QoS/Bandwidth Control, <cleanup> Wanna shape your traffic ?

eric_tan
post Jun 27 2011, 06:25 PM

264 posts

I have purchased a Mikrotik 433UAH with the purpose of Bandwidth management in the office.

Tried DD-WRT and all other consumer grade stuff.... nothing works, specially if you have users using P2P or the most bandwidth intensive software PPStream!

Why the QOS fail is because all P2P traffic is encrypted, so it just bypass the QOS and makan all the bandwidth!

Got Mikrotik and implemented a very simple PCQ Queue system. Now ever PPStream is limited and doesnt affect any users in the network.

What I like about the PCQ setup is that, if you have 1 user, you use 100% of the bandwidth, if you have 3, then its shared between the 3 users....etc etc

PCQ is a FAIR and effective.
eric_tan
post Nov 12 2011, 03:11 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Nov 9 2011, 03:03 PM)

hi all

I'm trying to limit torrent download so that me and my housemate can surf internet and play dota better
quick question though

what is this "local", "eth0" and "wl0"

i tried google but couldnt understand

thank you
What device are you using?

eric_tan
post Dec 22 2012, 06:37 PM

264 posts

I don't know how u guys can block all the ports to block BT. I better solution would to limit it, rather than block it completely.

The other thing is you maybe able to QOS a Torrent, but something like PPS will still suck up all the bandwidth....then how? And if you ever use encrypted headers to utorrent, you QOS will fail..... The other way to go around your setup is to use standard ports to tunnel out, say use Port 80 on your torrent software....

Consider limiting each users Max speed (throttle), at least this way no one person can completely suck up all the bandwidth.

Read up on the different way you can throttle/QOS/Bandwidth limit on a Mikrotik router here.

The easiest solution is to use a simple queue with a max up/dl limit.

Good luck

Eric
eric_tan
post Jan 3 2013, 06:53 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(savien @ Jan 3 2013, 09:14 AM)
Hi bro... I feel your pain... currently I am facing the same issue... I am using the default DIR-615 router by TM... I wanted to flash it to the DD-WRT version of the firmware... but currently I am facing a backup issue... my DIR-615 is running on 7.09... and the unifi.athena.my got only backup for 7.05 version... I am a bit scared to flash it without a backup firmware... scared I screw up... and I will bricked the damn DIR-615...

Anyone can help me as well?
Just flash it la... nobody returns to stock dlink firmware anyway....

And athena.my has got very good tutorials, and if you follow the VLAN500 part properly, you'll get back online in no time... but remember to LOAD the athena tutorial webpage before you start flashing...

I had to install the PPS program to emulate how the software will function on the network, and how I could block it....... I could get pass every QOS and port blockage on the DD-WRT......

On DD-WRT, you'll never be able to block those PPS programs... trust me... I tried..... I finally gave in and got a Mikrotik router.

eric_tan
post Jan 6 2013, 10:46 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(savien @ Jan 4 2013, 09:43 AM)
Actually I dowan to block... more like I wanted to throttle them... my son is youtubing too much haha... he is only 6yo... so I wanna limit his access.

On Mikrotik router... hmm... dont intend to spend on a new router yet... I may do it if I bricked the DIR-615.
Arr, I believe DD-WRT has a website block/limit, so you can set time of day he can go youtube, what time he cant go.
I think this is the best idea for you. But it is a network wide block, meaning you also cannot go yourself!

As for throttle, you cant do it with DD-WRT.
Mikrotik can do, but a little hard/complicated to setup.

The alternative is Asus Routers. I believe their stock firmware has the ability to give priority to users based on IP or VLAN. But throttling doesnt stop him from watching, just ensures he doesnt eat up the full bandwidth.

eric_tan
post Jan 8 2013, 05:24 PM

264 posts

Yeah the RT 13U is one of the most value for money Asus Router. I would have recommended that. But the wireless signal/range not that fantastic

Why dont you try the N12? http://my.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Routers/RTN12_C1/
Has the ability to bandwidth allocate too.

Never used the N16, but it is very high spec (on paper).

eric_tan
post Apr 1 2013, 06:42 PM

264 posts

tmadmin
tmadmin

eric_tan
post May 14 2013, 08:17 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 12 2013, 09:37 PM)
hello everyone, im currently using asus dsl-n12u modem router. but i donno how to use the QoS bandwidth limit thing as im a really newbie in this kind of thing. anybody mind to guide me a little plssss
I am sorry, but all my Asus already changed firmware.

I am sure, you can login and change the settings. I am sure the web based front end has got some help/tips that could help you.

eric_tan
post Jul 17 2013, 09:20 AM

264 posts

I doubt you can do it on your DIR615. Even if you flash it to DD-WRT I doubt you can do bandwidth limits.

I know that Asus standard Firmware, you can do multiple SSID and priority. But I don't think you can bandwidth limit.

I know that you can bandwidth limit on Mikrotik routers cause I am using it.
eric_tan
post Jul 23 2013, 09:22 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 23 2013, 02:59 AM)
hi guys, I hv a question to ask but not sure whether this is the right place. hope
u guys can advice me on this matter.

I want to know if I connected to a multiple network, which network that I actually use when I browsing or downloading anything from the web? for example, I connected a broadband modem to my laptop, n in the same time I also connected to my home network via WiFi. say my broadband modem has a 5mbps speed n my home streamyx 1mbps speed, both are connected n showing internet access, so is it I hv a combined speed of 6mbps or I actually using one of them?

I found a software called connectify dispatch, it claimed to combined all available network speed, eg if we connected to a modem broadband with 5mbps speed, usb tethering via iPhone 7mbps and WiFi with Home streamyx 1mbps, it said it will combined all the speed. so a total of 13mbps, is it possible? can it be done without using the software? please explain to me. tq.
I am NOT sure about connectify, but your "gateway" determines which network you will use to get to the internet.
You will NOT be able to combine the line without a some special software or a special router.

Even if you combine it using a Mikrotik Router (I have successfully done it), your combined bandwidth will be the total of all you lines. HOWEVER your MAX speed is only of the fastest line you have.

In your example above, you will have a total total of 13mbps, with a TOP speed of 7mbps (from 1 connection).

Basically what you are doing is "load balance" on all your network connection.

Connectify, according to the page, is suppose to work as I have mentioned above. Better you get a hardware implementation than a software one..... Do you really need that much speed?

eric_tan
post Jul 23 2013, 04:30 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 23 2013, 10:00 AM)
hehe, it always nice to go faster if possible. laugh.gif  i just happened to have few fast broadband n wana c whether i could combined them all. btw what is load balance mean?
Google it!

0.0291sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:42 AM