 AM)
Lincoln University College
chiahau
post Apr 19 2013, 04:13 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(bumblebee235 @ Apr 18 2013, 07:59 AM)
Aimst would be good too

Lincoln? Mehhhhhhhh

SUSedge85
post Apr 19 2013, 07:27 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(Zorz @ Apr 19 2013, 12:02 AM)
Lincoln University College
I wouldn't gamble my future with a university with a dodgy website rclxub.gif

the 'online customer service' couldn't even answer my questions, instead he kept repeating about how 'seats are still available'. maybe he's just a bot.

LUC?

0.0255sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:28 AM