Anyone reno recently without approval?, MPSJ

TSchong82
post Apr 4 2012, 05:05 PM, updated 14y ago

246 posts

Anyone did reno recently without the approval from MPSJ and visited by the MPSJ ppl?
What is the conclusion? Just compound or demolish?
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 4 2012, 05:06 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Just Kopi O will do
weikee
post Apr 4 2012, 06:35 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 4 2012, 05:05 PM)

Anyone did reno recently without the approval from MPSJ and visited by the MPSJ ppl?
Depend how big is the reno, the bigger it is, the more coffee power you need to pay, and is not only one time. Can come 3x a week.

If your neighbor complain, you need to pay coffee power, and also demolish. Worse, your house will get stop order, and rebuild back to the original state.

Added on April 4, 2012, 6:38 pm
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 4 2012, 05:06 PM)
Just Kopi O will do
Sometime coffee powder won't solve, depend how major the reno, and got any complain surrounding.

This post has been edited by weikee: Apr 4 2012, 06:38 PM
TSchong82
post Apr 5 2012, 04:24 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 4 2012, 06:35 PM)
Depend how big is the reno, the bigger it is, the more coffee power you need to pay, and is not only one time. Can come 3x a week.

If your neighbor complain, you need to pay coffee power, and also demolish. Worse, your house will get stop order, and rebuild back to the original state.

Added on April 4, 2012, 6:38 pm

Sometime coffee powder won't solve, depend how major the reno, and got any complain surrounding.
You encounter before?
weikee
post Apr 5 2012, 04:36 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 5 2012, 04:24 PM)
You encounter before?
Nope, i do the right way. My contractor encounter before.

Even my friend brother stay in USJ 5, semi-D do a bit out of original submit drawing. Back neighbor complain and got to demolish one section and redo. That one cost him some money.

They don't come one time. They come many times per weeks. For people without permit want to do major reno, be prepare to pay lots of coffee, and may risk of getting demolish too.

kelvyn
post Apr 5 2012, 09:08 PM

3,173 posts

It depends on what are the renovation that you intend to carry out.
For replacement of finishes and those works inside the house without any change to the front, back or side (if applicable) then no need to get MPSJ's approval.
If the work involves the extension of either the front or back, then will have to get approval.
It is much cheaper to get the approval than taking the risk with all the kopi money. Not worth the hassle and risk. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Apr 5 2012, 09:09 PM
adrianjc
post Apr 5 2012, 09:51 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 4 2012, 05:05 PM)

No permit dude for a major reno is just asking for major headache. Seriously not worth the headache and pocket pain you will feel.
Not all bandaraya fellas accept Kopi 'O' anymore and in the worst case scenario, besides a stop work order, the council can also get issued a case against you if the renovation is extensive.

Lets put it this way... If you're willing to fork out 5 figures in the event that you're caught, the go ahead.
The amount to spend is for submission of plans, architect fees and of course a nice hefty compound summons. My friend had the unfortunate experience where he had to fork out almost RM20k to get all necessary approvals and to settle a reno that was never approved.

weikee
post Apr 5 2012, 10:34 PM

12,019 posts

If renovation all inside, home owner will have good chance to do without permit. Outside, is just asking for trouble. Unless is done in very very remote area.
nitromx
post Apr 5 2012, 10:51 PM

532 posts

how much to apply permit? say extend kitchen 5'x22' ?
kelvyn
post Apr 6 2012, 10:08 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(nitromx @ Apr 5 2012, 11:51 PM)
how much to apply permit? say extend kitchen 5'x22' ?
If my memory serves me right, it should cost you less than 2k, including all the MPSJ & Alam Flora fees

Added on April 6, 2012, 10:10 am
QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 5 2012, 11:34 PM)
If renovation all inside, home owner will have good chance to do without permit. Outside, is just asking for trouble. Unless is done in very very remote area.
From what I was informed by MPSJ guys, if only the inside of the property, no need for renovation permit. May have to apply for the tong for your rubbish.

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Apr 6 2012, 10:10 AM
TSchong82
post Apr 6 2012, 03:24 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Apr 5 2012, 09:51 PM)
No permit dude for a major reno is just asking for major headache. Seriously not worth the headache and pocket pain you will feel.
Not all bandaraya fellas accept Kopi 'O' anymore and in the worst case scenario, besides a stop work order, the council can also get issued a case against you if the renovation is extensive.

Lets put it this way... If you're willing to fork out 5 figures in the event that you're caught, the go ahead.
The amount to spend is for submission of plans, architect fees and of course a nice hefty compound summons. My friend had the unfortunate experience where he had to fork out almost RM20k to get all necessary approvals and to settle a reno that was never approved.
How he settle the reno that was never approved after paying 20k?
Can you elaborate in details?
weikee
post Apr 6 2012, 03:29 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 6 2012, 03:24 PM)
How he settle the reno that was never approved after paying 20k?
Can you elaborate in details?
I think it will be coffee powder, fine, than apply permit.

Depend on timing too, if close to Raya time, they may need more coffee powder. My runner told me if apply permit near festival time, they need more "fees".

Added on April 6, 2012, 3:43 pmActually, what is the purpose of you posting the earlier question? Did you faced any issue?

This post has been edited by weikee: Apr 6 2012, 03:43 PM
TSchong82
post Apr 6 2012, 03:49 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 6 2012, 03:29 PM)
I think it will be coffee powder, fine, than apply permit.

Depend on timing too, if close to Raya time, they may need more coffee powder. My runner told me if apply permit near festival time, they need more "fees".

Added on April 6, 2012, 3:43 pmActually, what is the purpose of you posting the earlier question? Did you faced any issue?
ok, basically what i plan to do with the reno is definitely not approved by the local council.
like for example, 1st floor rear end have to have at least 5feet, cannot extend till the end.
Mine is consider major reno and the contractor i engaged did quite a number of reno in USJ but didnt encounter any MPSJ guys.

This post has been edited by chong82: Apr 6 2012, 03:49 PM
weikee
post Apr 6 2012, 03:54 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 6 2012, 03:49 PM)
ok, basically what i plan to do with the reno is definitely not approved by the local council.
like for example, 1st floor rear end have to have at least 5feet, cannot extend till the end.
Mine is consider major reno and the contractor i engaged did quite a number of reno in USJ but didnt encounter any MPSJ guys.
I extend my house rear ground and first floor. Ground floor all the way to the end, and first floor with 5ft space. This all approved.

What i know, most people will apply for what can get approve by MPSJ, then proceed with the original plan. But this you have to ensure you did not damage or cause your neighbors problem (like leak, crack on their wall..etc). If they complain, you will have endless issue even get sue.

If your contractor so confident, can you ask him to give written contract if any issue with MPSJ, he bare all the cost? Bet he won't do that.
TSchong82
post Apr 6 2012, 04:01 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 6 2012, 03:54 PM)
I extend my house rear ground and first floor. Ground floor all the way to the end, and first floor with 5ft space. This all approved.

What i know, most people will apply for what can get approve by MPSJ, then proceed with the original plan. But this you have to ensure you did not damage or cause your neighbors problem (like leak, crack on their wall..etc). If they complain, you will have endless issue even get sue.

If your contractor so confident, can you ask him to give written contract if any issue with MPSJ, he bare all the cost? Bet he won't do that.
Yes, you're right, he wont do it.
The same row of houses, alot of them extend the 1st floor till the end.
But anyway, the construction already started, going to bring down 60% of the walls, all the tiles, piping and etc and rebuild.

So only the rear does not comply with MPSJ regulations.
Front of the house brick fence and etc all still comply.

This post has been edited by chong82: Apr 6 2012, 04:02 PM
weikee
post Apr 6 2012, 04:20 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 6 2012, 04:01 PM)
Yes, you're right, he wont do it.
The same row of houses, alot of them extend the 1st floor till the end.
But anyway, the construction already started, going to bring down 60% of the walls, all the tiles, piping and etc and rebuild.

So only the rear does not comply with MPSJ regulations.
Front of the house brick fence and etc all still comply.
You already have permit, than not much an issue. Only if you get neighbor complain.
TSchong82
post Apr 6 2012, 04:30 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 6 2012, 04:20 PM)
You already have permit, than not much an issue. Only if you get neighbor complain.
Ok, great! *Finger crossed*
stevie8
post Apr 7 2012, 12:34 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Apr 6 2012, 04:30 PM)
Ok, great! *Finger crossed*
No need to finger crossed. They dont come to inspect one la. They even told me the things I want to do cannot pass and advise me to change the drawing and he said after it is approved go ahead and do what you wish. And best of all he dont even want to accept gift. Itu rumah you, you suka la tapi saya kena ikut peraturan yang boleh diluluskan. What he was saying is no harm done to anybody and no danger
rubrubrub
post Apr 7 2012, 12:40 AM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Apr 5 2012, 09:08 PM)
It depends on what are the renovation that you intend to carry out.
For replacement of finishes and those works inside the house without any change to the front, back or side (if applicable) then no need to get MPSJ's approval.
If the work involves the extension of either the front or back, then will have to get approval.
It is much cheaper to get the approval than taking the risk with all the kopi money. Not worth the hassle and risk.  smile.gif
what about building another story that doesn't extend beyond the house line. do i need permit for that?
stevie8
post Apr 7 2012, 01:05 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Apr 7 2012, 12:40 AM)
what about building another story that doesn't extend beyond the house line. do i need permit for that?
You need. And you need to demolished the ground floor as well if not the whole house. The house foundation is meant for one storey or double storey. adding another storey the original foundation and footing cannot take the added weight. One day when you think it is an earthquake it is your house foundation sinking!!! be very careful. No developer/contractor will build more than what is required by a lot more but 20% more only for safety reason.

0.0216sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:05 AM