Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

rickkywong
post Mar 2 2012, 01:25 PM

178 posts

some bad experience with HLB to be share with others....

recently, i browse through online for Malaysia Apple Store and made some online transaction in RM4398 (invoice also in RM4398 but address is in Singapore) and paid by using HLB mastercard. However, when i got the statement HLB charged me xtra 0.8% = RM35.18 for performing an oversea online transaction.

FYI, within 2 months time, i did also perform the exact same transaction with the same amount but paid with different card from OCBC, Alliance Bank, UOB and MBB and these banks didn't charge me any xtra charges.

i did call to HLB and explain that i paid in RM during online, the invoice i got also in RM and they shouldn't charge me xtra for that...anyhow, they said this is their bank policy and nothing that they can do....

so, guys. please becareful when performing online transaction and choose the right card when making your payment...
rickkywong
post Mar 2 2012, 02:33 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 2 2012, 01:38 PM)
Evn CIMB also charge Cross-Border charge for using thier CC at Apple Store.
Blame Apple Store Malaysia !!!
thanks for sharing...
i almost wanted to use my CIMB card tp perform the same transaction.
which are the banks also doing the same? please share...
rickkywong
post Mar 3 2012, 09:46 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Mar 3 2012, 08:49 PM)
I think that's the problem, SG appeared  mad.gif
No. My others cc transaction from Apple South Asia Store and paid by RM with OCBC, UOB, Alliance Bank & Maybank also show SG or Singapore but without any xtra charges... rclxub.gif
rickkywong
post Apr 25 2012, 05:30 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2012, 05:28 PM)
I got this invitation from SCB. Anyone went to this event before?

A free 60-min health management preview - Golden horses health sanctuary

*will receive a complimentary dinner buffet for 2 at palace of golden horses and a complimentry health assessment at golden horses DMS (worth RM350)
*will receive a complimentary 1 night stay at palace of golden horses if attend the event with spouse (worth RM780)
i've confirm my appointment with them 26/04/12 3pm. will share with everybody after that... icon_rolleyes.gif
rickkywong
post Apr 26 2012, 02:46 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 25 2012, 05:42 PM)
at city bayview melaka too?
noop, mine is at Golden Palace Horse The Mines....

Added on April 26, 2012, 2:48 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 25 2012, 05:56 PM)
Bro, give a review of the room too smile.gif
what kind of review u want me to review? pls indicate the point as the guideline....
i'll do it once i finish the invitation preview.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Apr 26 2012, 02:48 AM
rickkywong
post Apr 30 2012, 08:19 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2012, 05:28 PM)
I got this invitation from SCB. Anyone went to this event before?

A free 60-min health management preview - Golden horses health sanctuary

*will receive a complimentary dinner buffet for 2 at palace of golden horses and a complimentry health assessment at golden horses DMS (worth RM350)
*will receive a complimentary 1 night stay at palace of golden horses if attend the event with spouse (worth RM780)
Well...it's actually a Comprehensive Medical Checkup membership plan. They have few plans range from RM13000 up to over RM30000. When you attend the so call 60-min preview (i spent about 3hrs) sweat.gif ,
they will give you a complimentary 1 night stay voucher at Palace Golden Horse (deluxe room),
2 international buffet dinner at Carousel Court in Palace Golden Horse,
FREE you and your spouse DMS health checkup (a kind of modern Chinese Pulse reading by a computer to indicate your health status) and
buy 1 free 1 boat riding voucher for The Mines (all these voucher is valid for 2 months from the date of preview).

Old individual membership plan:
1) 20 years membership, price RM13000 (payable up to 36mths 0% EPP from credit card)
2) Yearly rejoining fees RM578 (first year free) payable from year 2 to year 20.

Benefit:
1) 1 complimentary Comprehensive Medical Checkup, 27 procedures with 100 test results.
2) 1 night hotel accommodation at Palace Golden Horse.
3) Dining discount at Palace Golden Horse & Mines Wellness Hotel.
4) Complimentary pool & gym facilities use through out the years at Palace Golden Horse & Mines Wellness Hotel.
5) Special room rates at Palace Golden Horse, Mines Wellness Hotel & Borneo Highlands Resort.
6) Special members price for all additional tests at Golden Horse Health Sanctuary - Health Screening.
7) Complimentary health breakfast & lunch during medical checkup day.

New individual membership plan:
1) 25 years membership, price RM23000 (payable up to 36mths 0% EPP from credit card)
2) Yearly rejoining fees RM 699 (first year free) payable from year 2 to year 25.

Benefit: all the 7 above plus,
1) Additional 2 night hotel accommodation at Palace Golden Horse & its affiliate hotels.
2) 6 times Traditional Chinese Medical massage at TCM, Mines Wellness Hotel.

The way they present the preview is some kind like those promote time-share vacation membership. Once anybody sign up the plan, they will announce it to the rest of others. And if you not interested with it, they will try hard sell way... vmad.gif You will be serve coffee/tea with some snack during the preview. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Apr 30 2012, 08:24 PM
rickkywong
post Apr 30 2012, 08:42 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 25 2012, 05:56 PM)
Bro, give a review of the room too smile.gif
About the complimentary 1 night deluxe room stay at Palace Golden Horse, well this is the photos. Overall, the hotel is nice, the staff is very polite, environment is comfortable and relaxing. I got a pool view room and with beautiful view... thumbup.gif Some people says this is a 5 star hotel but i heard from someone else before it's a 6 star hotel... Anyway, whether 5 or 6 doesn't matter, as long as it's FREE icon_idea.gif . From my point of view, it doesn't look like 6 star at all.... doh.gif

About the complimentary international buffet dinner, it is just an ordinary buffet only serve with coffee/tea. I heard that walk in price is RM88++ per pax. It's not value for money.... Compare to Jogoya & Sunway Pyramid Resort Hotel are much much better than this...Anyway, it's FREE, who cares? drool.gif

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Apr 30 2012, 11:26 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
rickkywong
post Apr 30 2012, 10:23 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 30 2012, 10:13 PM)
Hihi, thanks alot for the comprehensive description and review. so you dont have to pay anything. if that is so, and you received the complimentary room with the buffet etc..that is 3 hours WELL SPENT  rclxms.gif just like a short vacation hehe
when you called them up to fix an appointment of the preview, you can ask them to check in the complimentary night stay (Palace Golden Horse) on the same day you attend the preview. So, after you finish the preview go back to your room for a rest or go for a round of swimming at their beautiful pool. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif After swimming, you will feel hungry. Then go for their complimentary international buffet (make reservation after the preview). thumbup.gif

Yes, you end up paying nothing including free parking brows.gif . Anyway, it's a FREE 2 day 1 night short vacation. Nothing to lose...right?
rickkywong
post Apr 30 2012, 11:20 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 30 2012, 10:27 PM)
wah yeah, really syok. upon reading your review, i quickly search my invitation card, luckily not in the dustbin yet. mine is abit different as the 60 minutes preview is at my location, melaka. i will need to ask them, can singleton get the complimentary room too  tongue.gif
Bring along your partner or friend (if you still single) and say married, they don't check your marriage certificate doh.gif . All they want is just couple share this plan. Because married couple mostly worried about health issue. wub.gif

Beside SCB card holder, this invitation applicable to UOB card holder as well... nod.gif

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Apr 30 2012, 11:24 PM
rickkywong
post Apr 30 2012, 11:33 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 30 2012, 11:26 PM)
How to self-invite ?
Well, for anybody that is interested in this preview, PM me your particular so i can refer your name to them.

Particular:
Name(as per NRIC):
Tel: (Hse): (H/P):
Single/Married
Male/Female
rickkywong
post May 1 2012, 10:04 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 1 2012, 09:19 PM)

I get such health screening invitation (via phone) once in a while too... At Pantai Hospital to be exact. But i never went any single one.
Did u paid or they tried very hard to brainwash you (1 vs 1 talk) to join?

Looks like a very good way to get free room and food.
yes, they will try very hard to brain wash you to join icon_idea.gif .
btw, i've sign up one of their package. doh.gif
for those who like to sign up with them, ask for more free gift before sign. i've got mine. thumbup.gif
rickkywong
post May 2 2012, 04:36 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 2 2012, 08:55 AM)
haha, guess you were brainwashed. Installment or 1 off swipe?

Well, i think it's a good investment. So, i decided to join with 36mths 0% EPP. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by rickkywong: May 2 2012, 04:36 PM
rickkywong
post May 23 2012, 03:30 PM

178 posts

today i received a sms from uob card saying,
"UOB Cards invite you & a guest to The Glenlivet Tasting & Dining Experience @ Prego, The Westin KL, 25May 6.30pm".

Is there any other UOB cardholder received this sms or selected only? Any idea what is it about? hmm.gif
rickkywong
post Oct 5 2012, 04:06 PM

178 posts

Another new credit card for Air Asia frequent flyer to be share.....
For more details, log in to http://www.citibank.com.my/english/credit-..._AirAsia_021012

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Oct 5 2012, 04:14 PM

rickkywong
post Nov 7 2012, 01:47 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(Sharv The Great @ Nov 6 2012, 07:14 PM)
hey all sifus..just another question..is it possible to apply a credit card if the person cleared all their debts(previously blacklisted) and have not been applying for any credits nor any commitments for the past 6 months since release letter all received..if yes,which bank is easier to apply for Credit card..anybody with similar experience?..thanks in advance
From my experience, you need to wait after 3 years from your settlement date ( pls keep all your settlement letter from bank as reference for future reference), and after 3 years apply again from the bank that never have your blacklist records...(if from the same bank, chances are very very slim even after 3 years).
The best is never ever got blacklist from a bank or else you really need a lot of time to rebuild your record again....(spend wisely)

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Nov 7 2012, 01:55 AM
rickkywong
post Nov 21 2012, 12:16 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Nov 20 2012, 11:35 PM)
CODE
effective 1 January 2012, transaction alerts via Short Messaging Service (SMS) will be implemented by card issuers for their cardholders after transactions are performed

implemented already this BNM guidelines?
As far as i know, not all banks implement this service. For Ambank, they don't sms to cardholders as i already called them to confirm.

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Nov 21 2012, 12:16 PM
rickkywong
post Dec 20 2012, 09:24 PM

178 posts

27. Beware of cross border charges by HLB, CIMB and SCB - sample case: Apple Store Malaysia by rickkywong using HLB credit card; wshoh using CIMB
Pls update this as well, there's no cross border charges for AMBank cc. Thx.
rickkywong
post Feb 16 2013, 12:51 AM

178 posts

An article from today Star Paper.....
Is there any sifu can explain on this & what is the advise.....

"MY father passed away a couple of months ago and we noted that he had a credit card. We surrendered the card to the bank, together with a copy of his death certificate.
To our surprise, we received a statement from the bank and a letter asking us to pay the sum outstanding.
First of all, why does a bank give credit card to a retired person who has no income besides his pension? I understand that a lot of transactions can be done through the credit card and it can be convenient for a pensioner.
However, the credit limit set for him was very high, and I am curious to know how the bank approves such limits. Shouldn’t the banks look into the life expectancy of people? My father was more than 70 years old when he passed away.
Is it fair to go after the family members to pay the outstanding bills? With the high interest rates, it will be difficult for us to settle the debt overnight.
Can someone enlighten me on how to handle this situation?
JJM1975 Selangor"
rickkywong
post Feb 16 2013, 08:56 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 16 2013, 03:50 PM)

I am of the opinion that the blame should not be shifted over to the bank as the responsibility for paying your credit card bills has always been the sole responsibility of the card holder - irrespective whether you are young or old. In the story above JJM1975 wanted the banks to be accountable for granting a credit card to a pensioner but what if the deceased was a young man ? Or a middle aged man ? I don't think it is a situation of how old you are (some pensioner may still be working) but how all of us treat unsecured (or even secured) credit facility/debt.

A very good and clear explanation....
rickkywong
post Mar 12 2013, 11:22 PM

178 posts

Something to share with all Mastercard holder...

FYI, I purchased a LED TV from them yesterday and entitle to 10% discount by using my Master Credit Card.. rclxms.gif
Very cheap... drool.gif

http://www.lazada.com.my/mastercard/

This post has been edited by rickkywong: Mar 13 2013, 01:37 AM

0.0581sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:05 AM