Planted Aquarium V8
applebee
Mar 18 2012, 12:14 AM

QUOTE(maxtrix @ Mar 17 2012, 02:31 AM) my CO2 tank empty yesterday. This afternoon went to Syarikat City to refill. Still RM12. after bring home, connected to hose, turn on the blue vale, only found out have leakage somewhere, can hear the gas leak sound. Got some gas come out from the joint the arrow pointed. Anybody can suggest what shall I do. Where can I send for repair/replace the valve. Roughly how much does it cost? [attachmentid=2741411] air leak from the joint between CO2 tank and the valve or your regulator? If at regulator, then have to change a new one.
applebee
Mar 23 2012, 12:11 PM

QUOTE(usermode @ Mar 23 2012, 12:36 AM) see, 300.. that's a number already  ...let's see what you can have in 300. Non-ADA Aquasoil = RM40 Rocks = RM100 Plants = RM30 Lighting = RM60 DIY CO2 = RM 10 HOB Filter = RM25 Saechem Excel = RM50 Small Fan (Optional) = RM35 = RM345 / RM315 (w/o fan). tadaa... iwagumi~ hu hu hu!!! minus the lighting and DIY CO2 = RM265 = pretty nice lowtech tank. woot~ p/s: this if i were you, otherp eople might have their own budgetting but sure something could come out..  usermode, How many pack of soil you put into your beautiful tank? all soil or putting a layer of holland at base?
applebee
Mar 26 2012, 02:06 AM

i just noticed that my rcs only tank got a lot of planaria and fast moving white insect (<1mm size).
how to get rid of them? I do not want to put No-Planaria. Can I put in 10 neon tetra or guppy to eat them?
no wonder my tank now got no snail... now only know they were cleared by planaria. Next planaria food will be my rcs, right?
applebee
Mar 28 2012, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(kurangak @ Mar 26 2012, 09:54 AM) fast moving white insect is copepods i think... but do planaria really eat snail?  That's what I guess. because before i removed neon tetra from the RCS tank, I found there were a lot of snails in my tank. Those snails only come out in dark, i normally see them come out after all light are off. manually remove only can reduce some qty. Then I removed all neon tetra from the tank, planaria started invade my shrimp tank. And to my surprise, I can't see a single snail now. Coincident?
applebee
Apr 1 2012, 09:06 PM

the 3rd one is it water sprite? i used to have it, but grow emerged in my 2ft tank. eventually throw it to outdoor tank ...
applebee
Apr 2 2012, 01:08 AM

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Apr 1 2012, 10:01 PM) Wanna ask, My CO2 tank after refill 1day and now nearly empty as I close the valve still hear gas sound leak from safety device. Bottom tank is iced.  What is the problem? What can I do to stop it leak? Where did u send for refill? I had experienced the similar situation last month when I sent my tank for refill in Syarikat City Corp in Tmn Sg Besi. Heard leaking sound near the valve when i turn it on. I brought it back few days later, and the kind uncle help me to fix it. And the best thing is, the fix done perfectly and FOC. The uncle in second Pic. http://theidiotspost.blogspot.com/2009/04/...in-need-of.html
applebee
Apr 2 2012, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(flipmode @ Apr 2 2012, 07:49 AM) err..i saw at ace hardware. there's 2 type of it. 36x1 and 36x2. How much ACE sell the 36x1 and 36x2 e-ballast? do they sell 55w e-ballast too?
applebee
Apr 4 2012, 01:45 AM

one question about E-Ballast:
To replace the E-ballast for my PLL light, is it any E-ballast can be used as long as the wattage is enough, or need to find the E-ballast designated for PLL?
applebee
Apr 4 2012, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 4 2012, 01:29 PM) kantoi then..BBA..hmm..who i need to recruit beside sending in a troop of yamato (<- i see i also scared)  clean your filter as well. Added on April 4, 2012, 6:13 pmQUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 4 2012, 02:39 PM) @arrow, inside my room, near to window. Which fan you are referring? room floor or tank fan? Could it be the change in sun light effect? the direction the sun light change a bit in different month. maybe now ngam ngam bring the heat toward your tank, otherwise, temp wouldn't change so much. This post has been edited by applebee: Apr 4 2012, 06:13 PM
applebee
Apr 29 2012, 12:25 AM

Sang, starting a shrimp tank soon? what shrimp u plan to put? If u mange to meet the seller in seremban, can tumpang collect the 2213 for me?  (if I mange to seal the deal with him). QUOTE(sang gemok @ Apr 28 2012, 11:43 PM) i will setup the 2ft curved tank for my shrimp tank.hohoho. currently searching for a second hand 2ft lighting.huhu
applebee
Apr 29 2012, 12:59 AM

never been to nan yang sea view singapore...
Hard to say whether the canister is in good condition. But if it is 1 year old Eheim, should can trust...
I am trying to grab some grade A CRS tomorrow. see whether they can survive in my current tank.
applebee
Apr 29 2012, 01:18 AM

QUOTE(Malformed @ Apr 28 2012, 07:25 PM) Thanks for your info  Aiming for an economical one, potting soil refers to the the normal soil we can get from our garden? If for example I want to start out just to grow a single plant. Can I just use potting soil to try it? If, after growing a plant, is it possible to drain out the water from a planted tank, filter the plant from the soil and redo the whole thing?  For my 2ft tank, I only put base fert and holland sand. Water sprite and HM can grow very well. Moss and pelia also no problem. If u have limited budget, may just go for easy to maintain plant, but kena rajin trim them. my HM flooded and have to throw 2 palm full once a month. Just try. It may not grow nice at the beginning, once the tank stabilise, it should be fine. Good luck.
applebee
May 5 2012, 02:11 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ May 5 2012, 01:22 AM) When to The Pet Family Warehouse Sale today ! even i'm sick. below is the goodies i brought , all at 50% off  more picture to follow... Arrow, how much is the soil? are they 3L pack or 9L pack?
applebee
May 13 2012, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(flipmode @ May 12 2012, 09:36 PM) why so quite today....testing DIY diffuser...huhu..rate less than 1bps... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « flipmode, what material you use to make this diffuser? how you do it?
applebee
May 14 2012, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(flipmode @ May 14 2012, 10:37 AM) using chopstick, slice half of it. it become super diffuser. true true true..was modifying my diffuser..this is temporary only... i tried using chpostick b4, but the bubble ain't fine enough.maybe i use the cheapo disposable chopstick.
applebee
May 15 2012, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(flipmode @ May 15 2012, 09:13 AM) i use cheapo chopstick as well, how to make a fine bubble? cut 45 degree your chopstick, then press the 45 degree surface and gosok them at lantai or wall..roll the chopstick to lantai or wall several time to make it more compact . you will have super fine bubble...haha oh, that's the trick