Fitness The Runners Thread V4, Everything about running...

deadmau5
post Mar 26 2012, 03:16 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(cynachen @ Mar 25 2012, 10:47 PM)
Thanks for the advice! Started to take note of my 1km loop time, still ok I guess, missed by a few minutes, but I guess it's a continuous learning process, thanks again! thumbup.gif
Ur saying u were a few minutes off the time from ur first 1km? hmm.gif
deadmau5
post Apr 14 2012, 12:44 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Apr 14 2012, 12:10 AM)
Personal opinion that makes sense, so it's something to keep in mind. smile.gif So, I don't get it. Forefoot running + flat feet = Bad thing? How bad does it affect me? My pace? Yeah, And talk about flexibility, I always do the warm up and stretches. It's not terrible if you're used to it. It feels nice especially when you do it in the morning. But are you saying that flexibility doesn't go well with long distance running?
He's just speechless since the article said you'll somehow get some arch if u do forefoot running but u said you've been running forefoot since small or smth & still ur flat footed.

This post has been edited by deadmau5: Apr 14 2012, 12:44 AM
deadmau5
post Apr 18 2012, 01:38 AM

353 posts

Anyone wearing kinvara 2 here?

Is it suitable for flat-footers/overpronators? Can I use it as trainers and for half-marathons? Would like to have some reviews before I change my brooks pure flow.

This post has been edited by deadmau5: Apr 18 2012, 01:40 AM
deadmau5
post Apr 27 2012, 09:30 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(eskimo_bin @ Apr 27 2012, 08:05 PM)
I just got myself a pair of Pureflow after the ENR and just ran in them on wed as well as today. I'm liking the cushions and comfort~ icon_rolleyes.gif However, my calf muscle started to have a slight pulling feel or sore after 10-15 mins run in them and I'm wondering whether my muscles are not fully recovered from ENR yet or is it the shoes itself which I'll have to adapt to as well as strengthening my calf muscle. Any similar experience as mine? smile.gif
I think the calf pain is from ur ENR, I only felt the cushioning & bounciness of the pureflow when I started wearing them, compared to my old Nike trainers. But the cushioning only lasted until around 400km even though the outsole still has 50% more.
deadmau5
post Apr 29 2012, 11:30 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Apr 29 2012, 07:44 PM)
TQ Tenno.  I know RSH is selling it, no issues for me. My price is more competitive and I am going to maintain it that way.

Added on April 29, 2012, 7:49 pm
Yes, no prob with midfoot strike.  U never go wrong with Newton when ur Midoot/ forefot running gait.  rclxms.gif  Let me know if you are interested

Added on April 29, 2012, 7:59 pm
PureFlow definitely had a very poor durability in terms of cushioning.  I got myself a pair to test and used it for most of my LSD ie above 25k.  Doesnt last me for more than 400k and i felt the stiffness building up in the shoe, same complain from some of my customers/friends.  Apple to Apple comparison the Saucony Kinvara had a better lifespan in terms of cushioning.  the base of the outsole at forefoot area is abit narrow to my liking and doesnt holds that well (stable) compare to the Kinvara.  thats my personal opinion.

Added on April 29, 2012, 8:07 pmIf you are not aware I am offering Low Yat Runners on the Saucony Kinvara 2 at RM280.
Hi choi, which one would be a better choice overall for a flat footer if I were to choose between the kinvara2 & pure cadence?

deadmau5
post Apr 30 2012, 12:58 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Apr 29 2012, 11:55 PM)
i am not sure how flat ur feet are.  if its mild  than the kinvara will be able to handle it well but if its very flat where ur arch is touching the grd than big NO as u may feel something poking ur arch.  Not sure abt the Cadence so u gotta try them out. 

But I can guarantee that the Newton Light weight trainer will handle flat footer very well.as the shoe design is able to accommodate that.  I hv a number of flat footer runners who migrate to Newton and are very very happy running with them.  In fact they dont even hv to worry abt rolling inwards as the shoe transitioned them to a midfoot gait and hence their landing are pretty parallel to the grd. Signs that proved it was the wear n tear of the shoe are more towards the front of the outsole rather than the heel.
What's the diff between the distance S and the normal one?

The outer part of my heels has totally worn off compared to the midfoot(70% more), forefoot(50%).
And yeah, my arch touches the ground when I'm standing sad.gif I've also felt some numb/sore pain recently at my lower knee area and the left side of the ankle, only on the left leg though. This happens after 6-7km, must be the shoes wearing off since I felt totally comfortable when I did my first 21km using the pureflow last year.
deadmau5
post May 6 2012, 04:58 PM

353 posts

I thought 50min is quite a good time?
deadmau5
post May 10 2012, 08:05 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(don^don @ May 10 2012, 05:17 PM)
kenny, the owner of levelup fitness, and mr daung, a fitness trainer at luf gym.
Lololol you've got a celebrity blogger telling u to land with ur heels
deadmau5
post May 13 2012, 11:17 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(girlpowerx3 @ May 13 2012, 10:02 PM)
i wanna join a marathon. any up coming marathon that can suit a beginner?
i dont exercize much, i go hiking once a week.
how long should i train? what kinda training should i follow?

i'm slightly over average and a girl w/o stamina ><

sorry for the many questions

Added on May 13, 2012, 10:04 pmalso i'll be doing this alone. havent asked if anyone wanna participate

scared i'll give up too soon sad.gif
What distance are you aiming at? For a beginner, its best to enter those races that are <10k unless ur a very fit person already & also to get a feel of long distance running. cheers.gif And hiking doesn't help much unless u can maintain uphill sprints lol
deadmau5
post May 18 2012, 10:58 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ May 18 2012, 10:51 AM)
45Mins for 5KM will be around 7mins/KM  pace ..
not bad .. just relax and enjoy the run .
Isn't it 9min/km instead?
deadmau5
post May 24 2012, 02:15 PM

353 posts

Bros, I'm on a plateau currently, both distance & speed wise. It's been like this since the start of the year. I can only do 10km in 55mins no matter how hard I push myself and after that I don't feel like going on any farther, my legs/feet just won't cooperate sweat.gif . Compared to my first half marathon, which I completed in 2.05hrs and I still had enough energy to go for 5km more at least. That was more than 6 months ago though. It's kinda frustrating not being able to see improvements despite having consistency in my training.

Any ideas to overcome this prob?
My weekly mileage is even better compared to last time, I do around 35km/week now compared to 20km/week last year. Is it because of the lack of joining marathons for motivation..etc? My last one was in January this year. And I don't think I can even complete another 21km for the upcoming SCKLM.
deadmau5
post May 25 2012, 12:28 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ May 24 2012, 02:40 PM)
I am not that fast runner, but this is from what I read about,
varying unpredictable training pace
http://running.about.com/od/trainingessent.../f/fartleks.htm
Thanks for the link, I rarely practice this method haha

QUOTE(dude1218 @ May 24 2012, 02:48 PM)
same thing happen to me last time...
so i went hill speed training and speed work 400m x 10time
by the way try increases more weekly mileage, if possible
weekdays 3-4x10-15km
saturday 15-20km or speed work or both
sunday 25-30km or more...

bout lack of motivation, find a run buddy...or find some1 to be target

Walao training to become superman ar? Normally I do 2x7-8km, 1x5km and 1x10km in a week only. I train my hill runs at TTDI kiara park. 3x hills then I KO d.

Used to run with a few friends when I first started but soon I improved faster and became more 'serious/addicted' in running lol and some go overseas, some only run once a week zz

QUOTE(ultr4lite @ May 24 2012, 03:52 PM)
deadmau5,
u got runningahead account? would like to have a look on your weekly training (n maybe follow ur training smile.gif). my case is similar as yours, also cant speed longer since last year injury. but seems my endurance at slow pace is getting better. Last 4 week post 20K sore at hip and left calf like crazy, then last week's 20K slightly sore only smile.gif so I'll guest I go longer distance, for time being.
I use Nike+ on iPhone to record all my runs, dunno whether u can view other ppl's record anot.

My speed is more or less the same but my endurance after 10km is cry.gif

Added on May 25, 2012, 12:30 am
QUOTE(leanman @ May 24 2012, 09:27 PM)
just Google, there are so many program over the net. I am following Hal Higdon's program

Added on May 24, 2012, 9:28 pm
maybe you are lack of long runs. How is your 35km/week like? mainly on weekdays?
2-3x 7/8km, 1x 5km and 1x10km only. Last long run was the PJ 21km until now -___-. Only a few 15km in between after that.

This post has been edited by deadmau5: May 25 2012, 12:54 AM
deadmau5
post May 26 2012, 12:40 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ May 25 2012, 08:52 AM)
no lah, that my 42km training plan, but feel like not enough also sad.gif
Still more than 50k/week already leh. Any secret ur legs can tahan all the torture? brows.gif

QUOTE(leanman @ May 25 2012, 09:10 AM)
in that case, likely you are lack of endurance. Need to do more LSDs (up to about 20k) if you are just concentrating on HM. your weekday run is sufficient.
I'm only concentrating on HM for the time being. nod.gif
Not sure if all the running I've done in the past year are taking a toll on my legs/knees.

QUOTE(weretiger @ May 25 2012, 09:32 AM)
30k tomorrow @ Kinrara. join if you want smile.gif no worries. a slow pace 1.

Thanks but I'm still not on form yet sad.gif

deadmau5
post May 31 2012, 01:33 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ May 30 2012, 11:23 PM)
how DAM good?? can last how long in what pace?? if in 7min pace i can last more then 4hr...
so u need tell us what your pace when your stamina can last so long...
This got nothing to do with stamina d, it's more to endurance brows.gif
deadmau5
post Jun 5 2012, 04:52 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Jun 5 2012, 04:25 PM)
If it's true then it's a bargain, even tho Sir Isaac is like one of the 1st model Newton released...
Hi choi, how many types of newton lightweight trainer are u selling? PM me the prices pls smile.gif
deadmau5
post Jun 5 2012, 05:00 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(b0uld3r3r @ Jun 5 2012, 04:55 PM)
I am thinking of letting go of my Newton MV2 size 10, let me know if you are keen.
I'm looking for something that has more cushioning, I think MV2 is quite thin leh
deadmau5
post Jun 5 2012, 05:07 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(norizan @ Jun 5 2012, 05:01 PM)
try Newton Distance lightweight....im using it thumbup.gif
How much u bought if for? Suitable for flat feet ar? Actually I don't mind suitable anot, as long as its comfortable enough for 21km
deadmau5
post Jun 6 2012, 03:38 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(Superman07 @ Jun 6 2012, 02:59 PM)
It's ok to use gadgets/fancy clothes but the only thing I don't understand is during many races some people even carry backpack and DSLR camera doh.gif Tak berat ke?
Of course berat la, but some do it leisurely mah instead of chasing PB.
deadmau5
post Jun 11 2012, 01:12 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(Green_lemontea @ Jun 11 2012, 12:30 AM)
I just did my 5K today in 30 mins. Should be a good start! flex.gif  flex.gif
Will try to work my way out to 25 mins for 5K, then I should be able to slow jog all the way till the end.  biggrin.gif
If u can do 5k in 25min, most probably u can finish 10k in 53-55mins

QUOTE(Meow.26 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:37 AM)
need to take into consideration of the traffic is congested early of the race, too crowded with people if you start in the middle or the back. so that might be a possible threat for your plan to start fast in the early, end slow in the end
There's no point starting fast if u can't even sustain ur speed for the rest of the race icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by deadmau5: Jun 11 2012, 01:14 AM
deadmau5
post Jun 21 2012, 09:56 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 21 2012, 05:50 PM)
6 mins  / km = 3.66 / mi
Somebody failed his maths tongue.gif

How can 6mins/km become 3.66min/mile when 1mile is already 1.6km. Should be around 9min+/mile la

0.0454sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:43 AM