5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Arowana Lovers V6, All about Arowana

Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 6 2012, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(Mahathir Mohamed @ Apr 6 2012, 01:50 PM)
The lfs advice me to just turn it on 24 hour..but then no proper explaination..i saw dome breeder use 2..n our friend here use 4..am i missing anything here?

Ur opening lfs?great..when n where?
Sifus?
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 7 2012, 10:12 PM

QUOTE(Kelv1n @ Apr 7 2012, 09:08 PM)
Hmmm..my arowana today seems abit quiet...he stays at the lower level of the tank....normally he swims on top actively...and i saw him flipping the fin hard once in a while....is this normal sign for stress? ?
I believe that is a sign of stress..but hv to monitor as that is a sign of abnomality..
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 8 2012, 09:28 AM

Thinking of either getting another tank or bigger tankAttached Image
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 8 2012, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 8 2012, 10:53 AM)
two aro two tank are much safer bro..

Added on April 8, 2012, 10:55 am
sorry for ur lost bro..
Black spot? Any pics?
Another tank i guess..1 canister 1 more internal pump..the smaller aro will use the internal pump..much more better water flow..better apetite due to swimming againt strong water flow..i guess..hahaha..will buy new tank and let water run for a week 1st..learnt my lesson..huhu..btw i hv a question here..izit true that aro need water current?as u know canister doesnt create strong water flow..

Added on April 8, 2012, 11:40 am
QUOTE(pileew @ Apr 8 2012, 10:32 AM)
My aro is dead last night.. And may I know what and why the aro will have some black spot on the body?
Sorry for ur lost bro..i just lost mine few weeks ago..i know how i felt..btw what black spot u r reffeeing to?any pic for reference?

This post has been edited by Mahathir Mohamed: Apr 8 2012, 11:41 AM
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 01:24 AM

QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 8 2012, 11:15 PM)
erm..for ur water current, it will be yes and no..have to adjust based on the size of the fish..

Yes, by making them swim, they will get hungry faster, so they eat more then grow faster..

When u get new tank. Jz transfer the water from ur old tank to ur new tank will shorten the cycle time..when wc, water drain to new tank..helps alot..

And if water flow is too strong for too long period they will get tired, they will starts jumping, if continue, will die of tiredness..

I would suggest getting a timer..and turn on another pump only at night for them to exercise as well as can blow all the bottom debris into ur filter inlet..so ur tank will be clean..

Added on April 8, 2012, 11:19 pm
thats the sign of itchy..probably due to parasite..so it is trying to scratch here and there..

Water parameter?

Nitrate? Nitrite?
Temperature?

Now still staying at bottom?
So better to let the water flow for certain amount of time..because now im thinking of using canister n internal pump to clean n create water flow..so i'll switch it on alternatively..maybe turn it on while i go to sleep n turn it off when im awake..im letting the new tank to be cleaned once with water n salt flowing using the internal pump..n later will use the wc from old tank instead of throwing it away..put in some bacteria booster..release pleco..n later lampam..if ok..release the aro..

Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 11:50 AM

guys..i have found a digital ph tester for rm110..is the price ok.??
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(Kelv1n @ Apr 9 2012, 11:58 AM)
mind sharing where to get it? im planning to get 1..
someone recommend me..if you want better discount can place the order to me..once confirm how many tester required he say can give better discount if order more..
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(Kelv1n @ Apr 9 2012, 12:05 PM)
got pics and how do we use it? submerge digital ph meter like temperature? i dont mind getting one...since i need a tester now too lol..
it looks like a thermometre..i'll try to get a pic and upload it later..im trying to ask the seller for rm90 as he once sold it for rm90 but now he have mark up th item to rm110..so if enough buyer might get that price..
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(wmkr @ Apr 9 2012, 12:20 PM)
u can use the nutrafin or tension gone... those 2 i recommend others so so only

Added on April 9, 2012, 12:21 pm

buy buy buy buy buy buy buy the biggest u can buy... to more water the better... rclxms.gif
so now my setup is 2 aqua..4 x 1.5 x 1.5..1 aro per tank..

wanted to do sump tank but budget a bit low..so just use 2 tank..normal tank..1 run on canister..1 run on internal pump..now waiting for salt water treatment for the tank..before boosting bacteria..to counter new tank syndrome..

bro aro is not eatingla..im just waiting for the apetite to be normal back..

and btw the ph tester izzit ok for the price of 110..
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(pigpig @ Apr 9 2012, 01:45 PM)
cant help it la bro..last time i have to downgrade my camera from semi pro to beginner..this time it really tear my wallet..n this is the last straw..make it or break it..i miss the aro so bad that all the small fish cant help ease the emptiness la..aiyoo..

Added on April 9, 2012, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 9 2012, 02:04 PM)
ure rich dude..not even a month..u edi fork out so many..

O.o

jz like wmkr said, the bigger the better for them..actually recommended size for one aro would be 5ft tank..

For a 4ft tank the biggest size they can get is about 16inches -17inches..

pH pen for rm110? What brand it is? Are u sure it isn't china brand and some that would delivery accurate pH readings?

I bought mine for rm240..from europe..forgotten the exact country and brand name..can read temperature and pH..
nola leggedy..where got rich..as i mention above..this will be my last straw..make it or break it..so far so good..and rest assured i wont make same mistake again..the new tank will be my last investment..gonna be for sometime 1st..let it grow 1st..once reach 17 inch++ i'll get new tank..maybe 6 ft or 8 ft..

the ph test pen brand..not quite sure but the seller gave a 1 year waranty..so i guess should be ok..

btw i ujust found 2 type of ph tester from uk..1 is with the termometre..this 1 come with 3 packet of solution..(which mmake me wonder..will the tester be useless once the solution finish or is it still useable)its around rm100 including shipping..

the other is without solution..its rm80 inclusive shipping..

whats the diff la?leggedy..which 1 u are using?

This post has been edited by Mahathir Mohamed: Apr 9 2012, 03:23 PM
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(wmkr @ Apr 9 2012, 04:06 PM)
price but worth to buy biggrin.gif
since the k1 sorta like floating..is it ok to be used for other type of filter like canister and so on because so far all of the k1 user only use it for sump tank..
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(wmkr @ Apr 9 2012, 04:33 PM)
okay jea...no a problem smile.gif
in canister?in that case i'll buy some soon..hehe brows.gif
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(hou @ Apr 9 2012, 04:54 PM)
bro, every filter media u also want to try shocking.gif ...
btw, what aro u hv now?
MGBB..i already setup my canister so im not going to touch it for very long time..but my new tank didnt decide what to use as media yet..bought ac..aqua clay and mineral stone..i believe should be sufficient but maybe i wont use the ac..see la how it goes..

what to do..newbie maa...learning curve now..but i guess k1 not nowla bro..later when the aro already big abit and when upgrade tankla..at that point of time will buy sump tank rite?will use k1 then..maybe by that time easier to get already.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Mahathir Mohamed: Apr 9 2012, 05:11 PM
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 05:12 PM

QUOTE(hou @ Apr 9 2012, 05:11 PM)
how much u paid for sc and how many liter?
sc?what is that bro?r u refering to ac?
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(hou @ Apr 9 2012, 05:14 PM)
yes..aquaclay.
i bought small tupperware..how many litre?no clue..hihi..and price i'll update later..totally forgotten..bought together with the tank..

btw the ac im reffering to is activated carbon..not aqua clay..didnt even notice the abbreviation is the same..

This post has been edited by Mahathir Mohamed: Apr 9 2012, 05:43 PM
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 9 2012, 05:42 PM)
k1 media not recommended to be put in canister..coz, k1 media are mend to be aerated with strong air..means powered by high dosage of Oxygen..keeping strong and active nitrifying bacteria..meanwhile, during the aeration process which make the k1 self collide, weak bacteria or dead bacteria will fall off the K1 surface, giving space for new strong active bacteria to colonize..

So k1 = unlimited strong and active nitrifying bacteria..no need to change unlike any other stationery medias..

If u put the K1 medias inside canister, it will still colonize by bacteria, but losing the properties of knocking off dead bacteria and growing a group of powerful bact..

Me and pigpig are trying to import K1 in bulk..we will keep u guys update on this..
so the best is still sump tank am i right to say that?
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 9 2012, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 9 2012, 05:57 PM)
sump tank need to make modification..or u can bottle it up and put inside main tank..u can check youtube..there is plenty of ppl putting it in the main tank..

Added on April 9, 2012, 6:00 pm
thanks for ur support bro..and another reason why many supplier wouldn't want to bring in K1 is becoz if ppl started using K1, sales of ceramic ring, larva rock, etc etc will definately drop alot..but hobbiyist will need to know the advantages of K1 in the first place..
main tank???? shocking.gif

definitely will look for it on youtube after i reach home... rclxms.gif

if you really manage to import it please do inform us here..
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 10 2012, 11:14 AM

i thought uv light will kill all the bacteria including the good one?if yes i believe the best is to go thru uv 1st adn then all the media?
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 10 2012, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(Kelv1n @ Apr 10 2012, 11:22 AM)
my UV light is placed at the last compartment safely ...my BB will be colonized at the 1st..2nd and 3rd compartment..which i don think the UV sterilizer will affect it...correct my if im wrong  hmm.gif
sifu's?any advice..??because my setup is the water flor to the uv 1st and then thru all the media before release back to the tank..and i wont turn on the uv all the time..only once in a while to counter the algae bloom..what is the best advice and practice..

Added on April 10, 2012, 11:33 am
QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 10 2012, 11:31 AM)
normal filteration cant remove nitrate..we can use denitrator but using a denitrator isn't simple at all..since bacteria in anaerobic state will release a deadly toxic gases..i havent been into denitrator yet..

In nature, deep layer of soil is anaerobic condition..so i need not go in depth on this..besides, plants and tree absorb nitrate as their nutrients..
so go n get a small plant?hehehe..

Added on April 10, 2012, 11:38 am
QUOTE(Kelv1n @ Apr 10 2012, 11:00 AM)
hmm...i wanted to ask this long time ago...is there any possible way to breakdown nitrates? denitrator?  hmm.gif

strong aeration like eheim airpump 400?  ? >> http://www.eheim.com/products/detail/Air-Pump

my 6footer sump tank is approximately 4 x 1.5 x 1.5...divided into 4 compartments.. .1st compartment for those matts....2nd compartment will be bio-homes and corals.....3rd will be k1 media...4th will be uv sterilizer, heater and return pump.... im worried that 1 arowana is not enough to build up the BB housing or even fill it up...is there a way to do so? i remember the 1st theory for filter ; more is always better  laugh.gif
how much is the eheim air pump?

This post has been edited by Mahathir Mohamed: Apr 10 2012, 11:38 AM
Mahathir Mohamed
post Apr 11 2012, 02:10 PM

going out to get daun ketapang today..lalalalala..hahahaha..need to lower the ph la..

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0576sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:22 AM