is this a good deal?
http://shashinki.com/shop/nikon-d5100-digi....html#!tab3
or d7000 with kit lens?
Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !
May 24 2012, 06:01 PM
Validating
695 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
May 24 2012, 09:14 PM
Validating
which portrait lens is the best for d5100?
http://thenewcamera.com/?p=4587 http://lenshero.com/lenses/nikon-d5100-portrait-lens |
May 28 2012, 03:54 PM
Validating
what is a perfect lens for travel/ portraits (birthday celebrations, graduation, etc)
May 28 2012, 04:02 PM
Validating
May 28 2012, 04:22 PM
Validating
50mm f/1.8G
this is applicable for d5100 rite? and will it be ok for group photos + travel + portraits (solo) ? |
May 28 2012, 04:42 PM
Validating
May 28 2012, 07:09 PM
Validating
May 29 2012, 02:34 PM
Validating
Nikon D5100kit (18-55) rm2300 free 8gb and bag and 1 extra battery (free batt up to 31st may only
D5100 body rm 1900 free 8gb and bag and 1 extra(up to 31st may for the free batt) D7000 body rm3400 free 8gb and bag free 1 more 50mm lens f1.8d worth rm400 D7000 kit(18-105) rm4250 free 8gb bag and 1 more 50mm lens f1.8d worth rm400 Guys I need recommendation which to take |
May 29 2012, 02:47 PM
Validating
QUOTE(amduser @ May 29 2012, 02:44 PM) what's your budget? both camera is in different price range not sure about the budget will have to ask my parents first XD. im currently using canon s95 and would deep further into photography. Do the AF points matter much? And what's weather seal function?D7000 is probably one of the best crop body you can get for nikon while D5100 use the same sensor as D7000 but with less AF points and no dual memory card slot i would recommend you to get the D5100 is you are tight on budget and wish to get a mid range dslr the price for both D5100 you stated there is quite okay, recommend you to get the D5100 18-55mm if you are new to photography and wish to learn, kit lens is a very good all rounder lens |
May 29 2012, 03:10 PM
Validating
so which would u recommend? besides 35mm or 50mm is btr?
and does the D version differ much from the G version? |
May 29 2012, 03:18 PM
Validating
May 29 2012, 03:32 PM
Validating
QUOTE(seather @ May 29 2012, 03:29 PM) if u got budget then go for G lens because it is newer generation~ it is at least equal but usually better than its predecessor which will be btr combination?but if u r new and unsure, then get the 50mm 1.8D is nv a wrong choice for ur D7000 because it is so cheap (relatively) D7000 + 18-105mm + 1.8D D7000 + 18-105mm + 1.8G D5100 + 18-55mm + 1.8G very very very very confused haiz |
May 29 2012, 03:43 PM
Validating
May 29 2012, 03:48 PM
Validating
QUOTE(seather @ May 29 2012, 03:45 PM) for me, i will get the D5100 + 18-55mm only at the beginning n budget is tight... so i guess i'll take d7000 then to lower the budget (kelian my parents) haha. XD. besides i dont get the bold part. mind explaining?the 50mm 1.8g is a 75mm lens in a crop sensor DX body... good for low light n bokeh~ n a popular portrait lens for DX body... if u feel the 18-55mm cannot give u enough reach, then u can opt for the D5100 + 18-105 or 18-200... shops usually don mind "upgrading" ur kit lens for a fee but if u got the moolah, of coz it is D7000 + 18-105 + 50mm 1.8g..... u oledi can spend 4.2k on the D7000 kit.. round it up to 5k by getting the 50mm 1.8g juz start wif a kit lens 1st... and buy more lens as u learn.... i have frens who conquer the world wif nothing but their nifty fifty lens |
May 29 2012, 03:55 PM
Validating
QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 29 2012, 03:52 PM) read your statement i rather suggest you get the lowest budget D5100+ 50mm f/1.8G XD ive seen quite a number but gained nothing, or maybe the review is see is pure useless? XDso in future you can upgrade body and keep the lens. and D5100 is light enough for travel of course. see the review video about D5100 and D7000 u mean no need the kit lens? O.O |
May 29 2012, 04:02 PM
Validating
QUOTE(seather @ May 29 2012, 03:59 PM) the 50mm 1.8g will only have a 50mm Field of View (FOV) in a full frame body... the D7000/D5100 has a crop sensor which is 50% smaller than a Full Frame (FX) sensor.. EHH! rilek boss, typo. I mean d5100 haha.u can read more here: http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/tutor...and_lenses.html in summary, for Nikon, if u buy a FX lens... u need to multiple by 1.5 to get the correct FOV/focal length... example: in ur D7000, u will see the same picture through the 50mm 1.8g, and ur 18-105 when u zoom to 75mm f1.8 means it can have a wide aperture... meaning good for low light... plus wide aperture = thin DOF = nice bokeh... btw... u take the D7000 to lower budget, not D5100 meh?? 5100 is dx while 7000 is fx? |
May 29 2012, 04:07 PM
Validating
QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 29 2012, 04:02 PM) suggest kit lens, scare you say the lens aperture is not big enough so the 18-55mm kit lens + 50mm 1.8G will be perfect for d5100 starter? XDsuggest prime lens like 50mm f/1.8, scare you say the lens dun have zoom and had to run closer / further to shoot subject in frame nicely basically kit lens + 50mm combo is good starter kit because i duno what lens you prefer...and what is bad side you use s95 and what function/improvement/ things that s95 dont have you hope for your DSLR? both D5100 + D7000 is DX body, FX body is D700, D800, D3s, D4 basically i will be using the dslr for travel pics, graduation pics (which is very soon- expecting lots of portraits, i mean, 2-3 people shots), besides will the 50mm 1.8g applicable for group pics? around 10 people. (wow, great knowledge u have there, looks like ive to cling to this thread more often) |
May 29 2012, 04:34 PM
Validating
QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 29 2012, 04:27 PM) Doesn't matter you get FX or DX lens, still need to multiply crop factor. what knowledge u mean? O.O.DX lens means is meant to use on DX sensor, if you use on FX sensor body, it will not be able to utilize the full sensor area, hence vignette. Even if you buy a compact camera, you still need to multiply crop factor. You buy mirrorless like GF3, also need to multiply crop factor (e.g. 14-42mm kit lens, becomes 28mm-84mm which is the standard zoom). Even handphone, you need to multiply crop factor to get the focal length in 35mm Format. In short, to make it simple doesn't matter whether it's FX, DX, CX, etc. When you mount a lens on crop body, you need to multiply by the crop factor to get the focal length in 35mm format. Since you have knowledge already and you mention you want to venture into this, I'd suggest you to get D7000 straight. D3100 & D5100 is more for people who want simple and easy to use. If you want to get more serious you'll find the hassle and troublesome to adjust settings as these 2 models caters more for casual users. Besides, if you get D5100, later you learn more and want to have more control and have better handling, you'll regret and it'll be a waste of money when you cannot stand and want to change. But if you just want for casual use and can live with the limitations, then you can go for D5100. Personally, my advice is if you want to venture into this field, you will want at least a D7000 or a proper body which gives more control and handling. Just try them both together and you can tell the difference immediately. >< confusionnnnnnn |
May 29 2012, 04:47 PM
Validating
QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 29 2012, 04:46 PM) but he is using parent's money wor heeee form 5 this year XDD5100 or D7k? by the way Acquainted how long you gonna graduate from colleague? and you believe your DSLR will serve/ lasts how long? if you believe for 2 years...better get D5100 *confuse more* |
May 29 2012, 04:56 PM
Validating
QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 29 2012, 04:53 PM) So firstly, how much budget? i did consider a point that will it be too dangerous for me to carry a luxurious d7000 with me? haha XDIf got budget, and he is serious and knows what he wants, and will be continue learning, AND the parent is understanding, they would also prefer to get him D7000 instead of later he need to upgrade. Normally, people get lower end cause they're unsure and later will give up, but sometimes along the way, it's a waste (value drop) and then not worth to upgrade, end up no upgrade. I believe some people experience this before, and also got people experience getting the lower end then end up sold off and upgrade. Of course, there's also those that given up or hardly use and a low end body is enough for them as what they want is just a DSLR. So, in the end, still depends on budget; Since he did mention D7000 as option just now; I would assume there is budget for it? |
| Change to: | 0.0723sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:55 PM |