post Apr 18 2012, 02:12 PM

586 posts

How is this elantra vs forte? Im deciding Forte 1.6SX vs Elantra MD 1.6Manual
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 02:18 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:14 PM)
in this case better get 1.6SX
why so? the auto doesnt have much difference too.
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 02:28 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:24 PM)
huh manual and auto no difference?? canot brain  rclxub.gif
Read - not much difference, i didnt say there're no difference. Elantra group of ppl kinda rclxub.gif

sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 02:37 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Apr 18 2012, 02:31 PM)
I'd say if you're comparing the elantra 1.6 manual and the forte 1.6 sx... go for the 1.6 sx.
You'd be getting a lot more for your money, some examples being the climate control, paddle shifts, electrochromatic rear view mirror, reverse camera (off the top of my head), and you don't even get the supervision cluster meters for the 1.6 manual elantra.
And also, the forte 1.6 sx is auto, which, depending on your usual routes of travel (traffic jams?) will give your left leg a huge sigh of relief.

Thanks for the info. My main concern when buying a car is : good design(obviously Elantra MD wins), good FC and maintenance cost. So those u mentioned are just added features which is a bonus.

And one more thing, I prefer manual over auto, i dont have sissy legs so thats ok to jam 2hours in manual transmission. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by sparrowed: Apr 18 2012, 02:38 PM
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 04:03 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 18 2012, 03:22 PM)
for performance sake, as mentioned many times in here is very subjective.
it's best to test drive it yourself. some ppl like it some don't. u decide.
FC on paper sure nice. but no one got their keys yet.
don't think anyone can answer u on the FC but should be better than Forte since it's running on D-CVVT.
hey hi steven, u in Elantra thread too just like me. cant decide between forte n elantra yet? me too now = ="

i really interested to know real world FC, if it is anywhere 10-30% better than forte ...... high chances that im getting elantra drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 04:19 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Apr 18 2012, 04:04 PM)
he has already booked, waiting for car now laugh.gif
WTF, 2-5 zai. saying forte so good and elantra just nice design but inside empty ... LOL
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 04:34 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 18 2012, 04:20 PM)
haha, from Pg, but tender for KL plate. cuz i love KL!!! Hope is WWS

Added on April 18, 2012, 4:22 pm
more than 2500 posts oni qualify for new thread rite?

So we have to gossip more

Added on April 18, 2012, 4:23 pm
Tony bro, i think hav to ask those hyundai accessories shop to order for us.

Would be cheaper!

Added on April 18, 2012, 4:24 pm
Mind to tell me apa empty inside???
Elantra is not as well-equipped as Forte.
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 05:17 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Apr 18 2012, 05:13 PM)
They said they already got internal memo for the price increase.
why increase? so gov can take more $$$ to subsidize proton's loss?
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 05:45 PM

586 posts

Whats the FC for Elantra MD?
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 07:04 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 18 2012, 06:59 PM)
Sei lo ... dun call me 2-5 zai la .. haha~ my heart always with Elantra just that after the first try it seemed like under power.  cry.gif

so i ma consider Forte lo. then i test balik Elantra (numerous times trust me), I found out it's more than enuff and better than the first test i had. still confuse till now.  rclxub.gif

now already decide lo bro  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
mind to tell why u go for Elantra? bcoz of the dual injection engine and leather seat?
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 07:25 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 18 2012, 07:12 PM)
Design foremost then higher power/torque which comes with D-CVVT so FC would be much better.
Leather seat is a must. If you follow me in Forte u know I would change nappa even if i took it.
Reverse camera, paddle shifter and that electro-chromatic thingy all I can live without.
Elantra is a new car and new engine (over here) for sure I will take it if power is not an issue anymore  thumbup.gif

Added on April 18, 2012, 7:13 pm

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
U and me have the same priority; design, better engine, FC and leather seat. Thought of getting a Forte as early as this month, now have to hold off first and waiting for paultan review + test drive this elantra biggrin.gif

By the way, you getting the 1.6High spec? And how long we need to wait to get the car?
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 07:47 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 18 2012, 07:43 PM)
Bro, if u ask me, dun need to wait for Paul or Edmund or anyone review (no offense)  whistling.gif
Just go and feel it yourself. Those people has their preferences towards a certain brand.  sweat.gif
So will u still go ahead if your test drive as what u expected and they said otherwise?  shakehead.gif
Just test drive the car (several times) as I test drove it more  than 6 times at different places for slope test, highway test, rough terrain and jam situation.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I come back satisfy and never look back bro  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
wow, how u able to test drive like that? SA beside me dont let me to even go far and talked alot - -". if i wanna test drive, i wish to test drive sitting the car alone. - -"

ya i agree of the reviews too. Design wise, i like both Elantra and Forte, but Elantra took sometime for me to get like it. And now i prefer Elantra design over Forte.
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 07:59 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 18 2012, 07:52 PM)
Don't take me the wrong way bro, Forte has a nice design hence I will consider it too.  smile.gif
But if u compare with Elantra  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  no need to even think for a sec which one i will choose.

For HQ, I was managed to persuade the SA to let me drive all the way to Terminal 1 then make a u-turn at the round about back to Subang SS15 round about then LDP to Glenmarie. Even managed to test drove this route during a heavy down pour (since no one wanna test). So I can at least test the handling or ESC/VSM.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

For Puchong, I managed to try LDP to KESAS (highway n up hill) back to Kinrara (slope test) then back to LDP (jam test).  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Don't have to listen to the SA much after the 1st test. Just step on the paddle and go bro  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
The thing that entice me most is the most important part - dual cvvt engine and leather seat. The rest are just bonus for me though it will be nice to have..... and now still thinking which suits me more; Forte or Elantra.

Will go and test drive tmrw biggrin.gif
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 09:34 PM

586 posts

Just went to showroom,WOW.......Elantra leave me speechless...........
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 10:48 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 18 2012, 09:55 PM)
Excuse me bro, that is forte tagline.. haha Leave you Speechless.....

Say hello to Impossible!!

eh, how come every1 saw the cars queue up ready for deliver, but until now no1 receive this Impossible yet?

Added on April 18, 2012, 9:57 pm
bro, pm the price ok?!! Hehe, why dun u wait for group buy, might get discount!
speechless because :
1st the interior feels slightly bigger than Forte, the car that i am considering right now.

2nd, once inside, it gives me THE luxury feeling, which i didnt quite feel from Forte. Well maybe because im seeing the high spec Elantra, which is why?

3rd It looks way much modern, Forte is dated. It gives me a feeling that this new design concept is THE future of cars design. Forte design is so late 2000s-ish, while Elantra is very 201xish.

In summary, the look and feel pretty much gives me that SPEECHLESS feel. ya i know, it was a stolen tagline from Kia Forte, but Forte is dated, it is speechless no more.

In spite of that .....

There are no local reviews, and feedbacks and owner experience about this car yet. And this is important for my final decision between Forte and Elantra. And .... i havent test drive an Elantra yet, i heard it got a triple layer of something... which muffles the engine even more? sry not very technical incline with cars yet. Will do a test drive this weekend.
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 11:01 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Apr 18 2012, 10:56 PM)
I think we can welcome sparrowed to the club, very soon. laugh.gif
not yet sleep.gif lol....im a soon-to-be Fortezen too biggrin.gif

1 more thing, it looks kinda like Altis which is my fav car; it is wide and sexy.

Next week the first batch of Elantra MD will reached to customers, will wait and see hows the car really like cool2.gif
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 11:15 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 18 2012, 11:10 PM)
me also ..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
What offer and freebies u got when u book this sweet elantra MD?
sparrowed
post Apr 18 2012, 11:22 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 18 2012, 11:17 PM)
good tinting smile.gif
thats it? -- _ --"
sparrowed
post Apr 19 2012, 12:07 AM

586 posts

- _ -, eh dont talk overtalk about other stuff, tinting guys you all can start a new thread to talk about tintings.

Anyway, i saw the specs saying Semi auto available for 1.6Auto to premium version, what does it mean?
sparrowed
post Apr 19 2012, 12:41 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 19 2012, 12:21 AM)
Shiftronic?
So 1.6Auto has Shiftronic? If yes, then +1 for Elantra.

0.0412sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:19 AM