MBBS in SEGI or UCSI or UTAR?, which 1 is better?

TSFisH123
post Mar 26 2012, 04:47 AM, updated 14y ago

i have no idea which to choose between Segi and Ucsi while Utar while be my last choice..
i went to the edu fair yesterday.. I spoke to the dean for medicine.. He was saying about how he controls the quality of the students bla bla bla.. I'm considering Segi because its closer to my house..
While for Ucsi, when i spoke to the lecturers.. I could hardly understand them, i think most of the lecturers there are not from malaysia.. Is it hard for the students to communicate with the lecturers?
But Ucsi have the MMC accreditation already while Segi have to wait until the 1st batch grads..
Is it too risky for me to enroll into Segi now?
If im wrong with the lecturer thingy in Ucsi, pls correct me biggrin.gif
So which one u guys prefer?? state ur reasons as well thx thumbup.gif

P/S: IMU and Monash are too expensive..
chiahau
post Mar 26 2012, 04:53 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(FisH123 @ Mar 26 2012, 04:47 AM)
i have no idea which to choose between Segi and Ucsi while Utar while be my last choice..
i went to the edu fair yesterday.. I spoke to the dean for medicine.. He was saying about how he controls the quality of the students bla bla bla.. I'm considering Segi because its closer to my house..
While for Ucsi, when i spoke to the lecturers.. I could hardly understand them, i think most of the lecturers there are not from malaysia.. Is it hard for the students to communicate with the lecturers?
But Ucsi have the MMC accreditation already while Segi have to wait until the 1st batch grads..
So which one u guys prefer?? state ur reasons as well thx  thumbup.gif
Since UCSI has recognition from MMC, pretty simple choice, eh?

I can assure you, the Dean of Segi is a good talker. Listened 2 him once b4.. Not buying 100% of his words, however.

UTAR, 1st batch just started, which is year 2011. Are you ready to be their guinea pig in testing their system?
TSFisH123
post Mar 26 2012, 05:01 AM

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 26 2012, 04:53 AM)
Since UCSI has recognition from MMC, pretty simple choice, eh?

I can assure you, the Dean of Segi is a good talker. Listened 2 him once b4.. Not buying 100% of his words, however.

UTAR, 1st batch just started, which is year 2011. Are you ready to be their guinea pig in testing their system?
Thats what i thought haha.. but im worried about the lecturers,takes time to understand...
Any of the student there having the same problem?
cckkpr
post Mar 26 2012, 06:40 AM

4,516 posts

UCSI should be your first choice, followed by Utar and Segi. UCSI has quite a no of batches alredi n currently has a lot of JPA scholars. Not easy to get in due to limited seats. Utar standard is based on its tradition of high standards n it's need to fulfill the needs of the Chinese community. Has its own foundation program n also limited seats. Segi? You can get the feedback from available threads here easily!
limeuu
post Mar 26 2012, 08:46 AM

12,291 posts

there is little to choose between most of the ipts med schools in msia...decide based on non-academic factors, eg, friends, close to home etc......all will end up the same whe you graduate....

and don't worry...ALL new ipts med schools WILL get accredited, no matter what.....this is a political decision, not an academic or professional decision....
onelove89
post Mar 26 2012, 08:50 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

I'm still marvelled by the fact that Segi and UTAR can start their own med course... It's all downhill from here onwards isnt it? sad.gif

UCSI > Segi/UTAR. that's my view. Are you financially competent? if so, go for monash and IMU.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Mar 26 2012, 08:51 AM
limeuu
post Mar 26 2012, 09:04 AM

12,291 posts

utar receives part financing from the gov (ie taxpayers).....which is why their fees are one of the cheapest....

there has been some bad publicity with segi....but they are actually in education for quite a while (compared to the likes of say perdana, or lincoln), and well connected politically.....

don't get confused.....their (with the exception of utar which is not for profit) primary purpose is to make money....NOT provide quality education.....
cckkpr
post Mar 26 2012, 09:12 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 26 2012, 09:04 AM)
utar receives part financing from the gov (ie taxpayers).....which is why their fees are one of the cheapest....

there has been some bad publicity with segi....but they are actually in education for quite a while (compared to the likes of say perdana, or lincoln), and well connected politically.....

don't get confused.....their (with the exception of utar which is not for profit) primary purpose is to make money....NOT provide quality education.....
As far as I understand, only KTAR gets 1:1 financing from the gomen, UTAR doesn't come into that arrangement.

They have some very experienced med lecturers; some who would like to do some 'service' to the community.
limeuu
post Mar 26 2012, 09:14 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 26 2012, 09:12 AM)
As far as I understand, only KTAR gets 1:1 financing from the gomen, UTAR doesn't come into that arrangement.

They have some very experienced med lecturers; some who would like to do some 'service' to the community.
i thought the same arrangement for part funding exist for utar as well......but if that is true, i stand corrected.....

it being a not for profit uni remains valid.....
chiahau
post Mar 26 2012, 10:47 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 26 2012, 09:14 AM)
i thought the same arrangement for part funding exist for utar as well......but if that is true, i stand corrected.....

it being a not for profit uni remains valid.....
Nah, UTAR is not funded that much. TARC however, is. That's why TARC course's are cheaper in direct comparison to their counterpart at UTAR.

At least UTAR is not like CUCMS =,=
hitsugaya2010
post Mar 26 2012, 01:33 PM

946 posts

My friend always recommend me to see a doctor from IMU or Monash if i am sick.. haha.. its not the school's problem actually, more to the quality of the student itself. =) To me all the school's are standardized by the ministry on this. So, it doesn't matter as long as you will work hard after becoming a doctor..
cckkpr
post Mar 26 2012, 02:26 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Mar 26 2012, 01:33 PM)
My friend always recommend me to see a doctor from IMU or Monash if i am sick.. haha.. its not the school's problem actually, more to the quality of the student itself. =) To me all the school's are standardized by the ministry on this. So, it doesn't matter as long as you will work hard after becoming a doctor..
Not true. I think at this moment of time, majority of those from UM, UKM or USM would be a better bet.

Working hard is one thing, getting adequately and properly trained is another.
hitsugaya2010
post Mar 26 2012, 02:58 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 26 2012, 02:26 PM)
Not true. I think at this moment of time, majority of those from UM, UKM or USM would be a better bet.

According to them.. yea public unis are the best bet. Sorry i only cover the private only.. haha.. =)
chiahau
post Mar 26 2012, 03:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Honestly, I beg to differ.

The standards in public university has dipped alot from those glory days. UM/UKM/USM are not as good as they used to be.

I have seen UM grads and IMU grads and I can honestly say, both are nearly similar in terms of knowledge.

Skills wise, that's something I have yet to experience. Don't judge a doctor by his/her degree. but how he/she performs.

cckkpr
post Mar 26 2012, 03:53 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 26 2012, 03:09 PM)
Honestly, I beg to differ.

The standards in public university has dipped alot from those glory days. UM/UKM/USM are not as good as they used to be.

I have seen UM grads and IMU grads and I can honestly say, both are nearly similar in terms of knowledge.

Skills wise, that's something I have yet to experience. Don't judge a doctor by his/her degree. but how he/she performs.
IMU standards has also drop quite a lot compared with the earlier days.

With the ever increasing number of medical colleges, one can expect the quality to drop due to the lower quality of students.

Whether you like it or not, the first impression of where you graduate from will give the perception of what to expect. That is one of the reason why ppl spent big bucks to get a qualification from a reputable university. Of course, there are exceptions but these are not the norm.
zstan
post Mar 26 2012, 04:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 26 2012, 03:53 PM)
IMU standards has also drop quite a lot compared with the earlier days.

With the ever increasing number of medical colleges, one can expect the quality to drop due to the lower quality of students.

Whether you like it or not, the first impression of where you graduate from will give the perception of what to expect. That is one of the reason why ppl spent big bucks to get a qualification from a reputable university. Of course, there are exceptions but these are not the norm.
Unfortunately in the public health system nobody knows or bothers where you come from....
cckkpr
post Mar 26 2012, 05:39 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 26 2012, 04:23 PM)
Unfortunately in the public health system nobody knows or  bothers where you come from....
They do bother whether you can help them or make it worse BUT they may not have the choice. Pray for a lucky number!
podrunner
post Mar 26 2012, 05:52 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 26 2012, 04:23 PM)
Unfortunately in the public health system nobody knows or  bothers where you come from....
hmm...I think I shall make it a point to visit the hospital and spend some time at reception going through the names of the doctors/consultants and those letters after their names. brows.gif
Jess-UEA KL
post Mar 27 2012, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(FisH123 @ Mar 26 2012, 04:47 AM)
hi, I'm education consultant from an education placement center. I provide free counseling and objective advise to student. If you need more info about study medicine, please email me your result to kl@Uea.my
I will send you more info, scholarship, and comparison for most medicine school in Malaysia base on your result.

cckkpr
post Mar 27 2012, 05:32 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(Jess-UEA KL @ Mar 27 2012, 05:17 PM)
hi, I'm education consultant from an education placement center. I provide free counseling and objective advise to student. If you need more info about study medicine, please email me your result to kl@Uea.my
I will send you more info, scholarship, and comparison for most medicine school in Malaysia base on your result.
Your publicity will be greater if you post what services you offer to potential medic students in this forum.
onelove89
post Mar 27 2012, 05:37 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Mar 26 2012, 05:52 PM)
hmm...I think I shall make it a point to visit the hospital and spend some time at reception going through the names of the doctors/consultants and those letters after their names.  brows.gif
I think majority of the doctors will only put "XXX, MD/MBBS, Msia", and not really the uni they graduated in. So I normally scout around the room when I'm in a consult tongue.gif
podrunner
post Mar 27 2012, 05:45 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 27 2012, 05:37 PM)
I think majority of the doctors will only put "XXX, MD/MBBS, Msia", and not really the uni they graduated in. So I normally scout around the room when I'm in a consult tongue.gif
That's potentially more damaging for local grads, as there's no differentiation! Oh dear, will there come a time when we shop for consultants, and those with "Msia" does not make the shopping basket?
limeuu
post Mar 27 2012, 05:56 PM

12,291 posts

there is a convention on how a qualification is stated, and it varies from country to country...

in most developed countries, the qualification is stated, but not the awarding uni....the implicit convention being that it matters not which uni you come from....

in the commonwealth, the post graduate degree however will often state the college of award.....so you will see mb chb, frcs(eng), frcsed etc......because there are usually several colleges that award the same post graduate....

americans just use md, and board certification, there aren't different bodies awarding the same qualification....

qualifications are all omitted in scientific journals.....

in the 3rd world, many will proudly state the origin of the degree, if it is from a famous/respected med school....but just as many will quietly omit the med school if it's not....

this is the case with msia, and many will just put mbbs....or just add (india) or (russia) at the end.....but others will proudly proclaim mbbs(ucl/lon), mbbs(monash), or even mbbs(mal)......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 27 2012, 05:58 PM
WQ02
post Apr 27 2012, 12:29 AM

Why utar is your last option?
annabelyan
post Apr 27 2012, 03:36 PM

13 posts

how about taylor's? ( i consider about taylor's because it is near from my house)
* while monash and IMU are expansive for me
how to apply ptptn?
usually student study in Monash and IMU wont get full loan from ptptn right.
i am blur about that , that is what i heard from my friends tongue.gif
and i read from others forum, they say the max loan for medic student is 150k.
what is that mean? 150 k for the entire course or per year?
sorry for asking so many question tongue.gif
thanks smile.gif

cckkpr
post Apr 27 2012, 04:19 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(annabelyan @ Apr 27 2012, 03:36 PM)
how about taylor's? ( i consider about taylor's because it is near from my house)
how to apply ptptn?
i am blur about that , that is what  i heard from my friends tongue.gif
thanks smile.gif
Monash student qualify for PTPTN loan while IMU local stream also qualify.

The max is RM150k and you get 30k per year.
annabelyan
post Apr 28 2012, 01:24 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Apr 27 2012, 04:19 PM)
Monash student qualify for PTPTN loan while IMU local stream also qualify.

The max is RM150k and you get 30k per year.
o~ i see, thanks smile.gif
why there is 3 column in ptptn's website about the loan , and in every column they state the max is 30k
what is it stand for?

is it hard to get full loan?
i am from single parent family but my mom didnt divorce with my dad.
he is just gone when i was form 3, (not dead)
so it is no prove for me that i am from that kind of family.
do they loan for living expense as well?
rclxub.gif

wangpatan
post Apr 28 2012, 08:17 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(annabelyan @ Apr 28 2012, 01:24 AM)
o~ i see, thanks smile.gif
why there is 3 column in ptptn's website about the loan , and in every column they state the max is 30k
what is it stand for?

is it hard to get full loan?
i am from single parent family but my mom didnt divorce with my dad.
he is just gone when i was form 3, (not dead)
so it is no prove for me that i am from that kind of family.
do they loan for living expense as well?
rclxub.gif
no PTPTN dont loan for living, just loan for tution fees.

Added on April 28, 2012, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(annabelyan @ Apr 27 2012, 03:36 PM)
how to apply ptptn?
i am blur about that , that is what  i heard from my friends tongue.gif
thanks smile.gif
In my opinion, if u are financially constrain, choose the cheapest one. This is because no matter how much u spend(spending 1 million in perdana vs spending 255k in utar) u will end up working in malaysia. what is the point spending so much end up working in malaysia. No need to go for reputation in medicine, u graduated from cambridge uni or graduated from an unknown uni in indonesia, u still have to work form the most bottom.
Now saying in terms of training, all IPTS in malaysia will give the same amount of training to their students, because all ipts dont have their own teaching hospitals. Unlike IPTA, where a big teaching hospital will be beside their medical faculty, the doctors in the hospitals are doctors working in the hospital and is also your lecturer, they play 2 roles in 1 time. IPTS all do their teaching in MOH hospitals where doctors in the hospital are just doctors in the hospital. They will not teach u. If u meet a kind doctor, he/she will teach u, if u meet doctors that does not want to teach, he/she will not teach and just walk around seems like u are invisible.

So choose the cheapest one, being a good doctor or a bad doctor lies in your hand. what is the point graduating form a famous and expensive uni and dont even know how to insert a branulla properly, while another one graduated form a cheep and infamous uni get the job done perfectly and get praises from everyone? Think about it.

P/S: to all that view this post, pls dont tell me about Melaka-Manipal Medical College is going to build a hospital and what others colleges are about to do regarding teaching hospitals of their own. Just asked yourself do people going to private hospital to seek medical care like med students to run around the wards like idiots? And also asked yourself, hospitals need 5-6 years to be fully occupied, will a grand opening of brand new hospital have patients come rushing in like a grand opening of a brand new supermarket/hypermarket?

This post has been edited by wangpatan: Apr 29 2012, 01:26 AM
hongguan
post Oct 18 2012, 10:54 PM

33 posts

I think u definitely don't know what you are talking! Just go and get the latest independent study on the competency of housemen in Malaysia, comparing all the public and private universities. And top in the list happened to be IMU, followed by UM on the second place. I won't want to mention who is at the bottom of the list! U go find out! wink.gif
hypermax
post Oct 18 2012, 11:57 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(hongguan @ Oct 18 2012, 10:54 PM)
I think u definitely don't know what you are talking! Just go and get the latest independent study on the competency of housemen in Malaysia, comparing all the public and private universities. And top in the list happened to be IMU, followed by UM on  the second place. I won't want to mention who is at the bottom of the list! U go find out! wink.gif
This is an interesting "fact". Care to provide a link to the source? I hope this is not another "urban legend".

Added on October 19, 2012, 12:01 am
QUOTE(wangpatan @ Apr 28 2012, 08:17 PM)
no PTPTN dont loan for living, just loan for tution fees.

Added on April 28, 2012, 8:50 pm
In my opinion, if u are financially constrain, choose the cheapest one. This is because no matter how much u spend(spending 1 million in perdana vs spending 255k in utar) u will end up working in malaysia. what is the point spending so much end up working in malaysia. No need to go for reputation in medicine, u graduated from cambridge uni or graduated from an unknown uni in indonesia, u still have to work form the most bottom.
Now saying in terms of training, all IPTS in malaysia will give the same amount of training to their students, because all ipts dont have their own teaching hospitals. Unlike IPTA, where a big teaching hospital will be beside their medical faculty, the doctors in the hospitals are doctors working in the hospital and is also your lecturer, they play 2 roles in 1 time. IPTS all do their teaching in MOH hospitals where doctors in the hospital are just doctors  in the hospital. They will not teach u. If u meet a kind doctor, he/she will teach u, if u meet doctors that does not want to teach, he/she will not teach and just walk around seems like u are invisible.

So choose the cheapest one, being a good doctor or a bad doctor lies in your hand. what is the point graduating form a famous and expensive uni and dont even know how to insert a branulla properly, while another one graduated form a cheep and infamous uni get the job done perfectly and get praises from everyone? Think about it.
P/S: to all that view this post, pls dont tell me about Melaka-Manipal Medical College is going to build a hospital and what others colleges are about to do regarding teaching hospitals of their own. Just asked yourself do people going to private hospital to seek medical care like med students to run around the wards like idiots? And also asked yourself, hospitals need 5-6 years to be fully occupied, will a grand opening of brand new hospital have patients come rushing in like a grand opening of a brand new supermarket/hypermarket?
The bold part is misleading. Most IPTSs now hire MOH doctors to do part time teaching. So some of the MOH doctors actually become "clinical professors" or "clinical tutors" for the IPTSs.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 19 2012, 12:01 AM
cckkpr
post Oct 19 2012, 06:42 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(hongguan @ Oct 18 2012, 10:54 PM)
I think u definitely don't know what you are talking! Just go and get the latest independent study on the competency of housemen in Malaysia, comparing all the public and private universities. And top in the list happened to be IMU, followed by UM on  the second place. I won't want to mention who is at the bottom of the list! U go find out! wink.gif
Yeah. Please provide the "independent" study or the link.
hongguan
post Oct 19 2012, 06:15 PM

33 posts

As you know not all links are ok to be posted in such opened forums. If you are a med lecturer, I am sure u will get hold of a copy from your HOD, just a glance, but definitely cannot take it out too. The repercussion on certain universities is just too great, as in "unacceptable" that their grads are not up to mark. Well, certain things is better "believe it or not". Or unless u r a friend of mine, then I am sure I can share with u.

Also, if you read doctors' blog like Dr Paga's, u will realize that he does not disclose many of the so called "rumours" and "internal news". Not everything can be disclosed. But if you don't believe, it's perfectly ok. I am just here to share what I know, with those who want the truth (or at least be aware of what is going on) from a few more people, rather than the few people I have observed here who have been actively commenting.

Also, as this forum's title sounds like MOST people here are either potential med students, or on-going med students, or just graduate. So better let those who are really in the line, with internal resources to share with you. But ultimately, you judge for yourself. Nobody is here to "guarantee" anything.

This post has been edited by hongguan: Oct 19 2012, 06:20 PM
cckkpr
post Oct 19 2012, 06:30 PM

4,516 posts

You know why I put "independent"?
I think your results came from a dependent study! Pls don't make unsubstantiated claims or results not open for scrutiny.
We are not talking about politics. We are trying to pinpoint academic excellence.
hongguan
post Oct 19 2012, 06:51 PM

33 posts

No offence. Go ahead.

Added on October 19, 2012, 6:52 pmAnd please do not make the situation too ideal for the potential med students too. They too have the right to hear from various parties to get a more holistic and true picture of whats going on around. So please do not "monopolize" the thread with your assumptions too. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hongguan: Oct 19 2012, 06:52 PM
podrunner
post Oct 19 2012, 07:32 PM

2,214 posts

I think I will be in good company in stating that the "situation" as far as medical education in the country, is anything BUT ideal.
cckkpr
post Oct 19 2012, 07:53 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(hongguan @ Oct 19 2012, 06:51 PM)
No offence. Go ahead.

Added on October 19, 2012, 6:52 pmAnd please do not make the situation too ideal for the potential med students too. They too have the right to hear from various parties to get a more holistic and true picture of whats going on around. So please do not "monopolize" the thread with your assumptions too. smile.gif
Looks like you are "recommending" IMU, the local pathway. Some special interest there?
zstan
post Oct 19 2012, 08:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Oct 19 2012, 07:53 PM)
Looks like you are "recommending" IMU, the local pathway. Some special interest there?
in what way is he recommending IMU? and i wonder how IMU-PMS grads call themselves. A product of IMU or PMS? Anyway that's another question altogether.
podrunner
post Oct 19 2012, 08:27 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 19 2012, 08:23 PM)
in what way is he recommending IMU? and i wonder how IMU-PMS grads call themselves. A product of IMU or PMS? Anyway that's another question altogether.
Of course PMS..since degree will be awarded by PMS.
hongguan
post Oct 19 2012, 11:35 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 19 2012, 08:27 PM)
Of course PMS..since degree will be awarded by PMS.
Without a doubt, I have to agree with that. But again, it all boils down to how much money you have from the start.
If you have the option, it's best to opt for the PMS route in IMU, mainly for more secured future postgrad training.
onelove89
post Oct 20 2012, 11:04 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 19 2012, 08:23 PM)
They get 2 certs (source from an IMU-PMS student) so of course they will claim themselves as the PMS-grad, sounds much better. PMS allows them to go abroad for better education (debatable) and also having a chance to work there in the future, unless you're scholarship bound.

All the rumours going around saying msian grads are of low competency, I can't really justify that though until I see it for myself. (trying to do some attachments during my summer holidays). Not all local/ukr/rus grads are terrible doctors, and not all oversea grads (from pms/1st world countries) are bright and shining.
arsenwagon
post Oct 20 2012, 11:27 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(hongguan @ Oct 19 2012, 11:35 PM)
Without a doubt, I have to agree with that. But again, it all boils down to how much money you have from the start.
If you have the option, it's best to opt for the PMS route in IMU, mainly for more secured future postgrad training.
Why not give us clues as to where each unis r on the table? not explicitly naming the university.
That way you won't be sued.

hongguan
post Oct 20 2012, 05:30 PM

33 posts

@arsenwagon, not that i don't want to share here, but this is a public domain. If u r a registered doctor, do register urself in one of those popular forums where all Malaysian doctors are, and we share all those documents there. Even the deputy DG of health is one of the members there.
arsenwagon
post Oct 20 2012, 09:41 PM

2,227 posts

med students and potential med students are the ones who will benefit the most from the info....

can med stdents register? last i checked i needed a registered mmc ID right..

nitr0bacter
post Oct 20 2012, 10:55 PM

93 posts

i personally know a doctor who teaches at UCSI and he gave quite positive comments about that institution
hongguan
post Oct 20 2012, 11:39 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 20 2012, 09:41 PM)
med students and potential med students are the ones who will benefit the most from the info....

can med stdents register? last i checked i needed a registered mmc ID right..
At least now u know certain info and documents cannot be shared with med students. Even when such independent study was presented in UMMC this year, only lecturers and clinicians are there. No med students. Wait till your turn. brows.gif
arsenwagon
post Oct 21 2012, 12:04 AM

2,227 posts

lol anyway being the first on the list or last of the list doesnt indicate incompetency right?

are foreign grads evaluated?

hongguan
post Oct 21 2012, 07:47 AM

33 posts

The competency study looked at 2 areas.
1. Incompetency in knowledge in the ward
2. Incompetency in hands on skills in the ward
The lowest percentage/score will be top in the list, meaning that the HO is in fact competent. And that HO will be asked which uni they graduated from. This was how the study was done, by an independent research body. The results were disseminated to all public and private universities. But not to the med students unfortunately.

zstan
post Oct 22 2012, 08:47 PM

15,856 posts

What's the point of disseminating the Info to the universities when it's not made public? I doubt any improvements will be made. These incompetent housemen will only be retained for longer periods of time and then may even pass out as an MO eventually.
limeuu
post Oct 22 2012, 08:52 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 22 2012, 08:47 PM)
What's the point of disseminating the Info to the universities when it's not made public? I doubt any improvements will be made. These incompetent housemen will only be retained for longer periods of time and then may even pass out as an MO eventually.
they all will.....

the rejection rate for housemans historically is almost zero...they may get retained, takes them longe5r, but almost all get get their licence eventually....

there poses considerable problems for the assessors (ie consultants/head of dept) NOT to pass them...reports to write, answer demands why as senior doctors, they are so incompetent that they cannot train the housemans to acceptable quality.....and thus most don't bother, just retain them for a while, then quickly pass them and hand them over to another dept....someone else's headache then.....
Gorila_
post Oct 26 2012, 05:22 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(hongguan @ Oct 21 2012, 07:47 AM)
The competency study looked at 2 areas.
1. Incompetency in knowledge in the ward
2. Incompetency in hands on skills in the ward
The lowest percentage/score will be top in the list, meaning that the HO is in fact competent. And that HO will be asked which uni they graduated from. This was how the study was done, by an independent research body. The results were disseminated to all public and private universities. But not to the med students unfortunately.
I've heard such study existed and was presented this year.

My burning question is:
1. Is foreign university included in that study?
2. If yes, how many countries involved.
limeuu
post Oct 26 2012, 10:00 PM

12,291 posts

the survey covers all housemans, working in selected hospitals....reflecting all the varied medical schools msian doctors graduate from......
arsenwagon
post Oct 26 2012, 10:28 PM

2,227 posts

but msians do go to UK to study too,.....

so do UK grads get evaluated?
hmm.gif

limeuu
post Oct 26 2012, 10:51 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 26 2012, 10:28 PM)
but msians do go to UK to study too,.....

so do UK grads get evaluated?
hmm.gif
why not?.....

this is a study, not an evaluation.....sampling of housemans from selected hospitals....

in any case, there will be few, if any, uk grads doing housemanship in msia.....
arsenwagon
post Oct 26 2012, 10:54 PM

2,227 posts

so why aren't they at the top ?

btw, i mean.... any grad from any uni in 1st world countries....

im sure some JPA students might return? correct me if im wrong.
limeuu
post Oct 26 2012, 11:11 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 26 2012, 10:54 PM)
so why aren't they at the top ?

btw, i mean.... any grad from any uni in 1st world countries....

im sure some JPA students might return? correct me if im wrong.
what makes you think they are not?.....

what makes you think they should be?....

there are lots of excellent students and excellent doctors fro local unis, particularly ipta like um/ukm...(spore is not stupid)....

most jpa/mara scholars try to stay on to finish fy in uk....they used to allow....but jpa lately says no.....so there will be some, but not many....as many break their bonds and pay the penalty...
arsenwagon
post Oct 26 2012, 11:15 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 26 2012, 11:11 PM)
what makes you think they are not?.....

what makes you think they should be?....

there are lots of excellent students and excellent doctors fro local unis, particularly ipta like um/ukm...(spore is not stupid)....

most jpa/mara scholars try to stay on to finish fy in uk....they used to allow....but jpa lately says no.....so there will be some, but not many....as many break their bonds and pay the penalty...
but then if grad from UK vs grad from IPTA, people automatically assume that UK grad is much better hmm.gif
not better by an inch or two but miles...

well just general perception maybe.

what makes me think that theyre not at the top ? well... iianm, someone mentioned IMU is 1st while UM is 2nd? or it could be my memory playing tricks on me... rclxub.gif
limeuu
post Oct 26 2012, 11:18 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 26 2012, 11:15 PM)

what makes me think that theyre not at the top ? well... iianm, someone mentioned IMU is 1st while UM is 2nd?  or it could be my memory playing tricks on me...  rclxub.gif
that is simply because there wasn't any uk/oz grads in the sample..... smile.gif
hypermax
post Oct 30 2012, 01:26 PM

2,524 posts

May I ask whether the study is done across Malaysia or just in a few selected hospitals limited to a state? Cuz when I asked my seniors and superiors, no one seem to know the existence of such study.

Or maybe we a just a bunch of ill-informed drs tongue.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 30 2012, 01:29 PM
limeuu
post Oct 30 2012, 02:08 PM

12,291 posts

selected sample of hospitals and states.....of course the criticism is that the sample may not be representative of the broader cohort of current housemans....
WilliamHoo
post Oct 30 2012, 04:19 PM

UCSI
David Keong
post Jun 10 2016, 09:34 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(FisH123 @ Mar 26 2012, 05:47 AM)
Its better for you to go to UM MBBS, fees is cheap and they only take smart ppl.. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
limeuu
post Jun 10 2016, 10:41 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(David Keong @ Jun 10 2016, 09:34 AM)
Its better for you to go to UM MBBS, fees is cheap and they only take smart ppl.. icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
the majority of people here talking about doing medicine will not even be short listed for their biomedical test, let alone gain entry, into um....

0.0366sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:01 PM