12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

5 reasons why you should NOT get the new iPad., what is your opinion?

Frostlord
post Mar 23 2012, 05:02 PM

1,723 posts

[quote=baretta,Mar 22 2012, 02:54 AM]
[quote=Frostlord,Mar 22 2012, 01:51 AM]
i can do all that with a single smart phone sweat.gif

Added on March 22, 2012, 1:54 am

Yeahhhh....iphone can do that first before others smartphone..... tongue.gif tongue.gif

[/quote]

my points still stand. i dont really see the need of a tablet, be it ipad, transfomer, tab, etc etc

but if i compare this ipad to ipad2, i would say ipad2 is much better due to 1 reason. 3G

in MY, 4G network is not that widely spread yet. therefore if u travel out of KL, u might not be able to get internet connectivity at all

the lack of 3G really kills off this product IMHO

DenKhoo
post Mar 23 2012, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Mar 20 2012, 06:25 PM)
That is exactly how I feel about Apple product.  Once I bought the first ipad, there is no going back. Iphone4s follows and in future will be iMac once my PC konk out.  Apple product is just amazing and its the experience that keep me coming back.  Forget the spec... for apple product although lower in spec vs competing product,but somehow always beat them in terms of real performance and usability.  that is why APPLE is the most valuable company!!!

Added on March 20, 2012, 6:29 pm

It's not only important.  It is the most important as without great apps, hardware is only good for nothing.

One more thing...

Would you pay RM300 more for all these thing:

1. Retina display(2048x1536)which is four times the old ipad(1024x768)
2. 1 GB memory vs iPad 2( 512MB)
3. Quad core Graphics chip vs dual core on ipad2
4. 5 MP camera with 1080p video recording vs 0.7 MP with 720p video recording.
Let me share with you why it is not worth buying the New iPad, at least here in Malaysia.
The only significant improvement in the New iPad over iPad2 is the Retina Display and 4G LTE support.

1. Retina Display
It has over 3 million pixels. So far there are not many websites containing such a Hi-Res JPEGs. Apple Inc. is just about to develop some websites for the New iPad users to surf.
So for the next 6 months to 1 year, you are not going to fully utilize the 3-million pixels of your Retina Display. That's almost 1/3 of the value of what you would pay for the New iPad. Even there are already some websites designed for the new iPad, you may not be interested in the content.

OK, let's say 6 months later, there will be enough websites designed for the new iPad for you to surf, it will take longer time to download and display it on your browser because of our pathetic bandwidth here in M'sia. Unless you have TM unifi at home. Forget about using 3G to download the 3-million pixels picture.

2. 4G LTE
Simple reason. We don't have it yet in M'sia.

Other issues from the new iPad users from around the world:
- It gets warmer after about 30 min of using, at the bottom left corner of the device, because of the new CPU and video processor. Looks like Apple has under-estimated the heat dissipated by the high-performance chips.
- Since the the battery is higher capacity than the iPad2, means it will take longer time to be fully charged.
- If you are running or playing a resource-hungry apps/game during charging, it will drain more power than the charger can charge.

Just my humble opinion to share.

By the way, I am very happy and satisfied with my iPad2, in reading news, e-magazine, e-books.

baretta
post Mar 23 2012, 06:47 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Mar 23 2012, 05:02 PM)
my points still stand. i dont really see the need of a tablet, be it ipad, transfomer, tab, etc etc

but if i compare this ipad to ipad2, i would say ipad2 is much better due to 1 reason. 3G

in MY, 4G network is not that widely spread yet. therefore if u travel out of KL, u might not be able to get internet connectivity at all

Hahahahahaha.....why u think the new ipad not supporting 3G? doh.gif doh.gif
domcobb
post Mar 23 2012, 06:50 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Mar 21 2012, 09:23 PM)
Is it good for e-book reading ?
QUOTE(alvincks @ Mar 21 2012, 10:45 PM)
Thank you all !

I heard from others, for e-book reading like pdf file, the best is to take e-reader like kindle touch, the reason being is bcoz of the color screen like ipad and others which could caused eye strain easily due to it and not fit for long hours reading, not sure if you guys feel the same ?
There’s no other way of knowing if you’ll enjoy reading articles on the new iPad than to test it out yourself. Do you have an iPad 2? If not, I suggest you test it out on both idevices without prejudice and decide for yourself, mate.

baretta
post Mar 23 2012, 06:52 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(DenKhoo @ Mar 23 2012, 06:32 PM)
Let me share with you why it is not worth buying the New iPad, at least here in Malaysia.
The only significant improvement in the New iPad over iPad2 is the Retina Display and 4G LTE support.

1. Retina Display
It has over 3 million pixels. So far there are not many websites containing such a Hi-Res JPEGs. Apple Inc. is just about to develop some websites for the New iPad users to surf.
So for the next 6 months to 1 year, you are not going to fully utilize the 3-million pixels of your Retina Display. That's almost 1/3 of the value of what you would pay for the New iPad. Even there are already some websites designed for the new iPad, you may not be interested in the content.

OK, let's say 6 months later, there will be enough websites designed for the new iPad for you to surf, it will take longer time to download and display it on your browser because of our pathetic bandwidth here in M'sia. Unless you have TM unifi at home. Forget about using 3G to download the 3-million pixels picture.

2. 4G LTE
Simple reason. We don't have it yet in M'sia.

Other issues from the new iPad users from around the world:
- It gets warmer after about 30 min of using, at the bottom left corner of the device, because of the new CPU and video processor. Looks like Apple has under-estimated the heat dissipated by the high-performance chips.
- Since the the battery is higher capacity than the iPad2, means it will take longer time to be fully charged.
- If you are running or playing a resource-hungry apps/game during charging, it will drain more power than the charger can charge.

Just my humble opinion to share.

By the way, I am very happy and satisfied with my iPad2, in reading news, e-magazine, e-books.
Reading ebook emagazine and website with retina display 4 times better than ipad2

The new ipad support 3G...the reason apple include 4G together bcoz easy to control the stock...

Heat just over highlighted by consumer report.....all reviewers aggred the new ipad not overheat and less warm than iphone 4.....
TSart6969
post Mar 23 2012, 07:12 PM

1,520 posts

The chart above outlines how the new iPad and other slates fared in our recharge time test. The Android-based Asus Eee Pad Transformer Prime posted the most impressive result on this measure, when you take battery size into account: Despite having a reasonably large (6930mAh) battery, it took just 2 hours, 41 minutes to reach a full charge. The iPad 2, with the same-size battery, took 4 hours, 10 minutes minutes to reach a full charge. The third-generation iPad, with its big 11666mAh battery took a whopping 5 hours, 56 minutes to recharge. That's not much longer than two versions of the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 took despite their having significantly smaller (7000mAh) batteries--the LTE version took 5 hours, 46 minutes and the Wi-Fi version took 5 hours, 34 minutes--but it's still a long time.

These results should be of concern to anyone considering the new iPad. Its lengthy recharge time and its extreme slowness to charge while in use give highly mobile users reason to question its travelworthiness.

DenKhoo
post Mar 23 2012, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(baretta @ Mar 23 2012, 06:52 PM)
Reading ebook emagazine and website with retina display 4 times better than ipad2

The new ipad support 3G...the reason apple include 4G together bcoz easy to control the stock...

Heat just over highlighted by consumer report.....all reviewers aggred the new ipad not overheat and less warm than iphone 4.....
4 times better than iPad2, in terms of more pixels only.
Does it mean it helps you to be able to read 4 times faster? ;-)
When the new iPad3 is displaying an apple on the screen, do the 3-million pixels help you to see "4 times more" of the apple than we see in iPad2? Your brain is still telling you it is an apple. Nothing more.

You just feel it looks more real. I agree, and that's the value you pay for it. If you need/want the kind visual, then it's justified to buy it.

If the user is a keen photographer, then he/she will make the most out of the Retina Display, when they do the post-processing or use it as their photo-portfolio showing off to their peers or clients.

The e-books, e-news just look like a glowing paper, according to the techologist reviewers.

I am still able to read 55MB-size Hi-Res PDF on my iPad2. My own eye's retina still can resolve an apple in the embedded jpeg. ;-)

My e-book reader, Kindle's display really looks like a paper and is not glowing, so it means my eyes don't get tired after a long reading.
baretta
post Mar 23 2012, 08:29 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(DenKhoo @ Mar 23 2012, 07:53 PM)
4 times better than iPad2, in terms of more pixels only.
Does it mean it helps you to be able to read 4 times faster? ;-)
When the new iPad3 is displaying an apple on the screen, do the 3-million pixels help you to see "4 times more" of the apple than we see in iPad2? Your brain is still telling you it is an apple. Nothing more.

You just feel it looks more real.  I agree, and that's the value you pay for it. If you need/want the kind visual, then it's justified to buy it.

If the user is a keen photographer, then he/she will make the most out of the Retina Display, when they do the post-processing or use it as their photo-portfolio showing off to their peers or clients.

The e-books, e-news just look like a glowing paper, according to the techologist reviewers.

I am still able to read 55MB-size Hi-Res PDF on my iPad2. My own eye's retina still can resolve an apple in the embedded jpeg. ;-)

My e-book reader,  Kindle's display really looks like a paper and is not glowing, so it means my eyes don't get tired after a long reading.
Well it's up to you... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
pyroboy1911
post Mar 24 2012, 09:13 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

Just a question to those who said "Retina Display isn't worth the upgrade coz not much difference", have u guys actually seen it with your own eyes first or not?

Added on March 24, 2012, 9:23 am
QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Mar 21 2012, 11:28 PM)
Actually, wats the diff between ipad2 screen and new ipad screen apart from the resolution ? Do we really can see the difference? hmm...pls advice
I owned the original iPad. When I use the new iPad for about 10 minutes, I looked back at the old iPad. And my eyes asked me to look away.

I see some here argues that the display have not much difference. I think u are using your imagination to compare it, or seeing some pics posed online from other users. Taking pics of the 2 doesn't even do any justice to the retina display on the new iPad. U need to see it to really take note of the difference.

As for whether it is good to read books or articles on or not. I used to love reading hard copy book. But when I tried reading Steve job's autobiography on my original iPad, I'm hooked. Then now comes iPad 3rd generation. Crispier words, and more vibrant and better contrast.

Whether or not upgrading from iPad 2 to new iPad, still debatable. But if u own the original iPad, or any other tablet, u must be stupid not to upgrade.

Just a short opinion from me who are actually using 2 diff versions of iPad, especially in terms of display. Net that I am not doing any comparison in terms of technical or numbers and percentage etc. I am sharing my USER EXPERIENCE. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Mar 24 2012, 09:42 AM
yipwh
post Mar 24 2012, 09:49 AM

234 posts

yeah... normally i will skip 1 generation. since i having ipad2 now... no point moving up to ipad 3rd generation. as most of the function and apps that they have in store. are all supported. After all.. life cycle of the product last only 12 months? almost every year they coming out a new model.
Edoras
post Mar 24 2012, 10:11 AM

1,134 posts

People who have just bought iPad 2 might be feeling very sore when the new iPad just came out.... wink.gif
Most of them wished they could have just "waited slightly longer"... IMHO...
SkyGig
post Mar 24 2012, 12:02 PM

127 posts

I'm still on Ipad 1 and I'm fine with it.It is just that I don't want to become a technology slave and I would rather save the money for other more important stuff like properties,house deco,overseas vacations and probably other form of investments.After all,gadgets nowadays depreciate very fast.I bought my Ipad 1 3G 32gb at around RM 2,500 and now it is only worth about RM900 and that is less than 2 years time.But then again the temptation of owning a new gadget is always there.....(just my point of view,sorry if i ever offended anyone)
christcwl9
post Mar 24 2012, 01:16 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

I cant wait for the New iPad to launch in Malaysia ! Will do comparison with my Ipad2 to think should i upgrade it or not =D

p/s i think we need to use our own eyes to see the screen to determine whether it makes a difference or not wink.gif
domcobb
post Mar 24 2012, 03:39 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Mar 24 2012, 10:11 AM)
People who have just bought iPad 2 might be feeling very sore when the new iPad just came out.... wink.gif
Most of them wished they could have just "waited slightly longer"... IMHO...
This applies to everything else, mate, and not just on the iPad. smile.gif

adrian23
post Mar 24 2012, 06:03 PM

694 posts

haha..i am also in dilemma in this matter ipad2 or new ipad...

i already compare my both of my frd new ipad and ipad 2..

performance both the same
i would say is really hard for u to actually see the retina display just by looking at it. i found 1 thing can be really obvious to test out the retina display by looking or reading at comic. here u will notice the difference.

ipad 2= cool colour
new ipad = warm colour...

i dun think we should label it as yellow tint on the screen.

i guess all coming generation for eg: current 4s and new ipad are on warm colour...

A5 and A5X basically giving u the same speed but different graphic performance...
christcwl9
post Mar 24 2012, 06:17 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(adrian23 @ Mar 24 2012, 06:03 PM)
haha..i am also in dilemma in this matter ipad2 or new ipad...

i already compare my both of my frd new ipad and ipad 2..

performance both the same
i would say is really hard for u to actually see the retina display just by looking at it. i found 1 thing can be really obvious to test out the retina display by looking or reading at comic. here u will notice the difference.

ipad 2= cool colour
new ipad = warm colour...

i dun think we should label it as yellow tint on the screen.

i guess all coming generation for eg: current 4s and new ipad are on warm colour...

A5 and A5X basically giving u the same speed but different graphic performance...
U r right ! BTW, i bought my ipad2 during the price slashed, now im thinking should i buy the New ipad as well when it is launched here hmm.gif

So, you are saying that it is actually quite hard to see the difference of the screen in normal circumstances except for comic reading ?

BTW, performance wise will not be any big gap since A5x is basically a modified A5 which enhanced graphics performance. smile.gif

What bothers me is actually the screen especially when i need to read lecture notes on my ipad when im in the library, i wonder will the new iPad makes and big differences in this?

Battery wise, i heard that the iPad2 is better by 1 hour compared to the new ipad which is about 9hours of constant wifi use?
bidfordun
post Mar 24 2012, 08:10 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Mar 23 2012, 06:47 PM)
Hahahahahaha.....why u think the new ipad not supporting 3G?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Lol, this is seriously very stupid and retarding. What makes he think new ipad doesnt support 3g? IMHO, if you have the dough, it is better to buy the latest gadget as it helps to prolong the usability of a device. What a stupid thread, who would use older devices if they can get newer gadgets?
adrian23
post Mar 24 2012, 08:17 PM

694 posts

I only own an iPad 1 now. Due to price slash on iPad 2 n it also provides good deal, I was tempted so make me in dilemma now.

In brightness wise, iPad 2 is definitely brighter.

But in other sense, we should also consider,

WHY would we wanna choose the older technology over the new technology? Rm300 not a really small figure but is not big.

I guess I would probably stick to new iPad, if for those who was in dilemma as well, I would like to share one personal experience as this play a big part for me to decide...

I saw one of my frd which is already own new iPad put a multi vibrant color as wallpaper n this show u the beauty of retina screen...

N again, If u guys purchase
iPad 2 = u might satisfied with everything u own in it at the moment and might regret later as new iPad user getting more at ur surroundings.

New iPad= pay additional n will not have te regret feelings as u r owning the most advanced iPad yet.

I also believe their upgrade will have their reason. I also tellig myself tht believe in new tech.

When more retina apps are out, I guess myself and those who decide to stick wit ipad2 will regret like hell later....

Just my opinions... No offense again.

christcwl9
post Mar 24 2012, 08:48 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(adrian23 @ Mar 24 2012, 08:17 PM)
I only own an iPad 1 now. Due to price slash on iPad 2 n it also provides good deal, I was tempted so make me in dilemma now.

In brightness wise, iPad 2 is definitely brighter.

But in other sense, we should also consider,

WHY would we wanna choose the older technology over the new technology? Rm300 not a really small figure but is not big.

I guess I would probably stick to new iPad, if for those who was in dilemma as well, I would like to share one personal experience as this play a big part for me to decide...

I saw one of my frd which is already own new iPad put a multi vibrant color as wallpaper n this show u the beauty of retina screen...

N again, If u guys purchase
iPad 2 = u might satisfied with everything u own in it at the moment and might regret later as new iPad user getting more at ur surroundings.

New iPad= pay additional n will not have te regret feelings as u r owning the most advanced iPad yet.

I also believe their upgrade will have their reason. I also tellig myself tht believe in new tech.

When more retina apps are out, I guess myself and those who decide to stick wit ipad2 will regret like hell later....

Just my opinions... No offense again.
Hopefully it launches First week of April xD
EatMe
post Mar 26 2012, 01:16 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Mar 22 2012, 01:51 AM)
whatever u use, after use for long time u sure get bored of it. and actually this is the main point why i get android instead of iphone. i can customize my android phone layout more
...And now I'm already bored customizing my Android phone.

And I have much better use of time than just having to choose which custom rom should i pick, with each one got its own "perangai". And that's not even counting its updates, which sometimes bringing out another issue after plugging another one. And speaking of Android tablets, AFAIK no customization can even change a display's pixel density.

Added on March 26, 2012, 1:19 am
QUOTE(Frostlord @ Mar 23 2012, 05:02 PM)

LOL, "The New iPad 4G" supports 3G bands as well.

What, do you think iPad 3G only support 3G network, and leaving GPRS and EDGE (2.75G) connectivity behind?

Have a nice day.

This post has been edited by EatMe: Mar 26 2012, 01:20 AM

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:46 AM