Note the in game steering is bugged. The steering turning angle is too small in the replay.
Racing Project CARS, Slightly Mad Studios
Oct 15 2014, 02:14 PM
4,852 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Note the in game steering is bugged. The steering turning angle is too small in the replay. |
Oct 19 2014, 01:02 AM
I have access to the current build.
The game is feature complete but they do need time to get the optimisation and the UI right. It is fairly unoptimised at the moment and some parts of the UI, mainly the pitstop is quite rough. It is not exactly due to competition but more like if they release it next month, you'll get a game that might need to be patched a lot. The game will not be scaled down so you'll still get the day night cycle, rain weather that affects your handling, pitstop with race strategy, flags systems and so on, along with 40+ tracks and 60+ cars. So, it is very unlikely to have another Watch Dog syndrome again. |
Oct 19 2014, 02:12 AM
QUOTE(maranello55 @ Oct 19 2014, 01:58 AM) Yup ive tried build 830 as well. Not major issues...little2 things like replays and stuff. I had some optimisation isses, as if there is a memory leak or something. It was smooth 60, then drop to 20 for a few seconds and go back up to 60.Things left to see is netcode and hosting. The dedicated servers needs a lot more work, and I think they also need to fix the awkward pit UI. Still can make it for November if they want but i think it still need patches. Consoles, I dont know as they havent been showing much. I guess consoles are having optimisation issues. |
Nov 22 2014, 10:35 AM
Project CARS preorder now up. Release date is 20 March 2015.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/234630 |
Nov 23 2014, 02:45 AM
QUOTE(charkoteow3 @ Nov 23 2014, 01:05 AM) I had access to the developers forums and also played the game.If you are a hardcore racing fan, you might like this game. Performance wise is pretty good and its pretty fun to play at its current stage but the reason they delay is that they could not bring all the cars up to their standards for physics and FFB. And also some of the UI are bugged till now. And there are some reoccurring bugs that used to plagued the game. I am going to preorder as I know these guys will deliver a decent product at the end. |
Nov 23 2014, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(charkoteow3 @ Nov 23 2014, 02:01 PM) Tu la. Never have I felt so heartbroken right after Rome 2: Total War. At its current state, i think its a good racing game as each car is very different from each other. Like a Mercedes Benz SLS feels very different from the FIA GT3 version. The GT3 version feels a lot more grippy and easier to drive due to the aero improvements while the road version is a lot more "wild" because it has little aero improvements and also road tires Also, the road version also inherit the tail happy characteristics from the real car where the back of the car tend to slide a lot more. They managed to bring that into the game.Not really an enthusiast but my big brother is. Currently looking for games that we can play together like we used to. Will be looking forward for your feedback on the game after launch pCARS is being consulted with about half a dozen of real life race drivers where a lot of them knows whats wrong with the current racing games in the market. So, they thrive to bring the racing experience they had on the track into the game. It should drive pretty good but I am still concern about the force feedback as it is still not up to par with other racing games. pCARS is not perfect by any means but it does has strengths over other racing games. |
Feb 22 2015, 12:36 PM
It is just a 2 weeks delay due to distribution issue. The game is largely done with no major bug so far.
This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 22 2015, 02:30 PM |
Feb 24 2015, 06:03 PM
May 6 2015, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(coolkwc @ May 5 2015, 11:23 PM) Just now went to dvd shop and bought the *ahem* version. The graphics not as nice as video shown leh, i think this game is Nvidia camp (can see Nvidia GTX banner inside the intro), AA quite poor in my 290, can see the teeth around the car, and the tree shadow also not looking good....control wise, quite decent, it support 900' of my Driving Force GT wheel (the in game steering did respond to my wheel turn), force feedback is good in default. Alot of customization in terms of graphics option and weather effect, too much in my opinion, the weather got haze, cloud, light cloud, light haze with light rain, heavy haze with light rain....>10 if not mistaken. Because you bought the pirated version that is based on the October 2014 leaked build. The AI was very buggy in the leaked build and the FFB is quite terrible because they were overhauling it that time. The game looks pretty dull in the mid day like almost every racing game, I usually play it on dusk or dawn when the game looks the best or if your PC can take it, start the game with x60 weather transition, the game looks stunning.Total need around 17GB storage to install the game. Still love the Grid Autosport graphic and gameplay even after playing this game. I think overall it still need alot of polishes. I played the gold build on a Lenovo Y450, it looked amazing and plays extremely well at 40 to 60 fps. Also, shame on you. Can afford a PC but still pirate a game. This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 6 2015, 01:22 PM |
May 6 2015, 06:42 PM
Surprisingly, the reviews are quite good. Internally, it is around 85.5% so far.
Seemed like there is a market for racing games like this. Hopefully the user feedback are also as positive as the reviews. |
May 7 2015, 09:00 PM
May 8 2015, 11:00 AM
May 8 2015, 01:37 PM
May 8 2015, 01:42 PM
May 8 2015, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(Darkz01 @ May 8 2015, 02:47 PM) really tempted to buy but why the circuit and car list machiam tak banyak je... It has the most tracks among all racing games but car list wise, it is more diverse than having the most cars. Each are tuned to be quite different.also is it me or the handling macam agak off... feels like input lag or something... Are you using gamepad or wheel? Input lag should be history by now. If you are using gamepad, change to Mode 2 in the setting, it is more twitchy than Mode 3. |
May 8 2015, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(Darkz01 @ May 8 2015, 03:58 PM) using gamepad... Mode 3 is really bad for me. It feels like I am driving a truck. The way they handle default setups is pretty terrible IMO but once you get over the initial configurations, its a pretty good game.alright will try mode 2 setting... and yes each car feels different... so far tested r8 lms, zonda and lancer evo all feels different in handling... and its better than grid autosport thats for sure in terms of handling and physics... autosport sometimes feels and see like the car is surfing on the road lol... anyway... what is the problem that majority AMD user is facing?? mine can play fine without any problem... AMD users having low FPS issues cause SMS sent 20 keys for AMD to optimise for the release build a while ago and they did not optimise their drivers for it. Apparently a 660Ti can pump out more fps than a r290. Do remember to get updated drivers if you are using AMD. |
May 9 2015, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 8 2015, 08:21 PM) Err few ppl in ocn are running fine with 290/7970 etc. I dont understand why you keep saying that AMD cards has no issue. AMD cards can run the game but at far lower performance than it is supposed to be.But generally the start of the race u will see low fps. Later on n replay the same track no issue. Bug?? See the begin of that vid i posted. Initially theres was a drop to 3x fps. Then later all back to arnd 60 throughout the race. Btw the fake reloaded copy has issue. I had higher tdp. Ori was back to normal. Just saying. There is a modded Windows 10 drivers that will boost the performance of AMD cards in pCARS by 25 to 50%. The current Windows 7 and 8 drivers are not remotely optimised for it. The head studio also confirmed that AMD issues are true and AMD is working on it. And if you are pirating the game, please keep it to yourself. |
May 9 2015, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 9 2015, 10:52 AM) Bought it dude. Read properly next time n the reason y the pirate test. Also theres a screenshot of ownership. 2nd vid check n the drivers profile name. You were talking about the pirated build in your previous post. If you had pirated a game, keep it to your self. It is not permitted in the Rules and Regulaitons of the forum. And most pirated builds are based on October 2014 build even when released build is cracked, you are getting a buggy build that isnt representative of the game at all. That build has many bugs from rendering lag, FFB, physics and so on. In ocn. Check there as i said. Few ppl have no issue. So far yesterday they tested n saw its a powerlimit issue on stock amd cards. They raised it 120% n got a massive boost. N for nvidia.. I has the same issue. This is thr first game that was hitting my powerlimit likd i was benching 3dmark. Nvidia fixed it few hours after that with a different profile. Also ppl who wc their amd cards since that reduced the temps hence affects the pl limit were getting good frame rates. There are hardware noobs who post online complaining n there are this crazy ass rigs in ocn. The later seems to have no issue. The head studio is not testing cards. Just reading reports n comments. They were sponsered n given free nvidia cards. They just design the game via the api. Hence y its amd driver issue. If u didnt notice. Y maxwell benches are oced with raised pl while keplers are not. Really dont believe benchmark nowadays. All rushed by noobs to get web views n ad earnings. Poor performance on AMD GPUs is a widespread issue in the live build. It is confirmed to be an issue that SMS is looking to resolve next week. If people cant get it running at comparable level to similar nVidia hardware, then it has to be fixed. Not tweaking your whatever power levels or looking at benchmarks. There are cases that r290 running pCARS on 30fps on medium which is completely unacceptable. Head of Studio does not test hardware but it is his responsibility to get the game fixed. It was a severe issue that the head of studio had to clarify it to the backers to let us know whats happening behind the scene. There is a large population of unhappy AMD owners that their hardware is running the game at poor frame rates. At least the modded Windows 10 drivers does alleviate the issue. AMD dropped the ball this time as SMS had sent them dozens of almost gold builds and they did nothing with it since October last year. Until only people started complaining, they only started to develop a driver for the game after release. QUOTE(M1X @ May 9 2015, 12:39 PM) Hi guys... from some car list or circuit list online I see the game didn't offer some popular choices. No Lambo, not even Porche, no Nissan, no Japanese tracks, no Sepang... for real? If you are concern about car list, I am sorry to say that the game isnt for you. It is designed to be a racing game foremost, not having the widest selection of manufacturer. No unlocks, no grinding, you just start the game and race with any car you like that is tuned to be different from other cars in the game. It is more like Grid Autosport but with a much expanded driving physics. This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 9 2015, 04:49 PM |
May 22 2015, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ May 21 2015, 03:27 PM) https://www.reddit.com/r/pcmasterrace/comme...idia_gameworks/ I ran pCARS on a 5870 Mobility since 2011 and I rarely had FPS issues outside optimisation issues that nvidia users also get. The main problem is the newer drivers that ran like garbage on pCARS but older drivers ran fine where AMD completely ignored optimising their drivers for pCARS.Pretty telling who's at fault and who's greedy here. Gimped their older gen cards, crippled their competitor's. The whole physics and rendering engine is written from scratch that does not use any Gameworks features. It is not dependent on what GPU you use as the physics calculations are offload onto the CPU while renderer uses platform neutral codes. The only thing that uses PhysX is collision and objects flying off the ground that is designed to be CPU bound. PhysX offers barely anything that can be used by pCARS as PhysX does not cover any sort of tire contact or aerodynamic physics which is why they had to write the entire physics engine from scratch. The game is based on ISI gMotor engine that covers many aspect of the game where PhysX and Gameworks has little to offer in a racing game. The only reason why pCARS is listed as Gameworks title is because they wanted to use a PhysX specific feature called Apex Turbulance to further improve fluid effects visually. That was canned early last year. Since the consoles also ran on AMD based hardware, why is it only the PC version having so much issues with AMD hardware? Then, AMD is now saying that nVidia is deliberately gimping their hardware in Witcher 3 based on an optional Hairworks features. AMD has a history of blaming other parties for their incompetence where now I stopped buying their hardware after almost spending RM6k on a piece of 4kg paper weight. This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 22 2015, 05:43 PM |
May 23 2015, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(nakal_mode @ May 22 2015, 09:04 PM) Except none of these came from AMD, all of these are from users on Reddit and Geforce forum. Some user on Geforce forum even rollback the driver and magically obtain higher performance in Project Cars. AMD users on the other hand confirmed that they notice excessive smoke effect from tires that points for Physx is activated and can't be turned off. There are tonnes of misleading information surrounding pCARS such as misleading statements that it is an arcade game or it is made with the same Shift 2 engine.Unlike PC, consoles have a fixed set of hardware where developers can optimize for so the developer can optimize for that specific set of hardware only which still does not applies to PC. If the developers are dumb enough to mess up their console version imagine how big the financial disaster it is going to cause. CDPR also confirmed that they cannot optimize Hairworks to run on AMD while Nvidia happily use the code provided by AMD to optimize TressFX and CHS for their card to the point that it is running as good as it is on AMD cards. In the future, PC is going to be the new consoles with games locked to run only on AMD or Nvidia cards if this continues, so think twice before you say it is OK and it is always AMD's fault. The only thing that uses physicX in pCARS is collision. Smoke effects are designed by SMS themselves that was never fully optimised without performance hit. There used to be an even better smoke effects early on but it was removed because it is much harder to optimise than the current one. It is the same with weather where it received less optimisation through out development where I had seen people falsely claimed that it is tied to Gameworks for some odd reasons. It is not and there is an official statement by SMS that the game only uses PhysX for collision. pCARS is a fairly demanding game to begin with due to the high physics calculations rate that the game employs and also large amount of light source. At the same time, it doesnt make sense for an independent company to deliberately cripple AMD to limit their own sales to nVidia. Then, drawing a lot criticism on how bad their game runs. What benefits that SMS get from this? Other than lower sales and bad PR. AMD had been incompetent all these times where every time a new game comes out, AMD had to take a few weeks to get their drivers out while nVidia actively pursue to work with developers to optimised the game early on. nVidia even provided free marketing for pCARS early on when they could not afford any form of marketing because they see potential in the game. AMD on the other hand never really cares about them. Even after the game had gone gold and SMS sent them 20 keys to optimise their drivers for that game, AMD did not even reply their emails since October last year. AMD do not care about pCARS at all where the game is out for almost 3 weeks, they cant even bother to release their driver for that game. At the same time, why should I buy products from a company that incompetent in almost every way? I had old AMD GPUs that does not have updated drivers when similar or older nVidia GPU still has driver support. Or the worse thing where the PC I bought that was shipped with a bugged BIOS for the AMD GPU that took the manufacturers almost 6 months to a year to fix them. In the mean time, AMD is busy playing victim that the manufacturers did not designed the GPU properly instead of working with them to fix it. In addition to that, there are AMD Gaming sponsored games like Saints Row 3 and 4 that ran poorly on AMD GPUs when nVidia still managed to run the game with higher FPS. nVidia is unethical but I rather go with them than an incompetent company. |
| Change to: | 0.0360sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:51 PM |