International School ?, Anyone studying in International School.

TSforumplayers
post Apr 6 2012, 03:33 PM, updated 14y ago

64 posts

Anyone studying at International School ???

Can you give your experience about it ?? rclxms.gif
xGalGirlx
post Apr 6 2012, 08:28 PM

84 posts

I don't study at international school.
But, I do have friends studying there.
In my opinion, those who study at international school are from a rich family background.
Some are very arrogant cause they think they're so rich.
And, most of the topics that they talk about are always expensive stuffs etc etc. (Pointing to those arrogant ones)
You're not rich, you have nothing to talk with them. doh.gif

Just my opinion from what I see in my friends who study there.
No offence to those who are studying there. notworthy.gif I'm just pointing out some that are arrogant. rclxub.gif
confirm
post Apr 6 2012, 08:55 PM

205 posts

For Malaysians who are in International schools, are their issues arising from becoming members of professional bodies like accounting and medical profession due to SPM BM requirement ?

Is O level BM acceptable as an alternative to SPM BM?
LightningFist
post Apr 7 2012, 07:02 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

One public school can be very different from another. One international school can also be very different from another.

You'll have to name a school.
TSOM
post Apr 7 2012, 07:27 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(xGalGirlx @ Apr 6 2012, 08:28 PM)
In my opinion, those who study at international school are from a rich family background.
And, most of the topics that they talk about are always expensive stuffs etc etc. (Pointing to those arrogant ones)
You're not rich, you have nothing to talk with them.  doh.gif

No offence to those who are studying there.  notworthy.gif  I'm just pointing out some that are arrogant.  rclxub.gif
very true ...

can talk to them, but hard to keep up with them. Go eat, must go expensive place. Do whatever also the same ...
LightningFist
post Apr 7 2012, 11:29 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Not everyone who attends an international school is rich. Some could be from middle income families who choose to spend more on education and less on luxuries and non-necessities. Or they could be attending one of the cheaper international schools.
xGalGirlx
post Apr 7 2012, 02:31 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Apr 7 2012, 07:27 AM)
very true ...

can talk to them, but hard to keep up with them. Go eat, must go expensive place. Do whatever also the same ...
Hahaha! If you go out with them, you will need to bring at least RM100 in case as one lunch might cost that price tongue.gif hahaha

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Apr 7 2012, 11:29 AM)
Not everyone who attends an international school is rich. Some could be from middle income families who choose to spend more on education and less on luxuries and non-necessities. Or they could be attending one of the cheaper international schools.
Agree too. Well, we all have different opinions rclxms.gif
Boy96
post Apr 13 2012, 06:21 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

I am studying at a private school, can call it International school also because got many africans, japanese, indonesians, singaporeans.

Its just that their attitude even for local people in that school, is much better than normal schools, and just because its an Islamic school, I missed the fun I had in normal schools sad.gif Everything's illegal here..
godofwar13
post Apr 14 2012, 03:27 AM

152 posts

Ive been to 3 international schools..And 2 public school overseas. What u wanna know bro?

I disagree with that they are arrogant and only discuss $ and expensive stuff. Honestly, quite a number are very serious in studies. Only the msians like to brag. But yes.,they are all rich..since yearly fees is almost 6 digit.

Added on April 14, 2012, 3:29 amThe big braggarts are normally those with putera/puteri/tunku before their name..but those r rare..I only meet few in my life

This post has been edited by godofwar13: Apr 14 2012, 03:29 AM
LightningFist
post Apr 14 2012, 02:08 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(godofwar13 @ Apr 14 2012, 05:27 AM)
Ive been to 3 international schools..And 2 public school overseas. What u wanna know bro?

I disagree with that they are arrogant and only discuss $ and expensive stuff. Honestly, quite a number are very serious in studies. Only the msians like to brag. But yes.,they are all rich..since yearly fees is almost 6 digit.

Added on April 14, 2012, 3:29 amThe big braggarts are normally those with putera/puteri/tunku before their name..but those r rare..I only meet few in my life
Lucky you?

6 figures is a lot for an international school - if they don't end up going to Oxbridge, Harvard, UPenn, Stanford, MIT... they must have really enjoyed high school. Some of them have fees of MYR 30,000 to 60,000, some like ISKL much more, but there are those with just over 4 figures annual tuition fees.
godofwar13
post Apr 14 2012, 08:00 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Apr 14 2012, 02:08 PM)
Lucky you?

6 figures is a lot for a international school - if they don't end up going to Oxbridge, Harvard, UPenn, Stanford, MIT... they must have really enjoyed high school. Some of them have fees of MYR 30,000 to 60,000, some like ISKL much more, but there are those with just over 4 figures annual tuition fees.
Lucky if ur in the arts stream and u enter in the senior or sophomore year..

Ya. 6 figures is a lot for Msian int,schools..but that's cuz of the first time additional costs. It will drop to about 70k-80k later. As least..for the MKIS. Cheapest one I've been is 55k(British style boarding...and it was crap. As in..ripped out shower doors, etc). U sure got 4 digit per annum?

Actually, almost none went to such reputable unis XD maybe some of the locals..but definitely not the international students. Seriously..before they let malaysians into my class..it was full of foreign idiots who just wanna play.

Added on April 14, 2012, 8:05 pm
QUOTE(confirm @ Apr 6 2012, 08:55 PM)
For Malaysians who are in International schools, are their issues arising from becoming members of professional bodies like accounting and medical  profession due to SPM BM requirement ?

Is O level BM acceptable as an alternative to SPM BM?
Olevels and igcse (assuming ur in a British international school) is considered equivalent. And it's easy..cause I dun even have UPSR but I still got a B=)

However, it means that u can't apply for certain scholarships/loans cuz no SPM credit.

This post has been edited by godofwar13: Apr 14 2012, 08:05 PM
acgerlok7
post Apr 14 2012, 09:15 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(forumplayers @ Apr 6 2012, 03:33 PM)
Anyone studying at International School ???

Can you give your experience about it ??  rclxms.gif
I have friends in international skol and i can tell you some of them are just pure genius..one of my friend 16 years old, taking further maths in cambridge a lvl and score str8 A* for all his subjects, another singaporean girl i've known score 4a* oso and she score all 100th percentile in all subjects! just pure brilliant! lol... apaprt from that, the down side is th some of them is as some of the LYN-ners mentioned, bragging bragging bragging, expected of them since some of them have Tan Sri datuk parents...some royal backgrounds...bear in mind, some of them have chaffeurs to fetch them to school and altho at a young age lyk only 7-10 yrs old, some of them already have the privilege to sit BMW 7-series to skol lol...bag oso use LV, Gucci, Prada shocking.gif
TSforumplayers
post Apr 15 2012, 12:21 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Apr 7 2012, 11:29 AM)
I agree with u .... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

Added on April 15, 2012, 12:21 am
QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Apr 14 2012, 09:15 PM)
I have friends in international skol and i can tell you some of them are just pure genius..one of my friend 16 years old, taking further maths in cambridge a lvl and score str8 A* for all his subjects, another singaporean girl i've known score 4a* oso and she score all 100th percentile in all subjects! just pure brilliant! lol... apaprt from that, the down side is th some of them is as some of the LYN-ners mentioned, bragging bragging bragging, expected of them since some of them have Tan Sri datuk parents...some royal backgrounds...bear in mind, some of them have chaffeurs to fetch them to school and altho at a young age lyk only 7-10 yrs old, some of them already have the privilege to sit BMW 7-series to skol lol...bag oso use LV, Gucci, Prada  shocking.gif
Wow cool ! brows.gif

This post has been edited by forumplayers: Apr 15 2012, 12:21 AM
Abut
post Apr 15 2012, 02:57 AM

51 posts

which 1 is better private school or normal school??
godofwar13
post Apr 15 2012, 05:50 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(Abut @ Apr 15 2012, 02:57 AM)
Depends. What schools? What grade/level? And if private, local or international stream?
LightningFist
post Apr 15 2012, 10:05 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Abut @ Apr 15 2012, 04:57 AM)
Normal?

Private schools cost. But that doesn't make them better than all public schools. To be better than a public school it will cost more than the cheapest private school.
Blofeld
post Apr 15 2012, 12:09 PM

4,703 posts

No offence to those who are studying there.  notworthy.gif  I'm just pointing out some that are arrogant.  rclxub.gif
Yes, true.

I have a friend who used to teach at an International School. Mind you she is a good lecturer.

She told me that most of the students there are quite arrogant and demanding. Talking about being independent in school, they are far from being independent as they always expect to be spoonfed. They are no diffferent from those students studying in the national schools.
green_algae
post Apr 15 2012, 12:33 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Abut @ Apr 15 2012, 02:57 AM)
I prefer normal schools because of the cost factor.private or normal,it all depends on the hardwork of the student itself.
Blofeld
post Apr 15 2012, 01:21 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(green_algae @ Apr 15 2012, 12:33 PM)
I prefer normal schools because of the cost factor.private or normal,it all depends on the hardwork of the student itself.
Yes, it all depends on the hardwork of the student. It doesn't make a difference whether one study in the normal school or international school.

The same goes with some students ending up going to tuition centres. I remember back in my school days that usually those who didn't attend tuition centres score better compared to those who went to tuition centres.

It all depends on our own initiative to do our own studies rather than relying on more teachers to help us to score.
fruzy
post Apr 22 2012, 10:47 AM

15 posts

Im malaysian and been to international school all my life... bcos we travel alot! and currently in limkokwing... GO INTERNATIONAL u get more experience smile.gif
Abut
post Apr 22 2012, 06:36 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Apr 15 2012, 10:05 AM)
Normal?

Private schools cost. But that doesn't make them better than all public schools. To be better than a public school it will cost more than the cheapest private school.
so what is the best about private school?
LightningFist
post Apr 22 2012, 06:52 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Abut @ Apr 22 2012, 08:36 PM)
so what is the best about private school?
Nothing.

What is better about some private schools? If you can afford the price - maybe, better teachers, better facilities, wealthier students (who may be from better homes), diversity, fewer silly rules (replacing public holidays with school?!), English and everything about it, international curriculum...
johnathan1607
post Oct 14 2012, 01:53 AM

International schools are getting more affordable these days. You may want to check out Sri Emas International School: http://www.sriemas.edu.my/. I do have friends studying there and they are from average families.
syazmin973
post May 23 2014, 03:44 PM

it's been very quiet in here. just trying my luck here hopefully i can get a reply sweat.gif
I'm researching Sri KDU, APIS, REAL Schools & HELP International school due to its location (nearby house).
Anyone has experience or good advice to share?

Thank you thumbup.gif
spunkberry
post May 24 2014, 05:50 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ May 23 2014, 03:44 PM)
it's been very quiet in here. just trying my luck here hopefully i can get a reply  sweat.gif
I'm researching Sri KDU, APIS, REAL Schools & HELP International school due to its location (nearby house).

Thank you  thumbup.gif
Have you tried visiting the schools?
leah235
post May 24 2014, 11:14 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

it's been very quiet in here. just trying my luck here hopefully i can get a reply  sweat.gif

Thank you  thumbup.gif
My cousins are in REAL school, but since they are boys.... Stuff that they normally discuss with friends are latest gadget and games (PS4,etc). They don't really do sports, hm.

btw, what do you really wanted to know? Culture? Education outcome? I can't answer that because it's too general.

This post has been edited by leah235: May 24 2014, 11:14 AM
syazmin973
post May 30 2014, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(spunkberry @ May 24 2014, 05:50 AM)
Have you tried visiting the schools?
have I visited the schools? good question. Not all 4 but 2 of them. But sometimes open days can be a little bit too staged and too good to be true, i think blink.gif

syazmin973
post May 30 2014, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(leah235 @ May 24 2014, 11:14 AM)
My cousins are in REAL school, but since they are boys.... Stuff that they normally discuss with friends are latest gadget and games (PS4,etc). They don't really do sports, hm.

btw, what do you really wanted to know? Culture? Education outcome? I can't answer that because it's too general.
rclxms.gif a reply!
well boys will forever be boys, thats what they say.
Actually what Im looking for is the general stuff. Environment, relationship with teachers, how happy is the students there, etc. I've visited schools with flashy buildings but not too sure about the teachers tho.

anyway, ur cousins in REAL school eh? whats it like there?
novel_tieng
post May 30 2014, 09:36 AM

13 posts

I was in private school and my younger bro is in international school now. ELC cyberjaya campus. Students there are fine. The teachers are really friendly.
sochaikeong
post May 30 2014, 09:42 AM

270 posts

Thank you  thumbup.gif
Is cempaka international school on your list too?
syazmin973
post May 30 2014, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(novel_tieng @ May 30 2014, 09:36 AM)
I was in private school and my younger bro is in international school now. ELC cyberjaya campus. Students there are fine. The teachers are really friendly.
rclxms.gif another reply yay!
im sure elc is doing a great job but cyberjaya is wee bit too far for me. where are you studying currently?
novel_tieng
post May 30 2014, 09:57 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ May 30 2014, 09:42 AM)
rclxms.gif  another reply yay!
im sure elc is doing a great job but cyberjaya is wee bit too far for me. where are you studying currently?
i'm pretty much jobless now. haha. waiting for my final semester result for degree in england. gonna go for master after this.
syazmin973
post May 30 2014, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(sochaikeong @ May 30 2014, 09:42 AM)
Is cempaka international school on your list too?
Hi sochaikeong.
Cempaka is in cheras, right? abit too far for me nod.gif
im staying in bukit jelutong.
sochaikeong
post May 30 2014, 10:42 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ May 30 2014, 10:33 AM)
Hi sochaikeong.
Cempaka is in cheras, right? abit too far for me  nod.gif
im staying in bukit jelutong.
Bukit Jelutong in Shah Alam? I dont really know how long does it take actually.. but nope not in cheras but damansara height biggrin.gif
syazmin973
post May 30 2014, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(sochaikeong @ May 30 2014, 10:42 AM)
Bukit Jelutong in Shah Alam? I dont really know how long does it take actually.. but nope not in cheras but damansara height biggrin.gif
uiks? theres one in damansara heights? do you go there? whats it like?
leah235
post May 30 2014, 11:47 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ May 30 2014, 09:23 AM)
rclxms.gif  a reply!
well boys will forever be boys, thats what they say.
Actually what Im looking for is the general stuff. Environment, relationship with teachers, how happy is the students there, etc. I've visited schools with flashy buildings but not too sure about the teachers tho.

anyway, ur cousins in REAL school eh? whats it like there?
I heard Tenby International School's not bad too.

Well, according to my observation, as long as the kids can adapt with their surroundings, then you have no worries. (of course you have to keep watching over them)

My cousins transferred from Perth, they said some kids can be really Ah Beng, like,"what you do ah?" lol. Normally they have events, and do a lot of visits to interesting places. More like learning is fun style, more exposure. It's a good thing.

Teachers normally are friendly and helpful. nod.gif
spunkberry
post May 31 2014, 02:17 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ May 30 2014, 09:10 AM)
have I visited the schools? good question. Not all 4 but 2 of them. But sometimes open days can be a little bit too staged and too good to be true, i think  blink.gif
I think you're being too cynical and suspicious there. It's not like the school can really hide their infrastructure from you for one to two days.
sochaikeong
post May 31 2014, 08:44 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ May 30 2014, 10:51 AM)
uiks? theres one in damansara heights? do you go there? whats it like?
Oups sorry. I ve asked my friend. It isnt an international school. The one in Damansara Heights is private school.

syazmin973
post Jun 2 2014, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(novel_tieng @ May 30 2014, 09:57 AM)
i'm pretty much jobless now. haha. waiting for my final semester result for degree in england. gonna go for master after this.
oh wow good on you! enjoy ur break while you can.
syazmin973
post Jun 2 2014, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(spunkberry @ May 31 2014, 02:17 AM)
I think you're being too cynical and suspicious there. It's not like the school can really hide their infrastructure from you for one to two days.
oh i meant the environment: how friendly and close the teachers are with students, how involved were the teachers with the students progress, things like that.
infra-wise, ive got no problem with.
syazmin973
post Jun 2 2014, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(sochaikeong @ May 31 2014, 08:44 AM)
Oups sorry. I ve asked my friend. It isnt an international school. The one in Damansara Heights is private school.
noted. thanks for your help friend!
syazmin973
post Jun 2 2014, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(leah235 @ May 30 2014, 11:47 AM)
I heard Tenby International School's not bad too.

Well, according to my observation, as long as the kids can adapt with their surroundings, then you have no worries. (of course you have to keep watching over them)

My cousins transferred from Perth, they said some kids can be really Ah Beng, like,"what you do ah?" lol. Normally they have events, and do a lot of visits to interesting places. More like learning is fun style, more exposure. It's a good thing.

Teachers normally are friendly and helpful.  nod.gif
oh yea there's Tenby too. Thanks for mentioning.
i particularly liked the "what you do ah" bit hehe. seems like that is how people speak around here. jokes aside, im actually very particular about how my kids speak. Thanks for your insights, Agent Leah235 nod.gif
novel_tieng
post Jun 2 2014, 09:38 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ Jun 2 2014, 04:15 PM)
oh wow good on you! enjoy ur break while you can.
there is another elc in sungai buloh. cyberjaya campus is new.
itisludwig
post Jun 2 2014, 10:07 PM

71 posts

I moved to Singapore at a very young age and lived there for 8 years. Overall, going to the international school was lifechanging. Not to sugarcoat this or exaggerate in any way, but it really was the best thing that has happened to me so far.

You meet so many people from all across the world and you get to appreciate their culture and learn so many things. You find yourself developing an 'open' mentality which is good when meeting new people and trying out new things. Not to mention being able to know a little bit about every culture makes smalltalk enjoyable.

Based on my experience, i didn't face anyone who was high on their ego-horse and bragged about his/her family's wealth to the point where they wouldn't interact with the other students. Soo perhaps thats more common elsewhere?

This post has been edited by itisludwig: Jun 2 2014, 10:08 PM
spunkberry
post Jun 2 2014, 11:08 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(syazmin973 @ Jun 2 2014, 04:19 PM)
oh i meant the environment: how friendly and close the teachers are with students, how involved were the teachers with the students progress, things like that.
infra-wise, ive got no problem with.
That's difficult to keep up too. body language and student behavior would be red flags if the teachers suddenly changed tact for a day smile.gif
gurdave_19
post Aug 1 2014, 07:34 PM

18 posts

Hi there everyone,

I am Dr. KD. I am providing one to one tuition to those who have difficulties in the following subjects:

1. Biology(IGCSE/o-level/ a level/ IB/ Stpm
2. Chemistry( SPM/ igcse/ o level )
3. Preclinical years(for medicine)
*online tutoring available via skype
if you need any guidance on these two subjects or if you are doing last minute revision and need assistance with the past year papers, kindly drop me an email at gurdave_19@yahoo.com.

Regards
KD
pink pillow
post Dec 2 2014, 05:16 PM

Any review on Maz international school shah alam? Thanks

0.0291sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:50 PM