QoS/Bandwidth Control, <cleanup> Wanna shape your traffic ?
molok
Oct 1 2007, 01:33 AM

QUOTE(mzhai @ Sep 8 2007, 01:28 PM) i heard there is sum kind of software which u makes ur pc as the router n distribute connection to other pc s... so u can choose how much u wan to distribute out... any 1 noe wat it is called? http://www.clarkconnect.com/(one i'm using, get the commnunity edition(free), not the paid version), http://www.ipcop.org/, http://www.ipcop.org/ or netlimiter if you using windows xp. You need atleast 2 network cards. Works like a charm because i'm sharing 10 pc's for 1 internet connection. The pc i use pentium 3 with 256 sdram to serve this purpose. For instructions & guides please refer those respective websites i lazy teach so much. One more thing this is for who have good experience with computers.(ehem basic networking knowledge.......) Screenies: This post has been edited by molok: Oct 1 2007, 01:56 AM
molok
Oct 6 2007, 01:21 AM

QUOTE(aik457 @ Oct 4 2007, 01:38 PM) will this software afftect the speed of filetransfer between lan? or it juz work for internet only? Its not just a software its an operating system under linux(free) except netlimiter(winxp) u need to pay for full version. From what i know it doesn't affect the file transfers speed on local area network depending on how congested you make it to be. It serves as a gateway so it can control whoever coming to your local LAN from outsite connections such as MAC addresses (read wiki....), as a dhcp server, p2p controlling(cant say it can block all but some p2p sofwares manage to get through but partial block....), bandwitdh controls (very vey important features) and so much more. If i cant block his p2p(in certain cases) i just limit his upload and decrease the download speed.
molok
Oct 28 2007, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(ensnaring @ Oct 27 2007, 02:41 PM) neway i oso wan know got hardware ah to do dis kind of thingie. i meant distribute bandwidth evenly / limit bandwidth. want to use in office. Please do Google before you ask.... http://www.xroadsnetworks.com/ubm/products...ducts_index.xrnhttp://www.teletronics.com/bandwidth.htmlThose hardware stuff will cost quite alot. However if you are willing to spend more than RM1000 then why not, hardware approach are the best solution if your company have lots of employees sharing internet connection. This has been done by government agencies to monitor their workers not to misuse the internet during working hours. Otherwise do the previously posted technique, you only need 1 unused computer to do the job.
molok
Oct 29 2007, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(ensnaring @ Oct 28 2007, 11:48 PM)  all oversea de. dat one i google oledi. i wan find dat i can buy here in Malaysia. http://www.zedcom.com.my/index.htm You can try there its a bit tricky to find Malaysian reseller not many selling it. With power of my searching skills finally i could find one. If you want more you could just call REDtone company ask for enquiry. Hint, Yellow Pages..............