Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Frostlord
post Aug 14 2012, 02:52 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 14 2012, 11:09 AM)
Hope you learnt your lessons about Cash Advance.
Too often a reader comes in and justify themselves the need for Cash Advance (or) get into trouble about Cash Advance.
Too often a senior in here will remind the dangers of Cash Advance (myself included) and get ticked off by readers who die-die wants it and think it is under control.

There's a reason we don't encourage it and blasting readers who think they understand what they are doing with Cash Advance. If anyone think they could stop the bank from charging you from Cash Advance fees/interest/etc you must be dreaming and please stop holding a credit card until you learn how to. You are not doing justice to yourself through this unsecured loan facility  rclxub.gif Bank will charge the fees the second you take out the money and will charge you interest by the day.
i still rmb there's one forumer who said cash advance is something like loan but at lower %

where is he now? tongue.gif
Frostlord
post Aug 14 2012, 04:56 PM

1,723 posts

hi all

i want to reduce my card limit for HSBC (normal HSBC and Amanah also can) but i was informed that normal HSBC min credit limit is 7k? shocking.gif

im planning to use this card for online purchases and i dont want to have such high limit. is there anyway for me to reduce the CL to rm1k?

or is there any card that can provide RM1k CL?

thanks in advance
Frostlord
post Aug 14 2012, 04:59 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 14 2012, 04:57 PM)
First of all you should have reported him for sending you a PM, that's if you have not requested him to do so.

Secondly, you why would you trust anyone online?
hi bro gen-x

can help me with my question above? tongue.gif

thanks thumbup.gif
Frostlord
post Aug 16 2012, 12:41 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 14 2012, 06:16 PM)
Bro, you quoted wrong post lah, hahaha, go see. I guess what you meant was below:
Are you sure HSBC Amanah Minimum CL is RM7K. I mentioned in my article Malaysia Premier Credit Cards that HSBC Visa Signature minimum CL is RM5K! That was what I was told by HSBC CS. So, call HSBC CS and ask them to reduce the CL - I would think the minimum CS for non HSBC credit card should from RM3K or maybe RM4K.
wah, since when ronnie can ban people here  tongue.gif
no idea. i oso blur blur. i call HSBC CS, they say HSBC (normal) min CL is 7k. HSBC Amanah is 2k. then they transfer me to HSBC Amanah, they told me both CL also can get 2k sweat.gif
Frostlord
post Aug 16 2012, 05:13 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 16 2012, 12:54 PM)
The Credit Card Sales exec. said HSBC Amanah min 4 k &  Amanah Platinum min.7k
NO Standard Answer on it... rclxub.gif
they just call me back

normal gold card is 2k
visa plat is 5k

Mod Notes : If you are going to use profanities in here, please don't come back ever. I have mentioned that it is not allowed in this section.

This post has been edited by hye: Aug 16 2012, 08:27 PM
Frostlord
post Aug 22 2012, 11:15 AM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Ryfelgiggs @ Aug 22 2012, 02:38 AM)
Hi GenX,hye,

An abundance of thanks for your wish.
My current August Platinum Maybankard 2 Amex usage has exceeded threshold of Rm1000. How I wish I can have a backup card like OCBC Titanium but since they reject me a couple of months ago, I've not been trying to apply again , should I look for any card that have same rebate or better than Titanium? Maybe Citibank Plat Cashback?
dont apply again in 6 months time as they will instantly reject any "rejected" application that re-apply in that time frame. ask your agent to do a appeal for you.

OCBC has better CB rebate but with a RM50 cap. however, as what the agent told me you cant waive the annual fee (yeah it sounds funny but thats what i have been told). Check that with your agent

promotion wise, Citi win hands down. Go to any major shopping complex (ie Mid valley) and you can see Citi promotion everywhere. same goes for merchant ezy-payment. some of the shop that i request to do 0% ezy-payment does not have OCBC in their list

Added on August 22, 2012, 11:21 am
QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 21 2012, 12:57 AM)
Not all CC are created equal... only go for the good ones like OCBC Titanium MasterCard or Maybankard 2 AMEX
another classic example of how the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer sad.gif

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Aug 22 2012, 11:21 AM
Frostlord
post Aug 22 2012, 03:21 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Aug 22 2012, 02:48 PM)
Again the wrong choice of word. Spend RM10K per year with the titanium card, OCBC will reward you with RM50 spending bonus which is to offset the GST.

GST can't be waived  smile.gif
but its funny how HSBC CS told me my GST is waived in a recorded conversation laugh.gif

BTT, anyone had any experience of decreasing the CL to below the normal rate? eg: RM2k

i called HSBC to cancel my card. after some discussion, i agree i will keep the card if they decrease the CL (personal reason). they say "ok. i will submit the application for u". but next day HSBC call me and say the CL decrease is rejected. so i told them its ok, just cancel the card then

this week, another HSBC guy call me. he say can decrease the CL but because my CL requirement is below the norms (5k) need to submit special application for it . why the 1st guy didnt do this is beyond me sweat.gif

so what i wanna check is, is it possible to decrease CL to 2k (norm min CL is 5k)?
it feels like they are just dragging me. but then again they already "waived" (<- told by CS) my GST this year so there is no point in doing that right? rclxub.gif

EDIT : prob solved thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Aug 23 2012, 09:47 AM
Frostlord
post Aug 23 2012, 11:31 AM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Aug 23 2012, 10:52 AM)
My personal opinion - It's one of the worst out there. Limited benefits.
Their CS is fine though.
i hate their CS

called once to check my IB account (suspected got hacked), he cant check anything. told him i can provide verification, he said i provide also no use as he cant check. then i ask him if he can just see is there any transaction for 1-2 days before also he cant check

finally i ask him what you can check? you can check my password is right or wrong only? he answer yes. he can check that only. made a complaint the next day. not sure if he' still in PBB now
Frostlord
post Aug 23 2012, 04:16 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 23 2012, 04:11 PM)
You can't fault the CS. CS has limited rights & access using their system.
Of course you should be happy they do not have too much access, otherwise they can find out how much you have, where you live and start to stalk/kidnap/rob you.

Unless you mean is premier banking or you are special VIP customers where they address by your name when pick up your calls.
im unhappy because they are unable to check anything, other then do a password reset

they want verification? no problem. wan know my PBB acc number? no problem (not PIN of course). i can provide to them if they request for it. but no. the CS told me he can do a password reset only doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Frostlord
post Aug 23 2012, 04:57 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Aug 23 2012, 04:45 PM)
if only people have patience and the ability to understand processes..
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
tell me what process there are when they refuse to do anything (even verification eg Name, IC, Acc number) other than password reset. how are you going to proceed from there when the CS themselves refuse to do it

that is my experience with PBB

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Aug 23 2012, 04:58 PM
Frostlord
post Aug 24 2012, 10:27 AM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 23 2012, 10:26 PM)
I have to add that sometimes CS (+bank) are not prepared for special cases. For instance, where a customer require urgent attention while overseas.

1. Customer may be in a different time zone so it is not very easy to place another call. It is critical the problem need to be solved right there and then + quickly. Customers need to take caution of banks which practices temporary shutdown of their systems at midnight coz it might impact you in a different time zone + you are very vulnerable at that time.
2. Limited access to phone. Not everyone has roaming activated.
3. Roaming / International calls are very expensive. CS + banks take their sweet time to answer + response.

It is a shame coz it all goes back to poor CS mentality in Malaysia and no way we are comparable to some developed countries in terms of services. Countries such as South Korea will have a different approach + attitude to customer service altogether.
Sorry folks, no malice intended but I'm just speaking upfront from my mind.
QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Aug 23 2012, 10:43 PM)
True, i too have had to escalate numerous times when I deal with Malaysian CS. But then again, I think it is only right for one to be reasonable. Like for example, if we know there would be a temporary shutdown at night, then why still call the bank and create a havoc at that time (although we might be overseas)- wouldn't it waste our time and money as well? These are limitations due to the bank's system and making noise at the CS or even the manager would not solve anything. Another example would be people who shout at the CS for their own mistakes - experience from seeing my own relatives shouting on the phone at the CS. They pay late/ have their CC barred and then call up the bank and screw the CS. Even heard my aunt telling the CS that if the bank wants her to pay, get someone to go down to her place since there's no CDM/branches nearby doh.gif  She threatened to also cancel all her banking relationship with the bank if it happened further unsure.gif  Poor CS- whoever it was. Well since they are my relative (aunts/uncles), I can't really tell them off, but I wonder when Malaysians would change their mentality when speaking to CS. Anyway, my personal worst experience with CS would be Citibank vmad.gif  They never fail to give me a different answer everytime I call up (on the same issue).
i forgot to mention that i am in Malaysia. the nearest PBB branch is 5 minutes drive away. its true that i called around 12am but im calling their 24-7 "hotline" number. if they cant answer my phone or doesnt like ppl to call them during that hour, please remove "operating hour = 24 hours" from their website. the bank paid the CS to answer call 24hours a day. and they dont work 24 hours, CS working hours is based on shift

https://www.pbebank.com/en/features/contactus.html

HSBC CS can do this. as long as i can identify myself via their verification system and question.

or are you telling me that a big bank like Public Bank open a 24-7 CS department just to reset password?

furthermore my case is just to check on my account because my password had been changed without my consent. it could probably be hacked.

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Aug 24 2012, 10:31 AM
Frostlord
post Nov 10 2012, 04:01 PM

1,723 posts

i got some stupid/silly question here

lets assume my card CL is RM10k and i got 0 outstanding debt on the card
then i do credit card payment of RM5k to the said card, means my card now has 10k CL + 5k CR right?

so what will happen in the situation below?

1) i purchase something worth RM11k
2) i make 2 purchases worth RM6k and RM7k respectively

will the transaction pass for above?
Frostlord
post Oct 11 2013, 11:13 AM

1,723 posts

hi all

just want to check, is Maybank Sony card still available?
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

0.0463sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:48 AM