Repraps and DIY 3D Printing!, Open source hardware~

QwikFab
post Jan 31 2014, 12:44 PM

In the year of the Horse, we would like to wish everyone a very Happy Chinese New Year; Gong Xi Fa Cai!

From the team of QwikFab, now available in Malaysia!

This post has been edited by QwikFab: Feb 3 2014, 04:18 PM
QwikFab
post Feb 3 2014, 04:13 PM

Just sharing some pictures that were printed using QwikFab PLA Filaments, will continually add more pictures as we go along!

QwikFab Crimson Blood Red PLA Filament

QwikFab Acai Purple PLA Filament

QwikFab 1.75mm Bright White PLA Filament
QwikFab
post Feb 27 2014, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Feb 15 2014, 08:41 PM)
What is the website for Malaysia? I plan to get some PLA filament, but it is shipping from Singapore.
Sorry I had not replied earlier, though I have received and completed your order. For the benefit of others, the website for Malaysia is the same. Simply set the delivery destination to Malaysia when checking out and presto.

Currently the total cost of one spool of QwikFab Filament inclusive of domestic shipping (we are located in both Singapore and Malaysia) is about 123 Ringgit.
QwikFab
post Feb 27 2014, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Feb 27 2014, 01:06 PM)
I am printing my first object with your filament now smile.gif No time to test it until today
No picture no talk! Please do share with us what you're printing smile.gif
QwikFab
post Feb 28 2014, 04:06 AM

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Feb 27 2014, 11:58 PM)
Printing the single wall calibration at 0.2mm.

It was printed at 190 Degree Celsius, not sure it is the best temperature though. Overall, the filament is in good quality, the width is around 1.72-1.74mm. No problem stick on the hot bed, I tested with brim and without brim.

Hopefully you guys can start a base in Malaysia, so that the shipping cost could be further reduce smile.gif
Is your flickr set to private? It's not viewable to me. Nevertheless thank you for your vote of confidence, much appreciated. smile.gif

We operate in both Singapore and Johor, and intend to go big on Malaysia. Reducing the cost of handling and shipping in spite of the high weight is one of our top priorities for Malaysia, so stay tuned.
QwikFab
post Feb 28 2014, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(QwikFab @ Feb 28 2014, 04:06 AM)
Is your flickr set to private? It's not viewable to me. Nevertheless thank you for your vote of confidence, much appreciated. smile.gif

We operate in both Singapore and Johor, and intend to go big on Malaysia. Reducing the cost of handling and shipping in spite of the high weight is one of our top priorities for Malaysia, so stay tuned.
That said, we are open to suggestions if anyone knows of any affordable and reliable courier service for domestic Malaysia. We are very involved with 3D printing communities and do listen suggestions and feedback.

In fact we have just launched an ABS Testers Program, due to feedback from our customers who wish to use ABS. One interested party is even from Japan.

If anybody wishes to be part of the program (you will have to pay for domestic shipping), do let us know by emailing sales@qwikfab.com and do mention that you are from Malaysia. The discounts on our QwikFab PLA Filament will be available to you as well. smile.gif

This post has been edited by QwikFab: Feb 28 2014, 04:58 PM
QwikFab
post Mar 2 2014, 03:35 AM

QUOTE(cognac @ Feb 28 2014, 08:18 PM)
interested to try ABS filament.
Shoot us an email at sales@qwikfab.com cognac, as per the instructions in the graphic smile.gif
QwikFab
post Mar 5 2014, 06:42 PM

Check out our coolest color yet: Steel Blue QwikFab PLA Filament

Putting the cherry on top for testers in our "ABS Testers Program", our ABS testers will have priority access to Steel Blue, which will only be publicly available at a later date. So sign up for our ABS Testers Program now! Shoot us an email at sales@qwikfab.com. More details at the post above and link.

Please note: Stocks are limited and capped at one spool per tester. Oh and by the way, the existing one time S$34 discount offer on our range of QwikFab PLA Filaments applies to Steel Blue PLA Filament as well (for our ABS Testers only)

Please note that shipping charges will apply for our Malaysian Testers. Please see our Facebook Page for more info.
QwikFab
post Apr 12 2014, 02:17 AM

Hey guys, just thought I put up some recent pictures uploaded on our facebook page.

3D Printed injection molding UV masking jig (32cm long) using Steel Blue PLA Filament for a Malaysian Client

A 3D printed teapot and hammer in QwikFab Crystal Clear PLA by Singapore National Institute of Education

This post has been edited by QwikFab: Apr 12 2014, 02:17 AM
QwikFab
post Apr 21 2014, 11:34 PM

Huge 3D printed hydroponic ferris wheel and robotic arm using QwikFab®'s Ocean Blue PLA, printed by Temasek Polytechnic; School of Engineering

QwikFab
post Jun 12 2014, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(altan @ Jun 12 2014, 01:20 PM)
Congrats, you can now get very nice prints.  icon_rolleyes.gif

You could try printing replacement parts in PLA for now but you might have to reinforce the joints or thicken certain parts to make it mechanically strong. I recommend printing at 0.1 mm for better lamination strength and at 50% or more fill to strengthen the part. I have printed gears and chains using PLA and so far it is mechanically strong. I don't recommend heavy loads or anything that an create a strong shock to the part. An example is a Z axis coupler I made for my printer in thingiversebecause my printer came with a broken aluminum coupler so have to design and print on another printer using PLA. I am still using it till today and also slowly improving on the design as well.

If you don't mind mixing different materials with your existing hotend then you could get an ABS reel and try it out and let us know more about it.
Just a little tip if you are coming from ABS back to PLA you will want to purge the system before you try printing again. Because ABS typically processes at 210 and upwards, when you extrude in PLA you will want to set the temperature at the same or slightly higher temperature that you would for ABS to make sure you have all the ABS bits out of the hot end and nozzle. If not there will be a high chance of clogging.

You may have to purge for quite an amount. The best is to bath the hot end and nozzle in acetone, but I would recommend simply using two different hot ends, each one dedicated for one material only.

Best,
QwikFab
QwikFab
post Jun 12 2014, 11:07 PM

This is a late entry and I do apologise as we are often caught up with prototyping, researching and developing new technologies that we miss out on sharing with the community on what we've been up to!

We recently unveiled the first few large 3D printed objects that came fresh off their prototype 3D printer 'Beast' to display the potential of 3D printing and practicality in art, industrial, commercial it's endless applications and possibilities. The printer can print about 30cm by 30cm by 60cm on dual extruders. As we all know, using dual extruders mean smaller build volume and that is something that people often don't reveal and let you realise on your own.

Video link: Makers' Meetup at Singapore Polytechnic 29 April 2014

Video link: Life Sized Prosthetic Leg Print

This post has been edited by QwikFab: Jun 13 2014, 12:35 AM
QwikFab
post Jun 13 2014, 12:34 AM

QUOTE(DarkTenno @ Jun 12 2014, 11:07 PM)
Thanks, That what I decided to do, sourcing a new hotend and printing a direct drive extruder, now I just need to find a local vendor selling 1.75mm ABS hotend smile.gif, stepper motor & http://3dprinter.my/, to bad they only have 3mm hotend, my ABS filament 1.75mm just arrive but due to bad packing plastic vacuum wrap punctured  vmad.gif hope it will last before I got the chance to use it
We do provide hot ends, it is an all metal hot end with PTFE tube in the barrel because PTFE has a very low coefficient of friction which encourages the filament to extrude and retract easily and minimises jamming. It is available in 1.75mm and we provide domestic shipping within Malaysia to save cost.

We've just been waiting to launch it off our website with a pending revamp. Do send me an email at raymondluo@qwikfab.com if you are interested in the hot end. It will cost about RM130 (or SGD50) and for this time only we will waive shipping (in malaysia only) for the hot end only. Please note we do not supply wires, thermistor and heating cartridges, it is for the hot end only.

This is a picture of the aluminium hot end.

QwikFab
post Jun 13 2014, 12:43 AM

QUOTE(altan @ Jun 13 2014, 12:24 AM)
I was just wondering about dual extruders, won't the doubled weight from the hotend and direct drive stepper motor lead to a much reduced printing speed, say less than 40 mm/s, as the weight would cause severe backlashing at high printing speeds. I know the solution to this is to implement bowden drive but the print quality would severely degrade with the length of the bowden tube while the high hotend temp would lead to poor bridging and slope formation.
That is true, more weight on the moving axises can cause backlashing and reduced printing speed. But if you've noticed in our video link above, for our 3D printer, we don't use rails typically used in consumer desktop or reprap based 3D printers. smile.gif

With regard to the issue of weight, lead screw driven 3D printers will benefit from the rigidity and is more suitable for carrying more weight e.g. multiple direct drive extruders when compared to using GT2 timing belts for reprap printers.

For the reasons you've already mentioned, bowden will come with many compromises for lowering weight and will also probably not be able to successfully print using flexible filaments as well.
QwikFab
post Jun 13 2014, 01:40 PM

QUOTE(altan @ Jun 13 2014, 12:57 AM)
Since you have a rigid setup using some really thick rails, why don't you try the Kraken, the quad E3D extruder? I want to get that but its way out of my budget.  tongue.gif

It will probably be a good try if your controller board comes with extra extruder, heater and thermistor connectors.  biggrin.gif
While I am certain we would have no issues using the Kraken, even using direct drive extruders, having four hot ends doesn't necessarily mean that it is four times more useful than having two. It for a specialised bunch of users who will really find the need for it unless they really just want to print in 4 colours.

Btw, you might want to check our other video below, we have our own extruder- which is also dual pinch. Some have even gone so far as to nickname it the filament straightener.

Video Link: QwikFab Extruder
QwikFab
post Jun 23 2014, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(altan @ Jun 20 2014, 02:18 PM)
If you need a nearby local distributor, checkout @storm88 post http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2862182, though I have not tried theirs yet, but If you need any below RM 100, then Qwikfab from Singapore supplies PLA filaments too. I bought some of their filaments but have not tried it yet as I was busy leasing my printer for some events but visually it looks good.
Thanks for the preliminary recommendation altan, when you do try it out please let me know how it goes smile.gif
QwikFab
post Jun 28 2014, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(DarkTenno @ Jun 23 2014, 05:23 PM)
do you have glow in the dark filament biggrin.gif, I looking for a spool need to print something for my daughter  thumbup.gif
We do have glow in the dark filament, we just haven't retailed it off yet because we still in the midst of testing it. smile.gif You are keen to have an early tester's batch- hit me a PM.

By the way, are there any 3D printing makerspaces in KL?

0.0443sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:26 AM