Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S
sky03
Jan 8 2015, 07:19 PM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 8 2015, 06:51 PM) QUOTE(sky03 @ Jan 8 2015, 06:02 PM) I'm setting GPIO17 for the Red LED and GPIO22 for the Green LED. You may refer to this for the layout: http://mikegwatson.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/pinout2.jpg (Look at the GPIO <number> and not the outer part those numbers 1...26) Source: https://gist.github.com/wcypierre/24dece267ae424ac8453Wow thx very much sifu!!! Will try this once i get the parts ready  n i will share the result
sky03
Jan 8 2015, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 8 2015, 07:44 PM) Make sure that you have the pin plugged in correctly. It took me a while to reply because I need to find what pin layout that bash uses(which is the bcm schema) and to ensure that I didn't gave the wrong one. btw, for this: It should be like this instead: then only it will match your crontab entry: Just a side note, but you need root permissions to do set the GPIO in bash, but I believe that you should have already know that by now though.  aite. thx for the tips sifu!
sky03
Jan 9 2015, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 8 2015, 11:41 PM) le me is no sifu, I copy and paste from the internet bulat bulat only lol still u are more expert than me. btw do u noe which pins i should connect my led to show that it is safe to pull the plug off raspberry pi? i mean when the command of sudo shutdown initiated there will be several second before it completed its process... since im running headless with no screen watsoever n the pi is in the casing to monitor the led power is impossible... so if ters any way i could add led to the gpio to show that the pi completely shutdown?
sky03
Jan 9 2015, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(orangutan @ Jan 9 2015, 08:33 AM) sky03, How much is your casing? i use 3d printing service cost me rm85...
sky03
Jan 10 2015, 11:09 AM

just an update i had soldered few leds for indication so its working fine now. green led lights up wen the pi could ping the internet while the blue led lights up if hotspot connection up. thanks all sifus for the great help! 
so whats next? perhaps couple this with my external 1tb hdd? turn this into a router also a wireless media storage... i read sumwer ppl said that the performance of raspi as wireless storage is somewhat lacking n slow... so any suggestions or comments abt this? This post has been edited by sky03: Jan 10 2015, 11:37 AM
sky03
Jan 10 2015, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(orangutan @ Jan 10 2015, 12:07 PM) If you are planing along that road, get a good wifi module. Transferring a huge file over wifi is a real pain in the @$$. Your RPi also does not provide enough juice for the external hdd. So you may need to get an external power source for it. If you decide to pursue this path, I'm interested to know what kind of casing you'll be getting. I had mod the pi to work with a powered usb hub but yea i do realize it still not enuf to power up the 3.5 hdd. I was thinking just connect the hdd as storage via usb cable n to power up the hdd just use ac adapter that came along with hdd enclosure. It shld work just fine... As for the wifi storage performance does overclocking the pi would improve transfer rate??? Plus i m only planning to stream media so as long the media stream smoothly over wifi i m ok with it... something like 1080p movies n such
sky03
Jan 10 2015, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(orangutan @ Jan 10 2015, 02:08 PM) I've no problem watching 1080p movies over wifi but encounter some problems with 5.1 audio channel. Some things to consider is 1. Your Wifi router 2. How many device is connected to the wifi 3. Users' wifi usage 4. WIfi module on RPi i was wondering if raspi could work with laptop wifi card since some of them have much higher performance... the ones with mpcie connector. i mean i could solder some wires to usb ports. any1 hav tried this before?
sky03
Jan 11 2015, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(orangutan @ Jan 10 2015, 02:08 PM) I've no problem watching 1080p movies over wifi but encounter some problems with 5.1 audio channel. Some things to consider is 1. Your Wifi router 2. How many device is connected to the wifi 3. Users' wifi usage 4. WIfi module on RPi btw can u suggest me a very good wifi adapter for raspi? currently i use d-link dwa123 11n but i notice sumtimes the signal level would drop...
sky03
Jan 11 2015, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 11 2015, 09:42 PM) what are you doing actually? the signal drop depends on your distance with the router, as well as the antenna used(internal or external, for your case would be internal). i noe the fact that the further away from the router would result in lower signal... but the thing is at 1st the signal was really full bar and after period of time it suddenly deteriorates to a single bar... i have no idea wat causes this... btw i had modded the wifi dongle and add an external antenna so it would transmit the signal better. i could still get the signal even i left the router in my room n went downstairs... This post has been edited by sky03: Jan 11 2015, 10:12 PM
sky03
Jan 11 2015, 10:55 PM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 11 2015, 10:50 PM) are you doing anything network related all the time? probably the raspberry pi is saving power on the usb wifi dongle perhaps? but still, there's nothing with it though. well other than being a router nothing else.... btw does pi hav dat kind of power saving features? if yes how to disable it?i m using model B+
sky03
Jan 12 2015, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 12 2015, 09:05 AM) At the terminal: 1. iwconfig 2. nano /etc/network/interfaces 3. add "wireless-power off" after any wlan0 lines i.e auto wlan0 wireless-power off 4. reboot 5. iwconfig and you will see that your power management is now off. thx for the tips. i just realized that the adapter had its power management turned off even before i changed anythg... i suspect ter muat be sumthg wrong with either the power supply to it from raspi or theressumthg wrong with the driver itself... i m using rtl8188eu driver btw....
sky03
Jan 12 2015, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 12 2015, 09:05 AM) At the terminal: 1. iwconfig 2. nano /etc/network/interfaces 3. add "wireless-power off" after any wlan0 lines i.e auto wlan0 wireless-power off 4. reboot 5. iwconfig and you will see that your power management is now off. and based on the log roght after the signal sudden a drop it shows R8188EU: ERROR ap recv di$$ecv disassoc reason code(8) sta:80:71:7a:45:03:ab any1 hav idea y this happening?
sky03
Jan 13 2015, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 12 2015, 08:20 PM) http://www.aboutcher.co.uk/2012/07/linux-w...d-reason-codes/Reason Code 8: Operating System moved the client to another access point using non-aggressive load balancing. You can try the workaround at here, but I'm sure whether it will work for your case or not. https://github.com/lwfinger/rtl8188eu/issues/35Anyway, try to replace your power supply to a better source and use a better cable(better quality and shorter would be better) i haven't tried this method yet but wat i did was i use different version of drivers n so far so good. but i will keep on monitoring how it perform... btw thx for your verdict on this matter. really appreciate it
sky03
Jan 20 2015, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(sarf2k4 @ Jan 19 2015, 11:20 PM) hi guys, a friend of mine asked me to be their tutor for the raspi workshop but i myself didnt have raspi myself so i dont know what should i deliver, its a hands on workshop, what content should i deliver eg creating a wifi router, time lapse camera or something thank you in advance sifu!!!
sky03
Feb 3 2015, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(megahertz @ Feb 2 2015, 09:42 PM) pm price pls
sky03
Feb 3 2015, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(zaidi @ Feb 3 2015, 10:19 PM) buy model A+, should be just below RM60 wer can i get dat deal?
sky03
May 19 2015, 01:42 AM

does raspi 2 have better usb bandwidth compared to raspi B+? any improvement here? planning to get one for better performance over usb wifi....
sky03
May 20 2015, 09:38 PM

anyone here hav idea how to load balancing network raspi as router? i saw youtube some guy did it but no tutorial watsoever... google it too but in vain... btw the guy make his raspi router to connect multiple access point n some how it does improve bandwidth n speed overall... i wonder how he did it... really interesting