[WTA] passive underseat subwoofer
TSmeow1803
Apr 1 2012, 02:18 AM, updated 14y ago

hi guys, just asking... any recommendations for a passive underseat subwoofer ? reason is i already have amp and was thinking to put one to save space for my boot. im currently on 5chn amp with front+rear component spkrs.
zennn
Apr 2 2012, 01:27 PM
u need one custom made, provided there's space under your seat to make sure enough volume for the sub enclosure.
ahnien
Apr 2 2012, 09:10 PM
wanted to ask the bquestion bout these underseat subwoofers.
the accessories shop sifus recommended this since i said that i dont wan a box in the boot.
zennn
Apr 4 2012, 12:12 PM
its for convenience at the expense of sound, underseat subs dont really play good sub bass, just reasonable midbass due to limitations.
TSmeow1803
Apr 4 2012, 09:30 PM

ya ya true.. that's indeed the trade off btw space and nice low bass *sigh*
few days ago tested the underseat ones after gotten used to my peerless xls 12" -> cannot match my amp, some more the funny bass went "everywhere".
well im gonna try find one of those kicker tube woofers and test it out see how.....
zennn
Apr 4 2012, 10:33 PM
try a 8 or 9 inch sub in a small 0.5-0.6 cu in box, wont take much space, not so heavy and sub bass is respectable lah
This post has been edited by zennn: Apr 4 2012, 10:35 PM
ahnien
Apr 4 2012, 11:30 PM
No other option other than underseat??
As I really travel a lOt. So my boot space does play a big part. Summore I driving small vios 2010. So the car jack is actually installed under the front passenger seat. Even if you remove the jack, thers still a metal part frm the chassis which limits the space for underseat.
Driver seat put underseat woofer. Amp need install elsewhere dy.
TSmeow1803
Apr 4 2012, 11:50 PM

i also hear from some frens in thailand (even hatyai) they do customize box where they "mould" it into the boot with the woofer, and looks very professional and not very expensive. i think can see some example pix in google...
dunno here got or not ?
@zennn i might just do that... wow i saw your wts thread, you sell lotsa nice stuff. im having a peerless 12 xls from years ago, the price was abt the same as yours when i got it.
This post has been edited by meow1803: Apr 5 2012, 12:03 AM
zennn
Apr 5 2012, 12:40 PM
yes quite a lot of shops can do fibreglass sub enclosures for the boot nowadays, no need to go thailand one, hehehe.....
ahnien as i suggested, small sub in small box also can, will sound better than underseat active sub.
btw meow vios boot not that small lah, small sub box doesnt take up much space lah
TSmeow1803
Apr 5 2012, 03:53 PM

haha vios is ah nien's one, im setting up for a alza.
TSmeow1803
Apr 5 2012, 10:19 PM

i wonder if a kicker ks80 (if can still find) is a viable option to replace the big box...
howiechoo
Apr 5 2012, 10:41 PM
the best 8" sub now is jl W7 8" ....very small box but with very good sound...it sound like a 12" w3
TSmeow1803
Apr 6 2012, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 5 2012, 09:15 PM) for alza 
bro if rain got risk of getting wet when open the boot lei... and if cover wont it be a bit hot w/o ventilation ? i just put it at underseat area Added on April 6, 2012, 12:33 amQUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 5 2012, 10:41 PM) the best 8" sub now is jl W7 8" ....very small box but with very good sound...it sound like a 12" w3  how will the box setup look like ? got any pix ? This post has been edited by meow1803: Apr 6 2012, 12:33 AM
TSmeow1803
Apr 6 2012, 10:44 AM

if its in KL, a bit inconvenient for me as im in penang.
howiechoo
Apr 7 2012, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(meow1803 @ Apr 6 2012, 12:31 AM) bro if rain got risk of getting wet when open the boot lei... and if cover wont it be a bit hot w/o ventilation ? i just put it at underseat area Added on April 6, 2012, 12:33 amhow will the box setup look like ? got any pix ?  car speaker are built to water resistant on the surface....why worry on water? you are not pouring a litre on it... sub are not amp, it wont get very hot until it spoil in normal operating condition..unless u spl lor
TSmeow1803
Apr 7 2012, 05:34 PM