PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V20, Saga FLX SE 1.6 Manual -> New God car??

zeone
post Mar 23 2012, 05:40 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(raddimus @ Mar 23 2012, 05:25 PM)
Guys, I just talked with Proton i-care just now to ask about which warranty will be voided if install auto lock brake thingy. She could not provide me the exact warranty that would be voided if I install the thing.. Please advise taikos..
Feel OEM ABL does NOT void any of car's warranty cos NO wire is cut!
Mainly PnP only...except for 1 wire tap. tongue.gif

If yu've installed/going 2install the "Universal" type of ABL (ie a model for most cars), then it's a different story altogether!
Besides many connections 2b made (wires cut), a hole needs 2b drilled in dashbd AND a separate switch 2b installed!
Much cheaper tho... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Mar 23 2012, 05:43 PM
zeone
post Mar 23 2012, 09:00 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(uncleben @ Mar 23 2012, 07:29 PM)
yahoooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hoorayyyyyyy!!!!!!!!
just got my car jz now...
MCE 7003
all in great condition..
altho i got something to ask all sifus here..
is it normal that the whole engine compartment is hot after a short drive?
even the bonet stand also cnnt touch coz too hot.. ohmy.gif
Good4yu, Bro!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

Congratz!! Esp this statement : "...all in great condition.." rclxm9.gif
zeone
post Mar 24 2012, 05:51 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

Dunno if true or not...but me read somewhere...that most of solid additives suspended in Engine Oils wld NOT be able to pass thru good oil filters! whistling.gif
zeone
post Mar 25 2012, 03:50 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(mieza @ Mar 25 2012, 03:04 PM)
So its all about speed.. Sure my father not allow to buy 1.6 sad.gif
Hi Bro...
To kno yr dad's answer, juz think like a DAD... rclxm9.gif
Pay MORE so yr kid can floor the pedal when his adrenalin runs high? doh.gif
Btw are yu the ONLY uknowat...?
Then yu know the answer!! rclxms.gif

Added on March 25, 2012, 4:29 pmBreaking News :
F1 @Sepang STOPPED @9th Lap!!
Rain...Rain...more Rain!! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Mar 25 2012, 04:30 PM
zeone
post Mar 27 2012, 09:13 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

Juz saw this vid & feel useful 2share :
Comparing CVT with AT in a Nissan...

Sincerely hope vid wld help some new CVT owners to understand the differences in behaviour of AT & CVT GBoxes. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on March 27, 2012, 9:17 am
QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 27 2012, 09:09 AM)
Does anyone knows if our car comes with ATF cooler?  unsure.gif
In AT models of previous gen Sagas & present BLMs/FLs, radiator serves as both engine (water coolant) cooler & GB (ATF) cooler.
Not sure tho re CVT models... rolleyes.gif

Added on March 27, 2012, 9:24 amA vid showing how CVT works in a Motorbike....provides a simple view of a simple working CVT...watch the belt... tongue.gif

Hv a clearer pic of a CVT GB now?
Hope so... smile.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Mar 27 2012, 09:24 AM
zeone
post Mar 27 2012, 08:01 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Mar 27 2012, 03:35 PM)
...haha when i ask the mechanic i ask "why sometimes engine mau mati if pagi pagi i tak panaskan engine?" so he answer " mesti mar.. kereta ini mesti mau panaskan engine kalau tak mana boleh..." okay lor i say like that.. really kan chiong okay.. sometimes u forgot to panaskan engine than u start and jalan.. reach traffic light.. engine started to die.. press pedal okay back.. sien..

Enjoy SAGA!
In older gen cars with carb & manual choke, there's need 2warm up the engine b4 driving off. However one can use the manual choke to assist...

Later cars came with auto-chokes that provide same assistance 2enable smooth driving off w/o warming up the engine.

Modern engines are MPI ones with ECUs. AF mixture is electronically metered for best ratio enabling smooth take off w/o static warm up! tongue.gif

ps. I've nvr had 2warm up my FL from Day #1 b4 driving off. No probs... smile.gif
zeone
post Mar 27 2012, 08:28 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 27 2012, 08:01 PM)
...The only reason I became the TS of this thread is simply i don't want it to die a sudden death  ohmy.gif
V12k already answered u ma, BLM and FL don't have. Only FLX have the CVT oil cooler.
Re being TS of this thread, Bro dares, Jia Yu, Bro! Yu're doing a GREAT job!! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 27 2012, 07:35 PM)
...btw still haven't got the answer whether saga fl got atf cooler or not  hmm.gif
Re oil cooler query, me also answered earlier abt it for BLM/FL...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Mar 27 2012, 08:31 PM
zeone
post Mar 27 2012, 10:28 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 27 2012, 09:25 PM)
i was actually confused by what zeone said that radiator acts as cooler, just wanted confirmation  tongue.gif
Yup, BLM/FL's radiator also serves as the "oil cooler" for ATF from AT GB. smile.gif
There's NO separate/standalone oil cooler in BLM/FL AT cars...
Try trace pipes/hoses fr AT GB to bottom part of radiator...rolleyes.gif
Was same setup for old gen Sagas eg 1.5I Auto (1992).

Added on March 27, 2012, 11:10 pmMore info on how ATF in AT GBs is cooled :
On most vehicles, the automatic transmission fluid is cooled by a small heat exchanger inside the bottom or end tank of the radiator. Hot ATF from the transmission circulates through a short loop of pipe and is thus "cooled."

Hope clarification above is of help towards understanding of ATF cooling sys in std AT sys eg in BLM/FLs.

This post has been edited by zeone: Mar 27 2012, 11:10 PM
zeone
post Mar 28 2012, 08:56 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 27 2012, 06:44 PM)
so got or not?  unsure.gif
my friend has been pestering me to buy atf cooling kit from him  shakehead.gif
Feel yu still don't understand... sad.gif

If yu read my earlier posts, there IS ALREADY an in-built ATF cooling sys for AT cars incl our Saga BLM/FL.
Pls chk wat me asked yu 2chk. smile.gif

Also 2confirm yr FL does not hv a separate ATF Cooler like in FLXs, pls chk like wat Bro V12K has asked yu 2do. icon_rolleyes.gif

Normally a separate additional ATF Cooler is NOT needed for normal driving/daily use.
Fyi I've driven my ole Saga 1.5I Auto for 20+ yrs with no prob except for a slight leak @time of sale! thumbup.gif

FLXs hv & even need an extra ATF Cooler cos of CVT sys.! Even the orig sys had probs cos of overheating & 1st batch FLXs were "recalled" to change a pipe 2a larger bore...IINM. tongue.gif

Sincerely hope above is clearer now. icon_rolleyes.gif
zeone
post Mar 28 2012, 09:58 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(kenjilew @ Mar 28 2012, 09:15 AM)
very scary with my banana tyre... 3 dunlop FM901 and 1 Yokohama parada spec-2.... sad.gif
How come yu hv 3 tyres same with 1 totally diff wan?
Thot it's aleaz advisable 2hv same type tyres on same axle ie same tyres in front or at rear?

Best is, of course, same tyres on all 4 wheels... tongue.gif
zeone
post Mar 28 2012, 03:01 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 28 2012, 12:33 PM)
.....Even my old Saga use to have the fan running for 1 minute or so after switching off. The Exora may run longer because it needs to cool the turbo as well.

EDIT: Here's a quick reference from wiki answers.
Yup, can confirm my ole gen Saga 1.5I Auto also did that...after turning off engine but in Acc Mode. tongue.gif
So far din find Saga FL doing so...more like instant off if engine is switched off! sad.gif

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0500sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:16 AM