Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

WhitE LighteR
post Oct 8 2012, 08:02 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

I can sense you are accumulating quite a substantial amount of debt to fulfill your obligation. And you have no proper plan in place on how to pay off your debt. Its a very dangerous road to go down...

35k from BSN, soon 5k for wedding and new car.

A rethink of your life priority and expenditure is in order. For starters, try to leave nearer to your workplace instead of traveling 600km/week. And instead of getting a new car, get one that is cheap to buy and maintain. Remember you only earn 40k/year. That is not much at all especially when you have a family.

Just my 2 cents
WhitE LighteR
post Oct 8 2012, 10:39 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Oct 8 2012, 10:14 AM)
I don't have adequate time because I just got posted about a year ago. I did saved a few thousands but was used to pay for the other arrangements. And before I got the new work, my salary is only about 1.3k. So not much I can save from there. Btw, the purpose for the credit card is for the cash advance only. Will not use it at ALL for other expenses. That is 100% guarantee.

Anyway, Im open to suggestion on how to get extra cash as soon as possible. Please no along and borrowing from family is not an option, so does applying for another personal loan. I'm a bit desperate here so I guess a suggestion from you all can help me a lot. Thanks
I understand there must be some pressure for you to enter marriage and i also understand its not easy to start out as a teacher, as my father is one as well. What my dad did was teach tuitions and did some printing (he has a working knowledge of doing things like tshirt printing, medals, troffies etc) as a 2nd job. As a teacher, your greatest advantage is that you work half a day. Not withstanding the time it takes to mark papers, you really can take the opportunity to teach tuitions.

IINM, teacher way of upgrading their pay is thru upgrade their pay grade. You should focus on this.... after 15 or so years, once my dad upgraded his pay grade well into a comfortable level, he no longer have to do printings and focus only lighty on tuition to have some additional income on the side. In fact he stop doing printing after about 10 years and focus on tuition. Then he slowly takes on lesser tuition class as he start to aged.

There is no such thing as getting cash asap unless u go into some sort of debt. Because after marriage comes kids, and those are not cheap at all.

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Oct 8 2012, 10:43 AM
WhitE LighteR
post Oct 9 2012, 12:19 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Not sure where to post but I was reading this

http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog/2010/...card-concierge/

I wonder, has anyone tested this? I notice that certain credit card advertise this concierge feature either tied to visa, mastercard or the bank itself. OCBC titanium mastercard for example seems to be tied to MasterCard’s Concierge Services as stated on the website.
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 5 2013, 11:47 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(brb816 @ Jan 5 2013, 11:45 PM)
Any sifus here heard abt credit card refinance? How is the process like? Any expert here can assist? Tq.
Its not refinance. Its balance transfer....
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 26 2013, 08:01 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Wondering where to park my insurance payment. Hope u guys can give some brilliant suggestions. Monthly about 300+ and each year there is a one off payment of about 1.5k+. Also there is a car insurance of about 1k+ if i not mistaken each year. Looking for something either MC/Visa. Right now its all parked at MBB2 MC earning RM1 = 1point sad.gif

My OCBC maxed out. So that is no longer an option. Tq
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 27 2013, 01:39 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 27 2013, 12:53 AM)
Try out AEON Watami Visa ...
laugh.gif cannot la boss. watami need to have minimum 3k per quarter...
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 28 2013, 11:40 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(cheong1215 @ Jan 28 2013, 07:34 PM)
i applied cimb credit card today and emailed them my form, ic, and latest payslip. when asked if they need any other supporting, they said no need. when i checked their website, they need bank statements and epf statement. why credit cards are so easy to apply ? i hope i can get approved so i can use it immediately. can banks check our epf account thru their banking system? or check my savings account with other banks?
I know HLB can check you EPF account. So I guess the other banks can too. But they would need a physical card. Not sure if they can do it with just your IC number. Normally they would need either ur bank statement or epf statement to see the money stated in your payslip coming in to that account to verify its true..
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 30 2013, 12:00 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Off topic. I notice http://genxgenygenz.blogspot.com/ is no longer there..
WhitE LighteR
post Jan 30 2013, 01:18 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(-Matrix- @ Jan 29 2013, 11:55 PM)
noted with thanx ... do you know if maybank's points are more generous than citibank's - point for point basis? i'm not sure if both have same products for points conversion so what i meant was - to exchange for a similar item (maybe a voucher for comparison sake), which one requires more points to do so?
there is another point u didnt account for. how fast the point can accumulate.

in this case i would say maybank 2 kard amex is the champion between the two. As it allows u to collect x5 point on almost everything vs only selected merchant for citibank

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Jan 30 2013, 01:19 AM
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 2 2013, 04:00 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 2 2013, 12:28 PM)
Long time no follow up this thread.

Besides Maybank Kard 2 Amex and OCBC titanium who offer 5%, any good CCs that good cash rebate which can be utilised after maybank/ocbc have been fully capped?
After this two card u need to see into specific categories already. Because other then this two, no one else give general cashback anymore except for some tht give back 1%
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 8 2013, 02:35 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Gen-X looking forward to more of your articles.

0.0250sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:18 PM