Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

sky03
post Nov 27 2014, 10:17 PM

257 posts

hi guys im new here. just wondering if any1 manage to make a raspberry pi hotspot modem? i m interested to use this with my yes4g dongle... if any1 could help me? much appreciate.. thanks smile.gif
sky03
post Nov 28 2014, 06:36 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Ubitap @ Nov 28 2014, 10:34 AM)
can u help me with this one? the guide doenst seem so clear... how to compile gctwimax n etc @_@
sky03
post Nov 29 2014, 04:00 PM

257 posts

i heard dat if we abruptly turn off pi it will corrupt the sd card? is it true?
anyone here did a DIY safe shutdown or off button for their pi? please guide n share here. thanks very much
sky03
post Dec 4 2014, 07:49 PM

257 posts

hey guys so i tried use my raspi model B+ and compile the gctwimax as per instruction from this site https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sourc...question/195514

however at the end i got an error wen i try use my yes4g dongle n it says Drive /dev/sr0 does not contain audio
so in the end i cant even connect to internet using my yes4g dongle coz of this... if any sifu willing to help me i m really appreciate... thanks in advanced smile.gif
sky03
post Dec 4 2014, 09:49 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Dec 4 2014, 09:43 PM)
How much amp , watt is your power supply?

Have you tested on all the USB ports?
yup tried all 4 usb ports still same result.... i use an external power pack 10000 mah with 1A 5V output to supply power for the pi... have u any idea y it became like that? i mean wats yes4g dongle have to do with audio files?

This post has been edited by sky03: Dec 4 2014, 09:51 PM
sky03
post Dec 5 2014, 11:40 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Dec 5 2014, 11:20 AM)
Sorry no idea. It could be (of which I may be wrong) using an audio driver as template to connect to the dongle.

When the Pi is booting, you can see USB devices that's attached. Is the dongle listed there?

Could also be not enough power to your dongle. Try using a 2A 5V power supply.
yea wen booting it listed as gct semiconduct n etc.... i tried again today it get connected but wenever i try to surf internet it get disconnected with a whole list of errors.... async error -1.... bulk write error n etc... i really had no idea wats wrong... any sifu could help me pls?
sky03
post Dec 5 2014, 08:35 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(zaidi @ Dec 5 2014, 11:54 AM)
if the modem works fine on normal desktop, either the pi does not provide enough juice or the compiled gctwimax had issue.

what you have in /var/log/messages? try google the error. another test is you might want to use powered USB hub and connect that to pi
thank you sir for ur verdict. do i need to connect the usb n do a reboot and check the log? or just connect the usb once i m in desktop mode?
sky03
post Dec 7 2014, 12:36 AM

257 posts

hello guys just wan update so as u all know i m currently trying to make my raspi work with my yes4g dongle... i been following this link:
http://9m2pju.blogspot.com/2012/07/linux-a...imax-modem.html
but end up in vain... i still result in lots of errors... so after a while i m trying to figure out whats the error behind it and i found out everytime i will have error during this step:
# to make without dbus uncomment the next line remove the CFLAGS option
make CFLAGS=-DWITH_DBUS, or
make
sudo make install

all this time i only copy paste the commands n scripts but i notice i usually stuck here everytime... usually wen i enter command "make CFLAGS=-DWITH_DBUS" it will show some sort of error... and in the end i just go ahead n put make and then sudo make install... plus it also said in the link "# to make without dbus uncomment the next line remove the CFLAGS option" wat does this means? do i need to edit script or some sort? uncomment some lines in script? pls help me with this project sifus!
sky03
post Dec 19 2014, 06:50 PM

257 posts

hey guys currently i m working on a profject for portable 4g broadband modem out of raspi. currently work in progress... added on shutdown reset buttons... also add a wifi adapter as an access point... planning to 3d print casing for this...Attached Image
sky03
post Dec 20 2014, 02:32 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Dec 19 2014, 06:54 PM)
Good one. Instructions from that guy on G+ ? He did the same thing.
yea mix of here n ter instructions across google tongue.gif
btw i noticed dat wenever i try to run the pi without hdmi pluged in it wont start properly n the wifi dongle that i install doesnt start up too. any1 can help with this? how can i make the pi run as usual without hdmi thingy? since i wan make a portable router it wont be practical if i need to plug in hdmi dosplay everytime i need to use it? any help much appreciate
sky03
post Dec 20 2014, 03:24 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Dec 20 2014, 02:51 PM)
You don't need the hdmi plugged in to run pi. I can run pi on all my OS ; RetroPie, Raspbian, OpenELEC, NOOBS without hdmi or other video output. No need to configure anything too. It works out of the box.

Maybe your card is corrupted, try a fresh OS install.
weird thing is wen i plugges in hdmi n turn it on it will work perfectly fine. but wen i m not using hdmi n turn it on i can see the yellow n red flashing n it seems like its booting but after a while it will just lights up red... n even the blue led from my wifi dongle doesnt lights up too...
sky03
post Dec 28 2014, 04:07 PM

257 posts

hey guys so here a bit update that i wan share with u guys abt my raspi broadband router project... as some of u guys ady noe i was planning to make a portable ones using my powerbank but unfortunately ters an issue regarding the PSU adapter n etc and eventually i can only make it work only by plugging in hdmi... doh.gif so i decided to change my plan and use a dc adapter off from the wall in mean time hoping i could figure out way to make this thing portable. so here a pic of quick n dirty diy of my raspi broadband router up and running...
sky03
post Dec 28 2014, 06:14 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Dec 28 2014, 06:08 PM)
How much juice is your powerbank output?
its a 10,000 mah powerbank with an output of 5v 2A...
sky03
post Dec 28 2014, 06:45 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Dec 28 2014, 06:28 PM)
Should be more than sufficient unless

1. You have other devices plugged into your RPi that requires more power
2. Your usb-power cable is sub-standard which is providing less power than it's suppose to
3. Your PSU is sub-standard like no #2
I actually use the same cable now n it works fine so cable shldnt be a problem... ters a dude told me dat the hdmi cable help to earth the freq from the power bank so dats y it only function well if i hav hdmi cable plugged in...
sky03
post Dec 30 2014, 02:49 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(lp1986 @ Dec 30 2014, 12:19 PM)
I got a B+ for christmas this year. Is there anywhere in Low Yat Plaza that has a selection of raspberry pi cases and tools etc? Also, cheapest place to buy a keyboard and wifi usb dongle? I've never had to buy this sort of stuff in KL before.
Dongle can use d-link dwa 123 11n... i use it n works great only dat u need to install driver 1st...
sky03
post Jan 8 2015, 05:16 PM

257 posts

hey guys so i finally fin my raspi router project that i been doin for past few weeks. so here some pics...
maybe later in future i might sand a bit the casing so it looks nicer. btw rep for altan for providing 3d print service smile.gif
btw i was planning to add few of leds so that it indicates that the internet connection is available... i read a few articles here n ter n found out that i could add led to the gpio pins but that requires some serious coding n scripts... i m just a student n not even in IT nor programming sad.gif
so if any sifus here could share their knowledge related to this? thx very much!
sky03
post Jan 8 2015, 05:23 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 8 2015, 05:20 PM)
it doesn't require serious coding skills though, I can do it just by copy pasting codes  sweat.gif
well then mind share it here?
sky03
post Jan 8 2015, 05:33 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 8 2015, 05:29 PM)
I mean lighting up the led. how do u determine whether the service is up or not for the yes4g? I've never mingled with it before
currently i use script that would check if it could ping internet connection every 2 mins... if it couldnt ping the connection means the service is down n it will reboot... so i was thinking if ter could be a script that could light up led wen the pi could ping the internet connection... so i think it would be great way to indicate if the connection is OK or not.... sorry for the noob explanation doh.gif lolz
sky03
post Jan 8 2015, 06:02 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 8 2015, 05:43 PM)
Not what I had in mind but still it is a valid method although it may cause some issues itself. Anyway, what is it coded in? I should be able to contribute a line or two if it is coded in c++, c, or python though.
so heres wat i found from net:

sudo mkdir /opt/check_lan
sudo nano /opt/check_lan.sh

Then enter the follow bash script:

#!/bin/sh

# cron script for checking wlan connectivity
# change xxx to whatever IP you want to check.
IP_FOR_TEST="xxx"
PING_COUNT=1

PING="/bin/ping"
IFUP="/sbin/ifup"
IFDOWN="/sbin/ifdown --force"

INTERFACE="wimax0"

FFLAG="/opt/check_lan/stuck.fflg"

# ping test
$PING -c $PING_COUNT $IP_FOR_TEST > /dev/null 2> /dev/null
if [ $? -ge 1 ]
then
logger "$INTERFACE seems to be down, trying to bring it up..."
if [ -e $FFLAG ]
then
logger "$INTERFACE is still down, REBOOT to recover ..."
rm -f $FFLAG 2>/dev/null
sudo reboot
else
touch $FFLAG
logger $(sudo $IFDOWN $INTERFACE)
sleep 10
logger $(sudo $IFUP $INTERFACE)
fi
else
# logger "$INTERFACE is up"
rm -f $FFLAG 2>/dev/null
fi

Then in a cron job you can run this script every 2 minutes.
sudo nano /etc/crontab and enter the following at the bottom

*/2 * * * * root /opt/check_lan/lan.sh >/dev/null
sky03
post Jan 8 2015, 06:24 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Ubitap @ Jan 8 2015, 05:41 PM)
You'll need LEDs, a resistor for each LED, some jumper wires.

Here's a < 5min video on how to control LED using GPIO pin.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9cEAGTLaC8

Your program outline should look something like this:
You'll have to add in if...else condition to check your ping result and light up the LED if success.
Then run in an indefinite loop with a timer, say every 2 min.
Once your code is working, put it in the startup so that it runs every time you boot the Pi.
thanks for ur verdict sifu... i have no basics in programming n codings so to build a scripts like dat would be very unlikely. so far i only copy n paste from the net only sad.gif

0.0624sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:53 PM