SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V8, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!

tulip3
post Mar 9 2012, 10:35 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Mar 9 2012, 10:19 AM)
When u uninstall, there will be 2 buttons next to it, force close and clear data. Force close it and then clear data then uninstall. Damn, why Windows 7 don't have this.
Now that i didnt force close n clear data b4 i uninstalled..does it mean that data r still stored in the device?n some settings r still running on the uninstalled apps?any way to clear the data?
tulip3
post Mar 9 2012, 10:44 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 9 2012, 10:37 AM)
I strongly suggest you do a factory reset of your phone as first step since you keep saying is laggy. I would think you are one of those rare ones who say is laggy. I have been using the Note ( 2 of them , one AP and another SME) set since launched date and yet to experienced any laggy even on stock rom
Yeah i think i have to already as it is affecting opening up the memo n contacts etc... sad.gif thanks anyway smile.gif
tulip3
post Mar 9 2012, 10:47 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Mar 9 2012, 10:38 AM)
I'm not sure, but this is how i normally uninstall an app. If you have already uninstalled the app without clearing the data, then reinstall back the app AND THEN uninstall again but this time, don't forget to force close it and clear data.
Yeah i did that just now..but i guess it doest matter now as i'm going to do a factory reset n all the data n apps will be gone..thanks anyway! smile.gif
tulip3
post Mar 13 2012, 12:30 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 9 2012, 10:37 AM)
I strongly suggest you do a factory reset of your phone as first step since you keep saying is laggy. I would think you are one of those rare ones who say is laggy. I have been using the Note ( 2 of them , one AP and another SME) set since launched date and yet to experienced any laggy even on stock rom
hello unlce benny, i sent it back to samsung to reformat the phone..uninstalled and reinstalled the software...the same prob still persists...i wonder if thereis something to do with the hardware...if not then maybe i'll just wait for ICS to see if there's any improvement after the update...
tulip3
post Mar 13 2012, 02:10 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Mar 13 2012, 12:39 PM)
its running latest firmware already right? try to show the lagness to samsung technician and demand an explanation. will be better if you can find any other friend using GalNote and dont have the lagness issue and ask him/her to go together with you and show them the side to side comparison.
mine is already running on the latest firmware...so the technician just reformat the phone and reinstalled the firmware..yeah i showed the technician on the freezing and laggy issue..then he recommended to reformat the phone and reinstall the software..after i got back my phone..it was alright..but the laggy and freezing issue came back at nite... sad.gif the technician did mention that if after reinstalling the software and the prob still persists then have to send back to samsung to check...i'm not sure whether i wana go to that extent or not..i did compare with my friend who has a Note...his also same prob...his lagginess is worse than mine..so would like to know if some of u had the same prob...if yes then most likely the Note is memang like that and not because its hardware or software has prob...

like i mentioned before...it often happens after clearing memory and exit from task manager..then the screen will freeze and show the wallpaper...a few seconds later only the apps icon will appear...even now sometimes the contacts or setting will appear after a sec or 2 after i click...especially after the phone is on standby/idle for some time..so not sure if this is a an issue with the Note or not..
tulip3
post Mar 13 2012, 02:38 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Mar 13 2012, 02:27 PM)
wow.. sound serious.  But i would suggest you to wait until official ICS update coz most probable it will solve your problem.  Mine also have minor lag in 2.3.6 but super smooth with custom ICS leaked ROM.

finger cross - hope ICS for Note will come before march 31.  biggrin.gif
yeah that's what i thought too..hopefully ICS will sove this prob...thanks! but y 31 march?? =)

Added on March 13, 2012, 2:40 pm[quote=Red Tsubasa,Mar 13 2012, 02:29 PM]
Yes it happened to ee also ....the icon slowly appear.....but i did try to to delete GO Launcher EX everything fine d smile.gif

oh so it's due to an app?? initially it happened after i exit from an app..then i uninstalled the app but still the same..maybe coz i didn't FC it and clear data? i really duno...but good to know that u had urs resolved... smile.gif

This post has been edited by tulip3: Mar 13 2012, 02:40 PM
tulip3
post Mar 13 2012, 04:35 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(stella_purple @ Mar 13 2012, 04:20 PM)
if you are clearing the memory then it is normal since it will require some time to reloaded the processes(running app, services, widgets, and etc)
thank you!!

Added on March 13, 2012, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(stella_purple @ Mar 13 2012, 04:26 PM)
about the hang issue, i am not clear about it. but for this
dont worry i think this is normal since the processor of the phone is just wake up from a deep sleep.
i hope so too...thank you for your reply!

This post has been edited by tulip3: Mar 13 2012, 04:35 PM
tulip3
post Mar 17 2012, 02:20 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Mar 17 2012, 02:05 PM)
waiting for my aluminium bumper case...but the seller cannot cod to my place, i want to see the quality first, then i think myb i will choose zenus folio case..much more beautiful..rite now using cheapo white tpu case...
I'm using zenus casing folio type..looks really nice..I better star taking out the casing when I charge my phone since I'm using white note :a don't want the casing to turn yellow
tulip3
post Mar 19 2012, 09:35 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Mar 17 2012, 05:55 PM)
btw bro, forgot to ask, u buying the folio type where, garage sale...found one seller with id zenus selling in garage sale, is that guy recommended..?
i bought it from Digital Mall...pricing is about the same as those selling online..so thought just buy it instead of having to order and wait for the casing to arrive... smile.gif
tulip3
post Mar 19 2012, 10:18 AM

51 posts

my battery was at 100% last nite after charging it fully...then this morning i woke up it only left 83% and this really shocked me as the phone was just on idle state...this has never happened before...normally it will just drop 1% if idle overnight or no drop at all...then i checked battery usage...surprisingly cell standby, phone idle, android os and system used the most battery..all this while it has been screen display which uses the most battery like over 50%...but this morning screen display only uses about 20+% which is below cell standby and all..

any sifus here know wat will be the cause for this? what causes cell radio and phone idle to use so much of battery? i suspect it could be due to some widgets that i added yesterday...i have deleted some and now monitoring the battery usage...hope it will improve...thanks all and have a good monday!

This post has been edited by tulip3: Mar 19 2012, 10:22 AM
tulip3
post Mar 19 2012, 10:29 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 19 2012, 10:19 AM)
Just use the free app SMS Backup & Restore by Ritesgh Sahu. It offers 100 % guarantee backup and 100% guarantee restore and is compatible on all build from Froyo to ICS

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:24 am
Installed the app betterbatterystats to monitor partial wakelocks - you can see what apps are waking up your phone - just look at the list of the  top apps ; it will show how much time each app is being open during your phone idle period
You could also use setcpu to set your CPU speed down to low eg 500 Mhz max and min 200 Mhz when phone is idle and screen off - this will save battery life too
Ok i will try...thank you uncle benny!

Oh it is a paid app...any other free app to recommend? Pai seh pai seh..

This post has been edited by tulip3: Mar 19 2012, 10:40 AM
tulip3
post Mar 19 2012, 10:57 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(JET @ Mar 19 2012, 09:45 AM)
Good Morning All,

New User for Galaxy note reporting smile.gif
Hope to get your advise on the following queries....  icon_question.gif

1) How makes the landspace rotation in another angle?
Now it's turn as rotate clockwise. How to make it counter clockwise?

2) how to disable the notification voice?
Don't want it to say the contact name or phone number when ppl calling me
Don't want it to say when my alarm rang.
etc etc....

3) how to set QuickPic as the default Gallery?

4) 3rd party applications that I've downloaded (from Google Play)
It use to able install & uninstall *.APK
Now, when i execute the action to install\uninstall, it will just hang.
Any 1 face this problem before?

5) my 3G always in 2G\Edge signal. It's the modem error?
Is there an upgrade 3G software that I can iinstall and try?
For question 2..just disable ur driving mode in voice input n output undr settings if i remember correctly..

tulip3
post Mar 22 2012, 05:17 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:39 PM)
btw,how do i create folders in gallery and move things in them to the folders?
U can either create file while connecting to ur pc in my file..or u can do it in my file in ur note...pc faster i guess...just modify the dcim folder in my file..hope it helps

0.0459sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:25 AM