Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V29, Welcome Ice Cream Sandwich!

MYstombox
post Mar 20 2012, 05:29 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Usually the european roms launch earlier than the asian.

Also the asian languages are just bloatware to them.

Add the fact that the rom's original version doesn't really matter since CSC and modem can be installed separately, whichever comes onto the market earlier will get customed earlier.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 09:07 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

You may need to install another bootloader and not the one that comes with stock ROM.

Like how CM7 last time, need to use froyo bootloaders instead of GB.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:03 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Michelle Michelle @ Mar 21 2012, 03:57 PM)
Hi
Have any one know
If samsung galaxy W was lock by password
and the person was forget the password
How to release it?

Can any one here can help?
Use gmail to unlock.
There is a password recovery via gmail.

But if never associate gmail with it, then ROFL.
Reset phone via recovery.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 21 2012, 04:03 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:07 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Positron can be classified as Shim.
rofl.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:11 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Now that I thought of it, the agglomeration of She-He-It would be banned. hahahhahahaa

delpiero, you can use your google account to transfer no issues.
Not too sure if the 5 account thing is relevant because I am using 2 devices, but registered in market there's 3.
One I used to use, but gave it away, and removed my account but it's still there.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:13 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(hashinclude @ Mar 21 2012, 04:11 PM)
Hi guys, just bought my phone... damn foreign to me...first time using a smartphone from a normal slider phone.  I have some questions...

Using my old phone i could be able to find out how much space my sim card has (i think sim card has max capacity for 250 contacts).  How do i so the same for my S2?
We don't store in simcard, usually we store it in google mail contacts.

So if we update on computer it'll sync to phone.

If you want to transfer to gmail, its easy.

Export your simcard contacts to .vcf, then transfer the .vcf file to computer and upload to google mail contacts.

There you can see it and do any amendments if you want.

Then after that sync your phone and your gmail contacts will enter your phone.

You can then 'hide' the simcard contacts.

Added on March 21, 2012, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(rattan @ Mar 21 2012, 04:13 PM)
Guys anyway to back up contacts using Titanium backup pro ?
? Use gmail is better than titanium for contact backups.

After you restore your gmail, you end up still syncing back to cloud.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 21 2012, 04:14 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:19 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Inside the s2, under contacts there's a "export to"
you then choose as .vcf.

What nokia phone?

You will need to do it a few times:

Simcard in S2 -> export to contact1.vcf
bring simcard to nokia -> delete simcard contacts, copy phone to simcard
put simcard into s2 -> export to contact2.vcf

Copy contact1.vcf and contact2.vcf to computer, and upload to gmail contact.

Edit the contact list there and remove/add any if you need.

Then sync your phone and you can choose to clear your simcard if u want.

This is the general step by step, for each individual step on how to export etc. google to see if got pictorial illustration. But I have done this a few times for myself and friends without issues.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:25 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Michelle Michelle @ Mar 21 2012, 04:24 PM)
hi friend ,

i have bring the phone go to phone shop for fomart it but still can not.
when on the phone still need password for release the lock.

i think i need to throw out this phone.

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

By the way thank for your reply and i will try it again.  smile.gif
The shop isn't doing anything for you.

Enter recovery mode and wipe phone, once wipe your phone will be clean but password unlocked.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:26 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Mar 21 2012, 04:25 PM)
i exported all of my contacts in my old nokia N86 to my S2 via bluetooth. haha XD
You can do that as well, but I always prefer to cloud my contacts as I may change phones but want to retain contacts without having the hassle of migration.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:37 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Mar 21 2012, 04:30 PM)
its also to prevent thefts from stealing your data ma... last time my nokia, wanna wipe need password wan leh lol, lidat better install security system like avast than put password
The S2 has remote wiping capabilities and unauthorised sim SMS alert.
No need for avast.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:37 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(aiman39 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:36 PM)
Thought so, but give up when to try to move the gapps file to the phone.  tongue.gif

Maybe will try again later. But then, after i flash the rom, can i straight away flash the gapps?
Yes, you can do that without booting up first while still at recovery.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:49 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

nandroid takes a few min at most.

Last time I restored took less than 2min.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 04:56 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(aiman39 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:50 PM)
Thats why, this is my second time doing it and it take a very long time. Feeling like want to interupt but worried something more worst could happen
You store a lot of prawn is it? data a lot tongue.gif
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 05:18 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

dude, if they change the simcard, and it sms u, it has to be from that simcard number ma.

else how?
rofl
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 05:28 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

the samsung's version is the sms is sent BY the simcard inserted.
So from there you'd get the number.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 05:35 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(aiman39 @ Mar 21 2012, 05:31 PM)
"Restoring system..." what do you think guys?  icon_question.gif Wait abit longer till 6 or just turn of the device and then flash a different rom.

What say you guys?  icon_question.gif
just flash again lor.

restore later if u want.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 05:40 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

if got problem backing up nandroid, probably cause ur backup corrupted.
MYstombox
post Mar 21 2012, 05:43 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(iwant2 @ Mar 21 2012, 05:41 PM)
thumbup.gif Nice guide
Last time i sync conatcts from galaxy 5 to google,then when i started using s2,i sync,like nothing happen..
But it is history,i bluetooth it..
Means it didn't initiate the sync.
Or you disabled autosync.

Autosync needs to be running, or you need to manually sync it.

If the internet connection is working, it will work.

0.0407sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:57 PM