Fitness The Runners Thread V4, Everything about running...

yewkhuay
post Mar 15 2012, 09:45 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

tenno, can u copy and link the old thread V1-3 on 1st page and update the event list?
yewkhuay
post Mar 15 2012, 11:27 PM

6,657 posts

LYN Runners Facebook group

Dear members, once you got a LYN number here, pls visit and join us in facebook for easier sharing of photos and events. thumbup.gif

this thread remain active for health and fitness discussion for all LYN members whether you are members or not, biggrin.gif laugh.gif
yewkhuay
post Mar 17 2012, 11:05 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Mar 17 2012, 10:57 AM)
hmmm, off by few sec is normal and u can calculate average speed.
For me i run in a 4km loop, so i mark the route what time i should reach at 1st km n soso...so tat u no need check your watch so regularly. Make a Control time at the normal course u run, and become your baseline to improve,  biggrin.gif
pro...... notworthy.gif
yewkhuay
post Mar 29 2012, 11:09 AM

6,657 posts

2xu run meet at 2xu booth ard 845-915am. biggrin.gif
yewkhuay
post Mar 31 2012, 01:54 AM

6,657 posts

2xu , here i come, LYN members meet at 2xu booth 630-645am or 845-915am . biggrin.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 1 2012, 11:52 PM

6,657 posts

1:17 today
yewkhuay
post Apr 10 2012, 09:49 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Apr 10 2012, 09:39 AM)
Hey. Noob and curious question here but I never really knew but what are the primary factors that slow down one's pace when running?
huh?

i slow down for many factors:
1. external - hot ass approaching ahead...
2. internal - tired
3. traffic jam , i mean human jam...
4. answer phone call
5. leg pain
6. up hilll

i m just kidding...but serious note, what u mean by slow down ?
yewkhuay
post Apr 14 2012, 11:48 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Apr 10 2012, 10:48 AM)
Oh, I mean the things before your run, while you run, and things you eat maybe? I mean the things that would make 6:48 drop to say, 8:32? Last 2 days was at an above average pace of 5:34. Had a delicious but unhealthy burger (you know the ones from ramlee's) for dinner. Next day was my rest. The following morning, I was at 8:32. And that was not running all the way. I walked at some points. Haha.

So I was wondering could it be the burger? Just some extra cholesterol would damage your routine that much? Or am I lacking rest? Because I experienced soreness in my calves and thighs.

Another question, in the morning, it's a habbit for me to drink at least 4 glasses of water. But I cut down to 2 when I am going to run in the morning. How long do I have to wait between the water drinking and running?
i dont think a few heavy meals will slow u down so easily, u need to look at the reason why u slow down, was it pain (where?) or breathlessness or anything else?

not enuf sleep also can result in slow down, and there are some bad days tht i also cannot run below 6min/km.

hydrate urself sufficiently for run, there is not strict rule for me, u may need more or may be less, u can try n error ok.

if u have soreness on muscles easily, then train up the muscles, nothing comes easy, are u regular runner ? if not this is normal

have a look at ur shoes oso, wearing the wrong type of shoes can be pain in the ass, i suffered pain n injury for wearing the wrong type of shoes back in early 2011.

cheers! read up more online n youtube videos to learn more , no one can teach u everything. biggrin.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 14 2012, 11:51 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Apr 10 2012, 03:44 PM)
i pretty 100% sure you are serious about (1)
yes, i am very serious about no.1 , biggrin.gif drool.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 15 2012, 12:00 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Apr 14 2012, 01:57 PM)
Haha. Thanks a ton! I don't expect people to teach me, but things like what you're telling me are the keys, so I can narrow them down and do more research, right? Haha.

I've looked into it, the meal I had for dinner was definitely not the cause of my pace drop.

I do suspect as your second point stated, not enough sleep. Because I had a busy night organizing an event.

I never drink less than a gallon a day. So, I don't think that would be a problem.

And yes, I am a regular runner. 4-6 times a week. Some twice a day, but easy runs. And during my day offs, I usually train my muscles with some light weight training.

I don't really know much about shoes. Can't afford one at the moment. Girlfriend bought me these: Nike Lunarglide. So, it's the only shoes I can wear. Overpronator speaking. smile.gif

Additional question (while I am googling and still doing research), what causes breathlessness? Sometimes I do get that. It's pretty annoying when you slow down because of that and you hear Endomondo saying "One kilometer in 7 minutes and (and here you expect the seconds to be low, but then..) 48 seconds." and you'll be like..."SHHHYYYTEEE.." Haha.
i know beyond 25km my breathing is very much shallow, i can't increase my breathing to speed up, i suppose tht is the limit for stamina for me now.
i think more training at longer distance may help my body to adapt to the need.
breathing is also something can be controlled/trained via practice, breath more even when u r at early stage of running n very comfortable about it.
the are some articles n video tht u can find on breathing when running. biggrin.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 15 2012, 12:00 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Apr 15 2012, 11:29 AM)
Hope it's as shiny when you see the real thing! Hahaha! tongue.gif
u may join us in facebook- look for LYN runners group biggrin.gif
yewkhuay
post May 9 2012, 08:08 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ May 9 2012, 08:01 AM)
I dun think there's any device tht allows U to post direct to FB. If U've seen some of LYN Runners training stats on FB, including me, we upload frm our devices to a training log software, I use Running Ahead.. & those software will upload the results to FB, if supported la.
I hv PJ Dawn's half marathon bib to let go, if Ur interested can PM me.
yup, running ahead will post to FB for Garmin...

Added on May 9, 2012, 8:11 amLYN Runners Mid-Year gathering

In case u are not in FB page, we are having a gathering b4 SCKLM : 23th June 2012, 6pm-9pm
Location yet to be fixed, kindly suggest there, the last venue was Gardens Paparich. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yewkhuay: May 9 2012, 08:11 AM
yewkhuay
post Jun 9 2012, 09:28 AM

6,657 posts

spam...
yewkhuay
post Jun 19 2012, 09:35 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Superman07 @ Jun 19 2012, 09:19 AM)
Phone was turned on all the way but kept inside a plastic which I assume it's safe since I have successfully did that in Singapore. But this round plastic torn, very unfortunate event. The rice thingy works provided it's not badly damage but in my case the whole motherboard and LCD burnt.
next time bring condom...... tongue.gif
yewkhuay
post Jun 22 2012, 10:02 PM

6,657 posts

hi tenno, renee say she wan LYNR 118 wor....
yewkhuay
post Jun 23 2012, 11:16 PM

6,657 posts

see u tomoro@!!!!
yewkhuay
post Jun 24 2012, 11:59 AM

6,657 posts

Congrats to all runner attended SCKLM today!! biggrin.gif