4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Switch on pillar/car prh/terrce lights on midnight, Necessary?Effective way - scaring theif?

ozak
post Mar 19 2012, 10:33 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 19 2012, 10:13 AM)
I don't have plan....I just can't accept the fact that at midnight, our neighbour will not look out windows and check our house...even myself never open windows and look outside at night/midnight..We are busying watching tv, play computer, after that sleep....who r going to care what happen on neighbour houses?

I don't manage to take any risk....because my housing area is not gated and even guarded...I don't want to switch on lights and at the end lure the thieves to come to my house...

I feel sorry if somebody think that I shouldn't open a stupid post like this...
You are thinking the wrong way. Your mind must be in the thieft shoe and understand how they think.

Why do you think they like to come at night to steal your thing and not dyalight? Because they like dark. So they prefer you not ON the light for easy hide. They are pro in stealing and open lock. Have light or no light is not a problem for him.

When you hear a sound and want to look outside for a check, do you have difficult to see in dark? And the advantage for the guy to hide while your eye try to serach for something.

Another thing I learn from the thieft for the daylight entering is (or night), they like those can't see thruogh fencing and gate house. It give them plenty of time inside to open your door.
weikee
post Mar 19 2012, 10:33 AM

12,019 posts

Still, car pass by on and off. Even in my area, very frequent even middle of the night / 3 to 4 am.
TStiensong
post Mar 19 2012, 10:39 AM

2,237 posts

another questions.....will you all close all the windows curtain in house before going to sleep?
KIntos
post Mar 19 2012, 10:40 AM

1,132 posts

neighbour must help each other's and having a good comm with them is a very good start. We have to take initiative to comm. with them. Must have theirs contact number so anythings can call them to inform or check for us. Going vacation have to inform them too.
TStiensong
post Mar 19 2012, 10:42 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Mar 19 2012, 10:40 AM)
neighbour must help each other's and having a good comm with them is a very good start. We have to take initiative to comm. with them. Must have theirs contact number so anythings can call them to inform or check for us. Going vacation have to inform them too.
yes..agree....hope they are willing to help...

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:42 amanother questions.....will you all close all the windows curtain in house before going to sleep?

This post has been edited by tiensong: Mar 19 2012, 10:42 AM
weikee
post Mar 19 2012, 10:46 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 19 2012, 10:42 AM)
yes..agree....hope they are willing to help...

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:42 amanother questions.....will you all close all the windows curtain in house before going to sleep?
For ground floor windows, sometime I do sometime I don't. This is because I forgot and never really think is critical. Curtain usually leave it close for ground floor. For first if did not switch on the a/c will of course open up the windows, and curtain.

Day time, i leave the first floor curtain open at least 1/3, so let the UV bath my wood flooring smile.gif

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:47 am
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 19 2012, 10:33 AM)
You are thinking the wrong way. Your mind must be in the thieft shoe and understand how they think.

Why do you think they like to come at night to steal your thing and not dyalight? Because they like dark. So they prefer you not ON the light for easy hide. They are pro in stealing and open lock. Have light or no light is not a problem for him.

When you hear a sound and want to look outside for a check, do you have difficult to see in dark? And the advantage for the guy to hide while your eye try to serach for something.

Another thing I learn from the thieft for the daylight entering is (or night), they like those can't see thruogh fencing and gate house. It give them plenty of time inside to open your door.
I couldn't agree more. rclxms.gif

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:51 amHow about another question?

For double / multi story house, do you'll switch on the stair light when going to sleep?

This post has been edited by weikee: Mar 19 2012, 10:51 AM
coconutzz
post Mar 19 2012, 10:51 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 19 2012, 10:30 AM)
I would like to give more inputs...my house facing playground....so, i don't have any neighbour opposite me....so, even I switch on car porch lights, nobody will know if thief break in through front house main door....in this case, what can I do? We cant see each other from side =.=
Playground? hmm...well..even better isnt it ? a lot of couples middle of the night love to hide at play grounds...so maybe if anything happens..then they will notice..

anyway..it is really up to u to on or off ur lights...some of my neighbours do not on their lights..its ur call..ur decision smile.gif
TStiensong
post Mar 19 2012, 10:52 AM

2,237 posts

I usually close all the curtains during night...so, my practise is correct?

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:54 am
QUOTE(coconutzz @ Mar 19 2012, 10:51 AM)
Playground? hmm...well..even better isnt it ? a lot of couples middle of the night love to hide at play grounds...so maybe if anything happens..then they will notice..
anyway..it is really up to u to on or off ur lights...some of my neighbours do not on their lights..its ur call..ur decision smile.gif
no choice...not gated and guarded...usually will think a lot about security...although I am very happy to have my own house, but every night, I did pray for god...

This post has been edited by tiensong: Mar 19 2012, 10:54 AM
ozak
post Mar 19 2012, 10:55 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 19 2012, 10:30 AM)
I would like to give more inputs...my house facing playground....so, i don't have any neighbour opposite me....so, even I switch on car porch lights, nobody will know if thief break in through front house main door....in this case, what can I do? We cant see each other from side =.=
My taman whole row of house is facing the sky. No opposite neighbour. And 99% of the house is ON their car porch light.
phoenix69
post Mar 19 2012, 11:02 AM

1,836 posts

Switch on the lights better than not switching on the lights.
Not a fool proof plan but at least a slight deterrent.
A theif operate better in the darkness, you just lessen their advantage.
TStiensong
post Mar 19 2012, 11:02 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 19 2012, 10:55 AM)
My taman whole row of house is facing the sky. No opposite neighbour. And 99% of the house is ON their car porch light.
oh.....how about windows curtain? will you close all the curtains before going to sleep?
phoenix69
post Mar 19 2012, 11:07 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
oh.....how about windows curtain? will you close all the curtains before going to sleep?
I will close the sheer but not the curtains.
Sheer is good enough for privacy when the inner house light is off, you can still see outside (with the outside lights on), but outside can't see in.
If curtain close, anything happen and you suddendly switch on inside light, nobody outside can see in thus even if neighbour is friendly and helpful, he dunno if there is an emergency happening or not.
coconutzz
post Mar 19 2012, 11:09 AM

1,109 posts

Bro..i think the best bet for security at night is to install an alarm...

once it goes off at least u would be awake immediately...
KIntos
post Mar 19 2012, 11:10 AM

1,132 posts

my sheer is still pending from supplier since the batch came with defect. now only with black out curtain and i got no choice to close the window at night as my wife is sensitive to mosq.
Open window and curtain when in daylight for moist./humi control.
ozak
post Mar 19 2012, 11:12 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
Of course we close all the curtain. Even after 8pm, my hall curtain already close. While the bedroom MUST close. You don't want morning the sun interupt your sleep.
TStiensong
post Mar 19 2012, 11:22 AM

2,237 posts

I almost get there....thanks for all the warm and helpful feedbacks...

thanks everyone...
Jo_da48
post Mar 19 2012, 02:11 PM

1,529 posts

Alternative is put sensor spotlight...detect object movement than Turn ON...
ozak
post Mar 19 2012, 02:38 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Mar 19 2012, 02:11 PM)
Alternative is put sensor spotlight...detect object movement than Turn ON...
Makesure no cat around. If not they use your sensor like for disco light at night party. tongue.gif
xerox1234
post Mar 19 2012, 03:41 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 19 2012, 02:38 PM)
Makesure no cat around. If not they use your sensor like for disco light at night party. tongue.gif
So many cats around me? Wont be like disco lah unless the cat(s) like it so much, hehe ... some more you can adjust your sensor mah wink.gif

TStiensong
post Mar 19 2012, 03:43 PM

2,237 posts

sensor light easy to DIY or not?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0167sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:27 PM