AS1M/ASM/ASW2020/ASN/ASB and other PNB funds V3, lending your money to the government

frontierzone
post Mar 25 2012, 08:06 AM

735 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Mar 24 2012, 05:22 PM)
Do you guys think that there is a way to even opened an account for ASW2020 even with a RM10?

I just hoped to have the passbook so that i can have the opportunity to invest by trial and errors at the ASNB counters.

Without the passbook, i cannot even have the chance to try my luck.. ^^
I used to know someone who offered the PNB officers some tips, for exchange they will help you to "reserve" the amount of fund you desire whenever the opportunity arises, and notifies you to immediately bring over your money for purchase. Downside is you need to be always available, ie. not really viable for the working people. True enough, he managed to buy extra units for it not long later, despite the funds being fully subscribed most of the time. Have also heard of people having friends working at PNB-appointed banks, who will help them to purchase whenever units are available. That is why the funds are always unavailable to the rest of us, because the moment someone sells, these bankers and PNB officers immediately grabbed them.
frontierzone
post Oct 2 2012, 12:04 PM

735 posts

I manage to top ASM about less than RM500 tis morn, do u think if larger amounts there will be no opportunities? I was just trying my luck with some cash on hand, without expecting any units available. I asked them hw much units available, they said they need me to name the no. of units i want, and only then they key it in.. (I guess u can't know how much units available at moment). So after u give them ur decided units, they key in system and kept pressing the ENTER button, i think to refresh.. then suddenly they took out the deposit slip to enter my details, I was so surprised, did not expect any available. Hmm, those whose tellers tell them no units straight, might they be lying, maybe they did not even check the system?
frontierzone
post Oct 9 2012, 02:56 PM

735 posts

Noticed that certain bank's officers are more willing to try for you in your purchase, ie. they tell u take a seat while they tap their keyboards, trying not just once, but several times, maybe a few minutes, then only they let you know the results, while some will just try ONCE, and sort of shout at you "tak ada". Some bank's staff can be really rude and unhelpful.
frontierzone
post Oct 10 2012, 09:39 AM

735 posts

Anybody tried to add ASNB funds (oher than the bumi-exclusive funds), onto Cimb's online banking service?
This is the only agent with Internet banking that allows those funds (ASW2020, ASM, etc) to be added. Maybank and Rhb only have the bumi-exclusive funds in their drop down list. I tried to add via Cimb many times, and it got rejected. I mean this is not topping up yet, it is just adding as a favorite so that only then you can try your luck to purchase online. But mine got rejected, I don't know why. (I have a valid membership for the funds already, with passbook, so just key in the membership ID and I/C to add it as fav.).

cry.gif

This post has been edited by frontierzone: Oct 10 2012, 09:41 AM
frontierzone
post Oct 10 2012, 10:17 AM

735 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 10 2012, 10:10 AM)
Just tried to add ASM as Favorite
Transaction Status : Pending Acceptance

When would we see actual result ? The next day ?
Yup, it will be processed after 1 working day.
I tried many times, always got rejected.
I key in membership ID as 0XXXXXXXX (9 digits),
my IC I have tried YYMMDD-XX-XXXX (with and without dashes).
Never accepted thru. I wrote to them and ask, they gave me a list of reasons from their FAQ, and asked me to refer directly to PNB to know the exact reason. cry.gif
Do share your result with us, whether successful.

This post has been edited by frontierzone: Oct 10 2012, 10:19 AM
frontierzone
post Oct 10 2012, 04:51 PM

735 posts

The service differs branch to branch, but generally I had bad experience with Maybank, once I had one teller shouted (loud voice) to me, "you want to buy XX amount?! 100 pun tak ada!", loudly tht the banking hall people could hear it, it was very humiliating, and on my way out, I heard her gossiping to her colleague about me, as though I'm some cheapskate trying to rip out profits from the system. On another occasion, I went to one Maybank branch and they told me ASNB systems close down at 3.30pm, and they told me to return next day. I double checked this with other places when I got the chance, they did not say 3.30pm is the cut-off time, instead 4.pm as with the normal banking hours. I've had enough nonsense from Maybank.
frontierzone
post Oct 11 2012, 09:07 AM

735 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 10 2012, 10:33 PM)
Mine has been APPROVED (within the same day of submitting)
BUT
CODE
Please be advised that :
ASD Fund is fully subscribed
ASM Fund is fully subscribed
ASW Fund is fully subscribed

Wow, thts good. I wonder if above is real time checking of the units or a pre-coded message until PNB launches another round of units selling. I hope it is real-time, maybe once a while we might get lucky and units become available as someone sellls?

(May I know hw is the format of your IDs which u typed in?
Is it 9 digits of the Membership ID and your IC no. is included dashes? Thx)

frontierzone
post Oct 11 2012, 10:24 AM

735 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 11 2012, 09:36 AM)
I believe it's hard-coded if you are Non-Bumiputera

ID type as in the passbook (no dashes also)
IC type in without dashes
Ic, anyway I'll check with PNB on my registration failure.

Anyway, if it's hardcoded message, tht sucks.. they should give fair opportunity to everyone to buy it real-time just like if you go to a bank to subscribe.
frontierzone
post Oct 12 2012, 02:13 PM

735 posts

Found out that ctually any places can get u the units amount you want, it all depends on the willingness of the teller and the time (many ppl at bank queue or not). And it is not easy to get units by 1 try or even 10 tries, u need to find someone who willing to spend the time n energy for u, tht they r not busy (too many people), and their heart is willing to help. If not, it's doomed. Of course, if they click once, 90% won't return any success. It is very repetitive, keep on tapping and tapping to refresh, but if u found a willing teller, they can get you the units u want, within maybe 15-20 minutes, not in 1 transaction, but multiple transactions if your amount is large. Most of the time, the unwilling tellers will (in order of 'un-helpfulness'):
a) Try once and give u the easy answer "No Units". May even mock you for telling them to try amounts like 2k or 3k, bash you with liners like "You'd be lucky to get even 50 units!"
b) Try a couple of times, stops and then tell u no units.
c) Try harder than (b) until at least 1 transaction is successful, even if not up to the amt u want, just finish the transaction and ask u to fill up form.
d) Willing to try incrementally (multiple transactions) until it gets to the amount you want. Then only call you up to fill forms etc. (This is the really rare gems to seek for).

Of course, if you have connections, family/relatives working as tellers, it'd be so much easier, I saw stacks of ASW/ASM passbooks at one teller and I asked them, they said, it is for their staff only (probably family and relatives as well), they told me they don't provide outsiders the service to put your books thr and they try to search units for you.

frontierzone
post Oct 15 2012, 02:49 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Oct 14 2012, 09:20 PM)
Thanks for the feeback, but I was referring to the smaller amount that jack mentioned brows.gif
Really works for top-up online? (AS1M)?
Because I only have ASM, but it never allows subscription, despite many tries, which I concluded it to be a pre-coded message.

frontierzone
post Oct 16 2012, 07:30 AM

735 posts

QUOTE(jacklew77 @ Oct 15 2012, 09:38 PM)
It works for AS1M. ASM not sure. Gonna try it out later.
[attachmentid=3102411]
Good one, let us know if ASM works, I've been trying but never works.
On 1 note, what if we keyed in too large an amount and it fails, it seems RM1 is still debit regardless of success, correct me if wrong.

This post has been edited by frontierzone: Oct 16 2012, 07:31 AM
frontierzone
post Oct 16 2012, 11:09 AM

735 posts

As previously we shown the message from CIMB is:
ASM, ASD and ASW2020 fully subscribed. It doesn't mention about AS1M. Maybe they did not managed to put the Bumi or Non-Bumi restrictions on AS1M yet? So it works regardless of Bumi or Non-Bumi.
frontierzone
post Oct 23 2012, 11:04 AM

735 posts

Feel like a rip-off to be charging RM1 for unsuccessful transactions. Not only have they made it difficult for non-bumi to purchase, be it bank or online, but now they're charging for other miscelleneous things. This is supposed to be governments services to the public, by offering for public to invest, it has to at least be convenient and friendly to the people.

frontierzone
post Oct 23 2012, 09:57 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Oct 23 2012, 05:56 PM)
Like that de lo..
Bank always charge this and that.
Nowadays, even ATM machine has it own limitation for withdrawal per months to some bank.
It almost several years, ASNB never announced a new fund to the public, except Sara 1Malaysia, which is for household only. But still, the fund is invested into AS 1Malaysia.

Hopefully they will launch a new fund  rolleyes.gif
The economy is back on par nowadays.. they will only launch fund when economy is bad.. like that time the massive launching of ASNB products and then sukuk.. now all quiet down, not much hope for it, maybe a pre-election launch? But I personally don't think they will launch anytme soon.
frontierzone
post Nov 5 2012, 11:09 AM

735 posts

Quite troublesome, always need to go bank and try luck. And sometimes after uplifted FD at home, then go bank said no units, then money sit at savings again.
frontierzone
post Nov 5 2012, 01:34 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(jacklew77 @ Nov 5 2012, 11:22 AM)
Yeah, i agreed it is troublesome. But then, that's the process, what to do. Do it regularly, you will enjoy it :-). Meanwhile, I'm enjoying the top up process... :-) Once the amount is topped up, it is forever there and enjoy a > 5% return.
if got a bank few steps away from my house, i could go everyday.. hmm.gif
frontierzone
post Nov 5 2012, 03:14 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Nov 5 2012, 01:51 PM)
Hi frontierzone,

Bank normally do not wish to try for you after met you several times, not mentioned about trying it everyday. I'm sure they will shout at you if you go to their bank each days. Pos Office is the fastest way since queue will not take too long usually. It is better to top up via online services.
If want the best services, should go to PNB branch, i tried that before. even the counter officer told me it out of units, but they still tried to register each of these account for me to try luck that I don't have, each account, re-key my info which included full address.

That's my opinion.
Hmm, okay.. go to PNB/post office need to bring large cash amount, don't feel safe. Online services can? I think someone mentioned only AS1M can get through, the rest cannot.
frontierzone
post Nov 5 2012, 04:40 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(adolph @ Nov 5 2012, 04:36 PM)
Yup, the counter officer told me between all the fund for non-bumi, only AS1Malaysia which is the easiest fund to top up at the moment, but still full. Internet banking facility is available to all funds, but subjected to fund limitation. Wah, you want top up $10,000 above? you mentioned large cash, but kinda hard to top up with that amount since it already full quota, hopefully you're lucky
http://www.asnb.com.my/english/ebanking.htm
depends on hw much savings i have at the moment. maybe few 100 is ok to deposit thr..

This post has been edited by frontierzone: Nov 5 2012, 04:45 PM
frontierzone
post Nov 9 2012, 10:54 AM

735 posts

If given you have savings in some FDs, will u guys move maybe 80% of it to AS-type funds? The other 20% maybe reserve for emergency, due to FD has better liquidity, easily uplift via online, flexible months of tenure.

However despite AS-type funds 'guaranteed' at rm1 per unit, is this really safe in long run? maybe rules change etc. AS funds are also not PIDM guaranteed from what i read. But of course people can say the track record for multiple decades of AS is a testament to its yearly stable dividends, with previously even better yields.

frontierzone
post Nov 9 2012, 05:27 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(doneright @ Nov 9 2012, 03:09 PM)
how many uncles and aunties already book these people to top up for them? you'd be surprised how much commission a counter guy can earn from 'helping' these people. well that is experience, it may differ from one bank to another, and one place to another. just my experience
I hope I have an opportunity to hire these bank tellers to do it for me. I think is fair to give them some commission. It beats the heck out of consuming petrol and time to commute to banks, with no guarantees of securing any units. If I can put my book with them, and let them transact the allocation which I set out to pump into AS-funds, I would be very happy.

Added on November 9, 2012, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(adolph @ Nov 9 2012, 12:39 PM)
hmm, I normally asked banker to show it to me with their monitor, and after that, never queue in banks anymore.
it really clear mentioned at there, "unit sudah habis dilanggan" from their screen.
if you really want to try, probably could try top up via online, will be the best way to top up by yourself rather than banks, but chance are very low.
huh, u mean can just go and check first and see their monitor before you queue up? (i normally notice their monitor is positioned fixed under their counter, and one cannot see it without going into the teller's sitting place, which is not possible due to obvious fact that inside is a restricted area).

Also, i think the 'unit sudah habis dilanggan' message is just random. Just like u click a button of a program 'check for units', then return 'no more units', u click ok, then try again, might be got units after several times clicking the button, because it's very random users go and cash out their units, and is also random when is the moment we are at bank. I assume the teller will have to click that button right at the moment when some user cash out and return units to the pool, for the system to return a success message. Given the number of subscribers to those funds, I would guess at any random moment, someone cashes out. You just got to have to click it at the precise moment. Of course, there are certain peak hours etc, maybe when people go to banks around lunch time or smth, so the cashing out activities will probably spike a little. Bottom line is, if you have the entire day to try the system, I'm sure you can buy a lot of units.

Normally i go to bank, i notice the teller clicks the enter button 2 times, repeatedly, like "dot dot... dot dot... dot dot...." over and over, I assume is to click acknowledge no units, and then click again to try.

( if I could just take over their counter, I don't mind sitting there whole day to do the "dot dot...dot dot... dot dot...." to my heart's content... at least until my cash runs out or the Enter button spoils... rclxms.gif )

This post has been edited by frontierzone: Nov 9 2012, 07:33 PM

0.0428sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:26 AM