7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !

Calvin Seak
post May 21 2012, 04:42 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 20 2012, 07:45 AM)
f22 look soft? everything should be sharp at f22 right? hmm.gif

i also shot a lot during GRA, around 500 pics, i filter on spot with this in mind

divider/cone covered body - delete on spot

out of focus - delete on spot

less panning effect - delete on spot

not dramatic - delete on spot

part of the car cropped/out of frame - delete on spot

that left me few hundreds pictures to choose the best one when i get back to my pc, that's what i do la for this kind of event
I think you mistaken DOF and sharpness >.<

Can show some pics hehe! Would love to see them!
Calvin Seak
post May 22 2012, 12:56 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 21 2012, 11:35 PM)
Err, you didn't noticed Canon Msia sponsors more events than Nikon Msia? DCIM for example... last year Super GT too, Canon had a workshop for shooting panning and also be in the track etc... Nikon? None...

But in Singapore for SIN, Nikon users have special privileges...

Once you go for Bangkok Motor Show... all the other shows in Malaysia seems dull... KLIAF... Auto Saloon..

So sad you went the other side.. Do post here often and share your knowledge biggrin.gif

I was wondering how do you get models to make a few poses for you? Do you talk to them 1st before you take the pictures or after taking 1 exposure u show some actions and hint them to make other poses? Haha Thanks!

On 2nd note, picture taken on TimetoAttack!

D7K_6146.jpg by Calvin Seak, on Flickr

Audi R8, A car I wish to own so badly T_T

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: May 22 2012, 02:28 AM
Calvin Seak
post May 22 2012, 12:28 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 22 2012, 08:25 AM)
laugh.gif , like I said earlier... I only jumped for Shin Chan xD  brows.gif

This weekend going Singapore to shoot SIN... >D hopefully it will be comparable to BIMS2012.
What's happening in Singapore this weekend?? So happened I'll be in Singapore too!
Calvin Seak
post May 23 2012, 03:03 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ May 23 2012, 11:50 AM)
My friend use D70s converted to IR biggrin.gif

another one
Woah I like this photo alot! Everything is exposed nicely!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: May 23 2012, 03:04 PM
Calvin Seak
post May 23 2012, 07:06 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ May 23 2012, 06:18 PM)
Anyone know this guy in real life ?
Literally saw him holding D800E walking around during an event in Tropicana City Mall last weekend.
But I didn't go up and talk with him about the camera.

http://www.facebook.com/hibiki.pro

anyone friend with him to tell us more about D800 ? biggrin.gif
His pictures are nice too! You should have introduced yourself and make friends with him haha!

My new glass! Still not used to the manual focusing of carl zeiss mechanics! Jchue was spot on =p

D7K_6286.jpg by Calvin Seak, on Flickr

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: May 23 2012, 07:07 PM
Calvin Seak
post May 23 2012, 11:34 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ May 23 2012, 07:16 PM)
i agree. but i shall stick with what i have for now lah. gear improve but diri sendiri still newbie no point also biggrin.gif
[/spoiler]

isnt this more expensive then nikon 35 1.4? hahahah nice lens btw. zeiss's are epic
his pics quite nice true. no one else went to take the cosplay pics at tropicana?
eh if im not mistaken, my friend works for that HT production company... they do gravure shots in malaysia..
Yea! Its a lil more expensive wanted to try how the manual focus feels like!
Zeiss manual focusing and nikon's are two totally different thing!
Very nice and smooth but still not used to it!

Added on May 23, 2012, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 23 2012, 08:34 PM)

Oh my....  notworthy.gif How much did it set you back?

What are you going to use it on?  biggrin.gif
Currently street, got poisoned by a friend and the way how street photographers used ranger finders and manually focus on their subject! Just wanted to try something different.
But this lens would be mainly for portrait, but still learning how to make stunning photos from others! Just wanted to try how zeiss feels and the Bokeh is much pleasing although this could be personal!
On 2nd thought. Im next in line for the d800! No3 currently... Nikon delivers to my shop every two weeks.. Hopefully can get by tomorrow if they do deliver! Haha

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: May 23 2012, 11:38 PM
Calvin Seak
post May 24 2012, 12:36 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ May 23 2012, 11:43 PM)
someday if we meet up, can let you try my samyang 85mm.. also nice lens to manual focus since it has such a long throw.. smile.gif if you like it then you can consider adding that 85mm into your arsenal of manual focus lens smile.gif
Hahah I Would love to try! Im living around Petaling Jaya! Don't think I'll ever get the 85mm primes because i have it in range with the 70-200! Maybe i spoke to soon! Haha

Added on May 24, 2012, 12:39 am
QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 23 2012, 11:46 PM)
I believe image quality and colour saturation reproduction, the Zeiss has a slight edge. Was actually tempted to take the Zeiss. But then manual focus at very thin DoF is very difficult to do. Can't imagine doing street photography with manual focus. You need smaller aperture with a lot of light for hyperfocal focus technique. That and also the Zeiss being more expensive swung me to get the Nikon instead.
A match made in photography heaven I think. Hope to hear the good news.  biggrin.gif
Hmm What I noticed was really bad color fringing! icon_question.gif
Maybe all fast lens has this characteristics? Does the Nikon 35mm 1.4G Has the same issue wide open?
Yea smaller apertures for street haha not to worry about nikons low light sensors capability! Still trying to get used to the manual focus ring!

A school of thought that I've read from some website..

"You need to make decisions about depth-of-field. A common technique for the street photographer is relying on hyper-focal distance. I don’t think this is as necessary with modern auto-focus cameras, but the idea is that with a wide lens, in the 30 – 35mm range, you can set the lens to f8, if you have enough light, and set the focus at ten feet, and know that everything from approximately 6 feet to 15 feet will be in hyperfocal distance."

Added on May 24, 2012, 12:40 am
QUOTE(celciuz @ May 24 2012, 12:36 AM)
He will be there... haha 2010, 2011 and now 2012. Except this time I'll be inside track too xD
I will xD... try the video feature too LOL. Let's see how it goes.
Were you at supergt 2011??

I maybe able to make it to the track too! rclxms.gif We can all enjoy shooting!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: May 24 2012, 12:40 AM
Calvin Seak
post May 24 2012, 01:25 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 24 2012, 01:06 AM)
i always mistaken calvin seak and celciuz, i thought calvin seak = CY pixel sweat.gif
Hahaha CY is sifu, Im just a hobbyist, hopefully in the future things will change ! biggrin.gif
Calvin Seak
post May 24 2012, 04:57 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 24 2012, 03:51 PM)
what if D600 come out with 24mp and better(maybe almost same) iso performance?
and slightly better video option? brows.gif

It means Nikon is listening to us! Kudos to them keke
Calvin Seak
post May 25 2012, 12:49 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 24 2012, 05:16 PM)
one of the contestants
120520-SCV-010 by Cybreed, on Flickr
Looks very dreamy! Makes me smile!
Calvin Seak
post May 25 2012, 10:36 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 25 2012, 07:14 AM)
Both are different lens wor o_O

35mm tongue.gif
The 33rd Bangkok International Motor Show 2012 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
Nice picture! Have a great time in Singapore!

Added on May 25, 2012, 10:47 am
QUOTE(amduser @ May 25 2012, 10:31 AM)
that one clash with another event that i am going sad.gif
What event are you going bro?

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: May 25 2012, 10:47 AM
Calvin Seak
post May 27 2012, 12:54 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 26 2012, 12:00 AM)
Only thing I dislike about 70-200, the weight... haha! Oh well, I decided on 16-35, 35 and 70-200.

I'll be on my belt system... don't wanna carry that much burden LOL. Light is best tongue.gif

Learnt my lesson during BIMS... its troublesome to change lens on my FS400AW.
How's super import nights?? I just realize our lens combo around the same lol!

No Internet here in Singapore -.- now only typing in MBS

Just got a call from my usual shop'! The d800 just arrived, too bad I'm in Singapore Can't collect!
Calvin Seak
post May 28 2012, 11:27 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(iloveOov @ May 27 2012, 11:46 PM)
midnite spam >.< taken with 14-24

Very nice exposure of the skies! I love the locations where you have your shoots!
Calvin Seak
post May 28 2012, 05:16 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

In USS maybe 20% of the people there carries a DSLR on their neck still biggrin.gif
Calvin Seak
post May 28 2012, 06:54 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Anyone going for WPPM gathering tonight? wink.gif
Calvin Seak
post May 28 2012, 07:13 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ May 28 2012, 07:02 PM)
its tonight? ohh nooo. i wanted to go but got other stuff pulak tonight.
damn
Haha yea at 730pm.. Unfortunately i cannot make it too :/

Are you a member?
Calvin Seak
post May 29 2012, 03:36 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Second option is a better choice wink.gif
Calvin Seak
post May 29 2012, 07:04 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Why don't you get the camera with the kit lens 1st.

I have used both 5100 and 7000 before... Main difference is

d7000 has two dials instead of one.(front for aperture and behind for shutter speed, but can be used to change many things as well such as img quality,size,changing around AFA,AFS,AFC, from 1point auto focus to 39 points auto focus etcetc.) This feature itself alone already would make me choose the d7000 over d5100

d7000 Heavier and bigger which feels much more solid in the hands. d7000 is also Weather sealed. d7000 has 6FPS compared to d5100 4FPS

Another huge feature about d7000 is that it can trigger off camera flashes and the d5100 can't(unless you buy radio triggers which adds to cost as well)

At the end of the day it all comes down to budget if you can fork out that extra moolah for the d7000 definitely worth it! Go to shops and try out both cameras and see how it feels in hand. wink.gif

all the best in your photography journey!

Calvin Seak
post May 29 2012, 09:41 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 29 2012, 07:51 PM)
another random question here

if someone use the picture i taken without me and my model's consent, what can i do? hmm.gif

2nd question, if someone printed out my picture with my permission however without the model's permission, what's the consequence? hmm.gif
Your questions you better consult a lawyer if you want a solid answer

For the 2nd question did the model sign any release form?
Calvin Seak
post May 29 2012, 10:02 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ May 29 2012, 09:43 PM)
35mm and 50mm any sample shots? sad.gif
stuck btw this two.

erm, besides, which one is equivalent to human eye?
35mm would be equivalent on the camera body that you are using;)

Added on May 29, 2012, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(amduser @ May 29 2012, 09:53 PM)
let's say no form, everything is done online? hmm.gif

no need consult lawyer but will definitely ask a lawyer if i get a chance to meet one tongue.gif
i only got 35mm and dont have 50mm so i cant really show you the sample pic
The form is to protect us as photographers wink.gif
Form can be downloaded online.. there are chinese and english versions of it, the model need to sign the form physically.. so in the future if you manage to sell the photos he/she can't sue you to get some moolah from you wink.gif

Added on May 29, 2012, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(amduser @ May 29 2012, 09:53 PM)
let's say no form, everything is done online? hmm.gif

no need consult lawyer but will definitely ask a lawyer if i get a chance to meet one tongue.gif
i only got 35mm and dont have 50mm so i cant really show you the sample pic
The form is to protect us as photographers wink.gif
Form can be downloaded online.. there are chinese and english versions of it, the model need to sign the form physically.. so in the future if you manage to sell the photos he/she can't sue you to get some moolah from you wink.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: May 29 2012, 10:04 PM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:38 PM