Streamyx Want To Apply To StreamyX, Own Modem ? Cheaper ?, or use their's ?

TSbmbk
post Dec 2 2005, 03:18 PM, updated 20y ago

279 posts

Want to apply to streamy next month, want to do analysis first.

i am thinking of getting the RM66 and use own modem. if the modem is their's it's RM77.

Is it like that ?

i am staying in Bandar Sunway and will any ADSL modem will do ? even it's not in their certified list ? who will come and still the connection or can do ourself ?

pengyew
post Dec 2 2005, 03:25 PM

51 posts

u can do setting yrself & save up RM 88 - installation charges.

RM 66 u can use yr own modem as far as is a DSL modem.

PM me if u wanna register, i can help u out, if everything is fine, should be ready within 1 week time.

cheer...
Piteng
post Dec 2 2005, 03:30 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(pengyew @ Dec 2 2005, 03:25 PM)
u can do setting yrself & save up RM 88 - installation charges.

RM 66 u can use yr own modem as far as is a DSL modem.

PM me if u wanna register, i can help u out, if everything is fine, should be ready within 1 week time.

cheer...
how 2 install by myself? i've never install ADSL, dial-up all the time cry.gif is it the same like installing dial-up?

pengyew
post Dec 2 2005, 03:34 PM

51 posts

if u use a ADSL modem (no router), is really simple setup up, just like normal dial-up setting.

but everytime u need to do the connection after u switch on yr PC.

if u wanna setup that when u switch on the PC straight away get connected, u need a modem with rounter.
kb2005
post Dec 2 2005, 03:51 PM

Yahoo!
17,847 posts

You can get better MODEM outside with the price they offer. I prefer own MODEM.
Hattori
post Dec 2 2005, 03:53 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

QUOTE(pengyew @ Dec 2 2005, 03:34 PM)
if u wanna setup that when u switch on the PC straight away get connected, u need a modem with rounter.
Not neccesarily true.

You need an ADSL modem with built-in dailer software (not the ones using WinPOET or USB type ADSL modem).

Like my case, I have a D-Link DSL-300G ADSL modem.
This model is not a router, but it has built-in dailer and DHCP server and it uses LAN cable connection (non-USB).

But since the DSL-300G is already obsolete (replaced by DSL-500T), most if not all the ADSL modem with built-in dailer nowadays are modem/router combo.
btfan
post Dec 2 2005, 04:05 PM

Lowyat.NET #1 Fan
1,292 posts

I have a Modem Router certified by TMnet for streamyx usage. PM if interested.
dwijadas
post Dec 2 2005, 04:12 PM

713 posts

If you can go for RM77, Its good package but you sign agreement for 2 yrs.

Some of the member in this forum has mentioned that they terminated their connection before completing one year without paying extra. If its true then I think you also ignore this 2 year agreement matter.

If not,go for RM66 pack.

Buy any modem router your own ( if you can afford buy modem router with 4 port LAN,the best. Today you have only 1PC for sure next 1 yr you will have a notebook then you can use both) price are not much difference.

You can opt for self installation. Just get any of your friend who have little knowledge of their own Streamyx connection. they can help. Only problem I faced is when I opt for own installation,I had to run behind TM Point ppl..call call call.. to connect my line to DSL port. If agent means they followup and get it done in 1-2 day. If you do your own it takes week,it happend with me.but you saved 88,you can invest that in buying good router.

hope this helps. Keep us posted. if any problem in installing.
alvinool
post Dec 2 2005, 04:12 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Dec 2 2005, 03:53 PM)
Not neccesarily true.

You need an ADSL modem with built-in dailer software (not the ones using WinPOET or USB type ADSL modem).

Like my case, I have a D-Link DSL-300G ADSL modem.
This model is not a router, but it has built-in dailer and DHCP server and it uses LAN cable connection (non-USB).

But since the DSL-300G is already obsolete (replaced by DSL-500T), most if not all the ADSL modem with built-in dailer nowadays are modem/router combo.
for ur information - any modem out there can be set 2 become a router modem, even those provided by streamyx..all u need is the user name and password onli....
Archaven
post Dec 2 2005, 04:17 PM

It isn't Death you should be afraid of
1,201 posts

I don't know but i bought my own modem and use the 66 package. Well it suxs since the lightning striked and my modem is kong... so i have to buy a new one :S
alvinool
post Dec 2 2005, 04:20 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(bmbk @ Dec 2 2005, 03:18 PM)
Want to apply to streamy next month, want to do analysis first.

i am thinking of getting the RM66 and use own modem. if the modem is their's it's RM77.

Is it like that ?

i am staying in Bandar Sunway and will any ADSL modem will do ? even it's not in their certified list ? who will come and still the connection or can do ourself ?
now got promotion for rm77 package..u can get 1mbps for rm77 with free modem..but tie for 2 year..b4 rm77 is onli 512kbps with modem...

but 1 thing suck about streamyx...i use for 1 year ++ so my 1 year tie is over..but they still continue charging u even they disabale ur account n email if u dun pay for 2 months..
if u dun call 2 terminate..they still continue charging....wtf...
TSbmbk
post Dec 2 2005, 04:25 PM

279 posts

Ok, Confused over so many modem, some with routher, some without,

some cannot straight connect to internet, some always connect.

c3ksam
post Dec 2 2005, 05:49 PM

freaks
650 posts

it is more save money if you get your own modem....... nowadays a ADSL modem only cost below RM150. Consider u use it on the long run, it is more worth it.

the modem that can direct connect to the internet is router, some with 4 port switch, means that u can share your internet connection with your roommate or etc.....

This post has been edited by c3ksam: Dec 2 2005, 05:51 PM
scorps
post Dec 3 2005, 12:04 AM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

QUOTE(c3ksam @ Dec 2 2005, 06:49 PM)
it is more save money if you get your own modem....... nowadays a ADSL modem only cost below RM150. Consider u use it on the long run, it is more worth it.

the modem that can direct connect to the internet is router, some with 4 port switch, means that u can share your internet connection with your roommate or etc.....
i also think that you should have your own modem..
more cheaper for a long time use... thumbup.gif
scam^artist
post Dec 3 2005, 02:53 AM

23 posts

dont regist la. waste of time
Icehart
post Dec 3 2005, 10:59 AM

14,897 posts

I prefer own modem.

You see ah..those tmnet uncle ho's modem caplang modem. My friend always exchange once at least 4 months shakehead.gif
karhoe
post Dec 3 2005, 11:18 AM

6,238 posts

get own modem, register ur self, just read the manual provided with the modem and call 1300-88-9515 (tmnet cust interaction centre) and go to the technical support, ask those technician guide u lor, if u realli cant.
Darkmage12
post Dec 3 2005, 03:07 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 3 2005, 10:59 AM)
I prefer own modem.

You see ah..those tmnet uncle ho's modem caplang modem. My friend always exchange once at least 4 months  shakehead.gif
ya dun get tmnet modem all china brand ...
jack2
post Dec 3 2005, 03:19 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Nowadays, the modem given by tmnet is Aztech 600E. not bad le...

zytel modem also not bad.!
Darkmage12
post Dec 3 2005, 03:23 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 3 2005, 03:19 PM)
Nowadays, the modem given by tmnet is Aztech 600E. not bad le...

zytel modem also not bad.!
do they gif aztech 600E? i thought only last time got now no more ? i think only some contractor give 600E

0.0168sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:30 PM