Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V29, Welcome Ice Cream Sandwich!

mtxx
post Mar 18 2012, 05:25 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Mar 18 2012, 05:22 PM)
Yes kingmax is ok. If i were u ill  buy sandisk, been using it for years now and proven to be reliable.
sandisk issit? thanks ya, i go search for sandisk now.
my budget is <rm150,
i thought that budget enough to buy 16GB only,
was surprise to see can buy 32gb also :-D

the class is the write speed, i think its ok to sacrifice 2MB/s for 2x the size.

mtxx
post Mar 18 2012, 05:30 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 18 2012, 05:24 PM)
Some users here using kingmax, so far havent heard of issues, so i think should be ok. If can, i would go for kingston or sandisk as they are more so call 'reliable' personally using a 16gb class 4 kingston microsd, no issue so far
huh?
kingmax, sandisk, kingston all also reliable then? all brand also got fans, haha.
then no need choose lo...hahaha. got other brand beside these 3?

for pendrive, feel kingston not that good.
because my dad one, my one, and gf kingston, will spoil after awhile. (less than 2 years)
spoil as in plug in pc cause windows explorer to hang, after format also like that.
cant copy data in and out. kindda abit fobia with kingston.

but sd cards and pendrive are different products, cant judge them as the same.

i think what i'll do is see which brand can get highest capacity, lowest price and highest write speed.
since all brand also got people say good (for micro sd) hehe.

@laptopdudeguy, are you like full time tech support here? you reply to every prob and ques i have. thanks ya :-) big hug to you.
mtxx
post Mar 18 2012, 05:40 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 18 2012, 05:35 PM)
If u dont want kingston, can always go for sandisk smile.gif i just have preference to kingston since last time i left my pendrive in pocket went into washing machine, after i found it, i plug into pc, do a reformat and still working till this day sweat.gif

I just try to help out others when i can smile.gif also since i've answered ur every single question i dont think its appropriate to end that streak so soon tongue.gif
Ok i think that totally changed my perception towards kingmax sweat.gif
about the pendrive, if you wana talk about washing machine proof, i think imation more geng lo, been using for 5 years already, still ok, enter washing machine twice, no need format continue use till today still ok. haha.

i just took out my sd card from s2 to check, omg its kingmax.

and about the memory card corrupt, it happen to me once when i was using S2, one find day, it just say memory card could not be read, ask me format to use. i remove and reinsert also like that. put in pc also cant read.
so i format it. i dint feel any pain because at that time, my memory card just have some songs and pics inside, easily replacable by copying again from my laptop. fortunately no apps installed in sd at that time. almost forgot about it, but now suddenly recal.

i think i'll go with sandisk now.
mtxx
post Mar 18 2012, 06:01 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Mar 18 2012, 05:56 PM)
actually im facing the same problem ..using kingston ..thinking of getting sandisk instead..but my case, pc can detect, phone say need to format, damage sd.. doh.gif  doh.gif
i feel worry about kingmax. right now, about 50% of my apps are stored in external sd card.
if it get corrupted, then those apps gone case.
shiver just thinking about it.

not that i wana keep in external, no choice cause internal memory just 2GB.
haiz...if can move to internal sd so good. but i google before last time, its not possible.
mtxx
post Mar 19 2012, 12:33 AM

5,011 posts

Has anyone tried freezing or uninstalling the stock messaging app?
Will this cause any system error? Or cause other 3rd party messaging app to stop working?

The reason why I'm even thinkin about this not only because stock messaging app is quite useless,
It also defeats the purpose of the security feature offered in hand cent SMS.

I can set a password or pattern lock for hand cent SMS, but its useless since people can open the stock messaging app to view my messages.

So is it safe to freeze stock messaging app?
mtxx
post Mar 19 2012, 08:05 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 19 2012, 03:48 AM)
how is phone going to detect your sd card if you unmount it

Added on March 19, 2012, 3:52 am
all 3rd party sms work ontop default messaging app
you can always set a password using say app protect or to lock it
Thanks Benny for confirming this.
Glad I ask around here before I do something stupid,

You look different, older already, hair all white. Haha. tongue.gif
mtxx
post Mar 20 2012, 11:53 AM

5,011 posts

Yeah, just bought a San disk 32gb card. Class 4 only but should be enough for me.
Got it from this seller for rm130. Hope its a good deal:-)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1579340

Suddenly so much storage, duno what to do wit it. Hahaha. :-D
mtxx
post Mar 20 2012, 09:09 PM

5,011 posts

i'm sure lots of you guys use jkay right?

i fount out about it not too long ago and loving it very much.
been slowly exploring the features.
but there are 2 things i really cant figured out.
can you guys help me out?

1. At the jkay settings, the last section, under "miscelleneous"
what is "volume lock"? i thought it make the volume button able to unlock the phone, but it appears that is not the case. what's this feature for?

2. at the same section, "volume key skip track", this only works on stock music app? can work on ttpod? its my favourite music app.

please help me if you know, i especially curious what is volume lock.
mtxx
post Mar 20 2012, 09:17 PM

5,011 posts

saw a very pretty avatar pic. i was like "wow...leng lui..."
then saw the name, instantly turned off. lol...
mtxx
post Mar 20 2012, 11:56 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Mar 20 2012, 10:17 PM)
check the official jkay thread at xda.

1. smtg about volume of ringtone and notification same i think
2. works on all, you can give it a try you know? btw ttpod gives huge wakelocks
The volume change track does not work with ttpod.
Pressing it merely changes the volume.
Long press volume button will just change the volume as well.

Ttpod is nice, able to search including Chinese songs, support Chinese characters, and can download pics n lyrics,
I know what is wake locks, it doesn't cause any so far.
When I check battery stat, phones is never awake when screen is off.
mtxx
post Mar 21 2012, 11:50 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Mar 21 2012, 11:28 AM)
You using 3M Estoc+ ? I was looking for it but can't findĀ  cry.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 11:30 am

I am using ultra crystal and I tell you full of finger prints. Changing to matte type this weekend. Damn can't tahan man! Crazy!
this screen protector issue, there is no best of both world.
how also have to compromise.

clear type:
good: super clear, screen looks excellent
bad:easy get finger print
bad:terrible reflection
bad:rough surface, hard to swipe

matte:
good: slippery surface, nice to swipe
good: very little reflection
good: hard get finger print
bad: screen looks terrible, i mean DOWN RIGHT TERRIBLE!!

i hope can get best of both world, where
-slippery surface
-little reflection
-clear screen
-hard get finger print

but in real life, have to compromise,
see which one you more cannot tahan,
fingerprint&glare, or blurry screen.

for me i started with clear, switch to matte, then finally end up back to clear type, cant stand how matte sp cause the screen to be blur. i rather pamper my eyes than my finger.

i've seen my friend buy a very expensive SP,
its clear type, but hard to get fingerprint.
but the surface is rough kind, and also got reflection
at least it reduce one weak point of normal clear type.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Mar 21 2012, 11:51 AM
mtxx
post Mar 21 2012, 11:55 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 21 2012, 11:48 AM)
I wonder why so many users still need to stick screen protector.

Galaxy S II, Galaxy Note & Galaxy Nexus all is Gorilla screen, screen protector is useless, it hardly scratch on most current touch phone.

I don't even use any screen protector in my old Nexus One, already 2 years, it don't have any single scratch on it.

My sister Galaxy W which seems not Gorilla screen, also no screen protector, after nearly a month use, also no single scratch.

The only purpose of Screen protector is UGLY your BEAUTY screen.
i understand your point about gorilla glass:-)

but this phone expensive ma, if got any hairline scratch, sakit hati o.....
the sp so cheap, most people just buy for "sense of security" :-)
me included, haha.
mtxx
post Mar 21 2012, 04:25 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Michelle Michelle @ Mar 21 2012, 04:24 PM)
hi friend ,

i have bring the phone go to phone shop for fomart it but still can not.
when on the phone still need password for release the lock.

i think i need to throw out this phone.

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

By the way thank for your reply and i will try it again.  smile.gif
dont throw la. use odin flash stock firmware.
good as new.

0.0366sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:31 PM