Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V29, Welcome Ice Cream Sandwich!

SUSdestEX
post Mar 19 2012, 09:32 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 19 2012, 09:28 PM)
You can try flashing without wipe and see if got FC. If no problem then just use as normal.

Added on March 19, 2012, 9:30 pm
I think it depends on some test apk and stuff the chef takes out. *#1234# and *#9900# does not work on turkbey and wanam i think but it works on thebyani and andyx. Cannot really remember but basically works on some but dun work on others.
lcdtest.apk
SUSdestEX
post Mar 19 2012, 11:19 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Mar 19 2012, 10:19 PM)
i waiting touch screen sensitivity (http://youtu.be/sRXcBcpSD1w) fix for ics till neck also long liao!
QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 19 2012, 10:31 PM)
Nice its top of gokhans to do list
QUOTE(gokhanmoral )
I'll be busy tonight
great...
first thing to modify: touch sensitivity
if everything goes well, I will publish the first release in a new thread tonight (GMT+2)

cant even play draw something nicely mad.gif
SUSdestEX
post Mar 19 2012, 11:36 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ Mar 19 2012, 11:27 PM)
Hello guys, thinking between this phone and the Sensation XL. What do you guys think? Not that much gaming. More into watching YouTube and web surfing. A LOT of web surfing.

I know S2's specs are better than the Sensation XL in general but will the XL be more suitable for my requirements? I also prefer the build quality of the XL, feels more solid.
QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Mar 19 2012, 11:34 PM)
If you are a hardcore web-surfer, you would prefer the resolution and size of the XL. But why not get the Note instead? Huge AMOLED screen with crazy resolution.
definitely the NOTE and with its huge battery. my dad watched a 1 and half hour movie stream from an app and it only downed by 20%, thats using WiFi tho

edit: oops nearly quoted positron tongue.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Mar 19 2012, 11:38 PM
SUSdestEX
post Mar 19 2012, 11:46 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ Mar 19 2012, 11:41 PM)
Thanks so much guys. Actually, i am not willing to spend so much on the note or the S3. My only two choices are either the S2 or the Sensation XL as they are the only free phones that comes with signing up a new plan here. I am leaning slightly towards the XL at the moment. Can i just ask if the Gorilla Glass of the S2 holds up well against scratches?
nope, how much does a screen protector cost anyways? stick it on dude, before ya regret. if you want a good one, get one of those M3 Estoc+ , best sp i ever used, i compared with most other sp

if ya go for a note, you can multitask like this

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...WlyYnJvd3NlciJd

This post has been edited by destEX: Mar 19 2012, 11:49 PM
SUSdestEX
post Mar 19 2012, 11:56 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 19 2012, 11:50 PM)
i will wait until good kernel come out. ics suck alot of juice compare to gb rclxub.gif
from what i believe, ics sucks juice like crazy the first few hours while the media scanner runs for the first time. after that the battery level is quite pleasant smile.gif
SUSdestEX
post Mar 20 2012, 08:45 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

beta 1 got SOD issues, dowan flash first laugh.gif
SUSdestEX
post Mar 20 2012, 11:06 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 20 2012, 11:00 AM)
Nah, not really afraid  rolleyes.gif , im just speaking about my opinion honestly, im not bashing android for no apparent reason.
android apps are mostly productive ones, like Autocad WS and sketchpad or photoshop, the applications + flexibility of Android to open any kinda formats can beat iphone handsdown. you can easily make ifags butthurt if you know what are your phone's strong points, dont have to criticize their fruit phone, just show what android can do and they'll start jelly.

ifags always say their appstore more games, yes more games, useless games. how many good games do they have? most ifags i see play simple games that real gamers gets bored, angry bird? cut the rope? i dont even bother to install, these kinda games exist on the internet as FLASH GAMES YEARS ago cool2.gif

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Mar 20 2012, 11:00 AM)
When S III Coming out?
around olympics, before if announce, reach msia shud be later

This post has been edited by destEX: Mar 20 2012, 11:07 AM
SUSdestEX
post Mar 20 2012, 08:57 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Mar 20 2012, 08:41 PM)
Please let positron sell its S2 soon... Leave us ASAP! Go to russia also can.
oh god i damn agree
SUSdestEX
post Mar 20 2012, 10:17 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Mar 20 2012, 09:09 PM)
i'm sure lots of you guys use jkay right?

i fount out about it not too long ago and loving it very much.
been slowly exploring the features.
but there are 2 things i really cant figured out.
can you guys help me out?

1. At the jkay settings, the last section, under "miscelleneous"
what is "volume lock"? i thought it make the volume button able to unlock the phone, but it appears that is not the case. what's this feature for?

2. at the same section, "volume key skip track", this only works on stock music app? can work on ttpod? its my favourite music app.

please help me if you know, i especially curious what is volume lock.
check the official jkay thread at xda.

1. smtg about volume of ringtone and notification same i think
2. works on all, you can give it a try you know? btw ttpod gives huge wakelocks
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 11:21 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 21 2012, 10:44 AM)
Even my colleague's note had no screen protector. He peeled it off after paying RM60 for one.
sad dont think there's a 3M Estoc+ for G Note
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 11:43 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Mar 21 2012, 11:28 AM)
You using 3M Estoc+ ? I was looking for it but can't find  cry.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 11:30 am

I am using ultra crystal and I tell you full of finger prints. Changing to matte type this weekend. Damn can't tahan man! Crazy!
yep, i got it from eiraku same with fallenangelz but he sold his estoc, i used it for 5 months+ ad and still loving it biggrin.gif ppl are amazed by the transparency and my friend even thought its clear type coz its also glossy
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 02:06 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 21 2012, 11:48 AM)
The only purpose of Screen protector is UGLY your BEAUTY screen.
now now, i've been in this thread since v5 and i tell you many ppl have had their screen scratched icon_idea.gif same case with casing too

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Mar 21 2012, 11:57 AM)
not really agree it will still got scratch when u have kids... my boss's sgs2 has 2 very noticable scratch after his child use the phone as a slide whistling.gif
yes, corning gorilla glass is hard to scratch, but not scratch proof, the hardest material to scratch is diamond, which is why its used as a drill bit. btw hard to scratch doesnt mean it cant be broken. remember previous science lession, harder to scratch = harder = less ductile = brittle = easier to break

let me put some facts straight since i've actually studied geology here...

first we have the Moh's Scale(you can wiki it)
based on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gorilla_Glass , gorilla class is at approximately 9 in moh's scale.

so ANYTHING MORE THAN 9 WILL SCRATCH IT

so here's an example of minerals more than 9

9-9.5 corundum, silicon carbide (carborundum), tungsten carbide, titanium carbide, stishovite
9.5–10 rhenium diboride, tantalum carbide, titanium diboride, boron nitride, boron.
10 diamond
>10 nanocrystalline diamond (hyperdiamond, ultrahard fullerite)

sure its harder than glass, and most of of the common metals, but do you know what are the sands made of? you'll regret it if your screen start getting microscratches

gorilla glass specs sheet http://www.corning.com/docs/specialtymater...eets/PI2317.pdf

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Mar 21 2012, 12:20 PM)
Have you get any micro scratch on your phone?

Added on March 21, 2012, 12:24 pm
Yeah, that's what I thought. My screen look worse compare to my brother's Samsung W  sad.gif
get a good screen protector la, you wanna be cheapskate buy proton but expect ferrari

This post has been edited by destEX: Mar 21 2012, 02:11 PM
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 02:24 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Mar 21 2012, 02:12 PM)
Correct correct! Haha tongue.gif
so detailed lol. That day my iPhone kena 3 scratch. Lucky got sp. car key fault sad.gif but seriously happy got sp lo. If not cry.gif
hahas lunch break ma, ntg to do so go check out gorilla glass' specs la biggrin.gif no need argue argue, i put down some facts
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 02:41 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 21 2012, 02:32 PM)
Great information, thanks.

Maybe I am good care person, scratch is not an issue for me. The only scratch I notice is that plastic button in middle, due to my gatal hand peel of the plastic. Maybe I am a type can't stand on any sticker / protector on anythings, I will peel off in 1st time touching anything that got sticker / protector on it. I too hate on those sticker / protector. Damn hate. haha!

Added on March 21, 2012, 2:35 pm
Nope, another thing is I do use SG II pouch, and I use glasses clothes to wipe when dusty / thumb print.
oh the scratch at the button surface ah? you go phone shop settle it la. last time i have a scratch then the dude take his cloth wipe wipe gone ad, he use some solution on his cloth i believe. when at home i tried to wipe it with microfibre(aka glasses cloth) also cannot, but he wipe wipe gone ad lol
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 04:26 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 21 2012, 04:25 PM)
The shop isn't doing anything for you.

Enter recovery mode and wipe phone, once wipe your phone will be clean but password unlocked.
hmm if enter recovery when wipe wont ask for unlock password ah? if like that whats the point of putting password sweat.gif
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 04:30 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:28 PM)
Wipe is factory reset all user data gone so user set password should also be gone. Password is to prevent busybody friends go through your phone.  tongue.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 4:29 pm
Depends you like the launcher or not. It just add gesture and option to hide app in drawer. Some like apex which have it all for free, but for me nova is smoother.
its also to prevent thefts from stealing your data ma... last time my nokia, wanna wipe need password wan leh lol, lidat better install security system like avast than put password
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 04:33 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:27 PM)
is it worth it to get nova launcher prime for $4?
unless ur the type that likes to customize and add alot of shortcuts, then its not worth it. the prime edition allows alot of gestures shortcuts only. maybe you can give apex launcher a try

BTW GUYS, anyone knows a good ics launcher that supports scrollable widgets API besides go launcher, launcher pro, zeam, adw lol
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 05:01 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 21 2012, 04:46 PM)
I think you got nothing better to do, is your life to bored, too free ... ??? I wonder!

Stop spamming useless post. Everyone will thanks you. wink.gif
stop quoting him

QUOTE(aiman39 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:48 PM)
Damn!!! How long i should wait for this nandroid to restore my rom back. Have been waiting more than 15mins.

Getting worried the battery will dies off.  sweat.gif Plus there is no indication its progressing, just stuck at Restoring system...
restart. as far as i remember, when restoring nandroid it will show you what it is restoring, and system wont take thatttt long, it shud proceed to restoring data

This post has been edited by destEX: Mar 21 2012, 05:01 PM
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 05:11 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 21 2012, 05:08 PM)
You are correct, I shall not quota him/her/it, this make him/her/it get notice and will eventually happy inside. Ops!  blush.gif
no...its bcoz we ignore him ad(btw its a him) sow ehn you quote we can see his posts again icon_idea.gif
SUSdestEX
post Mar 21 2012, 06:43 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Mar 21 2012, 05:23 PM)
I think the SMS will be sent from avast service to you telling you the thief's number, and not from the thief himself  sweat.gif
But come to think of it, so what if we got the thief number, we still can't do anything significant.
A better way is to track using GPS location, but it is also quite hard to retrieve.
So to date, if your phone is stolen it is almost gone forever  biggrin.gif
heard of sms commands?

QUOTE(blackchides @ Mar 21 2012, 06:35 PM)
Most of the commands for Avast are done using SMS so yeah, would need the thief's number if he change SIM card. Also, Avast can prevent him from using USB so harder to access files/wipe your phone and as mentioned, you can set it so that even if he wipes the phone, Avast will still remain.

But yeah, can say 99% of the time, once it's stolen, it's gone. Best move is just to wipe all your data and post a message promising reward if returned haha.
+1

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0443sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:09 PM